Used 2007 Subaru Outback Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$2,828 - $5,595

Used Outback for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale
12

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

The quality and love are gone!

bobg04, 10/18/2013
2.5i Basic 4dr Wagon AWD (2.5L 4cyl 4A)
40 of 40 people found this review helpful

I previously owned a '97 Outback, so when I got a deal on the '07 I was excited at first. I liked the high ground clearance, more horsepower, larger fuel tank, and roomy interior. Then I noticed the still weak fuel efficiency, cheap knobs, cheap and hard to clean interior fabric, and door windows that catch (like my '97). This was nothing when my head gasket went at 97.5 k miles, like my '97 head gasket that went at 105 k. Subaru said they fixed this, but too many others have had the same problem. It's inexcuseable. I think Subaru have lost their quality, and owe all of us the cost of the repair for their poor design. Next time I'm looking for another brand of car.

Report Abuse

Seriously reconsidering buying another Subaru

bigoske, 05/21/2015
2.5i Basic 4dr Wagon AWD (2.5L 4cyl 4A)
27 of 27 people found this review helpful

A little history, may family has owned Subarus since the 1980s and absolutely love them. Bought this 07 Outback in 2010 with 100K miles. Ran like a top for a year with just the basic maintenance, oil changes, etc. Timing belt needed to be replaced, which was expected. Then we've had problems ever since. Had to replace the Head gaskets, leaking on the coolant side, which blew a hole in radiator, fixed that. Then the car wouldn't start intermittently, turned out to be a bad O-ring on the fuel pump. Had to replace all struts as tires wore at an angle. changed O2 sensors, catalytic converter still needs to be replaced, CEL still on. Extremely Disappointed with Subarus reliabilty on this vehicle.

Report Abuse

Excellent Vehicle

BuffFan, 11/22/2006
3.0 R L.L.Bean Edition 4dr Sedan AWD (3.0L 6cyl 5A)
23 of 23 people found this review helpful

Purchased a 2007 LL Bean H6 Outback earlier this month, couldn't be happier. Build quality is excellent. More than enough power with H6 and auto transmission. Have used both heater and A/C in temp extremes, it works especially well. Large 2-stage sunroof lets in lots of light. Handling is very snug and car is controllable at its limits. Very pleased with the car overall.

Report Abuse

SAFETY FIRST

JG, 01/14/2007
2.5i 4dr Wagon AWD (2.5L 4cyl 4A)
28 of 29 people found this review helpful

I was hit head on by a drunk driver going about 50 mph. I just got my Subaru two months earlier, and if it weren't for that car and the grace of God, I'd be dead. I want another one just like it. The safety features worked very well, and kept all of us from being seriously injured. Consider this type of car as one of your top picks. And NO, I do not represent Subaru. This report is straight from the heart.

Report Abuse

Very nice car, but a bit cramped interior

VLY, 10/12/2006
2.5i 4dr Wagon AWD (2.5L 4cyl 4A)
25 of 26 people found this review helpful

Bought it a month ago. Very nice car. Drives very well, 175 hp four is more than adequate. Got about 22 MPG on mixed driving. Rear seats are tight – I am 6’1” and do not have enough leg room. Front seats are too narrow – my 97 Camry’s seats are 2” wider. Right front seat is too low. I'd also like more storage areas; with two cups in front cup holders and glasses in the dash compartment I do not have a place for my cell phone. If front belt is unbuckled tones do not shut up – that is the most annoying feature in this car! I have to buckle up moving the car on driveway or a parking lot. Overall – great vehicle, very reliable per CR, looks & runs great, 4 wheel drive is a plus.

Report Abuse

Love / Hate Relationship

Dave, 02/12/2016
2.5i Basic 4dr Wagon AWD (2.5L 4cyl 5M)
13 of 13 people found this review helpful

Reasons for Hate: "Inexpensive and Built to Stay That Way" Ha! Whatever happen to that philosophy Subaru? Well, my 2007 Outback has been one of the most expensive cars to maintain. I have spent over $12,000 dollars in maintenance costs over the last 9 years - not including tire replacement. Your engineers should really do something about the Head Gasket issue as well as the flimsy boots on the front axles that require the entire axle to be replaced - and all too often. Certainly there are longer lasting materials out there for boot covers, or at least find a reliable way to replace the boot and not the whole axle. I have also replaced the clutch assembly twice, which is an exceedingly expensive job! It would have been cheaper for me to just upgrade to the Automatic Transmission when I first bought the car. <br><br> Reasons to Love: Maybe I'm shallow, but the only reason I do not trade the car in on something else is the fact that it is the most striking wagon design in recent memory - if not longer - if you have a long memory! It's an All-Wheel-Drive Sports car that just happens to be a wagon. The car has no bad angles! I just wish that the newer Outbacks had not lost their wagon roots. Any Outback after 2010 just seems to be struggling with an identity crisis, although the newer [2015+] models have shed some of their awkward bulges in favor of more subtle curves. You may be on the right path with the newer Outback, but just get the mechanical issues right!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Best AWD Sports Sedan Subaru Outback!

