Used 2004 Volvo S40 Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$1,250 - $2,746

Used S40 for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale
12

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Best in it class

keith H, 05/26/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

We were thinking of buying a Audi A41.8T but after test driving and see the new Volvo 2004.5 S40. we like it more. Plus, it was a better vaule for the money. We were able to get it under invoice. It a great car. You should test drive it to see it for yourself.

Report Abuse

Awesome!

incabod, 05/28/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This car is awesome! The handling is precise, the car is quiet but, poweful enough for any situation.

Report Abuse

Wow What a Car!!

Nick Grice, 05/27/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is a really nice car. I just went to college and finished my first. It was a present from my parents and I love evey inch of this car. Its fast, good-looking, and I've had excellent dealer service.

Report Abuse

Great Re-Design!

Shrop, 06/01/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Excellent exterior and interior redesign. Center console looks like a B&O design - very cool! Excellent exterior paint, & interior fit & finish. Very quiet ride, firm but, not too firm of ride, excellent fuel economy, good handling and great brakes. Compared to other Euro cars, a very good value @ $25K +. So far, we really enjoy this Volvo (our last one was a 740 wagon).

Report Abuse

T5 S40

jdhawes, 06/07/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I just picked mine up a couple days ago, after waiting 5 months.... There was a production delay for those ordering the Sports Pkg. I must say the wait was well worth it! I drove the G35(great Car), Acura TL, BMW 325, and decided to go with my first choice. The car is amazing looking, very sporty. The T5 engine is very responsive and I can not feel any torque str at all.

Report Abuse

wow

wilfork, 06/12/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I test drove the Audi a4, BMW 3 series, Acura TL, and Saab, but this car had by far the most bang for the buck. Amazing handling, nice pickup and a beautiful new body. I can't imagine getting this much car for this low of a price.

Report Abuse

Thank God Volvo buys back

david047, 06/13/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Had the car less than 2 days and Volvo still can't figure out what is wrong with this thing. This is my second Volvo , 850 turbo was the first, a better car but Ford didn't own them then. They are currently replacing the whole emission system. At least the dealer Buys back or replaces which is where I am at the moment.

Report Abuse

A miniature tank!

hagimihale, 06/16/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

My fiancee bought the loaded showroom model (only missing item is Xenon headlights) for $25k. Solid car with the best seats ever!! OK low-end power, but passing ability on the highway is impressive. Comfortable on long trips and stable at high (75-90) speeds. Great ergonomics and a good sound system. Constantly gets compliments – most people think it’s a $40,000+ car. She test drove the BMW, Audi A4, Nissan (Maxima and Altima), Mercedes C230 (which was the winner until she drove the Volvo), etc. Of course the safety aspect lets me sleep at night – the pillars are thicker than a bodybuilder’s legs!

Report Abuse

AWESOME

sensabmc, 06/18/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

They say that you will know good art when you see it. When I saw this car for the first time, I knew I was looing at something special. The design of this car makes a statement and is unlike anything else on the road. Definately fun to drive and turns heads no matter where you go.

Report Abuse

2004.5 T5

bharkins, 06/21/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I haven't had this car for very long, but I love it. It's a really smooth and responsive ride. I got the sports package and the premium sound and I'm really glad I got both. In particular, I find the aluminum to look much better than the fake wood. While there are a number of little things I'd like to see added in this car, they are little. Overall, I'm really impressed.

Report Abuse

Best damn car report

Mitja, 06/23/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Fast sleek and sexy. She handles and keeps up with the rest of them. An investment worth taking. Would never buy another car brand again.

Report Abuse

Just love them Swedes

Brian Brodowsky, 06/26/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have had this vehicle for a few months. I have driven a 3 series BMW in the past and it is very comprible to both the look/sleekness and the ride. The appointments on the interior are beautiful...sleek new dash, greatleather seating,overall controls. The interior is so well made and not cheesy at all. What a hot car

Report Abuse

Overall great vehicle

Buzz Archer, 06/29/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The best bang for the buck. After looking at the 2004 A4 and the C230, this was the best car to drive. Not only does it have a great price, but the safety features and basic accessories make this car a 'must' to at least test drive.

Report Abuse

BEST PICK CAR OF 2004

Robert Molinar, 07/07/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have recently purchased my 2004.5 Volvo T5 and it was the best choice I could have made. This car amazes me everyday I insert the nifty key fob and start that 2.5L turbo engine. I would and have recommended this car to many other people and ones that have had the chance to drive mine have said they would DEFINATELY consider buying a volvo for their next car.

