Skip to main content

Used 2012 Chevrolet Cruze Consumer Reviews

List Price Range
$5,495 - $16,998

Used Cruze for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale
12345...31

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons
5 out of 5 stars

Uber driver gives thumbs up

James Keen, 11/21/2015
updated 06/06/2022
2012 Chevrolet Cruze LS 4dr Sedan (1.8L 4cyl 6M)
140 of 144 people found this review helpful

All though built for a 19 year old college girl, my 240 lb 5'10" frame rides well in it. I purchased the car in January of 2013. As of November 21, 2015 I have logged over 63,000 miles. This car is the 1.8 liter mated to the 6-speed manual tranny. I log every fuel up utilizing the gas tracker app available on iTunes. Average is 30.5 MPG and I am not the most conservative driver. Only mechanical issue I have encountered was a broken thermostat housing and thermostat. The issue was covered under warranty. Car rides well and handles very well. It is under powered but expected with only 138 horsepower. I recently began driving for Uber. I have received a ton of compliments on the car. The 6-speed manual tranny is a real conversation starter. This is the base model and does not have blue tooth or cruise control. The stereo is somewhat inadequate. It is difficult to hear stereo with the windows down and only having 6 pre-set stations really blows. The car is silver ice and the windows are tinted as dark as the law will allow. It looks brand new. Something very remarkable is that I still have the original tires. Firestone FR710. Over 63K miles and still a good ways away from the tread ware indicator. I would recommend this car to anyone.....Most notable downside is resale value Update 5/22/16 79,000. Finally put new tires on it at 70,000 miles. Car is still performing as expected with no issues. Update 5/23/17 mileage 97,000. No mechanical issues at all. This past year I've changed the oil and rotated the tires every 5k miles. No other maintenance performed. I have experienced a vibration during heavy braking so I'll have the brakes checked at my 100k oil change. 11/24/19 update 147,000 miles. PM’ed the timing belt at 100K The AC condenser went out at 140K. While at dealership they offered me $1,000 which was insulting. the car still operates as it did when new. I’m still averaging over 30mpg 6/1/2020 160,000. Car is holding up well. 32MPG on last fuel up. No issues. 12/1/2020 170,000 miles. Car is still holding up well. The shifter knob fell apart other than tgat it’s holding up well. Does not use a drop of oil. I change the oil every 5k mikes with semi synthetic. Interior and exterior are still in excellent shape. 30-32 mpg per tank still. 6/3/2021 179000 miles. Still running strong. Original motor, tranny, and even the stock clutch. Does not even have any leaks. Last fuel up was 33mpg. 6/6/22 198000 miles. Still no issues or major repairs

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

4.63 out of 5 stars

Just Cruzin'

just_a_chemist, 05/29/2012
2012 Chevrolet Cruze 1LT 4dr Sedan (1.4L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
21 of 21 people found this review helpful

Great job in engineering. Have 6-speed auto and get 28 mpg commuting on side roads to work, got 38 mpg overall on 1400 mile treck from east coast to midwest, even 40 mpg on the flat interstates at 75 mph and the air conditioning blasting. Handles very well, turbo kicks hard at ~30-35 mph to 65 mph. Very good overall. Better mirrors than that of the Impala and better acceleration and fuel mileage than the Malibu.

Report Abuse
1 out of 5 stars

This car is a nightmare a couple years in

Steve, 12/18/2017
2012 Chevrolet Cruze 1LT 4dr Sedan (1.4L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
35 of 37 people found this review helpful

We ll not much to say but this car has problems, at 50,000 miles its all downhill from there. Camseals leaked, oil pan leaked, need new valve cover because the intake manifold has a check valve that goes bad which screws up the PVC system in this car. Transmission seal leaked at 77,000. Now at 97,000 miles and out of warranty for 3 months and need a new valve cover again, oil pan leaking again. Never in my life have I had a car that has had so many leaks and engine problems.

Safety
3 out of 5 stars
Technology
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Interior
3 out of 5 stars
Comfort
2 out of 5 stars
Reliability
1 out of 5 stars
Value
1 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

4.75 out of 5 stars

50 mpg on the road!!

pharlap007, 04/07/2012
2012 Chevrolet Cruze Eco 4dr Sedan (1.4L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
30 of 32 people found this review helpful

Great car! I have 9 cars, and some have a lot more features than this one, but here's the skinny. The ECO's milage is real. I'm averaging 42 combined, and I've gotten as much as 50 MPG on a 50 mile highyway trip. These numbers are not from the computer. I fill up, and do the division with the actual miles driven. I'm probably going to trust the oil life monitor, and if you don't use your 6 months free turn by turn, you're missing out on a lot of fun! I signed up for 300 minutes of phone time for my new cars phone number for $9.00, since it goes to $114.00 after the one year expiration!!! Take advantage of that. If you forget your cell...or if you are in a dead spot.

Report Abuse

2 out of 5 stars

Worst car I have ever owned

Karin, 03/25/2016
2012 Chevrolet Cruze LTZ 4dr Sedan (1.4L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
21 of 22 people found this review helpful

I love the look and interior of the car, beautiful. It has pretty good acceleration, but lags and the turbo sounds like a weedeater. The weird jumping forward while braking is kinda scary. At 50k miles driving down the highway the turbo blew- without warning. No lights came on until about 10 minutes later, the famous catch all- stabilitrac light. Folllowed by a bevy of every light in the car. The turbo also caused the engine to blow. Pulled into an NTB (nearest thing) they looked at for $100 determined it was something to do with engine- so warranty. Towed it to dealer. After some run around, turning in every maintenance record- they decide to replace engine and turbo. Then would not reimburse me for the tow or the $100 fee I paid at NTB- very long BS story even after I gave them receipts. 2 days after I got it back- the car would not start. I panicked, called dealer and had it towed again. Guess what- just the battery went dead. So, not warranty and would not pay for tow. Six months now- on the brand NEW engine- coil pack has gone bad, not warranty and the coolant hose is leaking- not warranty. DONE!

Safety
3 out of 5 stars
Technology
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
1 out of 5 stars
Value
1 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
12345...31
Items per page: