Used 2003 Toyota Tacoma Regular Cab Consumer Reviews

List Price
$9,850

Used Tacoma for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Wonderful small truck

JimiDGreek, 07/24/2004
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I bought my Tacoma last year and I love it! Great on gas,I average 28mpg. Good ride,drives nice. A/C is ice cold. Cab is a little tight for me,I'm 5`10. No problems at all with it. I would buy another for sure. Next time I'm getting an extra cab. I feel it's a better value than a Ranger or S-10.

Report Abuse

The little engine that could

ren, 03/04/2005
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Well, I have to say that this little truck is great for its size. Off road and this little guy can do it ok. I wish it had about 10-15 more ponies, but you cant have everything right. For the money this truck is great. It's reliable and its gets me from A to B. I wish I had an extended cab for more room but I manage in this one. Regular maintenance is good and easy. There is a weird creak or rattle in the dash at times. Wish it had a higher resale. Overall, not a bad little workhorse.

Report Abuse

Dont Pass this one up!

Super-Steve, 01/23/2003
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I gave up a Chevrolet to drive this. I only regret not doing it sooner. This is the best vehicle I have ever owned. Its a 4 cylinder that has similar performance to a V-6 Mustang. Don't believe me, go race one! The ride is very solid and it has no squeaks or rattles. I paid a higher price for it, that other trucks of the same size, but option for option it really cost about the same. Toyota only builds what it needs, so therefore you will not find a "stripped down" Toyota on the lot unless they were special ordered for fleet purposes. The bottom line.... pure quality!

Report Abuse

2003 Tacoma

fixandrepair, 08/09/2004
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I had '86 Toy P/u and loved it but needed more work so bought a new Tacoma with just the basics. I own (have ownd) many Toyotas and they are low maint/reliable. BUT noticed this is the first one not built in Japan, but in TENN, and I can tell the diff in quality.! Windows loose/rattle, creeking sound in dash, bed liner coming "unglued", paint bubbling up both sides on door at bottom. Only complaining because I love my old TOY and still have a 4rnr I'm happy with. I like my Tacoma (gave it a hi rating) but it could have been built better.

Report Abuse

long time toyota owner

altoona, 10/30/2004
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Over all it is ok for the money. Drive train is very noisy at slow speeds or when climbing hills. I have owned toyota trucks for many years and would not even consider any other type of maker. I would like to have had a clock somewhere on the dash.

Report Abuse

I'll always buy Toyota.

Americayay, 03/15/2008
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I get amazing gas mileage for a truck. I adore this truck. It's cute and incredibly reliable. The only problems I have ever had have been normal car maintenance problems (battery, tires, brakes, etc.) I also threw it out of alignment jumping train tracks at 16. Other than that, I'm pretty sure it's powered by a 40 watt lightbulb. Absolutely zero get up and go. ZERO. Clocked it at 0 - 60 in 27 seconds. I am NOT exaggerating. The cab is very cramped. I did not know my husband when I chose the truck and didn't realize I would one day marry a 6' 4" 300 pound guy. It's awful and painful to sleep in this truck. Storage space is zero. Overall, this is a wonderful truck. Particularly as a 2nd car.

Report Abuse

I'll Own a Toyota Truck For the Rest of My Life!

Jennifer G, 05/26/2018
2dr Regular Cab Rwd SB (2.4L 4cyl 5M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I bought my first, brand new Toyota Pick-Up truck in 1987. Back then, it didn't have a model name. It was just a Toyota pick-up. It lasted me 16 years and 316,000 miles. The engine was still strong, but it started costing me too much on maintenance for other things that were wearing down. I was so happy with my old truck, I honestly didn't want to get rid of it, but it was dying a slow death and beginning to leave me stranded everywhere. In 2003, I wanted nothing else but another Toyota truck. So I bought a 2003 Toyota Tacoma. 15 years and 197,000 miles later, this truck is running like a champ with no signs of quitting on me. Everything is running strong, I've had no mechanical problems, I keep up on all regular maintenance, and I absolutely LOVE this truck. I'm only sad that this will be the last manual truck I'll ever own since manual vehicles are becoming obsolete. But I LOVE manual trucks. I've already decided that my next truck, which will be no time soon, will be a Toyota Pre-Runner because I don't see myself in anything else but Toyota trucks.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

does very well

Larry, 03/10/2016
2dr Regular Cab Rwd SB (2.4L 4cyl 5M)
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

