Used 2005 Subaru Impreza Wagon Consumer Reviews

List Price Range
$7,000 - $7,499

Used Impreza for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale
12

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Great Wagon

stocksj, 06/07/2012
2.5 RS AWD 4dr Sport Wagon (2.5L 4cyl 4A)
14 of 14 people found this review helpful

I've have my Impreza RS Wagon since new in 2005 and it's always been very reliable in all weather. Mileage is good and it always runs. I've used it as a truck hauling my hobby stuff and gardening things. The HVAC does not blow cold AC from the lower vents but it's no differnt than the 2002 WRX wagon I traded in for this. This car's a keeper for life.

Report Abuse

Maybe the best all around car

Subie4life, 03/09/2010
2.5 RS AWD 4dr Sport Wagon (2.5L 4cyl 5M)
5 of 7 people found this review helpful

I just got back from the dealer for a recall. Yep, after 96,000 miles this is the first time I took it to the dealer. What a great car. I've totally abused this thing (from landscaping materials to my 4-60 lb dogs) and it begs for more. I've only done routine maintenance (tires at 50k, oil every 3k) and it's as strong as ever. It thrives in bad weather (torrential downpours here in Miami and trips to the snow in NC). I get not great, but definitely good gas mileage (21-22 city, 26-27 hwy) and it has plenty of room for just about anything I need. Yes...you should buy one. I expect to keep mine for well over 5 more years and 100k miles.

Report Abuse

Perfect all around vehicle

Justin, 02/18/2005
2.5 RS AWD 4dr Sport Wagon (2.5L 4cyl 5M)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I did a lot of research before buying my Subaru. I narrowed my choices to a Jeep Liberty, Mazda 3, Toyota Rav4, and the Subaru Impreza. The Impreza won out for a few reasons. I was looking for something that was good in the snow since I live in Minnesota. I was also looking for something that was good on gas, but could also be rugged and haul my camping gear. The Subaru Impreza was the perfect mix of everything I had wanted in a vehicle. It performed extremely well this winter in the snow. The car does better than an SUV for gas, but worse than most small cars. I am getting 23 city, 28hwy. Overall, I couldn't be happier with my decision.

Report Abuse

An Excellent Value

ScoobieDoobie, 05/17/2005
WRX AWD 4dr Sport Wagon (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 5M)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I have ~5000 miles on Scoobie and it is a fine car so far. My wife wanted a wagon and I wanted a Mustang GT - a good compromise? I think so. Decent performance but this car is rough around the edges - the ride is firm, mechanical clatter and road noise are always present. Scoobie's economy car roots show through at times.

Report Abuse

May be the perfect car...

maastrichtian, 05/26/2005
2.5 RS AWD 4dr Sport Wagon (2.5L 4cyl 5M)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Perfect blend of performance, utility, economy, reliability... Performance: 0-60 in ~6 sec (with AWD). Utility: AWD for off-road + rain/snow, >60 cu.ft. cargo capacity, decent ground clearance as opposed to many sports cars, allows you to navigate over bad roads or off road. Economy: I paid ~$22k & get ~25 miles per gallon fuel economy. Reliability: it's a Subaru! Everyone I've ever known who had Subarus still has them. Also nice is the long list of standard features: 6-disc in-dash cd player, side airbags, ABS brakes (saved me from a wreck about 100 miles after buying it -- I would have crashed into stopped highway traffic had I been in my Pathfinder), automatic climate control.

Report Abuse

Happy so far

theKman, 09/07/2005
2.5 RS AWD 4dr Sport Wagon (2.5L 4cyl 4A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

In a little under a year of driving this vehicle, I have had zero problems with it. I chose it for its AWD here in New England, even though I work for a Toyota dealer. It appealed to me much more than the AWD Matrix. I expected a little more power from the engine, and assume it's soaked up a bit from the AWD, but I'm glad I chose the 2.5RS over the WRX. I couldn't justify the $5,000+ premium over the 2.5, plus the WRX requires premium gas. The interior is pleasing to the eye, and very comfortable for my 6'3", 230lb. frame. The base factory audio system is extremely lacking in features and sound quality. I appreciate the functionality of the wagon and the folding rear seats.

Report Abuse

Versatile!

DD, 07/20/2008
WRX AWD 4dr Sport Wagon (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 5M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This car is meant to be driven hard, and it's loads of fun when driven hard. I wish the turbo would be more readily available, but what's really great about the car is the value for money - AWD, Turbo, Sporty, and a Wagon. It's a great blend of features I was looking for. It's practical, affordable, and a lot of fun to drive as a sporty car. It's my first new car, and it's been rock solid so far. No complaints.

