Used 2008 Acura RDX 4dr SUV AWD (2.3L 4cyl Turbo 5A) Consumer Reviews

List Price Range
$9,995 - $10,717

Used RDX for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale

Love my RDX

Mark, 03/26/2016
4dr SUV AWD (2.3L 4cyl Turbo 5A)
18 of 18 people found this review helpful

The handling, acceleration and look of this car is unmatched.. Love the interior and leather seats as well. The only negative is the turbo requires hi octane and the gas mileage is a little disappointing. However, with a turbo you can't have your cake and eat it too.. Overall, I believe it's the best small SUV on the market..including the BMW..

Performance
Interior
Comfort
Report Abuse

Acura RDX

Medina Wood, 07/27/2016
4dr SUV AWD (2.3L 4cyl Turbo 5A)
10 of 12 people found this review helpful

Had this car for 8 years and not once in shop. Very reliable and stayed looking brand new after 8 years. Very pleased with this purchase.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

60K, so far, so good

ducky79, 02/14/2012
4dr SUV AWD (2.3L 4cyl Turbo 5A)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

2008 RDX, 60K mileage, no problem so far. I would say this is a very reliable car. Pro: reliable, great handling, decent power Con: rough ride, bad gas mileage I believe it can run 3-5 more years.

Report Abuse

It's just ok

Anonymous, 12/06/2010
4dr SUV AWD (2.3L 4cyl Turbo 5A)
6 of 9 people found this review helpful

I have been driving my RDX for 2 months now. Interior is nice with heated leather seats, moonroof. Not enough room in the back, my tall 9 year old won't be able to sit back there in a few years. Gas mileage is awful. 20 mpg on average. Its a gas guzzler and you must buy premium gas. poor cargo room. My honda crv had double the cargo. Nice pick up with the turbo acceleration. But too much of a gas guzzler, can't wait to get rid of it. Luxury vehicles are way over rated and not practical for the cost. I suggest you shop around before buying a luxury car. Total waste of money just for transportation.

Report Abuse

A Satisfied Owner

ledwinka, 07/17/2008
4dr SUV AWD (2.3L 4cyl Turbo 5A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Worked as a vehicle test engineer for an European car company when I fell in love with the SH-AWD system on the RL. Got the RDX based in July of 2007. Handling is light and responsive for a car with this huge mass. Turning corners is a dream with the SH-AWD: it ate corners while driving down I-80 near Lake Tahoe, CA. Turbo lag is small compared to other turbo cars but you can hear them. Durability has been excellent. People all comment how pricey this car looks and become surprised at the price. Very comfortable seats. Love the relatively large width of the vehicle. Rear seat space is very large for people of two, even three. Lament that I did not get the nav system.

Report Abuse

A Great Compromise

Jim R, 10/11/2008
4dr SUV AWD (2.3L 4cyl Turbo 5A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Having spent a year and 13,000 miles with my RDX, I'm very pleased with the experience. After driving European sport sedans for the past 20 years, I wanted the utility, AWD, and taller view of a compact SUV. However, I didn't want to give up the "fun to drive" nature of my previous vehicles. The RDX delivers. It's very quick. And the ride is somewhat firm -- what I expected and wanted in a vehicle that enjoys attacking mountain curves. Yet, to me the ride is by no means harsh. The interior is well designed and fairly luxurious. Acura reliability is a huge bonus -- I got to know the service techs far too well with my previous cars.

Report Abuse

In crossover segment, hard to beat

Jeremy C, 11/24/2007
4dr SUV AWD (2.3L 4cyl Turbo 5A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Faster and less expensive than the BMW X3, the Acura RDX is about as good as it gets in this segment. It drives like a sports sedan and has plenty of storage. If you're looking at the Murano, you should check out the RDX as well. It's faster and a lot nicer, for only a few thousand dollars more. The SH All Wheel Drive makes accelerating out of a corner nice as well. Overall, I'd give it a 9.5 / 10.

Report Abuse

40K and so far, so good

twistlock, 12/17/2010
4dr SUV AWD (2.3L 4cyl Turbo 5A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

For the past couple of years my RDX has worked well - no warranty issues to date. In addition to city/ highway driving, I travel frequently to Lake Tahoe during the winter. The SH-AWD mated with winter tires keeps me truck'in along. Agree with other reviews that gas mileage is not the best when climbing the Sierra Nevada, but there is zero power loss (IMO) and I knew what to expect with a turbo-engine.

Report Abuse

Learn about it first

RW, 05/07/2008
4dr SUV AWD (2.3L 4cyl Turbo 5A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Just bought my RDX and love to drive it. Make sure you know what you are getting with the RDX - it is a sports car with stiff suspension and a firm ride so if you want a soft, "never feel a bump" ride then look elsewhere. Went without the tech package - the $4k was too steep for me. If you want the suv where sport meets luxury (and don't need that much cargo room), check it out.

