Used 2009 Subaru Impreza Hatchback Consumer Reviews

List Price
$12,995

Used Impreza for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Mini Lexus 300

J Snow, 12/11/2009
7 of 7 people found this review helpful

Previously drove 2000 and 2002 Impreza hatchbacks. This one is by far the quietest and smoothest driving. Gas mileage about same as 2002 2.5l. Really like the window door frames. Hate limited visibility of sloping back of car and temporary roof rack mounting kit. Standard equipment Bridgestone Potenza tires ride well. Added sheepskin seat covers make front seats comfortable. Lost a couple of wheel well plastic screws holding front fender - sloppy construction. 5-speed gear box smoother than past models, accelerates nicely. Less cargo space than past Impreza models. Best looking Impreza so far and dead ringer as little sister to Lexus 300 SUV.

Report Abuse

Great for only 7 years, disappointing longevity.

Randy Buss, 08/03/2015
Outback Sport 4dr Hatchback AWD (2.5L 4cyl 5M)
47 of 60 people found this review helpful

First 7 years it was a good, however, I didn't get longevity from it. On 7-31-15 the engine suddenly blew without reason. Two weeks prior, I checked the fluids (oil in particular) and all levels were good, but on the way home from work I suddenly felt and heard loud clanking sounds along with a drop in acceleration/power going up a hill on the highway. I was fortunate to be approaching a rest area exit when this occurred so as to immediately pull off the highway just as the engine stalled. First thing I checked was the oil level, and the dip stick was completely dry. When the tow truck arrived, the towing mechanic started it and immediately turned it back off and said it sounds like something was ready to fly apart. The next day they informed me the engine is blown and needs to be replaced with a rebuilt or new engine. Estimated cost: $4,500 to $5,000 to replace the blown engine with a rebuilt engine. What upsets me and disturbs me the most about this is I took meticulous care of the vehicle, as I do with all of our vehicles. Furthermore, there were no warning lights that appeared when the engine blew, until the engine stalled out. No low oil pressure lights, no low oil level lights, no check engine lights, nothing! And how is it that it burned through four quarts of the oil withing a two week span. When this occurred the car only had 120,000 miles on it, and was only 7 years old. Granted, I haven't had any issues with it until now, but I also hadn't planned on having to fork out $4000-$5000 for a rebuilt engine, or purchase a new vehicle for at least another 10 years. All of the vehicles I've owned (Pontiac, Mercury, Dodge, Nissan) I've used for at least 15 years each and well into the 250,000 mile range, and I've never had any major problems with them. With the research I've done since this incident, I've discovered a class action law suite against Subaru for an issue with their engines that strongly resembles what happened with my Subaru engine, to which prosecuting attorneys are disclosing facts that Subaru has known about the issue and has neither disclosed information about the engine defect to their customers nor has Subaru done anything to correct the known issue. Instead, Subaru continued to sell cars with a serious engine defect, to which they knew about, which could be life threatening under certain circumstances. Prior to this incident, I planned on making this car last me another 10 years, at which time I would purchase only one more vehicle prior to retiring. As a result of this incident and the class action law suite against Subaru that I've discovered, I will NEVER purchase another Subaru. Since I've now purchased two other new vehicles since this incident with the Subaru, (2016 Honda Fit EX & a 2018 Honda HR-V EX), I've discovered how inferior the Subaru vehicles are in comparison to Honda. If you want comfort, technology, handling, and most of all reliability, go with Honda! I never realized how uncomfortably low and stiff the impreza ride is until I checked out Honda vehicles.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

One Year Old Now

Randy, 10/05/2009
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

I've had my Impreza Outback Sport for a year now. The ride and responsiveness of this vehicle is superb for a smaller car. Interior room and comfort is wonderful, and road noise is minimal. Truly a wonderful vehicle. The only thing this car suffers from is a very poor quality paint. After only six months it had literally dozens of large 1/4" paint chips on the hood and roof, and every time I looked there seemed to be more. Fortunately, Subaru is backing up their product, and it is going in for a new paint job on the hood and roof tomorrow. I wish they would paint the entire vehicle just to make sure the rest of the paint on the car is ok too, but I don't thing that is going to happen.

