Used 2002 Subaru Legacy Sedan Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$1,666 - $3,910

Used Legacy for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Can't part with it.

ctgal, 11/13/2010
11 of 11 people found this review helpful

I bought my subie because I needed a reliable car to get me back and forth to work every day in the NW CT hills. Through snow, ice, torrential rains, you name it. 120 miles a day. This car never failed me and was fun to drive! Finally, at 150,000 miles and 3 trips from East Coast to West Coast, it needed a new head gasket. There is no rust on this car and the finish looks as good as the day I bought it. There is a little wind noise from the driver's side window but I never felt noise was a problem. Now, with 175,000 miles, the car lives in sunny CA where I hope to put another 75K on it driving back and forth to the Sierra Nevada. Still has the pep of a youngster.

Report Abuse

Be cautious if buying used

bm16v, 11/23/2011
8 of 9 people found this review helpful

Bought this vehicle used and it has not been a great experience. Overall, the car is ok but if you are in the market for this model, go above and beyond to see if the vehicle has any oil consumption issues. My car eats oil like crazy and after researching "oil consumption subaru" I have learned I am not alone. I've switched to a thicker oil and have just learned to live with the issue. I have had several VW's and now appreciate what I had with the VR6 engine. Looking forward to seeing how this thing does in the snow, but I really don't like driving this car. Subarus can be good, but this thing is getting sold in the spring.

Report Abuse

Really Reliable Subie

Adrian, 06/01/2016
GT Limited AWD 4dr Sedan (2.5L 4cyl 4A)
8 of 9 people found this review helpful

I traded my piece of crap truck for my 2002 Subaru Legacy GT Limited, and it has been really reliable for me. It had 239,000 miles on it when i got it, and I have put almost 10,000 miles on her since I got her. I'm a delivery driver at a pizza company, and so I really depend on my car, and it has not failed me once. Occasionally when I'm at a complete standstill while in either reverse or drive, I'll hear a little knocking sound, but It hasn't really effected my Subie's performance at all. I live in California, so I don't really have to deal with the snow, but even still, it's been fun having her. I really don't want to get rid of her until she runs into the ground. Handles like a dream, hugs corners nicely. Not a racing car, but something to get you from point A to point B without having to worry about reliability issues.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Fun to drive around mountains roads.

Glenn, 07/21/2008
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

My car has over 170000 on it. It's still very tight and smooth. It's great in the snow (under 8") with new tires on. I've always had problems with the brakes (front calipers) and of course the wind noise. The check engine light has been on for a long time. New Catalytic converter cost over $1500). All my driving is highway but I haven't done the timing belt yet. I'll do it soon. The dealer was able to correct 50% of the wind noise. The rear defroster isn't very strong compared to other cars. I drive over 1000 miles every week. It only gets 25- 27MPG (due to the AWD and the weight of the car.

Report Abuse

I will never buy another Subaru

trs1997, 05/17/2010
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I bought my 2002 Subaru Legacy GT Sedan Automatic used (36k). Since then, I have had every service performed, including oil changed every 3500 miles. At 92k miles I had to replace the head gaskets (both sides) $1800. At 120k miles the moon roof computer went out (probably used 3 times a year $500) At 126k miles it spun the #3 Rod Bearing and damaged the Crankshaft. ($4300) - the dealer stocks the short block which tells me they are having LOTS of problems with this motor. This car has never been neglected or abused and always had factory parts as replacement. I am very disappointed in this purchase and now I have no car because it's motor blew and it's at the repair shop with no money to fix it

Report Abuse

Junkie

wew, 12/31/2008
4 of 5 people found this review helpful

I had this subie for 9 months. It blow one head gasket. So I replaced both of them, after 700 miles it cracked a head. The head lights keep burning out. Wind noise is very loud. Its just a junkie car. Rust is coming in on the rear doors buy the seams. I wash and take care of my cars. But after 5 years and 85,000 miles its just junkie. I will never buy a sub again.

Report Abuse

We hate this car! Bring back the '94!

Dannaca, 12/29/2008
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I bought this car because I had owned a 94 and loved it. The only thing the 02 has in common with the 94 is the name! It has horrible wind noise, uncomfortable front seats, cramped back seats, bad steering components. I have had more work done to this car than I ever needed in the 94 and it needs more work even now. Also there is no power in the vehicle at all. It is as slow as the Prizm I owned before it but at least I expected that from the Prizm!

Report Abuse

Reliable all-weather performer

ttran, 06/06/2009
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Bought mine at the tail end of winter in MN. Wish I bought it earlier! This thing plows snow like a champ, especially with the Blizzaks. Truly a vehicle of choice in the winter. Now that it's summer time I'm starting to notice the noise. I don't get any wind noise but the engine and road noise is definitely noticeable. I'm hoping my next set of tires will solve the road noise but I'm not sure what to do about the engine noise. Very buzzy. Handles well but could use more power. I give this a 10 during the winter and a 6.5 for the summer.