It has served me very well

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Good truck, a few problems

jimwhoboughtatruck, 12/26/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This truck has 2500 miles on it now, and I have noticed a few problems. The steering wheel is in the way of the clock, and I have to lean over to see it. About half the time, the truck takes two tries to start. I have no idea why a brand new vehicle would not start on the first try. Since I bought the truck, a few rattles have developed in the interior. One is the cover for the passenger side airbag on the dashboard rattling. I haven't tracked down the other rattle yet. The clutch petal just started squeaking every time I press it down.

Report Abuse

Lots of fun If you don't mind a toy

upgraded, 01/06/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

fun to drive for about 1 hour.... looks great truck... always gets the looks....good speed for the power plant...

Report Abuse

2 Wheel drive Tacoma

Magyarorsag, 01/25/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is the 5th Toyota Pickup I've owned. Excellent vehicle for just about everything. Gas mileage is reasonable, reliability is outstanding...typical Toyota workmanship. I'm considering purchasing my 6th Toyota pickup, with luck a Toyota Tacoma S-Runner. You can't go wrong with these Toyota trucks.

Report Abuse

Great Truck

jay ramsey, 08/01/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I drive a great truck. My Tacoma is an all around well balanced good 4wd. It has great ride quality. It is a fun vehicle to own.

Report Abuse

Toyota Tacoma

Dane Coleman, 08/17/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The plain Tacoma truck run okay. Not enough of power in the 4cyl. Just little more torque. Cheap seats and interior doors. Thin metal bed and box. The truck should be about 2" higher off the ground. Could be quieter in the cab while the engine is running/ 4cyl

Report Abuse

Not Bad at all

cstulz, 09/12/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Just purchased 30 days ago. Had minor problems with dash installation. Biggest issue with automatic is the idle speed. Dealer says it can be adjusted slightly through computer chip. Overall, I am very happy with the build quality and performance for the price paid. Also have a 98 4Runner V6 with 104,000 miles.

Report Abuse

dependablity

ocoee, 09/15/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

great value for your money and a great transportaion.

Report Abuse

underperformer

afab, 08/09/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This vehicle is pretty well built, but I am about to take it back for the second power steering pump. I experienced the same clutch squeak that the other guy did, and rattles are starting to develop. The biggest annoyance is the road noise that eminates into the cab through the bare back wall of the cab. How much more could it have cost to "finish" the back wall of the cab? Toyota charges a premium price for what is supposed to be a premium product I expected that and was dissapointed. I would still buy another Toyota however.

Report Abuse

Best Little Truck

Ulysse, 09/27/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

In the small pickup category the base model Toyota Tacoma can't be beat. Reliability is 100%. I've had no trouble @ all. I live in the Nort East & over the winter made several trips throuout Northern New England & Quebec during a Winter of record cold & snowfall & never once had any problems (pretty remarkable for a 2Wheel Drive ). I do however recommend weight in the back (I used sandtubes) & SNOW!!! tires on all 4 tires. I'm looking forward to many, many miles & years with this base model Toyota Tacoma

Report Abuse

depenable

lambd, 09/27/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

this was an economical buy. it gets me to work, kids to school, and good gas mileage. It seems like it is a solidly built truck and is definately holding it's value so far this year.

Report Abuse

great truck

2k3tacoma, 09/29/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Truck is awesome. I had a sonoma before this, and believe me, the reliability on toyotas and performance is much better. Took truck on a 3k miles road trip and ran perfect the whole way. Bucket seats provide much comfort. Overall great truck

Report Abuse

after one year old report

skyking85711, 01/04/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

From day one when i went looking for a small quality pick-up truck i knew it was going to be a toyota tacoma 4 - cly 5-spd man. with air and stereo power sterring & power brakes.i never even test drove it as i drove it from the parking lot to in front of the dealership they wrote up the paper work i signed it and left with the truck ,i miss not having a clock and trip-ometer but have learned to live without.tacoma A-OK in my book.

