Used 2013 Volkswagen Golf Consumer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
18 reviews
List Price Range
$11,750 - $15,000

Used Golf for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons
4.63 out of 5 stars

3K mi in - 2 months

j33ie, 11/30/2012
2.0L TDI 2dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl Turbodiesel 6AM)
42 of 43 people found this review helpful

I did my homework to get my wife an economical car that would be an upgrade to her horrid corolla. Went with the TDI due to its track history. Fuel economy is better than EPA estimates. Driving it is smooth, fun and flawless. My wife loves to push its acceleration abilities. Handles brilliantly. Brakes are solid. The displays are great and intuitive. Bluetooth audio is pretty sweet as well -they don't advertise that feature. I like driving it more than my Saab 9-3 2.0T except for the fact that it is red. This car beats many Audi's in price and comfort (same maker, I know). Overall, the best car I have owned and one of the few I would buy new due to its high resale value.

Report Abuse

4.5 out of 5 stars

EPA Has Neutered this Car

bigal11, 02/05/2013
2.0L TDI 4dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl Turbodiesel 6AM)
16 of 16 people found this review helpful

Wonderful build quality, ride, and handling. Uses 25% more fuel than my '01. About the same MPG's as my kids' '08 Civic and '12 Elantra GT, which use 15% cheaper fuel. DSG is much nicer than anticipated for a guy who usually only buys manuals, but I don't relish the thought of the very expensive tranny fluid change at 40K miles, notably just outside the free factory service interval. This car is pricey, no doubt. You pay for the structural rigidity and interior finish quality. Fr a long term car it is worth it. Do not trust stated invoice. I paid fifteen hundred under, or twenty five thousand flat after two other dealers dropped out of the bidding. The invoice is well padded from factory.

Report Abuse
4.5 out of 5 stars

Great Car

beefoe, 07/15/2013
2.0L TDI 4dr Hatchback w/Tech Package (2.0L 4cyl Turbodiesel 6AM)
13 of 13 people found this review helpful

Purchased this car four months ago and have about 12,000 miles on it. Very enjoyable to drive and car has exceeded nearly all expectations. Don't be fooled by the 140 HP rating. The diesel engine is super torquey and it has loads of power when you need it. Won't blow anyone off the line but has great pickup through the 40-80 mph which makes highway passing very easy. Handling is excellent and the car is great fun to drive. My wife has an Audi A4 and prefers the Golf. Interior design is good, but I wish they'd offer a leather seat option. But I guess if they did, it would canibalize audi a3 sales.

Report Abuse

4.5 out of 5 stars

Took a risk.

bbbb1983, 06/04/2013
2.0L TDI 2dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl Turbodiesel 6M)
9 of 9 people found this review helpful

I came from a Subaru Legacy that was averaging 20mpg. I took a risk and went to my local VW dealer and test drove a number of vehicles. I was hesitant to purchase a diesel, but once I drove the TDi I was hooked. I do a lot of highway driving and this car rides like a dream. On top of that I average 49 mpg. I can creep up to 51 mpg if I don't use AC. City driving it ll hold consistently at 36.5 mpg. My insurance company even gave me a substantial discount for coverage because of the economy of this car.

Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

Golf TDI (DSG auto)

thedude12, 10/26/2013
2.0L TDI 4dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl Turbodiesel 6AM)
8 of 8 people found this review helpful

I purchased this car strictly for fuel savings and putting a lots of miles. The car far surpasses the rated 30mpg/city, I get routinely over 35mpg city. This is a heck of a car, well built, quiet and quick, very well equipped as well. I got the 3 year free maintenance. and a 0% finance for up to 72 months through Volkswagen financing. I also got the car for $500 below invoice so I know I scored. I am currently saving about $150.month just on gas alone(diesel), I am doing over 1000 miles/month and like I said the savings are significant.

Report Abuse
4.88 out of 5 stars

2013 Volkswagen Golf TDI w/ DSG automatic

dak971, 02/18/2014
2.0L TDI 2dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl Turbodiesel 6AM)
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

I just purchased the vehicle and love it! The car is extremely fun to drive. One of the main reasons was the TDI option providing over 42+ MPG which is just phenom. I was used to getting about 17Mpg-23Mpg at best in a previous vehicle. Time to go more economical and practical. The car is 4 doors and White. Looks just sweet and awesome. Really a fun car and there are so many pluses about this model.

Report Abuse
4.75 out of 5 stars

Room for the Linebacker

rbthatcherjr, 04/03/2014
2.0L TDI 4dr Hatchback w/Sunroof, Navigation (2.0L 4cyl Turbodiesel 6AM)
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

I purchased this VW Golf TDI in Jacksonville, FL in May 2013 after driving it and inspecting it on a hydraulic rack in dealer's garage. It drives exceptionally well as it exudes this rock-solid feel of German build-quality as well as the odd diesel clatter. The comforts are spartan, but there is more than enough head and leg room for me and my friends. After driving it 11k and experiencing the good dealer support for the car at Osteen VW, I would highly recommend the VW Golf TDI based upon its performance, price, and apparent quality.

Report Abuse
4.25 out of 5 stars

Does What You Need

bigal11, 11/01/2014
2.0L TDI 2dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl Turbodiesel 6AM)
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

34K miles. I love the agility and solid planted feel of this car. Made in Munich, much more substantial feel than my '12 Jetta. Great power delivery. Average 40mpg. Gets 48 @65, 39 @ 80, 36 in town. Prefer these cloth seats to Jetta's "pleather". I have little to complain about except this DSG tranny. My wife thinks it is unsafe, and I can't argue much. There's a 1-2 second lag before anything happens at takeoff which really throws your timing off compared to anything else you've driven. Also, Beware!! the $500+ tranny service every 40k miles. I really regret this purchase and would gladly trade it for the 6sp.

Report Abuse
4.38 out of 5 stars

Extremely Reliable

David Kay, 03/31/2015
2.0L TDI 4dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl Turbodiesel 6AM)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

I own a 2013 Golf TDI. Bought it in Jan. 2014 with 9,000 miles. It's now March 2015. I have put about 13,000 miles on it in that time. Not one service call. Not one single issue. Not one broken part. Not one headache. Not one single problem. (i sure hope I don't jinx myself). The car just works and goes and goes. The car is well built. Super quality and tremendous build quality. Not one single nightmare, not one single issue. Nothing. The car just works. Its such a pleasure to drive. I'm 6'1 about 250lbs and was considering on bumping up to the Touareg TDI , but I am so scared because this car just doesn't have any issues. Super happy with this vehicle. Highly recommend.

Report Abuse
4 out of 5 stars

Everything was going OK until.....

jemartin928@gmail.com, 05/17/2016
2.0L TDI 4dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl Turbodiesel 6AM)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

I really liked this car, aside from some minor annoyances - silver tab on vent falling off and disappearing, knob to adjust mirror breaking off. Until I had a big issue that pretty much led to me having to get rid of it. I noticed in February of this year that my car had condensation on the insides of the windows... I was perplexed how there was moisture inside my car, but we had some rainy days so I attributed it to that. Fast forward to a weekend when my boyfriend tells me my car smells funny. I agreed it did smell a little, but blamed it on my pugs etc. Arriving at our destination he starts trying to find the source, upon lifting up my floor mats he finds that the right side floor boards are SOAKED. I'm in shock, thinking it was from recently getting my car detailed etc. Come to find out over the next two weeks and two trips to VW my sunroof drains are directing water - not outside my car - but directly into my car. My car started smelling like a disgusting swamp. The first trip they say they cleared them should be good - but they can't help me get the water out that is now pooling in half my car. "they don't do that". I take it to a detailer who tells me the whole carpet needs to be pulled out and replaced. I'll spare you the rest of this story but it's a smelly nightmare. Ultimately I get a new carpet and it still has a smell - I realize - now there is some water showing up under my spare tire, under the trunk. No clue where this is coming from. VW says the drains are clear. Needless to say I had this car for 3 years and just traded it in this weekend, it's given me so much anxiety in the last few months. VW states they cleared the drains on my 40K mileage per the handbook - but it wasn't on my print out... GET YOUR SUNROOF DRAINS CHECKED. This could happen to you!

Safety
3 out of 5 stars
Technology
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Value
3 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
4.88 out of 5 stars

More solid and spacious then it looks like

yli2, 05/17/2013
2.5L PZEV 4dr Hatchback w/Convenience (2.5L 5cyl 6A)
28 of 40 people found this review helpful

Now I know why Golf is so popular in Europe after driving a while. The car is not fast; engine not quiet and the looking not sharp. Overall it has nice build quality, comfortable ride, and good handling. Very solid in and out. Many upgrades and detailed features not mentioned in specs. We had plenty of time researching before final decision. Extensively compared with Toyota Camry and RAV4, and compared within VW models. Passat feels so heavy, GTI is too dear for a collage kids; base Tiguan model looks plain and higher model is expensive. TDI does not have many benefits in America since diesel is expensive. Prefered waiting for the next generation Golf, but wife insisted buying.