Report Abuse

2.5 GT Impreza/ Outstanding

Juan, 09/12/2010
11 of 13 people found this review helpful

I am very happy with this outstanding and very fast car. It is fun to drive and I enjoy leaving other more expensive sports cars behind me when they sneak up on me in the fast lane. I laugh when I press down on the gas peddle and just see them fade away in my mirrors. Also my 2.5 GT has the 4- Speed Auto/SPORTSHIFT Transmission. So I just put it in drive and enjoy it!

Report Abuse

My Suby

pea619, 02/05/2009
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

This is the greatest car I have purchased thus far. It is my 4th Subaru, I presently also have a 2006 325i, which I love, but this car is even better than it. It really has everything you could want - AWD, traction control and stability control(in the base model). What other car can give you all that and still be adorable, affordable and have the "cars that drive great after 300000 miles" Subaru name.

Report Abuse

So far so good

Phil, 10/12/2009
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

Bought my Impreza in May after putting over 190,000 miles on my 2000 Volkswagen Golf. I feel that the Impreza offered the best for the money compared to the other cars in its class. It may not get the best fuel mileage but makes up for it, in my opinion, by offering AWD. I drive pretty conservatively and have averaged 28 mpg in 11,100 miles. While the tactile quality of the interior may not match that of my VW, the overall design and ergonomics are very good. The Subaru dealership experience that I've had so far, for oil changes, has been very good. Wonderful car.

Report Abuse

WRX Finally!!

Eclem, 11/14/2009
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

I've owned 4 Impreza's so, sure; I drink da Kool-Aid. I had my own mfgr's. rep. business for 17 years and Impza's were THE answer for lots of winter driving all over New England. The performance / price quotient was perfect. Am now retired and driving less than 10k / yr - so I finally got the "slightly" impractical / monster fun WRX 5-door Premium. AWD has saved my bacon for many years so I had to stay with it - and Subaru reliability has been so solid - had to stay there too. Yep, the audio quality is lacking but I don't really need much juice to listen to my redneck talk shows. FM reception IS very good - we live in the country so it must be. Did spring for Winter 205's on 16x7 Alloys.

Report Abuse

Not quite what I expected

coffeebean2, 02/02/2010
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

We have a 2006 Outback and love it. So I wanted another Subaru because of the AWD. Considered another Outback but went with the Outback Sport. The fuel economy is not what I expected, the automatic shifts later than when I think it should (possibly contributing to the fuel economy issue), and the manual driver's seat gradually sinks down. I filled up the gas tank on Saturday, drove approximately 30 miles in-town, and I'm down below 3/4 of a tank. That's similar to what I was seeing with my 2001 Chevy Blazer. Also, snow gets packed up behind the wheels - when I try to kick it off, the splash guards look like they're about to come off.

Report Abuse

purchase mistake

subylover, 02/15/2010
7 of 9 people found this review helpful

I bought an Impreza Outback Sport and returned it a week later--traded in for a Legacy. The inside was cheap and the radio was awful. However, the seats were the real problem. They were so uncomfortable (no support at all) that I had bad back pain--it was hard to walk after a few days.

Report Abuse

09 WRX > 08 WRX

Patrick, 10/17/2008
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I was shopping for a new car, and looked at the 08 STI among others. Waited and test drove the new 09 WRX and felt that it fit my daily driving needs much better. Don't get me wrong, the STI is still a beast, but the updated 09 WRX with 265 HP, better suspension, etc, and some STI looks in the grille and rear spoiler make the WRX a great purchase for most daily drivers. Great handling and smooth power so far. Expect easy maintenance and good reliability. Interior fits well and looks good, just some hard plastics here and there, nothing bad.

Report Abuse

Very Satisfied!

Ray, 03/16/2009
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

The ride is smooth and the handling is superb!! This car is so much fun to drive. Much roomier then it looks.

Report Abuse

Practical and Fun!!!

Ron Beach, 08/29/2009
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

What's amazing about this 2.5 all wheeler is the fact that on a trip from Colorado to South Dakota in my first month of ownership, I averaged 33 mpg highway and 28 mpg city. For all wheel drive, this is spectacular mileage in a quality vehicle. No rattles, very little wind noise, all the bells whistles I need and then some.