Report Abuse

Piece of junk, NEVER again

Mike Kelly, 10/19/2009
3 of 4 people found this review helpful

This car seemed like a good purchase when my wife and I moved to a hilly location in NW NY. After putting on $600 snows it was only ok in the snow. Soon after, the car began excessively smoking and subaru of north america was absolutely no help at all. Apparently this is normal in these piece of garbage cars. Now with 120k on the car we have had problems with almost everything- right down to the clear coat starting to peel. I have had many subarus and they all had their problems but nothing near this. Never ever again will I go anywhere near this company and I have absolutely nothing good to say about them. It is unfortunate because I truly believed they produced a good product.

Report Abuse

Clutch issues

krussell, 07/22/2010
2 of 4 people found this review helpful

I had to replace the clutch in 2008 and now am told I need another clutch! Quoted price is $1000 this seems ridiculous to me. HELP!

Report Abuse

Subarus are over rated

mr.z, 01/10/2009
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I was very excited when I ordered my Subaru. That all ended after two weeks of ownership thats when the steering started going in and out. I never had a road noise issues it was the wind blowing through the window that never closed proper after two years that I had issue with. That was fixed four times it never lasted more than two weeks. At three years old the car started rusting (body and brake lines), the ABS was no longer working at this point. Maybe I expect to much when I pay $27k car. Last thing I had flat once and the jack broke. I sold this car with over 59k on it.

Report Abuse

2002 subaru GT sedan

nd, 12/14/2002
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Bought in November. Seems like a solid car. To early to tell about reliability. Live in the northeast. Have had three storms since buying the car.Great in the snow.

Report Abuse

Less Than Expected

SjS, 08/28/2003
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Seems to be issues with the front brakes, and the windows in front doors leak air. (BAD) Dealer doesn't seem to be able to correct this.

Report Abuse

No Nonsense Performance & Practicality

jcgolfer, 08/09/2003
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This car is exactly what I had hoped it would be. It is primarily a practical car with enough flair to make it fun and pleasurable to own and drive. The GT version handles well enough to have some sporting fun while the all-wheel drive allows you to drive relatively aggressively in the snow and ice. It is essentially a 12 month, 4-season GT car.

Report Abuse

quality declines in late model Subarus

ssa, 10/28/2003
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Less than 26000 miles and have had major brake job (all 4 wheels), new clutch, repeated problems with wind noise and 'check engine' light coming on. Basically a big dissapointment compared to the many Subaru's I've owned in the past.

Report Abuse

Subaru Legacy GT LTD Experience

shersr, 12/08/2003
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

We are long distance drivers (40,000+ miles per year) and demand a lot from our vehicles. The Subaru Legacy GT LTD has offers a nice ride, but suffers from reliability problems. We had a re-occurring brake problem with freezing rear calipers (frozen open, that is). We replaced the wiring harness and spark plugs at 50,000 miles due to shorting in the coil. The catalytic converter needs replacement at 90,000 miles. We also had to have the trim around the driver side window re-glued. National Subaru customer reps are not helpful and rude. Next time we buy a Honda.

Report Abuse

Great car to drive

Gary, 01/27/2005
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

My car has been very reliable, and the service records (I bought used) show no problems. Acceleration very good for a normally-aspirated H-4 engine and a 3400 lb car. Drove the H-6, but honestly did not think its acceleration and torque were that much better. AWD excellent, handling very good, and no problems with brakes. Interior is nice, but I have leather. Tune-ups are fairly easy. Re: other reviews: V6? Don't expect in Subarus because they use boxer engines. Upgrade interior? A $25K car will never have the tactile feel of a $40K car. There is some wind noise, seats could have more adjustment, but, again, IT'S A $25k CAR. As a package, hard to knock. Most auto reviewers like the Legacy GT.

Report Abuse

love it

subiegirl, 03/24/2003
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

love it!AWD is the best ever invented!

Report Abuse

Worst car I ever owned

thebaaron, 09/20/2007
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I picked up this car with 30k miles in great shape and right away started having problems with window seals, moon roof seal, O2 sensors, head lights, check engine light, heat shield, clutch, electrical bugs, you name it, I've fixed it, until finally with 70k miles on the odometer, the engine jumped time and bent all the valves costing me $3500. No aftermarket support either, because no one wants anything to do with this lemon. I can't say that I blame them. I can't wait to be rid of this heap.

Report Abuse

Subaru get an A

2002 Subaru, 02/27/2003
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Very reliable. Excellent in snow and rain. Stops on a dime.