Report Abuse
4.63 out of 5 stars

Fun and Efficient

nova_1, 09/22/2013
2.0L TDI 4dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl Turbodiesel 6AM)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Test drove: Passat TDI, Accord, Camry Hybrid, Audi A3 TDI, Acura TL... Love Audi A3 TDI fun ride and look, but too expensive. Almost bought Golf TDI on the first test drive, but prefer to wait for 2015 Golf TDI/2014 Mazda 3. I test drove Passat TDI 2 weeks later, end up bought a 2013 Golf TDI with huge discount. No regret. After 25+yrs with Japanese mid-size sedans, very happy with my first German car. High fun factor, quick acceleration, great steering and road feel, quiet at cruising, good brakes. 36-38mpg suburb, 43-51mpg on highway. Larger/quieter/cheaper than A3 TDI, with high quality interior. Sport tires can be noisy on very coarse road. Later, have to go for a drive now.. :)

Report Abuse
4.63 out of 5 stars

Very Happy- VW Golf TDI

hamahowa, 07/17/2014
2.0L TDI 4dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl Turbodiesel 6AM)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I purchased this car back in November 2013 to replace a 2002 Acura TL. Very happy I did. The fuel economy is outstanding- averaging 34 MPG with about 95% city driving. Easily getting over 42 MPG on the highway. Huge upgrade from the 20 MPG I was getting from the Acura. The ride comfort is amazing considering the small wheel base. The seats are outstanding and incredibly comfortable on long trips. The engine is smooth but gets a little loud when pressed hard. Not a big deal. The paddle shifters are fun to use allow for quick passing maneuvers when needed. The DSG transmission is great and works very well. I usually prefer manual transmissions but this one is just that good.

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

A Better Car Than Most Think!

Bo Thompson, 10/09/2016
2.0L TDI 4dr Hatchback w/Tech Package (2.0L 4cyl Turbodiesel 6M)
2 of 3 people found this review helpful

Awesome car! I love this car so much that I am thinking about keeping it when VW comes out with the "Re-Buy Program" for scamming its diesel customers. What idiots! But what a car they made. Perfect for commuting in the SF Bay Area.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Tempted To Buy Another

Binky, 07/04/2017
2.5L PZEV 4dr Hatchback (2.5L 5cyl 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Such a fun car to drive and a real value. Sport mode , tiptronics are a couple of my favorite features. I have driven through intense rainy weather and serious flooding and the Golf is sure footed and relatively comfortable. Cargo is reasonable, I can fit my bicycle back after taking off the front tires, works fine for regular supermarket runs. No mechanical issues after 4 years and 60k. The only thing I would improve is the seat height for tall drivers- I have to lean to the side to see some headlights. Not great visibility on a road trip , can't see much over all the trucks and SUV's.

Safety
4 out of 5 stars
Technology
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
3 out of 5 stars
Reliability
4 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Excellent car

Jim, 07/10/2019
2.5L PZEV 4dr Hatchback (2.5L 5cyl 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I bought my Golf almost 4 years ago, drove in Germany in the 90's a Golf too. I am really impressed with this 2.5l version and this 6 speed automatic transmission. So much power and driving is so much fun. Now 102000 miles and still go like a bought it.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

one of the best cars on the road everyone loves it

steven mckay, 09/19/2015
2.0L TDI 4dr Hatchback w/Tech Package (2.0L 4cyl Turbodiesel 6AM)
1 of 3 people found this review helpful

love this car, and my son does too. i am almost 300 pounds and stand 6 foot 4. i fit in it just fine and so can three other men my size plus my son loves it. the mpg is amazing. get the tune intake and exhaust done and you'll get over 50mpg. pros: everything from mpg to comfort handling and over all quality. cons: the transmission needs to be serviced every 40000 and its expensive. if you don't get the transmission tuned with an aftermarket tune you'll notice a hesitation for half a second when going from a stop to pulling out in traffic. depending on your driving style could be dangerous. the aftermarket tune corrects this issue or if you like to leave your car stalk just drive safer.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Groovy Golf

Clair Langmaid, 03/14/2016
2.5L PZEV 2dr Hatchback (2.5L 5cyl 5M)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I've owned this Golf for 3 1/2 years and the only problem, which is a big one, is the well-publicized diesel emission control scandal. I get low 30s gas mileage in town and nearly 50 MPG on the road, which is great. I'm probably going to trade it for a gas powered VW since I've had great luck with the VWs and Audis over the years. I still don't know for sure what VW is going to do about the emission problem. If an inexpensive fix would be available, I'd probably keep it. It's a blast to drive. Update: In April, I traded my Golf in for a Passat SE. The dealer gave me a great deal in light of the emissions litigation. The Passat is more comfortable, but not nearly a fun to drive. Gas mileage is so-so. I miss the torque of the Golf, especially, even though the Passat is turbo charged. I'm reasonably satisfied under the circumstances.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
4 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050