Report Abuse

Great so far

Teddy, 10/05/2009
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I purchased the car with my work discount, plus end of the year 0.0% financing, so it turned out to be a great deal. I wasn't sure that I was going to like the car at first, because I switched over from a SUV. But I realized quick that I made a good decision. Comparing to my old truck, mpg is not bad, mainly city driving I get almost 25 average. Being 6'2 the car is pretty comfortable with the help of the adjusting seat. I definitely recommend the 5spd instead of the automatic, which is kinda sluggish.

Report Abuse

Disappointed

Miguel, 02/24/2010
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

traded my awesomely outstanding 2001 2.5rs coupe, for a 4door outback sport. have been driving it for about 15 months/10,000 miles. handles great, esp. in snow. power is subdued. mpg 22- 25 vs my 4runner 21-24. problems shifting into reverse. noisy esp. with roof racks in cold weather. nice weather package. battery issues, car would not crank a couple of times, had to charge battery. worry about not starting.

Report Abuse

Love hate relationship

rushguy, 05/27/2010
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I traded in my Charger Srt 8 for a more secure driving experience in the Pacific Northwest. I only have two grievances with my car, lack of lighting in the trunk area makes it impossible to see whats in there at night. The stereo is a piece of junk and I have the premium edition with navigation. My Android phone has better navigation and music options. Shame they didn't add bluetooth as well. My dash rattles over tiny bumps, started at 9k miles. I know dealer will fix it but it just shows they use flimsy materials here and there for sure and it shows.

Report Abuse

It's a lemon

Not imprezed, 09/30/2009
6 of 8 people found this review helpful

I bought the car in July. It burns over one quart of oil every 1000 miles. It has soot on the bumper near the tail pipe. Subaru is dragging their feet on replacing it, they want to install a new short block. The oil is dirtier than my wife's car that has 100,000 miles. It's a lemon.

Report Abuse

09 Outback Sport

Dave, 11/19/2008
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I bought this car about a month ago. At first I was a little unsure about it since the WRX is also very appealing. I have grown used to the car though and have found it really fun. It doesn't accelerate like the WRX, but it handles curves like a champ. And I get around 24 mpg in Houston traffic and 28-32 mpg on the highway depending on how fast I drive. I get lots of comments on the car too... most call it "really cute." I have heard a few things about the radio, but I've found that it plays nicely with MP3s. FM and AM bands are not as clear though.

Report Abuse

Funnest Car I've ever driven

TLB, 02/28/2009
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I knew this car would be fun to drive, but I didn't know that I would think it would be the funnest car I think I've ever even been in. I'm a automotive buff. I love to drive cars. I've driven many cars but this might just take the cake. I will admit, there are better looking cars that handle and perform as good as this but... the cost about 10000 more. Not bad for its price. I can easily imagine keeping this car around for a min. of 7 years. Very pleased with the car. Comfort is nice. I sometimes drive 250 plus miles at a time and never think once that my legs or back is getting sore. Mpg average on ten tanks 22.4. Car has unbelievable grip and handling.

Report Abuse

First time Subaru owner

Shirneen, 04/16/2009
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Wanted AW drive but didn't want to break the bank (again). Got the 5 speed and it is so much fun to drive. Really hugs the road in turns and is fabulous in the Maine Snowy winters!! Added XM, Subwoofer so the stereo is fine. Gas mileage is 30-33 in mixed driving. Traded in an '04 Murano AWD and the Impreza is much better in the snow.

Report Abuse

Solid and smooth

Joe, 04/10/2009
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I've had my new Outback Sport for a few weeks now and have been very satisfied with it so far. I'm still getting used to the different (read: better) handling of the AWD. I test drove roughly similar vehicles (Honda Fit and VW Rabbit) and this Subaru, while more expensive, just felt much more intuitive and well thought-out. The seat warmers are nice and standard on this trim. The fuel economy is better than expected (26-27 mpg city+highway), even this early in the car's lifetime.

Report Abuse

09 Impreza 2.5i Hatch

ricky0018, 07/01/2009
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Performance-enough to keep me satisfied. Styling-nothing too dramatic but it does stand out. Interior-6' 200lbs guy here, more than comfortable. Quality-right materials used in all the right places. MPG's-runs on 87 octane and averages 27-28 city, can't complain! Haven't hit the highway yet.