Report Abuse

Rattle Trap

andreadavis1, 04/14/2011
4dr SUV AWD (2.3L 4cyl Turbo 5A)
3 of 4 people found this review helpful

Cute, Fun car to drive. Rough ride. You can feel every bump and vibration in your head rest and seat. Isn't this supposed to be a luxury car? Stiff suspension causes things to rattle in the car. Not enough compartments. Just a big deep hole in the center console. Not large enough to fit carseats behind drivers seat.

Report Abuse

For the Most Part -- Happy Owner

RDX'er, 05/31/2008
4dr SUV AWD (2.3L 4cyl Turbo 5A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

The style, speed, handling, AWD aspects are great. The fuel economy could be better but is improving as the miles drive increases. Dealer did have to replace the left front brake caliper due to a rattle noise but dealer assured me it was a new, factory replacement part not rebuilt. Would be nice if it had auto on/off headlights and if the air conditioning "auto" function would always work with the recirculating button engaged -- living in the city you have to pretty much keep the recir button on all the time.

Report Abuse

A wolf in sheep's clothing.

pdxRDX, 12/04/2008
4dr SUV AWD (2.3L 4cyl Turbo 5A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

What a hoot this thing is to drive! Somehow the wizards at Acura have managed to put the soul of a sports car into an SUV. Decent fuel economy (great for an SUV), comfortable interior, great looks, amazing acceleration, plenty of goodies in the base model. Buy one NOW!

Report Abuse

I love this car!!

sfduckie, 01/02/2008
4dr SUV AWD (2.3L 4cyl Turbo 5A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I've never owned an Acura before but I'm now a huge fan! The RDX is fun to drive, has great visibility, and the base model comes with absolutely everything you'd want (CD, bluetooth, MP3 hookup, XM radio free for 3 months, moonroof, seat warmers, etc). Also, the driver interface (at least on the base model) is intuitive and uncluttered. It feels like they really have the driver in mind. I highly recommend this car! I'm so happy I bought it!

Report Abuse

So much fun

Marc, 02/04/2008
4dr SUV AWD (2.3L 4cyl Turbo 5A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Just picked up the RDX 2 weeks ago and love it so far. My fiancée wanted an SUV, I wanted a sports car and we settled on the RDX. It has the body and space of an SUV, the interior of a luxury sedan, and drives like a sports car. I spent months looking at similar rides such as the BMW X3, Infiniti EX, Honda CRV, Rav 4 and this car had the most to offer in terms of features and was priced right in the middle of the pack. I couldn't be happier.

Report Abuse

It's a Thrill Ride!

Drwarf, 02/11/2008
4dr SUV AWD (2.3L 4cyl Turbo 5A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I finally own my dream vehicle. This RDX is beautiful. I picked the carbon bronze because not too many vehicles on the road are that color. The AWD is superb for handling in any situation. The turbocharged engine is very good for performance in passing and acceleration, better than some V6s. The interior is very comfortable with the adjustable driver seat and roomy enough second row. The satellite radio, 360-watt stereo system, dual climate, digital read-outs, and memory seats are all awesome for standard equipment. The fuel economy is respectable and premium gas is not a problem. This crossover is a 10 all the way around. Thanks Acura for another innovative, top-of-the-line vehicle.

Report Abuse

RDX is a rocket!

Steve , 02/16/2008
4dr SUV AWD (2.3L 4cyl Turbo 5A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Love my RDX. It has exceeded my expectations. Last two cars have been BMWs 3 & 5 Series and will never go back. Acura gives a great car for the money and very solid. Much more reliable than the BMW and performs better. Gas mileage isn't that bad (about 19) considering it's a 4000 lb car and it flies!

Report Abuse

So happy, best decision I have ever made

bballfreak150, 02/21/2008
4dr SUV AWD (2.3L 4cyl Turbo 5A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Went from a 2001 Lexus IS 300 to a 2008 RDX. Couldn't be happier, all of the things I loved about my IS with the room and comfort of an SUV. It is actually faster than my old car and gets better gas mileage too. I'm averaging just over 22 mpg. I love the AWD, turbo is amazing, and it's just really fun to drive. If you are looking for a vehicle that is fast and fun to drive, gest good gas mileage, and have enough room to carry all of your gear then this is the perfect vehicle for you. It was the best decision I have ever made.

Report Abuse

Fun, fun, fun!

Josh B, 03/01/2008
4dr SUV AWD (2.3L 4cyl Turbo 5A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I've had my RDX one month now, and I absolutely love it! It really moves and sounds wonderful doing it. The interior is very inviting in taupe with better than expected room for four adults. The heated leather seats offer comfort and support in the turns, which is a good thing, because this machine loves the curves. Best car I've owned!

Report Abuse

Great Car!