Report Abuse

GET THIS CAR!

b thomas, 07/08/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I purchased the new 2004.5 Volvo S40 over the Memorial Day weekend. I must say-- I LOVE THIS CAR! The new design is much sportier than the old S40. My friends couldn't believe that this was a Volvo! It handles well, and the interior is so sleek! If you're gonna get this car-- definitely opt for the Sport Package w/ leather interior and moonroof. fuel economy is about 24 city / 30 hwy

Report Abuse

awesome

hdmanager, 07/10/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

2nd time for S-40. Love the comfort and driveability. Great ride on the highway and fuel economy is there. Rims get dirty very quickly and detracts from appearance. Would buy another.

Report Abuse

amazing car amazing value

richkm, 07/10/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Fun to drive, easy to use controls, comfort, luxury, performance, it has it all. Rockin stereo has changer in dash, all changers should be in dash. Trunk, under seat, and glove box mounted changers are antiquated. I have had cars that claimed to be sports cars that cost twice as much and did not perform as well as this car, nor were they put together as well. These new volvos are something to get excited about. Everyone should look at these before they buy anything else.

Report Abuse

My First Sports Sedan And I Love It

h5863emtmatt, 07/12/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The T5 is fast and handles great. It sticks to the road and is responsive. Alpine White and the fresh design is a head-turner. You get a lot more car for your money compared to Audi and BMW's low end models. I have had this car for a month and am one of three who own one in San Diego. Get the Sport Package!

Report Abuse

Couldn't Be Happier!

Doonie, 07/13/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I purchased my S40 T5 about a month ago and I've loved every mile so far. It's fast, responsive, comfortable, and feels very solid and safe. A great value for the price. I find myself using any excuse to go drive it. I think the S40 will make me a Volvo driver for life!

Report Abuse

Awesome Car at a Great Price

James Powers, 07/16/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have the 2004.5 S40 2.4i with Premium Package/Sound, Convenience. I chose the 2.4i because I didn't feel the T5 was $3K faster, meaning the 2.4i has some good enough zip for me. As most others have written, you are saving quite a few bucks when choosing the S40 over the TSX, A4 or C230. I came down to the Acura TSX and the S40. I paid about $2K less, understanding the great reliability history of Acura. At the end of the day I felt Acura is a small Accord with a sport package. As for the A4 and C230, both were great cars but were about $5K more. I would not have considered the old S40 nor the current S60, but the new 2004.5 S40) is a solid car!

Report Abuse

Fun and comfort rolled into one!

brandonpaz, 07/17/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have had this car for about a week now and I love it! It is fun to drive meets comfort. My boss has been really happy because I am finally getting to work on time. I wake up before my alarm goes off because I am so excited to wake up and drive to work. She handles and corners like a dream, yet I still get all the luxury features that I want! I was originally looking at a honda accord v6, BMW 3 series, Acura RSX. It finally came down to I was the most comfortable in the Volvo and it was the best bang for my buck, 27k included the T5 with premium, audio, climate, and sports package.

Report Abuse

AWESOME CAR

s40t5, 07/16/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I just recently recieved the s4o t5 for my highschool graduation... its def. well worth the little bit of money and its an awesome car to drive!

Report Abuse

More Bang Less Buck

rcnst, 07/20/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I dare you to test drive this car. You will be astounded and amazed. I was. I mean after all, it's a Volvo. The brand's not exactly the spicest salsa on the shelf. Yet, this car has the horsepower and acceleration of a BMW 330 and A4 3.0 for thousands less. The interior is innovative and clean, while torque steer is negligble. And during the winter months you'll laugh at all those "rear wheel drive" snobs stuck in a snow bank. The brakes are sure stopping, and it's safer than a pillow. My wife's a little speed demon who loves this ride and the times are few and fortunate when I can take this baby for a spin.

Report Abuse

bummer

hazeleyez68, 07/22/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

has anyone else had major problems with their s40? from the AC to the radio antenna to the trunk lock....??

Report Abuse

Good Golly Miss Molly

Lance , 07/15/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Just purchased the T5 for my wife who initially wanted the 2.4i, however after test driving the T5, took me no effort to sell her on it. Dollar for dollar, far superior than BMW 3 series, and AUDI A4. Classy and sporty design inside and out. So far, no complaints just reassurance that we made the right decision. Car gets better everyday.

Report Abuse

I Love the Volvo S40.5

WFrankel, 07/22/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

After owning a 1986 Volvo 740 for 14 years, I drove a Ford Taurus for another 7. There is nothing like getting back into a Volvo, especially the S40.5. It may be smaller than a typical Volvo, but it is an awesome piece of machinery.