Report Abuse

Great car, way more fun than many others

MFK, 12/19/2008
Outback Sport AWD 4dr Wagon (2.5L 4cyl 5M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I used to own a 1999 Legacy/Outback, I purchased this car (2005 Impreza Outback Sport) w/12000 miles and have found it to be a blast to drive. It was literally the car purchased by the little old lady (dealer put in a new clutch before putting it on the lot, I purchased Subaru warranty). Ironically, before I went Subaru in the beginning, I was driving V-8 Mustangs, the Impreza is way more fun, it is nimble, sure footed and safe and has great visibility. Compared to it's peers it is an all weather handling beast without over steer, under steer or torque steer (an FWD plague). The other car I have access to is a 2006 Nissan Maxima...I never touch it.

Report Abuse

Great car, no complaints here

mfk3, 02/14/2009
Outback Sport AWD 4dr Wagon (2.5L 4cyl 5M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I had a 1999 Legacy Outback, went to trade it in and found this 2005 Impreza Outback w/14000 miles on it, I liked the style better than the 2008 Impreza Outback. I bought it as a Subaru CPO car and have never looked back or wanted for something else. In fact I looked at Mustang V-8's first (nostalgia), drove an Impreza RS and I was totally hooked on the Impreza. It felt like more of a performance machine than the Mustang.

Report Abuse

Handles like no other

usmm01, 08/17/2009
WRX AWD 4dr Sport Wagon (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 5M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I am a loyal fan of Subaru, our old impreza was a 97 outback sport. This is my first purchase of a turbo. We are pleased with the WRX as usual with handling and fuel economy w/ cruise hwy. 29.5 mpg @ 65- 70mph! City 23mpg. I will own nothing but Subaru.

Report Abuse

I can't wait to get into this car!

MIke Vax, 12/04/2004
WRX AWD 4dr Sport Wagon (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 5M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

After driving trucks and minivans for about ten years, I am having a ball with this car. I actually look forward to getting into it and sometimes go the "long way" just to have more time in it. I just completed a 760 mile drive in one day and it was a "piece of cake." I was refreshed when I arrived and had a great time while driving. The turbo lag takes some getting used to, especially after bigger engines, but this car does get up and goes when you want it to, especially at higher speeds. (We won't talk about how fast that long trip went.....) I need room to carry people and things and this car is perfect for that. Four people work in it. The driver's seat is really comfortable

Report Abuse

Impeza Impressive

Kathy Hund, 02/17/2005
Outback Sport AWD 4dr Wagon (2.5L 4cyl 5M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

When I went shopping I wanted a Forester. I test drove one; handled great for a larger car. Then for fun I decided to give this Impreza a try. I was very impressed with the maneuverability of this car; the mileage was a factor as was the fact that it could do anything I wanted the Forester to do and handled much better than the Forester. The styling was sleeker, and again the gas mileage was a big plus. It is roomy and it has a good safety rating. Plus it holds its resale value. Couldn't ask for more. This car has HEART.

Report Abuse

So far so good....

Bigskymt3777, 08/28/2004
Outback Sport AWD 4dr Wagon (2.5L 4cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Looked at alot of cars/suvs the Outback Sport was the only one that was in my price range and had AWD...Handling has been great...Gas mileage right now with 500 miles 23-24 miles combined hoping for more...All the bells and whistles are nice...Love the color...Seats take a little to get used to...Back seat plenty of room for passangers and my youngest loves the two cup holders that pop out (those are his)...Have heard some wind noise but livable...Stereo not bad maybe a litte bit better speakers for standard would be nice...Over-all I am Happy...Can hardly wait for fall and winter lol

Report Abuse

Winter Driving in Wyoming

kneyda, 11/26/2004
Outback Sport AWD 4dr Wagon (2.5L 4cyl 5M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Just bought this car yesterday. Lots of fun to drive. It went easily up to 7800 ft, wouldn't spin out on ice, and did a 3 point turn in a snow bank. That was the test drive. Today we had 60 mph winds so went out to test it on the highway with high winds and blowing snow. Trackor-trailers were stopped but not the car. In fact, we took it out to the mountains and went off roading in the snow again just for fun!

Report Abuse

The Blueberry that nobody else liked!