dd, 06/02/2007
3.0 R L.L.Bean Edition 4dr Sedan AWD (3.0L 6cyl 5A)
12 of 12 people found this review helpful

I bought the Subaru Outback LL Bean 3.0 edition after driving every possible AWD sports sedan on the planet. I traded in my 3 season luxury vehicle (2005 Cadillac CTS) for a 4 season AWD Subaru that is a safe, fun, practical and luxurious sedan. The Caddy was absolutely terrible in the snow. I drove the AWD BMW, the Audi A6, the Infiniti G35X and then I tried the Subaru LL Bean. It has all the right features with an engine that is silky smooth. I am very pleased.

Report Abuse

Subaru, where did the reliability go?

equiuga, 11/17/2011
2.5i Limited 4dr Wagon AWD (2.5L 4cyl 4A)
11 of 11 people found this review helpful

I love my car, but it has had soooo many issues that a car with 70K should NOT have. Both boots in front, the front AXLE!, front bushings, rear wheel bearing, DS seat malfunction, Ck engine lights to name a few. I get my regular incredibly expensive maintenances done and expect more out of a car that I paid this much for. I spoke to a lady with a 08 model and she even had to have her transmission replaced at 30K plus many other MAJOR repairs. I actually chose this car over a honda and I now regret it. Subaru, where has your quality gone?

Report Abuse

Rock Solid car with only few minor glitches

Thomas Leahy, 01/19/2016
2.5 XT Limited 4dr Wagon AWD (2.5L 4cyl Turbo 5M)
11 of 11 people found this review helpful

I've owned the 2.5 XT Limited 5 speed manual for 10 yrs ( bought it new ), currently has just over 130k miles. During that time I've driven it HARD, towed 1 ton of hay behind it for about 10 miles ( no kidding I really have towed a trailer with about 1 ton of hay on board. Yes, it was overloading the car a bit, but it handled it fine, keeping the speed down of course ). I take it on gravel roads on camping trips regularly. It's very solid on wet roads in driving rain in the Pacific Northwest. It's solid in snow too, although I had not the best snow tires on it ( Hankook snow tires from Les Schwab, they were not great, don't recommend them, still needed chains to get up hill to my house ) Had one problem a few years ago where car would not start if the engine was hot : you run into the store for an errand and come out after 10/15 mins and car won't start. Wait another 20 / 25 mins and it starts fine. Happened intermittently. Took dealership a long time to track it down. Finally we replaced some sensor on the engine, I forget which one, and the problem has never re-occured. My wife doesn't like driving the car as she finds the position of the pedals very cramped and it forces her foot to an awkward angle for the gas pedal. Also, the back seats are pretty cramped. It's not really an ideal car for young kids in car seats as we found out. Agree with another reviewer that the roof rails are not the easiest to adjust. Was just barely able to make it work with a 16 cubic feet Thule cargo box. The gearbox is certainly not "smooth" but you get used to it and it does the job. Was told by the dealership when we bought it that it has a tougher gearbox and clutch to support the bigger engine on this turbo model so maybe that's why it's not so smooth. But overall if you like to "drive", it's a fun car to drive. You can throw it around twisty country roads and it'll totally hold the road and go where you want it to go with no hesitation. Had a few minor repairs, mostly things like rubber boots on CV joints, mostly items I considered wear and tear from the way I drive it. Fuel efficiency is about what could be expected from a 2007 vintage AWD. Easily get 28mpg on a long highway trip and average 23mpg in mixed driving. I have been diligent in doing all factory recommended servicing right on schedule, not sure if that contributes to my good results, but it can't hurt anyway ! Update 2/1/20 : At 170k miles, still have not had the clutch fail or any head gasket issues. Continue to average 23mpg in mixed driving. Does burn some oil at this point. Have to add 1 quart every 1500 miles or so. Still drives well, lots of power and good performance. Update 2/4/21 : Finished up doing a pre-emptive major over-haul last year at 172k miles. Pulled the engine, replaced clutch, head-gasket and timing belt, and completely renewed ALL rubber, hoses and o-rings throughout the engine. This addressed some oil leaks I was having. Unfortunately, after all this, it still burns oil at about the same rate ( 1 Q every 1500 miles ). We didn't split the case and pull the pistons and re-line the cylinders which we'd have needed to do to stop the oil burning. But I had enough money spent ($3800 ). Nevertheless, the engine should be good for another 150k miles now