Report Abuse

Love the newer model

Repeat owner, 07/01/2009
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I just traded in my 2004 Outback Sport for the 2009 because I loved my 2004 so much but it was beginning to cost too much to maintain after 135,000 miles. I thought I was getting a new version of my old car, but this one is like driving a different car and I LOVE it. It's got lots of spunk, gas mileage is decent so far, and just overall fun to drive because it holds the road and doesn't let go, even through rough roads under construction. She feels solid and well-built, and am once again so glad I chose this Subaru model. I've driven Foresters as loaner cars that didn't feel quite as solid with the same level of quick response, and this car is a few thousand $$ less expensive.

Report Abuse

First time owner

First time owner, 08/09/2009
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

This is my very first Subaru car (2009 Impreza Outback Sports), and I'm loving every minute of it. I've test drove the base model version, and I'll tell you that the Impreza Outback Sports was a very good choice. Also, I've driven the Outback Legacy as a loaner car, and I'm not very impress by the way it drives. Impreza Outback Sports is very fun to drive, very smooth on bumps and pot holes, and hugs the road very well. Although the gas mileage is under subpar, I wouldn't hesitate to buy another one. Furthermore, what I really like about the vehicle is the interior room, and the seats are very comfortable.

Report Abuse

Total Waste of Money

Sorry Customer, 12/02/2009
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I've driven this car 7,000 miles now and it's spent 6 days in the shop in 4 months. The tires have to be inflated every couple of weeks, it burns oil and the automatic shifts unpredictably. Driver's sun visor has been replaced 3 times, as it won't stay put and it's broken again after only 2 weeks. On several occasions the car has refused to accelerate for several seconds when the pedal is depressed. There was a rattling noise going up hill that forced the dealer to completely reinstall the exhaust system and heat shields. The stereo system is so cheap it's painful to listen to. This is the worst car I've ever owned, a complete piece of junk. So much for Subaru's quality reputation.

Report Abuse

Impreza Outback Sport 2009 manual

MAM, 03/25/2010
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I've owned a Toyota Camry, Avalon, VW Passat, BMW 328xi, and Honda Civic Si. I enjoy the Impreza better than any for several reasons. Manual transmission is fun. Just under optimal power at 170 hp (basic model) but more than enough for 95% of needs. Can drive it anywhere, anytime, any weather virtually without worry (like a mountain goat). Better than rated milage (avg 27 mpg). Very practical for dragging around stuff for kids at college. Highly rated safety pick. The BMW is twice the price and not as much fun to drive. Will probably buy another in the future when needed. Luv it.

Report Abuse

My first Subaru

JohnPublic, 09/23/2009
3 of 4 people found this review helpful

I have been a loyal Honda fan for years but when looking around for a car to replace my beloved 1998 Acura Integra found the Honda spaceship interior horrible. I test drove the Subie Impreza and found an interior that was very comfortable and functional for a 200# 6ft 3in guy (my head doesn't hit the ceiling and my legs have room). I was also impressed with the horsepower and torque (something even the Si doesn't have). So, this formerly loyal Honda guy bought an Impreza 5-door hatch and love it!

Report Abuse

I'm a Subie!

JEB, 06/06/2010
4 of 6 people found this review helpful

I researched my buying options thoroughly and after giving a KIA Soul an extended test drive, I knew the Impreza Hatchback was the right car for me. After driving it less than five minutes I knew I made the right choice. The Impreza has the most comfortable ride of all the economical hatchbacks. The all wheel drive is unbeatable in the snow and rain. I'm even impressed the the gas efficiency. I've been getting 24-25 MPG in the city.

Report Abuse

An Ongoing Problem and Subaru Failed to Resolve

Disappointed Owner, 05/25/2018
Outback Sport 4dr Hatchback AWD (2.5L 4cyl 5M)
2 of 4 people found this review helpful

This is for a 2009 Subaru Impreza, 105k miles. Bring to Subaru dealer and told the head gasket is leaked. Did research about the issue, and found that this is an ongoing problem and that the engines are known to consume too much oil between oil changes. Subaru has a class action lawsuit against them for the same problem but not the specific year of vehicle. Had contact Subaru Customer Service few times today but have not reach a resolution with them. This is frustrated because this is a known problem and other people have had the issue resolved but because this vehicle is a different year it does not qualify for compensation or repairs.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Four days old and loving it

Randy, 10/07/2008
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

The first Subaru I owned was a 2007 legacy. After almost one year, the realization that the legacy sedan doesn't meet my family needs as the wagon we previously owned did. The 2007 legacy is an outstanding vehicle and it was painful to trade it in, but now I have the 2009 Impreza Outback Wagon and I don't regret the trade in the slightest. In the 2009 Impreza Outback Wagon, the driver visibility is much better. The seats are firmer and more comfortable, providing support where it's needed. The controls are wonderfully placed so that you need not take your eyes off the road. And to my surprise, the ride is smoother and more responsive. I'm completely satisfaction beyond expectation.