Kitsune, 07/20/2019
WRX AWD 4dr Sport Wagon (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I loved my car. I was in an accident a few days ago. I've shed more than a few tears since finding out that the insurance company decided to total my baby. It was a fantastic car! The fuel mileage was a little low, and you have to put premium in it, but she's got a *lot* of get-up-n-go! Speedy when getting out on to the highway and merging in traffic, for sure! I loved the extra giant hood scoop that everyone seemed to hate. It looked aggressive. Especially when I repainted it matte black. It was Subaru's rally team blue, which is a lovely color. Very eye catching. There are not all that many WRXs around, so I could always find it in a parking lot. I think it broke down a total of 3 times ever, barring tire mishaps. First time, was a warranty repair on the ignition switch. One time, a hose slipped off, and just had to be tightened back on. Third time was a cracked radiator that I had to replace. That was it, folks. Super dependable. Drove great on snow. Fantastic for hauling the dogs to the park and looking fast while sitting still! Alas, someone making an illegal left turn right in front of you does nothing for your car. Now I have to find a new one.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

My 1st Subaru!

ebravol, 06/04/2004
Outback Sport AWD 4dr Wagon (2.5L 4cyl 5M)
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

The 2005 Outback Sport Wagon (5-speed manual) is my first Subaru. What made me hesitant about the 2004 model was the placement of the front cup holders. The 2005 Outback Sport has the front cup holders the center console between the seats. Also, there are rear cup holders. The car is very responsive and has great power given the engine size. I am getting about 24 mpg. The rating for city is 23 mpg which is 1-2 miles better than the 2004. My 6-foot friend sat in the back seat and said the leg room was good. Also, there is lots of storage compartments.

Report Abuse

Love this Car!

Jo, 10/17/2006
2.5 RS AWD 4dr Sport Wagon (2.5L 4cyl 5M)
0 of 2 people found this review helpful

This car has been wonderful for me! Since the date of purchase I have not had any mechanical or other problems at all. I love driving it around, the car always gets a few looks. This car is not WRX but it still has a lot of punch to it, it's very fun to drive. The only downside is that the mileage is not the greatest, however keep in mind that you are getting excellent AWD performance at all times. On a 60 litre tank of gas, i average about 600km per tank.

Report Abuse

Great Car! More fun than newer models!

Anonymous, 07/06/2008
2.5 RS AWD 4dr Sport Wagon (2.5L 4cyl 5M)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought a Subaru Impreza sport wagon. It's funny because it was more of a hatchback than a station wagon and it handled amazingly well. I recently totaled it but came out without a scratch! When I test drove the new 2008 Imprezas, they were clunkier, heavier, and didn't take turns as well. I know 3 years isn't long, but I never had a single problem that brought me to the dealer. I'm a huge fan and wish they didn't redesign the imprezas so I could happily buy another one! Great gas mileage, handling, braking, acceleration (for it's price and engine), lots of storage space on the wagonI

Report Abuse

Subaru Redeemed

Ron Kuhlmann, 01/14/2005
Outback Sport Special Edition AWD 4dr Wagon (2.5L 4cyl 5M)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I owned nothing but Surarus from 1972-87 and then went back in 2002, buying a Legacy Outback. The car was virtually impossible to drive smoothly in low gear (manual) and I complained to Subaru for three years. They offered a small compensation amount and just before Christmas it bucked one too many times so I was off to the dealership. I had some trepidation and tested this model in every possible situation before buying. I have had it a month and found it a delight--stable, spunky and fun to drive. I use it for commuting, errands and a very occasional 4-5 hour trip. I am once again a very happy Subaru camper and highly recommend the car for size, performance, and versatility.

Report Abuse

Best sports car for the money

05 WRX Wagon, 05/18/2005
WRX AWD 4dr Sport Wagon (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 5M)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is the second WRX that I have owned. It has been driven in heavy snow and rain w/ original tires and has never let me down.

Report Abuse

Great Car

taniame, 05/28/2005
2.5 RS AWD 4dr Sport Wagon (2.5L 4cyl 5M)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I've had my 05 Impreza RS Wagon for a week. So far so good. Great car, built in Japan with great quality contro. Fun to drive, very reliable. 165hp is not fast enough for an AWD, but it is good for daily commute I guess.

Report Abuse

Great Car

Colorado Rural, 05/27/2005
Outback Sport Special Edition AWD 4dr Wagon (2.5L 4cyl 5M)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I commute 60 miles per day and was looking for economy car with a hatchback. I was considering the Toyota Prius, Honda Civic Si Wagon and the Subaru Impreza. I debated the WRX, but the turbo defeated the purpose of gas economy. The 2.5 engine has plenty of power for this little car and it zips along fine. I commute over a mountain pass everyday. I live at 7,000 ft. and used to be white knuckled when driving my old 4x4 truck in the snow. Not the case with the Impreza; handles great in winter weather. After driving it for 7,000 miles, I must say that I have had not one problem with it. It’s reliable, has great power, handles great, feels safe on the road, and was an excellent choice.