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

2007 Legacy Outback 2.5 w/ 125K

Karl B, 07/25/2016
2.5i Basic 4dr Wagon AWD (2.5L 4cyl 5M)
11 of 11 people found this review helpful

Have 2007 legacy Outback purchased as used lease car. Once over 100K had timing belt (expected), head gaskets, both front axles due to ripped boots. I going to learn how to replace just the boots next time. Had Cat converter replaced. CEL stated all 4 cyl misfiring. Turned out to be EGR valve.Could have replaced it myself for half of what dealer charged. Then CEL showed 2 cyl misfiring; wires and coil. Also LR wheel bearing. Hoping this is it for a while. Like winter traction. Don't see any benefit from 17 in wheels. Get rid of that light switch on the steering column. Accidently turns on when resetting trip odometer and lites on kills battery if you don't catch it. Needs more room under wheel well for snow tires. Cannot get better than 27 mpg;ave is 23. Plastic cover under engine needs to fastened better. Mine ripped off after just 3 winters of driving.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Nothing but trouble

sstteevvee, 01/18/2015
2.5i 4dr Wagon AWD (2.5L 4cyl 4A)
10 of 10 people found this review helpful

I have owned a number of cars in my life, unfortunately this is easily the worst. Before 85,000 miles, this Outback has had the classic blown head gasket($2000+), catalytic converter gone bad($1000+), velocity joint boot/control arm/strut problem that ruined four tires. The car is just poorly designed. It's noisy, has uncomfortable seats(poor thigh support outside of drivers seat) and a terrible design of the cargo roof rails that doesn't allow for a secure attachment of crossbars or a wide spread of the cross bars.

Report Abuse

It Rocks!

Jim, 11/30/2006
3.0 R L.L.Bean Edition 4dr Wagon AWD (3.0L 6cyl 5A)
19 of 21 people found this review helpful

This is my third Outback and this is a quantum leap over my 2001. Smooth, strong acceleration, great sport shift, good mileage, 20-22 mpg in town. Beautiful interior and paint. Love the firm but compliant suspension. New sunroof is big and now opens all the way. Looked at Lexus, Acura, Infiniti. Subaru beat them in all categories above, and about $8,000 dollars less. Do not exceed 4000 rpm for the first 1000 miles and use the accelerator sparingly and you will not be disappointed. After that, let her rip. I also own a pristine 2001 BMW 530 w/SP. Would rather drive the Subaru. The best value on the market.

Report Abuse

Don't see the quality

stevenm5, 05/10/2013
2.5i 4dr Wagon AWD (2.5L 4cyl 4A)
8 of 8 people found this review helpful

I am writing this for my sister, because I end up dealing with her problems and doing all the maintenance. She bought it new, the windshield leaked, and leaked and leaked, five trips to the dealer before it stopped. The wiper motor, two on the front, one rear, under warranty, but still. Leaked oil out of the sending unit, the valve cover gaskets, the drain plug, separate incidents. Chews through tires, 25-30K Bridgestones, not expensive tires, but not cheap either. Wheel bearings: at 100,000 miles she has had to do all four, the first ones at 50,000 miles. Now the head gaskets are leaking. This car is history, If she buys another one, she's on her own. Updated: at 125,000 miles and eight years old, the Subaru had rattled itself to pieces. Every fluid system on it was leaking, there was so much worn-out needed to pass inspection it out weighed it's value by about double. She traded it in for a used Ford Escape (2013) about 24 months ago has already put 60,000 miles on it with normal maintenance (oil, tires, wiper blades...). The Escape now has 100,000 miles on it and has far outperformed the Subaru in every department. The turbo four in it simply flies (about double the hp). She couldn't be more happy with it.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Report Abuse

Sweet & Sour

Earl, 01/07/2010
3.0 R L.L.Bean Edition 4dr Sedan AWD (3.0L 6cyl 5A)
8 of 8 people found this review helpful

Subaru, like all other cars are mechanical beings. Some sweet some sour characteristics. Four wheel drive for the price they charge is unbeatable but steering is hard at low speeds. Overall it is a fine piece of transportation. The seats are uncomfortable after 15 minutes. The transmission is annoying because of lag when under hard acceleration and then rockets off when it catches up. Center console is useless because it does not act as an arm rest and you have to park the car to find anything in it and it's small. Not enough storage space for personal items. Subaru needs to control their dealers so they don't try to fix your car when it isn't broke. That is the worst thing about it!!

