Skip to main content

Used 2001 Toyota Sequoia Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$4,715 - $7,721

Used Sequoia for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale
12345...19

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons
5 out of 5 stars

Unbelievable

dirkpitt, 06/06/2013
updated 11/30/2016
SR5 4WD 4dr SUV (4.7L 8cyl 4A)
47 of 47 people found this review helpful

I bought my Sequoia in 2001 with just the dealer miles on it. Now, it has about 190,000 miles. I have done the regular services on it. It now needs the 180,000 timing belt change, etc. This SUV is incredible. It is still tight, quiet, and like new inside and out. It still does not burn any oil between changes. I stated using synthetic about 4 years ago. At this point, I wonder how long it will last. So far, no problems at all. UPDATE: My 2001 Sequoia now has 252,000 miles on her. The rear hatch door latch broke, but I fixed it myself for $25. Small coolant leak, think we've fixed that. This is an incredible vehicle. Let me explain. My wife drove Suburbans for a long time. I bet we went through 3-4 of them. They were ok, but by the time they had 75,000 miles on them, they would start getting mushy riding. Swaying all over the road. They looked used and worn out. My Sequoia, still rides tight, no swaying, steering is tight, all fittings tight. Soundproof and rattle proof. I've never seen a vehicle maintain it's integrity like this. We just got back from a 1,500 mile trip in it, with no issues at all. I have cloth seats--no rips, tears...nothing. No cracks on the dash. This is a great car. I dread the day it dies. I have a friend who has the same model, is has 300,000 miles on it. Thank-you, Toyota!

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

4.25 out of 5 stars

FRAME

rodrider, 10/31/2012
Limited 4WD 4dr SUV (4.7L 8cyl 4A)
17 of 17 people found this review helpful

The car is ok but totlaly disapointed with the way the frames rust, my 2001 model has a bad frame rust

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Frame Restoration

Pink, 06/20/2016
Limited 4WD 4dr SUV (4.7L 8cyl 4A)
15 of 15 people found this review helpful

Toyota put a brand new frame and related parts ( About $10,000 of new parts on a 14 year old vehicle.) on a year ago due to some rust issues. Thank you Toyota. 170,000 miles and going strong.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
4 out of 5 stars
Value
4 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

love my sequioa for a whole lot of reasons.

Jc Gonzalez jr., 05/17/2017
updated 11/25/2017
Limited 2WD 4dr SUV (4.7L 8cyl 4A)
7 of 7 people found this review helpful

My father bought his 2002 Toyota Sequioa limited 2wd 4.7 v-8 in 2002. A great family SUB, to go on road trips. I love everything about the Sequioa had an amazing experience wonderful memories of my father driving his Sequioa all the way to Guadalajara Mexico. Not giving him any problems.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
4 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

4.25 out of 5 stars

So Far So Good

rangermutt, 08/04/2011
SR5 4WD 4dr SUV (4.7L 8cyl 4A)
10 of 11 people found this review helpful

I purchased this used the summer of 2011 with 130,000 miles on the odometer and would never have purchased it with that many miles had I not seen records of the service that the original owner religiously followed at a local Toyota dealership. A new transmission was put in at just under 60k miles but otherwise the areas of complaint that I have read about including undersized brakes, frame rust-through and cracked exhaust headers I have not experienced (yet). I installed a trailer brake controller for towing a twin-axle 14 foot cargo trailer with GVWR of 6,500 lbs. I will also be driving it in the winter when the snow is too deep for my Miata.

Report Abuse
12345...19
Items per page: