Used 2000 Toyota 4Runner SUV Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$2,129 - $4,177

Used 4Runner for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale
12

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

My 4 Runner rules

mike777, 01/31/2014
26 of 26 people found this review helpful

I purchased my 4 runner in 06 with 117 K on it , it was a 1 owner trade in with all service receipts ( lots of them) all service performed by the book by Toyota , (main reason I bought it) that and the reviews by owners. It has proven to be the best most reliable vehicle I've owned to date. I currently have 350K on it with no major or minor problems, I do my own service /maintenence, no breakdowns, everything still works, and I have the LTD with power everything! all I can say is wow, pretty much original everything. runs like a swiss watch. still drives like new and looks close to new. made in Japan with top quality parts, seriously whose alternator lasts 350,00 miles,500K here I come

Report Abuse

Best SUV ever

toyoglide, 10/23/2014
15 of 15 people found this review helpful

Bought the 4runner when it had 70k miles on it. Have done a lot of long distance driving and now have 397k on the suv. Have only done normal maintenance. No valve jobs or other major procedures. Recently replaced igniter, plugs, and fuel injectors and it runs good as ever. Had Michelin LTX tires on it and got 150k miles on one set. This is an amazing vehicle and is built to last. I am sure I can get to 500k miles. Engine is not overly powerful but not a big issue. You can also chew through brake rotors quickly if you are heavy on the brake. Overall I love this suv.

Report Abuse

Best vehicle I have ever owned!

fmcpherson, 08/12/2012
17 of 18 people found this review helpful

I purchased my 2000 4Runner in 2009. At the time it had 100,000 miles on it. Now, at 148,000 miles it is still running strong. Other than routine maintenance and a couple of small repairs, I have had nothing go wrong. I use this truck to haul a boat, as a daily commuting vehicle and it has never failed me. The styling is timeless and, although the ride is a bit rough at times, it is comfortable and very quite. I get about 17-18 mpg around town and 20-21 on the highway - not bad for a SUV. My only gripe is the small gas tank. I can only get about 225-240 miles between fill-ups.

Report Abuse

Love/Hate my 4Runner

Love/hate my 4Runner, 11/15/2010
10 of 10 people found this review helpful

I have had mine 11 years and 120,000 miles. Today its in the shop having a squeaky clutch pedal replaced for the second time at $300 a pop. That said, the manual transmission is the only way to go with this vehicle. As long as I am not towing anything, I feel I have adequate power. Like another reviewer noted, the check engine light comes on sporadically for no apparent reason. If you're not diligent and ask lots of questions, less respectable repair shops will try to pin it on the most expensive thing they can; I always get a second opinion on this one. Today, they are also looking into a cruise control and dash clock that only work sporadically; who knows why.

Report Abuse

v6 sr5 4x4

jenkjo, 04/15/2015
SR5 4dr SUV
8 of 8 people found this review helpful

I have a 2000 toyota 4runner sr5 4x4 with a 3.4l v6 and a four speed automatic transmission. it has just over 200k miles and other than a starter, the driver's seat angle adjustment lever, and a CV joint, it has had no problems yet. Mine has a 3 inch rough country suspension lift, increasing the already impressive ground clearance. the interior is very solid and comfortable, despite having slightly outdated styling. it isn't very fast, but has plenty enough power for daily use. it also has a surprisingly high amount of torque. it goes through just about any obstacle you can put it through. the fuel mileage isn't great, but that's a small price to pay for a vehicle this good!