Report Abuse

Subaru's Rock Solid Build Quality Gone

Donkey Boy, 08/07/2016
2.5i 4dr Wagon AWD (2.5L 4cyl 4A)
8 of 8 people found this review helpful

After the initial warranty expired the car has had a series of mechanical issues that mounted to thousands of dollars. Many of my issues are echoed in other reviews - head gaskets, CV joints, alternator, struts. Currently the AC doesn't work and the car needs another CV replaced. Also the driver seat makes my right leg go numb on long road trips. I have owned my last Subaru.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Good solid car

Mark, 12/01/2006
2.5i Basic 4dr Wagon AWD (2.5L 4cyl 4A)
13 of 14 people found this review helpful

Owned a 2003 Forester until it was totaled in an accident. The safety design of the car was a selling point and paid off. I never had any problems with the car and don't expect any from my new Outback. The Basic comes loaded, so a higher version just buys luxury items. I think Subaru is trying to compete with the Audi and Volvo AWD sports sedans/wagons. I did not drive them, but the Outback Basic in comparison is a good value. Edmunds true cost to own statistics is a good tool. Even though it doesn't have the lowest total cost, a low purchase price and using Subaru rewards brings the cost down. Two months driving and no problems except the lift gate rattled over bumps. Dealer fixed it.

Report Abuse

New Car Purchase

Phil, 09/07/2006
2.5 XT Limited 4dr Wagon AWD (2.5L 4cyl Turbo 5A)
7 of 7 people found this review helpful

This is the true SUV, especially the "Utility" aspect, since it conforms to nearly all my needs. Also, there's great value here in all its added creature comforts and the great reputation for safety. In city driving, it's peppy and its short turning radius is great for parking. On interstate drives it is wonderfully comfortable for me and an 85 lb collie. On the sport side, it can transport up to three sea-kayaks comfortably and cross-country skis can fit inside (over the front seat median). I do give up some things like having to slowing down on the curves, overall gas mileage (21) can be better and telescoping steer wheel and memory seats would be nice, but, overall, it's a winner.

Report Abuse

Subaru hits a home run in 2007

fish&skibum, 11/09/2006
2.5 XT Limited 4dr Wagon AWD (2.5L 4cyl Turbo 5M)
7 of 7 people found this review helpful

We went to the dealer expecting to buy the 2007 LL Bean. I was disappointed with the automatic tranny. Test drove the XT turbo w/ manual shifter and fell in love with it, as did my wife. As ski instructors in Western Colorado with a 50 mile round trip commute, we need a car that works in snow. With VDC, traction control, and snow tires this car will be unstoppable. BTW, Edmund's does not show that this car comes standard with traction control, but it does. With the SI selected to Sport#, this car runs neck and neck with our '02 WRX. Corners like it too. Heated power leather seats, dual zone auto climate control, and quiet ride give this car a lot of upscale standard features.

Report Abuse

Nice when new

Jim B, 12/18/2006
3.0 R L.L.Bean Edition 4dr Wagon AWD (3.0L 6cyl 5A)
7 of 7 people found this review helpful

I am very pleased thus far, but then all new cars are usually pleasant. The Subi meets or exceeds all my expectations. It is quite, comfortable, dual climate control works perfectly. It handles very nice, snug and secure feeling. All the safety features are just riding along silently in the background.

Report Abuse

Canadian Opinion

Nigel Collins, 01/08/2007
2.5i Limited 4dr Wagon AWD (2.5L 4cyl 4A)
7 of 7 people found this review helpful

I previously owned a 98 Forester and a 2001 Outback so I chose to come back to Subaru mainly for the AWD system. I know gas mileage will improve over the first 5000 kilometers, and with warmer temperatures in the spring. Since buying the Outback I've added a tape/film chip guard from Ziebart to help reduce gravel rash on the hood, the arm rest extension, winter mats, and had a dark tint film added to the front part of the sunroof to reduce glare when driving. The build quality appears far better than my earlier purchases, and the fold down feature for the back seat is much more user friendly.The interior materials seem to be of a higher quality with no issues around fit or finish.

Report Abuse

Lovin' it

SWN, 10/11/2006
2.5i Basic 4dr Wagon AWD (2.5L 4cyl 5M)
9 of 10 people found this review helpful

Bought this to replace a Forester - 500 miles so far and I love it. Great lines, nice cockpit feel, handling is excellent. Very well equipped for a base model, including AWD and all Subaru's standard safety features. 2007 base model dropped in price from last year due to them removing alloys, electric driver seat, rear cargo area cover...I don't need that, I'd rather save $1500.

Report Abuse

Reliable Pseudo-Luxury Vehicle

Mainer, 09/11/2006
3.0 R L.L.Bean Edition 4dr Sedan AWD w/Navi (3.0L 6cyl 5A)
12 of 14 people found this review helpful

For the price, I hoped for more up to date features. The GPS is outdated, with less up to date info than my Garmin purchased a year prior. Car accelerates with hesitation at first, and then kicks in. Rear brake light was dislodged when first purchased, and needed to be put back in place. Stereo features are well integrated with iPod adapter, but no Bluetooth on this vehicle.

Report Abuse

Best of many worlds

Dave, 07/31/2008
2.5i Basic 4dr Wagon AWD (2.5L 4cyl 5M)
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

My 2007 Subaru Outback is not a power vehicle, but it has enough power to take off if need be. The all wheel drive is great off-road and in the snow with the ride in both areas as calm as can be expected. I love having the wagon space when I need it, though I have run into times when I can't fit what I would like because the car is too short or not wide enough with the wheel wells. Gas mileage is right at 26 mph no matter how I drive. Freeway trip mileage is around 28.

Report Abuse

Looks good, unrelenting check engine problem

notasubaruguy, 02/03/2011
2.5 XT Limited 4dr Wagon AWD (2.5L 4cyl Turbo 5A)
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

Purchased at 1 yr old, manufacturer's lease turn in. First electrical problem at 4 months, seemed repaired. Then about a year later, seat heater controls went bad. Several months later, check engine light came on again, just as at 4 months. Wanted to replace O2 sensor ($800) but relented when reminded they already did that less than a year ago. "cleaned" sensor and that solved the problem for about 30 days. Brought in again, this time recommended fuel injection cleaning. Worked for two weeks. Back in again with same problem, after six hours shop has no idea yet what is wrong. Least reliable vehicle ever owned. DO NOT BUY. Back to Toyota or Honda.

Report Abuse

Fouth one is stilll depentable

s u, 03/02/2016
2.5i Basic 4dr Wagon AWD (2.5L 4cyl 5M)
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

I am on my forth Subaru and still recommend them. I have never had to do any repairs, just normal up keep. My only complaint about this 2007 model is the heating system changes. They made the heating ports for the leg and feet area very small. Does not keep you warm in colder weather. And less outside air comes in the vent at other times of the year . It would be nice if Subaru gave you the option of taking the car out of all wheel drive when not needed. This would improve the gas mileage. Still a trust worthy car.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Report Abuse

Does it all

J dub, 11/17/2006
2.5 XT Limited 4dr Wagon AWD (2.5L 4cyl Turbo 5M)
7 of 8 people found this review helpful

I wanted something that was fun to drive, tow my boat and get decent mileage. This was the perfect vehicle. I can get high twenties on the highway, tows my boat, offers the choice of a 5 speed manual (autos are for wimps), has a tremendous list of safety and comfort features, all wheel drive, and tremendous amounts of power for a family wagon. If you want to combine driving fun with economy, utility and safety, nothing in the price range comes close. In city traffic, the turbo is a blast. I have a sports car I put in storage when MN winter weather hits; this car will allow me to not miss it so much during the cold months. It's a blast.

Report Abuse

Great Car with a few critical deficiencies

subroo13, 07/19/2011
2.5i L.L.Bean Edition 4dr Wagon AWD (2.5L 4cyl 4A)
6 of 7 people found this review helpful

We bought a 2007 LL Bean with Nav. The navigation stopped working a few days ago (after 3 years) - i.e., the screen does not turn on anymore. The dealer was indicating a few thousand dollars for replacement, which I'm not going to. The cruise control does not work in downward inclines. The rear lock (lock to the doggy door) went bad twice. We got it fixed at an authorized dealership in Salt Lake City (Nate Wade) but it went wrong again within a year. On the positive, we just change oil and take it everywhere - in the most horrible roads in deep UT and travelled cross country in the US.

Report Abuse

Wish I never bought you

Carm, 10/02/2015
2.5 XT Limited 4dr Wagon AWD (2.5L 4cyl Turbo 5M)
11 of 15 people found this review helpful

I heard from so many people that I should buy a subaru because it's great in the snow. They were right about the car on the snow, but I have had nothing but problems with my subaru. If you can think of a million problems that could go wrong with this car, it's happened! I bought my car from a one owner driver at 60K miles and my problems began 4 months after I bought. It hasn't stopped, so it's time to trade it in! I think I've put 3000 dollars in the car and have owned it for less than 2 years.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

So far so good

DUG7714, 11/06/2006
2.5 XT Limited 4dr Wagon AWD (2.5L 4cyl Turbo 5A)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Traded my Grand Cherokee for this. Much better driver, obviously. Power is similar but handling is a world better. 20 MPG on the first tank - about equal city, highway driving in the DC area. Expect that to improve a bit. Takes a while for turbo to kick in, but I had been driving in 'Intelligent' mode a lot. After a weekend trip into the western PA mountains, my mileage seems to be improving. The seats were comfortable and the ride was great - hwy and city. I usually stop at least once on the 3 hour ride, but didn't feel the need to. Switched to Sport mode for most driving and have been enjoying the Sportshift manual. Also shopped BMW 328xi, Audi,Volvo,Saab. BMW came close, but too much $$.

