Used 2000 Chevrolet Cavalier Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$981 - $2,269

Used Cavalier for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale
12345...9

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Chev Cav 2000, aka, LEMON

Pavel, 11/19/2003
24 of 24 people found this review helpful

My 2000 Chev Cavalier gave me problems right from the first 15,000 miles. In that time I had replaced all 4 Goodyear Tires..they all developed holes in the sidewall...my fault even though it had not happened to me in my 20 yrs of auto ownership. Goodyear would not prorate any tires. At 40K, the radio went out. Fortunately, I had an extended warranty, but I had to fight w/Robert Levis Chev in Slidell, La to get it fixed. While fixing the radio, they damaged the digital oddometer (they wouldn't admit it!). After this incident, I've had to repair the fuel pump, battery and alternator, and other stuff I'm forgetting. I'm buying a new car, thank God.

Report Abuse

i drove it for 17 years

Tall Girl, 08/18/2015
2dr Coupe
10 of 10 people found this review helpful

2/17/2020 Sold the car in 2017. They fixed a few things but never found the short. They recently sold the car with over 200,000 miles on it. Engine/trans still going strong. 8/15/2016 update - STILL GOING STRONG W/173,489 miles. I bought mine brand new in 2000. It is bright red with tan cloth interior. It is the base car with no power anything except brakes & steering. Exactly what I wanted! 3 speed automatic transmission and a 2.2L 4 cyl engine. Plenty of pep when it was new, a cold a/c, a hot heater, and no blind spots to speak of. I was in love with my car. For the first 10 years the only thing I did to it besides oil changes was a few recalls under warranty, and new brake pads/shoes. At 11 years I bought new tires, a battery, and had a tune up done. At 12 years the a/c compressor had to be replaced and it cost $600 at a mechanics shop, then little things here and there. The rear defrost went out at 127,000 miles - but I live in Alabama, so I never replaced it. At 140,000 miles I had my original serpentine belt and hoses replaced and an inline fuel filter put on. It has never run hot, and I have never let it get below 1/4 of a tank. It doesn't use or leak oil, it shifts like it has a shift kit in it and has since brand new. 16 years later it still runs good. At 167,840 miles It received its 3rd battery. 17 years into owning it, and 178,xxx miles, it developed a short. Mechanics could not find the shortso i had to replace a battery, then another battery, then another battery. I sold my little car. It was very hard to do, but the people who bought it are getting it back on the road as soon as they can. I will see it again I'm sure.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Fun little car

outdoorsy24, 07/09/2012
9 of 9 people found this review helpful

I had this in highschool. It was fun, looked cool for the year, got great gas mileage, and never gave me any issues.

Report Abuse

Chevy Z24 Convertible

Marcella Carothers, 04/19/2006
7 of 7 people found this review helpful

I purchased this car new. It has always been very reliable. It is a sharp looking car with white striping and tinted windows. It is a lot of fun to drive and I always have envious compliments wherever I go. I have had several new cars in my life and this is the one I liked the most.

Report Abuse

So what if it aint a 'Vette?

John W, 05/19/2003
7 of 7 people found this review helpful

This is a fun little car to drive and own. It isn't refined like a Jaguar. It isn't a performance car like a Corvette. For the money, it makes no pretense about what it is; simply an enjoyable ride about town with the top down. Besides, if you want all those fancy features, open your wallet up a bit more and quit whining.

Report Abuse

Great little car!

Cheryl, 05/20/2008
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

I have owned this car for 2 years (bought used) and have had no major problems. It handles very well even in the snow, and has a ton of spunk. The gas mileage is unbelievable, I get 28/city, 35hwy! Super fun to drive, nice tight steering and lots of acceleration, great sound system and convertible is perfect in the summer!

Report Abuse

Great car!

stevewl1164, 06/18/2014
LS 4dr Sedan
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

I bought this car in April 2009 and it had 118k, four door and three speed automatic. I paid $1100 for it. It had a new set of Michelins too! The dash near the windshield cracked and now has chunks missing. The original stereo/CD died. It uses no oil between changes. I replaced the radiator, the alternator, and changed the oil every 3000 miles. As of June 2014 it has 186k. I usually get 28 mpg in mixed driving, but sometimes get 30. I figured for $1100 if it lasted a year I could give it away and not be out anything. Five plus years later it is still going strong. Mine has the old OHV 2.2...never had an engine or transmission issue, nor check engine light. I may never get this lucky again. I kept this car until January 2016. I sold it because I bought a 1998 Cavalier with only 100k and was not driving it. It had 218k when I sold it. The people I sold it to said it now has about 230k and have had no problems with it at all. It was so hard to let it go. I wish I had kept it. Even though I have the 1998, I still miss my 2000 model. It was the best car I have ever owned.

Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Report Abuse

Great Car

donnn, 02/11/2010
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I've had this car since the day I turned 16, and I've loved every minute with it. I drive over 60 miles a day, and this car has NEVER let me down in the least bit. I have not had to repair a single thing in the 60,000 miles that I've had it. Starts in the coldest weather, and goes through any kind of weather like a champ. Its great on gas, and I'm always getting compliments on how sharp looking it is. Treat this car well, and it will run forever.

Report Abuse

Great little car

Roger sharp, 08/24/2015
Z24 2dr Convertible
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I purchased this cavalier convertible 6 months ago They rod bearing went out 2 months ago every body told me to replace them engine 2.4 oh dual cam But being a stubborn old man (80 years )old can do that myself it is then most complicated car I have ever worked on

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

My favorite car ... Ever

Claudia Trainer, 06/23/2017
Z24 2dr Convertible
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Lots of fun to drive, a head-Turner. Roomy, hands-free opening trunk. Kids don't like back seat (got rid of kids).

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Report Abuse
12345...9
Items per page:
51050