Report Abuse

Bulletproof Daily Driver

Duane Mason, 01/19/2018
4dr SUV
10 of 11 people found this review helpful

I have the 4-cylinder, Manual Transmission model. For those unacquainted, that is the excellent 2.7 Liter, 3RZ-FE, with the superb, W59 manual transmission. Mine is bone stock, and set up for Street. It has a weekly commute of 20 miles both ways, on mostly freeway. I have heard some complaints about the 2.7 lacking power. Well those people must be driving the Automatic version. (The Auto cannot put as much power down as the Manual. Especially on hills, or passing situations, where you can easily downshift with a clutch). This engine is strong in the low and mid-range rpm's, it has much more torque than horsepower. Anyway I bought this car about 7 years ago, and it had 130,000 miles. That did not worry me too much, because it is a Toyota. Furthermore, it was built during a time, when Toyota was more hard-nosed. Back when they were more hungry, and had more swagger. There was no rust, the carfax looked reasonable, and my mechanic inspected it for about 30 minutes. He said it looked good, then I bought it later that day. Right now it has 264,000 miles on the odometer, and the car doesn't seem phased at all, by the high mileage. My goal is at least 350,000 with this car. I've seen a youtube videos of people with 400,000 original miles on their 3rd gens, so I know it is capable. My initial reaction upon seeing, and driving the 3rd gen 4runner, was the impressive Build Quality. The car has an aura of excellent construction, in every category. The engine is strong, torquey, and loves to be in the low and mid-range rpm's. (It gets pretty weak around 4.5k+ rpm's, so it is rather useless to push it too high, in the powerband). The transmission is high-quality. It goes through the gears with a fluid, confident feel. (Recommendation: Change the gear oil to Redline MT-90, it improves the shifting). While driving, there are no creaks in the body panels, or annoying sounds that emanate from the interior. The 4runner is spectacular on the freeway. Even at 100 mph, the car is solid and assured. It eats up miles at high speeds, like a GT car. Yet be careful not to throw off the balance too much at high speeds, because it is an SUV, not a sports car. For example, a sudden, jerky, right-left maneuver at 90+mph. (I highly recommend Kumho Solus KR21 and Kumho Solus TA11 with this car, they are a great match for the stock form, and not too expensive). In stock form, It is still a fun driver's car, and quite nimble for what it is. The Base model is pretty lightweight at 3,440 lbs, and Rear-Wheel Drive, (my favorite). Yet recognize that it is not a sports car. (I have owned a few sports cars in my day, and still think this is a fun car). Onto the interior: My lowly "Base" model, has very comfortable, cloth seats. They are plush and provide just enough adjustment. The steering wheel is good leather with a heavy-ish feel, excellent build quality. The instrument panel is pleasing and logical. Overall the interior is great, I love it. I have taken 6-hour plus road trips, in this car and it is comfortable the whole time. Another thing is, the back seats can fold forward, and then you have a 6-foot truck bed, inside your 4runner. Awesome. This car is the perfect size imho, for a mid-size, all-around, very reliable daily driver. The MPG is pretty good for what it is. I'm no Bean Counter, and drive hard, yet gas money hasn't hurt me. The major repairs, and their approximate costs I have had to deal with during my time of ownership: Power Steering Rack replacement ($1,000), Clutch ($500), Differential U-joints ($500), Brakes and Rotors ($350). Other than that, I do synethic oil changes every 6-7k, changed the tires once, and did a tune up about 10k miles ago. It is a low maintenance car and I am shooting for the long haul, 350,000+ original miles. One final thing I must stress about the 4runner: Every morning when I wake up for work, and get ready to start it, there is no doubt in my mind, that it will start, and run well. That is a priceless feeling. Many people fear their cars. In the hard struggles of life, I know that this car has my back, and will not let me down. As long as I give it minimal love and maintenance. It has NEVER left me stranded, and when it had an issue, you could tell that a problem was developing, over a period of at least 3 weeks, (like the Differential U-Joints). It never simply "gave out", like many other, inferior cars. It is a warhorse. It has gained my trust and admiration. I can see why so many people respect these cars, across the world. And why they are preferred so often, in brutal, war-like environments, in the Middle East and Africa. The 3rd gen 4runner is dependable, trustworthy, fun to drive, comfortable, plus it looks good. Could not ask for a better daily driver.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Be sure before you buy

Jay, 07/28/2009
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

I have only had my runner about 2 months, but there is lots for me to say. I love my runner, but it lets me down ALL the time. I bought it with 128,000, it currently has 132,000, and in that short time I have done: Rear axle repair (leaking oil) both sides, rear and front brakes, new rotors ($1100 bucks) New tires Michelin LTX All Terrains (4) $800, flywheel cracked, $735, started went out, $220. I bought it for $6400 bucks and have now put in over 2 grand. If you buy one and I recommend you do, buy a good well maintained one, because if you don't you can end up like me, up to your neck in repair bills. RECOMMENDATION: Buy one that is a one owner well cared for car.