Report Abuse

What a ride!

dargorilla, 07/28/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I just got my new T5 two weeks ago, and I have to say that this is one serious automobile. The acceleration numbers that you read in the magazines (0-60 in 6.5 secs) just do not do this car justice, and cannot covey the feeling of doing 35mph, putting your right foot on the floor, and watching 70 come up before you can even take a breath. The ride and steering with the sport suspension feels stable even at ridiculous speeds through twisting turns. The seats are comfortable and supportive, and the interior is stylish, and inviting. This is the perfect car for those of us that do not want to sacrifice performance, but need to haul around the rug rats.

Report Abuse

Good Deal and unique

jonR, 07/28/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Just bought the car yesterday for about 1100 under invoice. We had a sudden need for another car and wanted something economical that still had a little panache. Looked at Hondas, Toyotas, et cetera. We've had a couple of BMWs including a competing 3 series. I don't really expect the same level of performance, comfort, or resale but the Volvo was about $10K less and I just think it has cool - unique (perhaps a little quirky) styling. I am expecting to like it very much and give it to my 13 year old daughter in a few years. jr

Report Abuse

love my new car

gopanthers, 07/29/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I didn't get the turbo because I didn't need the extra speed. So far I love the new body style and I feel very safe in it. It's a safe car which looks classy yet doesn't look like an older person's car. The service at Warren Henry in Miami was amazing and they beat out the best price any where else. It's a car that I can invision placing my future kids in and yet not make me feel like I had to sacrifice a youthful car.

Report Abuse

s40 t5

jeff50, 07/31/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

fun to drive,quick, stylish, great seats , comfortable, great sound system, lots of saftey features

Report Abuse

conservative good looks

bpwrightwv, 08/03/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I've had my car for only a couple weeks, enjoy it so far. Rides smoothly, handles nice, good zip, conservative exterior good looks have made some turn their heads. Drove over a portion of highway that had been stripped in order to repave, fairly considerable buzzing in the driver's side pillar, though normally it doesn't. Noticed a very slight squeek when coming to stop, not sure if it's brakes. I also considered the Acura TSX and also came down to styling, TSX looks too much like an Accord, the dealer wasn't very friendly, nor would they respond to my email queries. The Volvo staff were very friendly, not pushy and were willing to negotiate via email.

Report Abuse

WOW! I LOVE THIS CAR!

Heather Ammon, 07/29/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I've had my S40 for less than a week and I love it! It handles like a dream and the interior is very luxurious! I love the leather and the wood inlay. The floating console is really cool too! Mine is mistral green metalic and I love that too. At first I doubted getting the color because my last few cars were green, but this color is beautiful and it looks great in the sun. The sports package is great. I drove both the 2.4i and the T5 and the acceleration was negligable to me, so I didn't feel it was worth the extra money to get the T5. This car is definately worth every penny. The competition better watch out for this car!

Report Abuse

Owner

Mary Black, 08/13/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Best car I've ever had.

Report Abuse

ReVolvolution

Dubbu2, 08/19/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The overall fit and finish of this car is sexy. I've had nothing but stares and compliments since purchasing this vehicle. Many are amazed to find that it's a Volvo. The commute is smooth and quiet. I can't say too much about acceleration, however, because I've been breaking the car in slowly - but I read that the car reacts quickly and examines your driving style (aggressive/passive) and adjusts to accomodate accordingly.

Report Abuse

Excellent Choice

kgun, 08/24/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This car caught my attention and it keeps growing on me every time I drive it. It handles excellently and has enough power to keep up with everyone else.

Report Abuse

Great car!!!

evolvo, 08/30/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I purchased this car a week or so, 2004.5 model. First time getting an European car. so far I love this car!!! Got August promotion for free premium package plus supplier discount,I think I got great deal on it. (+ audio and climate) It was still over my budget I wanted to initially spend but I think I got a great car that deserve that much money. Also I got 1.9% finance, so it was good. The ride is soooo smoothe and the sound is fantastic. I recommend this car to everyone.

Report Abuse

Volvo Ultimate Drive

Anad, 09/01/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is an extremely comfortable and fun drive.

Report Abuse

It needs more work on the brakes

Dr Wolverine , 09/26/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

It was fun to drive the car, but after 12months of driving, I start to feel pain/uncomfortable with my knee while driving it daily. I dont think it's my phyical problem, but due to the design of the car.

