Used 2000 Chevrolet Blazer Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$1,620 - $3,223

Used Blazer for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale
12345...17

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Love this car.

Don Lynch, 04/17/2016
LS 4dr SUV
27 of 28 people found this review helpful

I have had many cars in 40 + years. Never had one this long. 16 years old with 120 k on it and it does not use a drop of oil. Still a good modern looking car. And everything from the heated mirrors to ice cold air works well. Cheap to insure. Yet it still has some value. You can still pick these up in good condition and it not cost an arm and leg. It makes a decent 2nd car and a great 1st car. I think the best part of this car is the comfort and sense of safety and control of the vehicle. And the worst thing is - I cannot really come up with a bad thing. Clearly I am prejudice of this car. It's old, I'm old and we are comfortable. UPDATE 10/18/16 I had to part with Hesibel, it has gotten to the point where I was only putting a 100 miles on it a year. And sadly I wasn't one that planned well for an early medical retirement. I sold it for what I paid years ago to a young man in college. He's four hours from school and she's been treating him well. So that's the end of the road I guess. Other than if a person could have an affection for a vehicle this would be my pick. She just never let me down. UPDATE 04/18/18- Well here we are again, just a couple years later. As I said I had sold Hesibel back in 2016. The young man that bought her lives down the lane and I see her when he comes in for break. Just a week or so for Easter break he was in and the Blazer was looking good. I had talked to his dad and he is always pulling people out of the snow at school. He loves having something that can't get stuck. He just doesn't know. You can always get stuck. Me, I am currently scouting the net looking for another Blazer, or a version of one.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

99 trail blazer 4x4 4.3 v6/atl ga.

stephharner34, 02/22/2012
Trailblazer 4dr SUV 4WD
9 of 9 people found this review helpful

bought used at tax time,140k,no more explorers.im happy with my choice,ive had zero issues.i have noticed a lag in take off,although issue was cured when we drained trans fluid,and put on new filter..2/2012.i have the loaded edition,all leather,sunroof,tow package,power windows and locks.love the embroydted head rests and interior door logo. the big differance,ive noticed is it drives more like a car than a 4x4 truck..love it>>>>>>>>>>

Report Abuse

I love my Blazer but...

Michelle, 10/18/2008
LS 4dr SUV
7 of 7 people found this review helpful

I bought my truck in Novemember 2001 upgrading from a Cavalier. The truck does great in the snow in MD without being 4WD. I have never had a major problem with it other then the handles on the both seats broke until now. It is paid for and everything has gone wrong with it. ABS brake light won't go out even after numerous trips to the shop, service engine light comes on all the time, I have no heat or A/C. Shop can't figure it out. Occasionally over heats, blower motor went up, ball joints have been replaced 2 times now, transmission starting to fail at 120,000 miles. I love my truck. Handles great but it may be cheaper to go buy a Tahoe!

Report Abuse

Great, if you know what to look for...

Joey, 03/20/2010
LS 2dr SUV 4WD
10 of 11 people found this review helpful

I bought my Blazer used with 90K(kms) on it, and it's been a blast. This is my 5th Blazer/Jimmy, and they're great vehicles if you know what to look for. The following problems are a given after about 120k: ball joints, leaky oil lines, heater core, squeaky rear window, recliner handles will break off, door hinge bushings, and if not maintained properly, auto transmissions will probably go around 200k. If your vehicle still has Dex- cool in it (orange anti-freeze), I would highly recommend getting it flushed and replaced with the regular green stuff, and that may save you some headaches. The fuel economy is not great, but like most vehicles, maintain these properly and they'll treat you well.