Report Abuse

Great

d-dub, 04/11/2016
Limited 4dr SUV
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

I got this suv with 180k on it and I plan on having it for a long time! It is very reliable and great for those snowy Colorado winters. I also use it to haul my atv. Perfect for what I need. It is a second car so I should have it for years to come. Lots of DIY support online if you want to maintain it yourself. It is not overly complicated like newer vehicles out there but it will last much longer.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Best I've ever owned

Mike S, 05/20/2016
SR5 4dr SUV 4WD
12 of 14 people found this review helpful

Had my girl from 6 miles, drove her till she had 233,245 miles. It kills me that she had to be scrapped due to the frame rotting out. I found out this is a known problem. I'm infuriated that this is a known issue that was not taken care of by Toyota. I loved that car and loved everything about it. I know this may sound ridiculous, but I am saddened every time I see another one on the road. I miss my 4Runner. Nothing else was wrong with my girl other then the frame rotting out. Interior looked new, exterior still shined, and she was a tank in the snow. I never worried about the weather because I knew she would always get me home. I have no doubt that she could have hit at least 300,000 miles with normal maintenance. Gone but never forgotten.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Best vehicle ever

cpstaxes, 12/10/2014
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

I purchased my vehicle on October of 2000, BRAND NEW with only 5 miles on it. After 14 years, is still with 93726 miles !!GREAT!!! Always has been taken care of, services up to date and no complaints about it. Only minor repairs, nothing to worry about. Still drives like new. IF I had to buy a new SUV, definitely will be a 4Runner.

Report Abuse

2000 4 runner sr5 2wd

matt riley, 10/06/2010
7 of 8 people found this review helpful

I bought this truck about 3 years ago, Because it was roomy and looked nice I had no idea I would love this truck like I do. It runs great not bad on gas, Only problem I have is the center cap with an S in the middle is gone can't find one any where,other than that I will never buy anything else but a 4 runner, Maybe a 4wd next I think the 2010 is the best looking SUV on the road, other than mine, though in the ran sometimes the back end is a little slippery but nothing you cant handle. I would point anyone in to buying 1, Great family car, Great daddy truck. Go and buy 1.

Report Abuse

Over 100,000 miles and no rattles

NOLA lady, 09/22/2006
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

This is the most dependable vehicle I've ever driven. When we evacuated NOLA during Hurricane Katrina, we left the vehicle parked in our driveway (we evacuated in my husband's newer model 4-Runner). Mine sat in over a foot of water for at least a week and was hit by flying debris (probably part of our roof). When I started it up three weeks later, the engine turned right over; I was one of the only people on my street who just got in the car and drove it away. Since then, we've dealt with canyon-sized NOLA pot- holes, street debris, and true off- road conditions every day. Not a problem. She has cosmetic battle scars, but not a single rattle. 113,000 miles and going strong.

Report Abuse

2000 4Runner SR5

bzooty, 03/05/2002
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

I'm happy with my purchase

Report Abuse

My Baby

David Cordera, 10/26/2015
Limited 4dr SUV
8 of 10 people found this review helpful

The best car I have ever owned. Superior off-road performance and pleasurable highway driving. I will keep it until the wheels fall off. Since last report update, replaced rear axle seals and a starter. Additional repairs (programed service excluded) since I've owned it, replaced the automatic antenna, break pads, driver side door seal and 4 heater display light bulbs. That's it. Not bad for a 16 year old vehicle.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Best buy ever!

ToyotaLover, 09/11/2010
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I bought my 2000 Toyota 4runner in 2000 and it runs the same as it did when i got it. I feel so safe in that car.Only problem that it as is that is is a gas guzzler. I don't like the hassle with putting it in four wheel drive. This car is like a tank i got rear ended once and i had a little dent and the car that hit it was totaled! The second time nothing happened and the car that it me had a huge hole in it from the trailer hitch. I have the SR5 with the sports package and i have 110,000 miles and this car is the best car i have ever had!!

Report Abuse

Solid, reliable, well built SUV

Dominic, 09/16/2010
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Bought my 00' Limited 4x4 Runner with 111,000 miles. Everyone said "why would you buy a car with that many miles?" blah blah blah, I knew better. I've had it for 4 years now, has 171,000 miles and runs like new, haven't had a single repair. I've done routine maintenance - oil changes, a tuneup (plugs, wires, fuel filter) and new front brakes. ZERO repairs, it always starts, cold does not bother it. When I need to go off-road or in the snow it's an animal, and with the rear locker that Jeep people wish they had, it's basically unstoppable.