Report Abuse

Fun car to drive

slerch666, 11/09/2006
2.5i 4dr Wagon AWD (2.5L 4cyl 5M)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Having just come off a 9 year love affair with an '85 Caprice Wagon I was looking for something to fill the void. The Outback, while quite a bit smaller, fit the bill. This car handles like a dream. It is responsive and it sticks to the road. I also traded in a '95 Impala for the '07 Outback. I lost some HP but the Outback outperforms on every other level. The apparent lack of unlocking the hatchback from inside without unlocking all doors is semi-annoying. I bought the subwoofer add on and it adds a lot to the sound system. I can't believe how much FUN driving this car can be.

Report Abuse

A 'Go anywhere, do everything vehicle'

TheSubaruNut, 11/10/2006
2.5 XT Limited 4dr Wagon AWD w/Navi (2.5L 4cyl Turbo 5A)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

This is our 4th Subaru since 1990. This one is the best so far. Style, fit and finish are superb. The stereo with XM radio is outstanding. Wonderful sound system. Handling is great and I love the 3 position switch controlling turbo performance. In the conservative 'Intelligent' mode we get 24+ MPG and the engine has yet to be broken in. Change the switch setting to super high performance and expect to get a real thrill (but plan to pay for it in MPG's). Turning radius is very short and without a doubt the ride beats any Mercedes or Lexus I've ever ridden in. Heated seats respond quickly and will roast your back side when set to high. We have the nav system, but yet to test it.

Report Abuse

Love my Outback

Beth Martensen, 06/29/2016
2.5i Limited 4dr Wagon AWD (2.5L 4cyl 4A)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Nicest car I have owned yet. Very happy with my purchase. This is my second Subaru and I am looking forward to the many adventures it will take me too. I had my Subaru Forester for nine years and it never left me stranded. It also held its value and I sold it for over Kelly Blue Book even with 209,000 miles. I plan to keep my Outback for at least 9 to 10 years. I love owning a Subaru, it is perfect for the outdoor lifestyle we enjoy.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Engine

georgegrimaldo@msn.com, 12/10/2016
2.5i Limited 4dr Wagon AWD (2.5L 4cyl 4A)
10 of 16 people found this review helpful

DO NOT BUY! Lawsuit vs Subaru on oil usage. Class Action Lawsuit vs Subaru. Subaru engines Blown Head Gaskets and oil usage. Check engine light kept coming on, took it to dealer they said it was Catalytic converter, Price is $1100.00 lots of money right. Then took it to shop get it replaced, guy at shop said cabin filter and catalytic converter are same code, so he changed cabin filter and problem went away. I was ready to spend lots of money for nothing, and Subaru obviously knows about it. Oil usage: Car started using lots of oil took it to shop, Dealership and Subaru only covered half the cost to repair bc Subaru knows about oil problems, but they should have paid for all of it if they know its a problem. Repairing engine is expensive. [non-permissible content removed] Subaru, I thought they were good cars based on reviews, THEY ARE NOT. I bought my 07 in 08 with only 15k miles on it. I've kept regular oil changes and regular maintenance as needed and recommended. [non-permissible content removed] Subaru knows their engines have problems but only pay when they have to. That's why they're is a Class Action Lawsuit vs Subaru on oil usage. DO NOT BUY, It's all hype about love your Subaru until they have to pay for their mistake then, No More Love, [non-permissible content removed] the customer, it's all about money to them. DO NOT BUY, DO NOT BUY, DO NOT BUY, DO NOT BUY, DO NOT BUY, DO NOT BUY, DO NOT BUY, DO NOT BUY

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Great Car

Fredzilla, 12/18/2006
2.5i Limited 4dr Wagon AWD (2.5L 4cyl 4A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

We just picked up the new Outback and love it. I was afraid that it would feel gutless compared to my WRX, but the increased low end torque makes it feel almost faster off the line. With the increased creature comforts of the interior (leather, heated seats, aux plug in the center console, Homelink, autodim mirror) and the added cargo space, we have absolutely no regrets.