Report Abuse

2009 wrx review

wrxtuner, 11/25/2008
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

The best bang for the buck on the market. $25K gets you AWD, 265hp, 244lb/ft of torque, great handling, and 5 star safety crash tests, 4 doors and a good amount of storage.

Report Abuse

Under a month and in love

Michael, 12/03/2008
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

After owning (and loving) my Acura RSX Type S for almost 7 years I sold it and bought the 5-door WRX Premium. This car is almost perfect in my book. It's all there, utility, comfort, features, power, solid build with sex appeal. Any criticisms I have are minor at best. It's a thrill to drive. I highly recommend this car if you're even considering it. Nothing else out there equals it in its class. Pictures don't do it justice. It's a must see and must drive. And if you have the cash spring for the STI version. That's even faster and more aggressive looking.

Report Abuse

A Great Experience

Matt, 12/19/2008
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I just bought my Subaru in September 2008 and have already put over 6000 miles on it. It is safe, reliable, and fun to drive, especially with the 5-speed manual. It handles great in the snow and off-road and is great to take on trips. I have not had one problem and am very satisfied with just about everything. I drive the car roughly 100 miles city and 320 miles highway on an average tank of gas and get close to 28-29 MPG every time (with an average highway speed of 75 MPH). The car does not have the power or the luxury of my previous one (a BMW) but is an awesome point A to point B car. Subaru should adjust gear ratios from 4th to 5th gear as the car seems sluggish when entering 5th gear.

Report Abuse

Incredible "Bang" for the buck

Joe, 01/12/2009
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This is my second Subie, also have an '08 OBS. This gets about as good mpg as the 173 hp auto in the OBS. I've gotten as high as 29.4 on the road and generally get over 27 even with occasional passing bursts. Town seems to be in the 23 range. Very happy about this. I've owned most everything performance wise, Vettes (2), BMW, Porsche, Audi's (3), Mercedes (4), Lexus. This is my 63rd car and it is a real winner for a fraction of what I've paid for some other iron. No it doesn't have Porsche precision or BMW steering, or the finesse of an Audi, but it gets the job done on par with any of them and it's loads of fun I'm sold on Subaru. Car and Driver article sold me on the WRX over the STI.

Report Abuse

Amazing value for performance enthusiast

Dman155, 01/04/2009
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Coming from an 04 Acura TSX, I was looking for something a little sportier and this fit the bill perfectly. 24k for a car that'll run mid 13s in the quarter, mid 20s for mpg, and have the utility of an AWD wagon (I live in New England) is unbeatable. I considered the MS3 and even the Cobalt SS but FWD on those was a major drawback. Plus the Cobalt looks like a Cobalt. The 08/09 MY Impreza wagons are the first Imprezas I've cared for stylistically (the rear of the sedan version is hideous IMO). I just broke the 1k mark but I've opened it up a few times already and man, the power is a huge improvement over my Acura. Averaged 25.5 mpg in single digit temps on a recent road trip too.

Report Abuse

Gravity-defying, unique and fun car

SR, 01/13/2009
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Impreza is sort of a middle between focus and RAV4 and then it has a class by itself. The fuel economy could be better but it was a trade-off to AWD. What caught the eye first is the interior finished with better grade plastic, and chrome accents, leather wrapping are a nice capping. Fuel economy is ranged between 20-26 mpg pending on your driving style (go easy on that pedal and use some hyper-miling techniques). Interestingly the car looked like a lowered suspension version of Lexus 400h with Corolla-esque lights. I struggled between premium and sport, finally decided 17" + taller susp. > sunroof. Road noise is slightly higher to other cars I test drove.