Report Abuse

toy4runnin

rando, 04/08/2004
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

this truck is the best SUV on the market. styling is more truck-like than any other SUV. no minivan resemblence on this one unlike the others. reliability and durability beats everything on the market

Report Abuse

2000 SR5...11 years running

kimbey2009, 12/31/2011
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I bought this SUV used with 106,000 on it back in 2006. So 5 years later I now have 226,000 miles on it and still pretty satisfied with the overall performance. The few complaints would be 1) brake pads/rotor replaced 3 times in 5 years 2) the uneasiness of driving with high winds swirling thus causing the SUV to sway 3) fuel filter replaced 2 times 4) rear axle replaced 3 times 5) power antenna went out 2 times but radio still plays...other than those complaints it has been mechanically sound and I wouldn't doubt it going for another 100,000 miles.

Report Abuse

4 Runner Transmission Problems

Ken, 10/10/2008
4 of 5 people found this review helpful

Car was a great car until about 70K. Had a couple little issues. One is a rattle that we have been unable to solve somewhere in Dash. Car is slightly underpowered. V6 strains over those hills when you get any kind of steep roads like Flagstaff, AZ or mountains west of Denver, Etc. Shutting overdrive off helps immensely. At 81K would not come out of 4 wheel drive. Replaced 4x4 actuator in transfer case ($1500). At 90K same problem, dealer says it needs a whole new transfer case costing ($3700). This will now become a 2wd 4 runner until its sold. I am told by dealer Toyota will do nothing. Very disappointed in the quality. Any car that u have major stuff before 120K is a sub par.

Report Abuse

Best Car

pumasoccer3, 07/02/2010
4 of 5 people found this review helpful

I have trusted it and it broke down once because of a starter that i did not change which is suppose to be changed every 10 years. And since then i haven't had a problem great car. Going to give it to my 16 year old.

Report Abuse

Good, but overpriced.

pmn, 09/02/2008
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I've had this for 5 years and overall it has been reliable, although it once failed to start at -15 degrees, died on the interstate for five minutes, and misc things have broken. Off road capability is excellent. MPG is poor considering size and modest power, ride is pretty rough, terrible in a cross wind, and overall comfort is below average. Not nearly enough enough power to comfortably tow what it claims. Paid a premium price due to reputation for reliability, and for the most part has not disappointed there. But resale today isn't all that great. For my actual cost out of pocket I could have driven a significantly nicer (and larger) vehicle the past 5 years.

Report Abuse

It Still Works But Required Work

Wayne, 05/08/2010
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I bought this SUV in 2003 as a carpool car that could handle the NE winter, and ski trips to VT. It had Toyota 2nd hand warranty. 2 immediate problems: car stalled when accelerator punched (once on the Whitestone Bridge!), and parking gear did not engage (almost rolled off of a cliff!). Both were dangerous and the dealer only ID'd the second problem (both had numerous complaints). At 140,000 miles: paint job failing on rear hatch (no fix), bumper rusted out ($1000+ at dealer), replaced air sensor twice ($450 each at dealer) and inside tire rod ends ($70 at non- dealer part store).

Report Abuse

Love my 4Runner, but ...

DebbyEva, 06/07/2010
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I bought my 2000 4Runner new and have loved it. It has been so reliable, great in snow and safe! I really want another 4Runner, but have waited 10 years for Toyota to improve the gas mileage on current models. Sadly, I give up.

Report Abuse

7 years later, still running!

T's Runner, 09/18/2010
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Bought this car used right after college as a single person, now it's converted great for car seats, strollers, etc. Has performed excellent during the worst snow storms, and is a great car for beach trips. Cleans up well, low maintenance, and I would buy it again in a heartbeat.

Report Abuse

Great Truck!!!

BRIAN, 04/29/2005
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Looks great and is fun to drive around town. It does well off-road with the rear locker. Probably my favorite car so far.

Report Abuse

LOVE IT!

TRex, 01/21/2005
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

This is my second 4Runner, first one was a SR5 Sport, and now the Limited. In over 20K miles in one year the only things I've replaced are the tires and the oil and filter. This is a real- deal truck/suv, not based on a car unibody design. Being tall makes the seats feel a bit short to me and with a lot of towing I'd like more power, but for daily driving, camping, off-road, this thing is the best in its class! Up to MY2003, this is the last class of 4Runner made in Japan. That says something and the new body style is too "edgy." Love the 4Runner!!