Report Abuse

Like it, but could be better

Russ, 06/24/2007
2.5i 4dr Wagon AWD (2.5L 4cyl 5M)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Overall, I like the car. Mileage has been just under 27 MPG mixed driving on 3 tanks. I gave up a 1990 Volvo 240 wagon for this and I do miss the Volvo. Seating position and visibility were better in the Volvo. Performance is adequate, especially for the naturally aspirated 4-cyl. Considering the all wheel drive and ground clearance, the mileage is pretty good. Hopefully it will improve with break-in. I liked the looks of the 2007 grille much better than the new '08, so I grabbed it while I could. Haven't had it long enough to really rate reliability, so it gets an 8 rating there.

Report Abuse

Great car

mike, 03/19/2008
2.5i 4dr Wagon AWD (2.5L 4cyl 4A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Have had my Outback for 20 months. Absolutely no problems. It's seen the dealership for oil changes and tire rotations only. I'd highly recommend a Subaru to anyone shopping. Very reliable and dependable. This is my sixth Subaru and would be hardpressed not to buy another in the future. BTW, I like the grille on the '07 better than the ones on the '08 models.

Report Abuse

A reliable cold-country vehicle

Ed, 04/06/2008
2.5i 4dr Wagon AWD (2.5L 4cyl 5M)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

This is my second Outback. Sold first one, a 2000, in '07 with 175 thousand miles bought this. Very reliable, as was the 2000. The driver power seat's been improved, (2000 was poor) altho still could offer more positioning. Standard 2.5 has a little more power, which is nice and it still gets about the same mileage. Car's heavy on safety, which appeals to some. Wish they'd concentrate more on performance and mileage. That said it's not bad in the latter two. I think safety issues are better addressed more by skillful driving. They eliminated the weather radio band which I think was a mistake, I used it a lot.

Report Abuse

New 2007 outback

traci, 08/18/2006
2.5i Basic 4dr Wagon AWD (2.5L 4cyl 5M)
3 of 5 people found this review helpful

I've had this car for all of 24hrs and LOVE IT! It's a basic 2007 Outback wagon with manual trans. It's only got 80 miles on it for the drive home. Drive home is a curvy road with lots of hilly areas. Handles awesome and climbs the hills like they're not there. Bought it to replace my 2000 Legacy wagon with nearly 100,000 miles on it. I highly recommend this car!

Report Abuse

Subaru Outback, 2.5i Manual

The Czech, 11/10/2006
2.5i 4dr Wagon AWD (2.5L 4cyl 5M)
3 of 5 people found this review helpful

I wanted Subaru for some time, finally I have it. Previously VW Golf' 99, Isuzu Rodeo '99 2WD. Must say it is a nice vehicle, fun to drive. I go to Tahoe a bit. If you want to enjoy the car take it on curvy road. It averages 30m/g on hwy. The 2.5i has good power, however another 25 HP would be nice! It lacks get up and go power, do not count on any fast take offs. It pulls nicely up the hill once you get it going. Some wind noise is present. Taking the roof cross bars down might reduce it. The beige cloths seats get dirty very quickly, go with the leather. Some rattling in the cargo area drives me crazy, can't find it. Other than that you are getting a lot for your money. I hope to enjoy it.

Report Abuse

Eats rear tires

Last Subaru, 03/06/2009
2.5i Basic 4dr Wagon AWD (2.5L 4cyl 4A)
2 of 3 people found this review helpful

I've owned four Subaru's. The quality of each successive Subaru has declined. Recently, I discovered that the Outback eats rear tires - $1000 worth of (80K) tires in 35K miles. After taking it to a dealer, I got the sales pitch answer, "We're a small dealership, but we are unaware of a problem". So I proceeded to Les Schab. They told me that they aware of four other Subaru's with the same problem. Also, the problem is well documented on the internet. I'm a licensed mechanical engineer and I've owned my last Subaru as I've lost trust in Subaru as a company. I can understand design problems - but not acknowledging the problem and taking responsibility for it is unacceptable.

Report Abuse

Great in the Snow, Rain

Michael, 01/07/2008
3.0 R L.L.Bean Edition 4dr Wagon AWD (3.0L 6cyl 5A)
2 of 3 people found this review helpful

Great car. Great value.

Report Abuse

Best Kept Secret

Costel Jega, 05/07/2007
3.0 R L.L.Bean Edition 4dr Wagon AWD (3.0L 6cyl 5A)
2 of 3 people found this review helpful

If you are in the market for an AWD vehicle do yourself a favor and look no further. I spent a LOT of time, looked at the likes of the CRV, RAV4, 4Runner, Audi, Infinity and FX35. Bang for the buck the Outback is the best deal in town. I have the L.L.Bean with the 6 cyl. engine and all options, heated, leather, etc. What you get is a vastly superior AWD technology compared to most competitors, good MPG, and a solidly built car that can take your family anywhere for about $28k.