Report Abuse

Solid Package

NSO, 01/19/2009
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Owned 87Accrd, 94Maxima, 97Taurus, 00Accord, and after researching deprec. rate, insurance, cost of operation, and reliability against models like CR-V, RAV4, and Focus I decided that Impreza make a very solid pkg, and after I test drove it (2.5i prem and GT)I decided that I'd go for real value: Outback Sport (seat warmer+17" alloy/ raised susp. > sunroof+2 xtra spkr). GT was a nerfed version of WRX, and if I am ready for an WRX I'd go STI anyway. Overall I really liked VDC; it gave the already phenomenal AWD feel an extra polish and ctrl. But it will be tough for your brakes as it will brake harder than you'd intend to, road noise is also slightly more noticeable than top compacts I tested.

Report Abuse

Easy On The Pedal Easy On The Gas

Chris, 01/27/2009
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I'd wanted a WRX all the way back in 02, but got into Sentra V-spec on price. Fast forward 7 years, and my patience was rewarded with the 09 wagon. Overall, I've enjoyed it after a month of mostly 100 mile daily commutes. People seem interested in mileage. On Trip A and B the car has a fuel mileage calculator. I reset trip A at each fill up. Yesterday, was the usual $30 donation to the gas gods. Determined, I wanted to see what extremely mild driving could do for this car's mileage. On the drive in this morning, I averaged 29.7 mpg. Not bad for average speed of maybe 60 to 65 MPH in stop and roll traffic. Not a prius, but not a gas guzzler either. Power is just tap of the pedal.

Report Abuse

Replacement for 03 Wrx

TT, 05/01/2009
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Just got the car so these are just my first impressions. My 03 WRX was stolen so I went with a new 09! It's got more pep and more bells and whistles and is a blast to drive just like my old 03. It is softer for sure but I don't think this takes away from the car in any way. Great buy! Forget the 08, this is a different car by a thousand miles!

Report Abuse

My first AWD

kiana408, 06/01/2009
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I love this car! I really needed an AWD for Tahoe and couldn't stand another season of having to chain up in the snow. After researching AWD Vehicles, Trucks and 4WD SUV's, this appeared to be the best choice for me, someone who's always driven a fuel efficient Honda Civic. It handles great! I drove it through the Sierra Nevadas then the Santa Cruz Mountains all in my first weekend. Smooth clutch, super stable around corners and sharp turns. Nice look, comfy and roomy inside. My first and foremost concern when purchasing a new car was safety for me and my child. I feel very safe in my new car, so happy with my purchase!

Report Abuse

Best bang-for-your buck sporty hatchback

Nick, 06/24/2009
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I just love how practical this car is for its performance. It's a complete blast to drive, but offers excellent utility. It handles great (I added a rear STI sway bar). With a few parts & some tuning, this thing will embarrass cars costing twice as much! As the engine breaks in, my hwy mileage has increased to around 26 mpg. And this is one of the few small cars that's comfortable for me to drive (I'm 6' 5"). I'm extremely pleased with my WRX!

Report Abuse

Budget BMW

Randy, 06/24/2009
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This car is fast!!! This car is also a gas sipper. In the fast department I ran a 14.3 @ 94.4 mph with a 2.0 sixty foot. Mind you, this was at 5,300 Feet!! I am just shy of 8,000 miles on the clock and am averaging 26.1 mpg and 29 - 31 on the highway. I live in Thornton CO so the all wheel drive is a must. No other car at this price point offers all that this car can deliver!

Report Abuse

First of many roadtrips

TheFirstRule, 07/23/2009
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Took the two week old Impreza on its first road trip. Nearly 1300 miles and pulled about 30 mpg the whole way. A/C worked great in 100+ degree heat. Clutch is still a little stiff, but that should loosen up after a while. I would highly recommend this car if you need an AWD. I live in Tahoe and can't wait to see how it does in the snow.

Report Abuse

Smooth, dependable commuter

Don, 07/29/2009
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I bought the Outback Sport after convincing myself this model was worth the extra $2.5k. Could have had the base sedan for under $16k but that just had no appeal, unless you are looking for the lowest price. I still have a 2003 Infiniti FX-35 and it's tough to go from a bull to a lamb. Have to remember this has half the power. Big difference getting on to highway, etc. From the reviews I've read here I would have liked the WRX or STI but I needed to keep the price under $20k. Good compromise between cost and performance. I looked at the CRV and Rav4 but to get the same equip would put you in the mid-20's; also don't believe the new ones are as dependable as they used to be.