Report Abuse

Runna

clarkj5, 06/14/2006
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Love it! I've wanted a 4Runner for 10 years, Now I have one and it was worth the wait. Love the off road capabilities and styling.

Report Abuse

I LOVE IT

mstpoo, 03/08/2002
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I have wanted a 4runner for so long. I just got one, and I love it! I could'nt ask for anything else!

Report Abuse

Back to a Toyota

Carl, 07/27/2010
3 of 4 people found this review helpful

Bought my 2000 4Runner XR5 in 2009 with a little over 100,000 miles on it. After "experimenting" with a Ford Expedition (Junk) and Chevy Suburban (actually not a bad vehicle), I am glad to be back to Toyota. Styling is timeless and it runs like a top. My only complaint is that it is underpowered. Although it has a 5000 lb tow rating, it labors to pull my 2,500 lb boat, especially going up hills. Other than that, it has been a great vehicle.

Report Abuse

So VERY SAD

3dogdaze, 06/17/2015
SR5 4dr SUV
8 of 14 people found this review helpful

I am so very sad! I am facing the worst decision of my life. I have owned my 4 runner for over 12 years, and am having to give it up with ONLY 134000 mile on her. The FRAME and rear differential are totally rusted out. I expected to own my girl for another 100k miles @ LEAST! This is a known problem with the 4 runners and I am not able to afford the cost of repairs. Toyota will you fix my girl??? I love everything about her, and it is breaking my heart to have to scrap her because of FAULTY steel from over seas.

Report Abuse

Gen 3 Toyota 4Runner -still a hot buy

Julia Deck-Russell, 07/14/2016
SR5 4dr SUV 4WD
2 of 3 people found this review helpful

Best reliability out there. 4R’s are extremely reliable vehicles ! Shortly after this first review I posted it 2016, My son hit a concrete wall in a culvert in my 2000. He was hurt but okay. Air bags deployed. Seat belt on but head still hit windshield. Seat belt cut him but did it’s job. I own a ‘99 limited now.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Bad experience

BRITTinFL, 07/08/2003
2 of 4 people found this review helpful

I loved my 4-Runner until the right front wheel sheered off at the axle at 50mph, the truck then veered to the right and rolled. I guess it's a testimony to the truck also that my passenger and I walked away from the accident. $14,000 in damages, I don't want to drive it any more.....

Report Abuse

2000 LTD 4WD 4Runner

gknuck, 01/03/2009
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This is our second 4Runner. The first was a 1990 SR5 with 167,000 miles on it. We sold it when we moved to Florida. Kept the 2000 model and it's got 90,000 miles on it now and still runs like new. We bought it used with 21,000 miles on it in 2002. It's been a great vehicle just like the 90 was. Wished we hadn't sold the 90 4Runner now. We bought it with 70,000 miles on it (90 4Runner). We're currently looking to buy another one for a second car. Most likely another 2000 or 2001.

Report Abuse

2001 4 Runner

mikesdasd, 07/26/2002
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Lots of room but too bumpy a ride.

Report Abuse

Love it...

Narly, 07/27/2002
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This is the SUV for a person who still likes to drive a SUV with a rugged feel. It drives excellent on and off roads. The 4Runner has a great look.

Report Abuse

8 years and going strong

toyotofan, 02/02/2008
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Bought new in 2000 and never had a problem with it except when I had to replace the battery in the keyless remote. Oh, and when the car battery (finally) died a few months ago (it lasted almost 8 years!!). Great if you really need 4WD and road clearance. I put it in 4WD daily on our mountain road. We love our 4Runner. My husband wants to buy me a new vehicle, but I'm not ready to give this one up! Conservative dash, no bling. Boring stereo, cd player skips on curves and mountain roads.

Report Abuse

quality

thespire, 01/12/2003
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

More backseat room would be highly beneficial. Very narrow for 2 car seats in back seat. Quality vehicle that is dependable, stylish and safe.

Report Abuse

Toyota's Best

George Suggs, 09/30/2007
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This has been a very reliable and enjoyable car for us. We've towed over 5000 lbs of payload... had to replace disk brakes, but no other problems. A very well made vehicle.