Report Abuse

2011 Subaru outback cvt 2.5i

billj33, 06/27/2011
3.0 R L.L.Bean Edition 4dr Wagon AWD (3.0L 6cyl 5A)
4 of 10 people found this review helpful

I have an annoying chriping sound when driving slow & or coasting. Dealer replaced at 2000 mi, the timing belt, tensioners, & pulleys, & submitted a QMR to Subaru. The noise continues, & Dealer states this noise is common with 2011 Outbacks. I have filed an ongoing Case # with Subaru. The noise is unacceptable, & Subaru needs to address this problem.

Report Abuse

subaru

baillargeon, 08/28/2008
2.5i 4dr Wagon AWD (2.5L 4cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Very good winter vehicle, excellent in snow & on ice. Good fuel economy. Lots of power, good handling. Pleasure to own & drive this vehicle.

Report Abuse

Good value, nothing fancy

js, 04/08/2009
2.5i Basic 4dr Wagon AWD (2.5L 4cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

We bought the '07 Outback Basic from my parents when we had our second child. It's been reliable and rugged, and the high ground clearance has been great for the frequently-flooded streets of Houston. It's a boring car, but can't be beat for the price!

Report Abuse

Unlimited Love for My Limited

Mickey, 04/28/2009
2.5i Limited 4dr Wagon AWD (2.5L 4cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Absolutely love this car. Bought it as a used fleet vehicle with 8k miles. Much better than my 98 Outback. Plenty of smooth power for a 4 cylinder. I can't understand why reviewers constantly dis this engine as being slow. Puts out like a small six in my opinion with plenty of low end torque. I drove a 4 cylinder Camry SE recently and can't understand what all the fuss is about. Subie is much more refined and quicker and the interior design and materials are far superior. I have driven this car in all sorts of conditions for 20K miles and reliability has been flawless. Two friends who own loaded 5 series BMWs were extremely impressed by interior design and comfort of this car.

Report Abuse

Big Bang for my Buck

Craig, 09/18/2006
2.5i Basic 4dr Wagon AWD (2.5L 4cyl 5M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I really don't know what is basic about my BASIC WAGON because it's got all I need and more. This 2007 is a great deal. So far, with routine driving I am getting a solid 24 MPG! I am 5-9" with plenty of room for me and my family of 4. Easy hook-ups for my 2 year old's carseat, and my 15 year old daughter loves it, even though it a wagon. I am so happy with this buy. Safe, fun, loaded by my standards. I have the auto and love that sport shift for the curves. Good stereo for a basic feature too. It's early in the game, but I really think this car is a GREAT deal for the money. With rebate I paid $21,787. The steel 16" wheels are fine by me. Car feels and runs solid like my Toyota always did!

Report Abuse

2.5 Outback Basic / Auto

JP, 09/20/2006
2.5i Basic 4dr Wagon AWD (2.5L 4cyl 5M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I'm always hesitant when a model says "basic", however the basic outback is far from that, with so many standard features. For the price this may be may best vehicle purchase ever. The only addition to ours is Auto transmission, floor mats, and cargo tray. The gas mileage is better than advertised, so far I'm getting better than 24 mpg city. The Outback rides nice and sits firmly on the road, the interior is plenty spacious and very comfortable. We live in the Rockies and spend significant time driving in snow/wet roads, so an AWD vehicle was a must...Subaru has the best! I would buy another in a minute.

Report Abuse

love, Love, LOVE!

angel76, 10/03/2006
2.5i Limited 4dr Wagon AWD (2.5L 4cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Just purchased the vehicle this weekend. The ride is ultra smooth. The electric seat adjuster on the driver's side is great. This car is a good choice for both the young and old! The interior is both stylish and functional. Just the right amount of gadgets for me, not too many to overwhelm the driver. The power panoramic sunroof is awesome. I will enjoy this S.U.W. for years to come!

Report Abuse

My first Subbie

tcbranger, 10/02/2006
2.5i Limited 4dr Wagon AWD (2.5L 4cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

3 guys I knew swore by their Outbacks. Was looking for a new car and test drove the Limited wagon. Leather is nice. Definitely the best car I have ever bought. Perfect size for hauling people yet small and nimble for zipping in Atlanta traffic. All the features on the Limited are worth the extra price. I love it. I'm a normal sized guy and the seats fit me like a glove.

Report Abuse
12
Items per page:
51050