Report Abuse

Sticks to the road with an attitude....

Montana Man, 09/06/2009
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Another great Subie. I have an 08 Outback and a 09 WRX. Fast?....oh yea! Handles like a rally car and goes in the snow. The best of both worlds, along with Subaru's legendary reliability. Getting on the freeway is always exciting, 0 to 100 in a flash...I'm in my sixties now and am loving the exhilaration of having a race bred rocket, with the drive- ability for all weather conditions. A great value from the folks at Subaru. Gas mileage? If that's a concern, buy a Prius. Purchased with the SPT Cat Back exhaust, Short Throw Shifter and Turbo Gauge.Interior Foot-well Lights are a very cool touch.

Report Abuse

Really Great

sjr, 06/24/2010
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This was the first brand new car I've had. Wonderful price, AWD is awesome for nasty winter driving (I feel very safe), and it's easy to get in and out of. Can fit a wheelchair in the back with the seats down and my 99-year-old grandmother can get in and out without problems (most cars are too low). Roomy interior. The interior is nice for the price. Visibility great. Stereo is fine. Hatchback makes loading vehicle very easy. It does dog if you're using the AC, but it seems sturdy and reliable. After a year of mostly in-town driving I love it. Gas mileage leaves a lot to be desired, but worth it for confidence and security AWD gives me in the winter. I'd buy another Subaru after this.

Report Abuse

98% of all Subarus sold in last 10 years....

PG, 08/04/2019
2.5i 4dr Hatchback AWD w/Premium Package (2.5L 4cyl 5M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

You know the slogan: "98% of all Subarus sold in the last 10 years are still on the road." Well, here's proof. Our 09 Impreza is apparently the worst model year for the make, yet we've had relatively few problems. The only surprise repair (other than a mechanic accidentally breaking something) was injector cover seals needing to be replaced. As a former mechanic, I attribute all this to regular oil changes (with a synthetic), completing scheduled maintenance on time, and no hot hatch redlining at the stoplights. With that, our hatchback has been a reliable comfortable and really practical car up and down the west coast. The car holds a LOT of stuff (we moved a dishwasher once), fits 5 people (4 comfortably) and still gets over 33 mpg on the freeways with all wheel drive. Highly recommend the 5 speed manual all wheel drive system as opposed to the automatic. Less complicated, more reliable, and I think slightly better traction. Car handles amazingly in ice, snow, and rain. Once drove through an oil slick while the cars around me started spinning off into the median/shoulder. No fancy bells or whistle with this model, but it IS a tuners dream. Even non tuner, it's very very easy to find a really nice upgraded stereo. We now have wireless CarPlay and added features (like TPMS readings and engine gauges) thanks to active aftermarket support community. Been a good car, will be sad to see it go.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

A/C stinks

pompus1, 09/01/2009
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

Was told by dealer the a/c cycles cold to warm so it won't freeze up! I have owned a lot of cars domestic and import and I never had this problem before. Where I live the summer temps run 95-110 June to October. Because of this I would not recommend or buy another Subaru.

Report Abuse

I've held on to my Subaru even though my engine is

Margaret Campbell, 09/18/2018
Outback Sport 4dr Hatchback AWD (2.5L 4cyl 5M)
1 of 3 people found this review helpful

My car all of a sudden just up and started making a terrible engine noise. Been sitting on it a year. #4 cylinder is shot. I'm an older woman and took very good care of this vehicle. Our friend/mechanic was the certified Subaru mechanic for the dealership here where I bought it. Stopped taking it to the dealership when he quit cause then they didn't have a certified Subaru mechanic.

Performance
Value
Report Abuse

True Driver's Car

Nick, 12/22/2009
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I've put just over 10K miles on my WRX & I have a smile pasted on my face every time I drive it. It's extremely safe, capable, and fun-to-drive. To enhance performance I added a Cobb downpipe, a (second-hand) SPT exhaust, and a "street" ECU tune from a local Subie tuning guru. I also added slightly thicker sway bars & replaced a few suspension & chassis bushings for a tauter ride (I suggest Whiteline products - they're top-notch). Now the car is nearing it's performance potential, but it still delivers a very comfortable ride on Oklahoma's junky roads. I looked at cars in the same category (turbo & 4-doors), but the AWD & hatchback sealed the deal for me.

Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050