Report Abuse

Subaru Legacy

eoj88, 03/19/2008
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

First few years of ownership the car performed as desired. However in the third year of ownership road noise became louder. Car has started to rust in the rear door jams at the seams. The rear quarter panel has developed large rust areas. These days I would expect a car to last more than 5 years before rusting out.

Report Abuse

Don't Make the Same Mistake I Did

Yessir Arafat, 05/01/2002
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Subaru does not stand behind their product. The glass window on the passenger side front door exploded for no reason when my daughter opened the door one morning. She sustained injury to her eye - scratched cornea and cut under the eyelid. Subaru would not repair the car under warranty. I went so far as to contact the President of Subaru of America for help and got none. They were extremely rude, which added insult to injury. The next time I see them will be in court. Save yourself the hassle - buy a Nissan Altima or Toyota Corolla.

Report Abuse

Love the Legacy

bunsbuggy, 11/14/2002
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Purchased in November of 2001, I love the car. It is great driving in snow or ice, all four wheels keep you going straight as an arrow. The AWD feels cool around corners too, you can feel the weight shift and the gripping tires rail you around the corner, it's awesome. Fuel economy disappoints at 21 in city, 24 on highway. I have the manual tranny, its fun to use. The back window defroster is weak, takes forever to defrost. Otherwise, solid manufacturing, should last 200,000 miles i hope.

Report Abuse

A nice riding car

Ajene, 04/22/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have not purchase the Legacy, but I test drove. I enjoyed the suspension that was supplied on the car. The ride was very smooth and comfortable. Also, the 4 cylinder boxer engine produced enough power to push the car as if it was a V6. The only problem I had was the rear seating capacity. There was not enough room for people who want to sit in the rear seat.

Report Abuse

Nice car

Syms, 05/07/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Fun car to drive and modify.. Nicer interior quality than previous model.

Report Abuse

A bit disappointed

SSmith2, 05/13/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought a 5 speed Legacy L wagon in August 2001. I had driven a 1995 Brighton for years. I put very few miles (3100 in almost 9 months!) on the car as I commute by bicycle most of the time. In many ways, the 2001 seems to be more shoddily constructed than my '95. The clutch is grabby, it has an odd groan in the steering when executing tight, low-speed maneuvers, the paint has a lot of orange peel, the wheels were unbalanced, the driver's door really takes a slam to get it to shut, and the fuel filler door is misaligned.

Report Abuse

Fun car

blueklister, 06/22/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I didn't plan on buying another Subaru. We have an Outback, which was great for skiing and well put together. But I needed a new car and drove the Hondas, Toyotas, Golfs, Passats, etc. Great cars all, but no soul, no real road handling. Found myself back at the Subaru dealer test driving a Legacy sedan. Not the prettiest car -- but what a great road handling car! I guess its the AWD that gives it that great road feel. My only complaint after 22,000 miles is it is a bit jerky at low rpms. Incredible brakes, zippy when passing on quiet country roads and handles so incredibly well in the corners.

Report Abuse

Subaru Legacy Wagon - Terrific!

Palingenesis, 07/04/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I am extremely pleased with the Legacy Wagon. I do not like two-tone and I detest SUVs - the Legacy gives me AWD without these negatives. Exceptionally smooth 4 cylinder boxer engine - very nice sound when accelerating. Very solid - no rattles and gives a feeling of solidity. Very comfortable seats at an excellent height for easy entry and exiting.

Report Abuse

Reliable car

Asanth, 07/23/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is a one of the reliable car like Honda,Toyota,Nissan

Report Abuse

Great car for the price

Fryguy, 07/30/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I just recently purchased my Subaru Legacy GT Limited and love it. It rides great and handles just as well. I was looking at similiar models from Audi, BMW, and VW but they do not come close for the price.

Report Abuse

This car is awesome

Joseph Piel, 03/24/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

great handling very fun to drive in bad and in good weather

Report Abuse

Very Happy w/ My GT!

GT-Happy, 03/28/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Too my surprise, not only was the '01 Legacy GT a more attractive car on the outside (compared to the '99), but the interior was redesigned. A very important selling point since the '99 generation had a cup holder that covered the stereo. I love this car; it handles well (GT) in all conditions and is very comfortable. The interior is laid out very well and all instruments are easy to identify and operate. I highly recommend checking out the Legacy GT if you are into the high teens/low twenties price range. To Subaru: Upgrade the occansional cheap plastic and offer a V6 engine! If you do, you can compete better w/ VW and Audi.

Report Abuse

Good car for the price!

Hokiebird, 03/30/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

We were already convinced of Subaru's reliability record with our first used 1993 Legacy L Wagon. It's up to 220,000 miles and the only major repairs we've made were to replace a front axle and a new alternator. We choose a new 2002 sedan this time around, and have been very happy with through the first 15,000 miles.

Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050