Report Abuse

Had enough

Lou, 04/27/2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Bought car new July 04 and 6 mos later check engine light came on and everything replaced above engine block- cylinders 3 & 4 had 75% leak-down. Tried software download which is a joke. Replace brake pads too. Car out 18 days. Then ignition console went out car died. Out 5 days. Then radio went out, ate my cd's. Out 3 days. Next tranny issue- braking/accelerating produces nothing. Let off gas and retry works. Fixed. Windows work on/off, speakers work on/off. Strong electrical smell appeared. Defective condenser. All fixed. Out longer. As of today windows/speakers/strong smell issues still there, tranny wierd. Bottom line not safe or reliable. Software updates dont wrk.Is a lemon. Giving back. Had enough!!!!!!!!!!!!

Report Abuse

Fun

JohnKeith, 05/11/2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have had this car now for 2 years and it has a little over 33,000 miles. So, I feel comfortable to finally give my review. It has been a great car and VERY reliable. I traded my 2003 Accord in for it...and never looked back. The only thing I wish, I would have gotten the T5

Report Abuse

Great car

Joseph Agiato, 10/09/2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

My wife and I think this is one of the best cars we have ever owned.

Report Abuse

2 Years Later I STILL Love it!!

Restongal, 10/10/2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Okay I have had this car over two years and have done some serious driving, at just over 42,000 miles I've driven in most every weather condition and this car has passed with flying colors through all of them. I was stuck in a major snow storm in Maine, put the car in "winter mode" and had no problem driving where many others had to pull over. The 2.4 has plenty of get up and go, and I love the looks it gets from others, I have had several people stop and ask me about it. It handles well and corners darn good with no fishtailing, which I am sure the stability control is responsible for. I recomend this car highly!!!

Report Abuse

Good Car

Darc, 02/19/2007
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is a good car to own... but like any car - should be maintained... this can be expensive. Replaced the brakes at 60K, thermostat at 95K, otherwise just routine stuff... love to drive it every day.

Report Abuse

Not sure I would buy another one

Paul, 03/05/2007
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I really enjoy the way this car handles and drives. However, I have had a lot of mechanical problems. As a result, it has been in the shop more than any car I have ever owned. The transmission sometimes kicks hard when it shifts and the dealer keeps telling me this is normal. This car gets pretty bad ratings from Consumer Reports, something I wish I would have checked before buying. My warranty will run out soon and I will definitely trade it when when it does. I doubt I will buy another Volvo because of the mechanical issues. My wife's Toyota is much more reliable and more than likely I will trade my car for a Toyota when the time comes.

Report Abuse

Fun, Fun, Fun!

RYan, 05/30/2007
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

We are finishing up our 3-year lease on this car and have loved driving it. We have all options including upgraded stereo, leather, htd seats, etc. and it is a blast to drive. We have owned a few Volvos in the past (240, 850) and this one is by far the coolest (beats the stodgy S60 and S80 designs by a mile). It is peppy, even our 2.4i, gets good mileage, 32/22, and handles great, even in the snow. We are in MN and had two major storms this year. I popped the car in manual mode and plowed right out of 1-foot snow drifts, while our Camry bottomed out and got stuck several times. Great car.

Report Abuse

Traded 2000 S40 for 2004 S40

Mark Gray, 05/31/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I just traded my 2000 S40 for a 2004 S40. The dealer and the automobile are 1st Class. The small things I did not like about my 2000 such as location of window and mirror controls and cup holders have been improved greatly. The car also has a 5 speed automatic now and is much smoother and quiter. Some slight body changes make the car better than the 2000 model. A great car has been made almost perfect! Perfect would require about 200HP and 200lbs.ft. torque.

Report Abuse

Great Car!

TravisScher, 06/24/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The volvo S40 is really a great value. It has a very luxurios feel to the inside and and a european style outside. It performs very nicely and I have no complaints.

Report Abuse

Great Car

Bristol, 06/25/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have owned Volvos for years and this is a great car with wonderful comfort for the front seat driver and passenger - plenty of legroom and quiet well appointed interior. Wonderful pickup and braking. Everything seems to work as advertised. A very practical and fun to drive car.

Report Abuse

Great car for my used car budget

JRGILLESPIE, 04/02/2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I owned a 94 850 wagon and loved it, then I saw this one for sale at a lot. So far it's great. I love the eye catching "Virtual Blue" color. The turbo is great and it's got good pick- up. My $11k went far and I know this car will last me just like my last one did. I love the aggressive look of the front end and the rims. My complaints are like most everyone else's...the radio is ridiculous. The knobs to control the presets are just awkward. A "popping" trunk release would have been nice as well. I rated reliability at an 8 but I haven't had the car long. I base this on previous Volvo experience.

Report Abuse
12
Items per page:
51050