Report Abuse

enjoyed my 1995 tacoma more

bslashbar, 12/13/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is my third toyota, I doubt I will be buying another Tacoma because I don't believe the quality is the same as the 1995 model I had. Got nearly 300K on it and I can only hope this one will give me half as good of service. Fuel mileage and power are both lacking in my 03 (avg 18 mpg) and the comfort, noise level and interior design seems to be lacking quite a bit. Have had some trouble geeting std trans to shift into reverse several times and had to move forward in order to get into reverse. Cup holders are really of no use as they are in the way and will not hold cups very well.

Report Abuse

Originally a Chevy guy

aspry, 12/14/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Never thought I'd buy anything "foreign" but I'm glad I did. This is one great truck and can actually be used like one.

Report Abuse

Great Truck

yurets, 03/09/2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Love my truck. Looks good and drives great. Hauls trailers and whatever else needed.

Report Abuse

Good Basic Truck

ToyotaTom, 05/04/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I like it. However it is not for tall folks. I am 6'4" should have bought an exta cab.

Report Abuse

My 2 cents

4x4, 03/20/2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Just trying to help all that are looking into purchasing a Tacoma. This truck is good over all, yes it does have its minor flaws in the design and seems to have common problems with all us owners. It works good for me since I am single and do quite a bit of hauling and driving. The gas mileage is good on highways but poor in town, the rattles that everyone is having, I too have up around the dash. The outside noise comes from the way the wind wraps around the side of the cab and not the rear wall. I still love this truck because it is reliable and is worth almost what I paid for it. One thing I hate is when I am braking and hit a bump, the anti-lock kicks in and causes me to slide a bit.

Report Abuse

The First choice in quality, fun & style

DMT Steve, 04/17/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have had my Tacoma for over a year. It has been extremely reliable, and it draws looks from many other drivers. When quality is brought up, all you have to do is close the door on me Tacoma and compare it to closing the door on anything else. You can truly feel the quality through a process as simple as that. I have over 20k on the odometer and it still drives as well as it did on day one. There are no squeaks or rattles, as everything is very tight.

Report Abuse

My first toyota but not my last

skyking, 01/29/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I had a subaru that was giving to me by my brother 2 years ago that from day one always hesitated when taking off from a stop.it scared me because in a heaverly traffic town it can be dangerous when you pull out with plenty of time yet the car wants to stall on you. plus the air-condition was out so i said i am going to get a toyota tacoma truck .and it has been a blessing so far and i get alot of compliments also.i bought the air and stereo package power steering and abs brakes and that is just the way i wanted .so far it is a real hoot. forgetabout it just enjoy your new TOY>

Report Abuse

Last one

J Miller, 06/18/2018
2dr Regular Cab Rwd SB (2.4L 4cyl 4A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Currently has 160,3xx miles, bed has been under cover since the 7 hundred mile mark yet bad rust out in the bed, center of the wheel wells, from the under side. Between 85k and 140k - 4 radiators and a blown head gasket, three coils on the #4 spark plug, good amount of sensors out. Have pretty regular maintenance - no dealers except as follows: Went to dealer with the blown head gasket (as my normal service shop was overwhelmed with biz at the time) - service writer flat out called me a liar when I mentioned the radiators. Never mind my response. Gave them their $100 for checking it out. $3k plus to repair - no thanks. Searched around, repaired for $1500, been fine since. Etc, etc.....

Safety
Technology
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Daily work transportation

Foggy, 07/11/2019
2dr Regular Cab Rwd SB (2.4L 4cyl 5M)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Original owner 165,000. Mi has been a really nice truck. Drive 55 miles per day on winding country roads with elevation changes. 22 mpg average. Several issues over the years 1. Dash lights out. Not fuse. 2. When cruising light intermittently will pop out of gear. Reengage ok just hassle, been doing since new. 3. Right front brake caliper assm. Pins rusted into housing had to replace most everything on that side. That's it color dark green.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050