Great Car!, 10/10/2007
4dr SUV AWD (2.3L 4cyl Turbo 5A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

After purchasing this car almost two months ago, I decided I had to write a review considering I have found the reviews out on Edmunds to be very helpful. I purchased the RDX after my 2002 VW Jetta broke down which happened frequently. The Acura is a wonderful car in general, and the RDX is great! I couldn't be happier with my decision. It is easy to drive, easy to park, has great acceleration when needed. It is super comfortable and just big enough that I feel like trucks can see me better on the highway. I would recommend this car to anyone who is looking for solid reliability and easy maintenance.

Report Abuse

2008 RDX Base

benlee78, 10/17/2007
4dr SUV AWD (2.3L 4cyl Turbo 5A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Since my wife had a baby, I have traded my 06 Acura TL (base) for the 08 RDX base model. Even though I miss my TL, I thought this was a good trade. Pros: This is a fun and powerful vehicle. The turbo gives it an extra kick in acceleration. AWD gives the vehicle more stability. Interior and the exterior design is pretty decent. Stereo sounds is great. Price value is pretty good for a luxury/sport vehicle.

Report Abuse

If Only Gas Was Free!

Nancy, 05/06/2008
4dr SUV AWD (2.3L 4cyl Turbo 5A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I absolutely love this car. It is sporty, fast, handles well, comfortable, super fun to drive. Unfortunately, I live in a busy city and this is not the car for city driving. Gas mileage is awful. I average 16 miles/gallon city driving. Haven't taken it on the open road yet. This car is perfect for less populated areas.

Report Abuse

Fun to Drive

3rdAcura, 05/29/2008
4dr SUV AWD (2.3L 4cyl Turbo 5A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I leased this vehicle back in November 07 after trading in my TL, and have been very pleased overall. There is a slight clinking sound from somewhere under the dash that randomly comes and goes and the dealer cannot identify it. Aside from this which does not affect performance, the ride is both quick and sporty. Pick up is incredible with the turbo engine. I find that the cargo space is adequate for our needs and we can fit our child's stroller in the back easily. I can also get golf clubs in back without having to angle them. It is a fast sporty sedan in a mini SUV body. We proceeded to get rid of our Jeep Hemi Engine and lease an MDX as well putting us into our third Acura.

Report Abuse

Better than BMW X3

Cindy, 05/29/2008
4dr SUV AWD (2.3L 4cyl Turbo 5A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Before purchasing the RDX, I drove a 2005 BMW X3 for three years. I loved my X3, but the newer models are quite expensive. I'm just delighted with the RDX. It has a similar drive to the X3 and the savings over the X3 is huge. Was treated very well by the dealer and I've had for a week and absolutely adore this vehicle. It is designed very well and the interior of the car is actually nicer than the X3, in my opinion. The seating is every bit as good as the X3. I'm looking forward to my first long road trip in my new RDX. It corners like a BMW and has a sports car type feeling when you drive it. It is a nice package!

Report Abuse

cheap interior

pathfinder11, 03/31/2020
4dr SUV AWD (2.3L 4cyl Turbo 5A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

don't buy one, leather and pleather is so inferior I don't really know what to compare it to, door inserts, armrests, center console top all had to be replaced, seat stitching pulling out. Terrible gas mileage but engine seems to be ok otherwise

Report Abuse

I love it

Quiltdiva, 02/24/2008
4dr SUV AWD (2.3L 4cyl Turbo 5A)
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

I have been looking at the 2009 Nissan Murano, Mazda CX-7 & 9, Subaru Tribeca and 2008 Nissan Rogue. The RDX is just right for me. All those wonderful luxury features plus not so huge. It drives really stiff, more like a sports car and the seats are wonderful. I made the right decision for me.

Report Abuse

2008 Acura RDX

aust_lr, 08/28/2008
4dr SUV AWD (2.3L 4cyl Turbo 5A)
1 of 3 people found this review helpful

The RDX is a great small SUV. It is fun to drive, handles well, and looks great. It is a little pricey for a car that competes with the Honda CR-V and the Toyota RAV 4 but it is better than them in performance and build quality.

Report Abuse

Waste of money

Tom, 02/24/2008
4dr SUV AWD (2.3L 4cyl Turbo 5A)
0 of 5 people found this review helpful

Definitely not worth 33,000 dollars. No leg room for back seats. No auto turn on/off of headlights. Rough riding. Opening the driver door after a drive will not open the back door. You have to use either the remote or the door button to open the back doors. Bad fuel economy. Wish there was atleast a beep sound when you back up to walls or curb (expect that for cars over 30000). Tom

Report Abuse

Powerful RDX... like a bomb

Ravi, 05/27/2008
4dr SUV AWD (2.3L 4cyl Turbo 5A)
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Purchased base RDX 3 months ago. Its value for money and it delivers as promised. Like its initial pickup. You will be ahead of traffic!! Like its estimated MPG feature and shows how fuel efficient you can drive. I am getting around 16 miles in city.

Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050