Report Abuse

Love my Blazer

Jamie Sarkisian, 09/07/2016
Trailblazer 4dr SUV 4WD
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

after 17 years the Chevy Blazer still runs great. It is quiet and smooth and very comfortable. It is easy to bring your golf clubs and bikes and other toys when you travel. It is amazing in the snow. While it does need some maintenance, it still runs great and is very easy to work on thanks to Mark Jenkins Videos. Our other car is a Cadillac CTS 2008 and we take the Blazer on vacations. We have been able to find parts at a very reasonable price too. Our family has been loyal to GM for over 50 years. In that time we have had only 2 other non GM cars.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Beware!

jake118, 11/17/2011
LS 4dr SUV 4WD
16 of 21 people found this review helpful

These cars are great to use as stunt vehicles to be driven off a cliff and explode on impact. If there was a trophy for the junkiest cars on the market, these would be among the top competitors. I have owned 3 GM vehicles, and after going through numerous adventures I can honestly say that GM builds their cars specifically to break down in various places over and over again, so the owner would be obliged to have it fixed repeatedly. This probably keeps the gm business somewhat afloat through the money invested into parts and labor. for anyone who wants to avoid headaches and frustration, buy Japanese cars that have proven themselves Reliable, Efficient, and Long-lasting,you will be happier

Report Abuse

my blazer

chad, 02/08/2016
LT 4dr SUV
5 of 6 people found this review helpful

Had this LT 2000 blazer for around 10 years. Now has 156000 miles. 4x4 still works, did quit working at one time, replaced all vacuum lines , which were dry rotting and 4x4 now works, no problem since. CD player works all the time, crap its 16 years old so I surprised it still works! Had some overheating problem, just running hot.. replaced thermostat, antifreeze and radiator, problem solved. Antifreeze is still clean, didn't turn black like many GM cars. Motor hasn't been a problem, still runs strong. Have replaced plugs and wires and last summer replaced all rotors/pads and a caliper with GM parts from Amazon and did labor myself, brakes are great. Needs a lower ball joint and all the rubber bushings underneath the vehicle are rotten. Have replaced 1 side of the sway bar rubber bushings, the new blue ones look great. Car is starting to rust but that was a problem I noticed when I bought it, looks like it was from a northern state with a lot of road salt? The transmission did need a rebuild last summer, was told it looked like someone put the wrong fluid in transmission, cost 850 and now is great. I hate the little bulbs that light up the buttons on the steering wheel, should have used LEDS not bulbs! They can be replaced though. Rear wiper motor is fried but rarely used it will replace with a junk yard motor. Been a really good vehicle overall, gas mileage could be better but would buy again. Recently had over a foot of snow/ice. Car did excellent in 4wd with cooper tires.

Performance
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Beware of blazer

jamel, 09/30/2009
LT 4dr SUV
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I currently own a 2000 chevy blazer and I thought I had a very reliable truck, however the truck is currently in the shop for lower manifold replacement due to a leak, new fuel pump about 3 months ago,new rear brakes about 2 months ago,fuel filter about 1 month ago, replaced alternator about 6 mos after I got it! replaced rad and hose 3 days ago! the list goes on! How can I remain true to a company when I have to foot all the bills!I wonder if GM bigwigs are driving Chevys? probably not!

Report Abuse

Worth owning but needs "Tweaks"

Dave, 05/22/2010
LS 2dr SUV
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Bought new in 2000. Been all over U.S. east of Miss. river on PGA since. Problems - Front seat recline handles break off, blind spot looking through small left rear window when turning left, AC Compressor weak (all GMs a problem with this), poor positioning of spare inside back left, exterior trim breaks down (plating on luggage rack, trim around rear windows, grill black trim, etc.), Stereo blows up around 30k locking the ignition and electrical. Overall a good ride though with good handling for a high riding SUV. Great acceleration (the V6 is mighty). Regular maintenance at 4000 miles gives you longevity. Would buy again.

Report Abuse

Where do i begin....

loby, 07/27/2011
LT 4dr SUV 4WD
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I bought my blazer in 2008, from the dealership, the gas gauge did not work. fixed. The first big investment was the intake gasket that went bad. It was replaced with a metal gasket, and shouldn't need replacing ever again. After that, it started acting very strangely...it would be going down the road, and start hesitating, or lose power suddenly. I went through and replaced plugs, wires, distributer cap and rotor, air filter, gas filter, battery, cat, and exhaust, the fuel pump sounds like it's screaming, it gets terrible gas mileage, and the front dash squeaks. So far to fix the hesitation issue, i've dumbed a bottle of sea foam in the gas tank, which has helped for now.

Report Abuse
12345...17
Items per page:
51050