Report Abuse

Low cost of ownership

J Bentley, 01/15/2019
Limited 4dr SUV 4WD
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Our Toyota 4Runner cost a little more than other makes but the long term cost of repairs made it a very inexpensive ride. We are totally sold on Toyota!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

I loved my car, but it had to go

Amanda, 07/01/2018
Limited 4dr SUV
1 of 3 people found this review helpful

I drive this car and absolutely loved it for 130,000 miles with NO issues. The brakes and rotors had to be replaced much more frequently than my husbands truck, but I had off road tires. Routine maintenance was inexpensive compared to other car brands. When it hit 130,000 miles though, the major repairs started and at that point it quickly got more expensive than what the car was worth. Now, if you keep maintenance up and invest on the necessary repairs, these cars will last reliably to 350k or more miles! Doing the math though, it was getting too expensive for what we would have been able to sell it for. I was still able to sell it for only $2,000 less than what I bought it for!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

CLUTCH SCREECHES:TOYOTA CAN'T FIX IT

wellesley80, 10/10/2003
0 of 2 people found this review helpful

I bought my 4Runner over other SUVs for Toyota quality. What a mistake. I've driven clutch vehiches for 27 years and never had a problem till this one. The clutch screeches. The dealer has replaced the clutch 4 TIMES. Last time the factory representative told me the dealer had installed it incorrectly. Now, 6 months later, it's screeching again. Don't buy this SUV. This is my last Toyota.

Report Abuse

Flip

vneyer, 01/16/2004
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Thought that the car was great till I took a detour on a gravel road and the car flipped.

Report Abuse

Wanna break your bank?

2_poor_4_4Runner, 04/10/2003
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

The Toyota may be reliable (except for the time I ran out of gas in po-dunk western Kansas while the guage showed half a tank still left), you will pay dearly for it. Toyota, in my opinion has grossly over-priced their vehicles. You will get twice as many luxury features from other makes for a lot less dough!

Report Abuse

Runs Like a Tank

Tim, 10/17/2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have had my 4runner since 2002 and have taken it on several cross country trips. It now has over 130,000 miles on it and it has never let me down. I have also taken down the beaches in Mexico and I find myself pulling others out. The only thing other than routine maintenance like a timing belt was I had to replace the starter once. It performs well both on and off road and it cannot be beat for reliability. I would highly recommend this vehicle.

Report Abuse

Awsome SUV

Freche, 05/15/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Great Vehicle, looks awsome, especially the Sport Package Highlander model with the Hood Scoop

Report Abuse

2000 4Runner SR5 4WD

Michael Fox, 05/15/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have never got stuck off-roading. The high torque is exceptional for the low range 4-wheel drive and for towing, not too quick off the line though. The fuel economy is also a little hard to swallow. For the few who it caters to it is an aftermarket optioners dream S.U.V. All interior panels are easy to remove with common hand tools which makes self instalation of stereos, speakers, lights, etc. a real snap. I have had my 2000 SR5 4WD for almost three years and it still runs like the day I bought it.

Report Abuse

Tough and Reliable

Brad063, 06/14/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I've had my 4runner for only a month now but already I see what a great car. It has smooth steering a great ride. But the acceleration house power could be better. It's is very offroad capable. It has conquered everything I've thrown at with ease. I suggest if you want a SUV that looks good on and off the road that can get you where you need to go no matter where it is in the city or out in the country get an SR5 4x4. But, if you need an SUV that is just for off roading I'd suggest a Chevy Tahoe Z71

Report Abuse

Reliable

Chad, 11/24/2009
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have owned my 4runner for 6yrs and have 167,000 miles on it and have done nothing but regular maintenance. It is a little under powered but very reliable. I have been on several trails in Moab and in the Black Hills of SD, (great 4wd system) I have the Sport package with the electronic locker in the rear diff. Toyota has built a very reliable and dependable vehicle with this one.

Report Abuse

150K and still running strong

Greg, 01/01/2010
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought this new and now have 150k on it. I follow the factory maintenance to the letter. I have done two repairs. One was the power antenna ($100), the other was a dirty fuel filter ($500). Supposedly these have lifetime fuel filters installed inside the gas tank but with all the dirty gas being sold I don't think there is such a thing as lifetime filter. Other than that it has been a great SUV. Loves the snow and gets about 18mpg. The OEM front brakes lasted forever...125k and still had 20% left! Still have the back ones.

Report Abuse

At 160,000 miles and still going strong!

Going on 160,000., 02/06/2010
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

We own 1 car and we have nothing go wrong. We just started to have to replace parts. It's cheaper than buying a new car. It still looks as good as the 1st day we got it.

Report Abuse
12
Items per page:
51050