Report Abuse

What a fun ride

Richard D Black, 06/28/2005
2.5 RS AWD 4dr Sport Wagon (2.5L 4cyl 4A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

When I finally decided to buy my first new car, I knew there was only one choice; a Subaru. I was debating an Outback 2.5i, but didn't want that high of a payment each month, so I went with the reliable Impreza Wagon. I cannot complain. This thing rides like a top. It was a great improvement over my last car and I play to drive this for hundreds of thousands of miles, as most Subarus will run forever. I really wish that the factory accessories didn't cost so much.

Report Abuse

true

rarevos, 06/29/2005
WRX AWD 4dr Sport Wagon (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 5M)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Thin sheetmetal, thin paint, notchy shifter, easily customized, fantastic performance, great utility. No other car comes close at this price; nice interior for class. Great seats. Wish the wagon had a sunroof.

Report Abuse

Outstanding all-around car

wrx, 08/17/2005
WRX AWD 4dr Sport Wagon (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 5M)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Fast, reliable, excellent utility. I can haul snowboards to the mountains and take it to a track day and still have a blast. Easily customized. Reprogram the ECU for an easy ~25hp bump. Driveability improves as boost comes on sooner. Short shifter kit also suggested. I only get 22mpg on mixed commute.

Report Abuse

My First New Import

DFMYERS, 09/28/2005
Outback Sport Special Edition AWD 4dr Wagon (2.5L 4cyl 4A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

At this point I couldn't be happier with this little wagon. We also own a 05 Pontiac Vibe which we've owned for about a year so it's neat to be able to compare the two. The Impreza excels over the Vibe in handling and performance but lacks in interior features and room. Both are winners in my book.

Report Abuse

Perfect Car

Trav, 10/09/2005
WRX AWD 4dr Sport Wagon (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 5M)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I've had this car for 5 months now and have nothing but great things to say. It preforms like a champ. The wagon gives extra head room in the back seat and plenty of room to carry stuff in the back. It's the perfect car for anyone in a snowy environment or someone who just wants performance that'll make you smile ear to ear.

Report Abuse

Love My Subaru!

Steve Gosselin, 03/09/2006
Outback Sport Special Edition AWD 4dr Wagon (2.5L 4cyl 5M)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I drive 2.5 to 3 hours a day back and forth to work in New England weather. This is my second Subaru and in the 3 years of ownership I have never broken traction in bad weather. I have never felt safer on the road! I love my Subaru!

Report Abuse

I love my car!

KJ, 03/11/2006
2.5 RS AWD 4dr Sport Wagon (2.5L 4cyl 5M)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have had my Subaru for 9 months now and love it just as much as the day I bought it. My decision came down to the Mazda 3 and Impreza, and I definitely made the right choice. This car gets me through North Dakota snow and blizzards with no problem, excellent traction and stopping power on icy, wet and dry roads. Good ground clearance. I wouldn't mind 40 or so extra HP, but it is very capable. Always starts even on the coldest days. MPG averaged 25-30 last summer but is <20 in winter. But, I would expect that with any vehicle.

Report Abuse

The most fun and reliable car I ever own

Myeelotter, 08/12/2004
WRX AWD 4dr Sport Wagon (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 5M)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have driving 7,500 miles and I look forward to every time I get to drive it. It's so much fun even going to the supermarket. On the highway, it's pure exhiliaration. I can just cruise or keep it up 5 notches to pass other annoying drivers and other aggresive drivers that like to tailgate me. This car has so much mid- range power that it really suprises me when I have to pass another vehicle. The interior is not as fancy as some of my friend's Audi or Infiniti but it's good enough for all my needs. Although I see they may some minor changes in the 2005 model that I love to have in my.

Report Abuse

Turbo lag is bad!

Maverick777, 08/25/2004
WRX AWD 4dr Sport Wagon (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 5M)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is my third Subaru and second WRX. I bought it last October and loved it all through the winter. But driving it in the summer with the air on is like pulling teeth. I feel like I'm working it far too hard to get it to move. It drives me NUTS! We recently purchased a '04 Acura TL and its torque is addicting! I never have to worry about what gear I'm in like I do with my WRX. Also, I wanted heated seats, mirrors and a sunroof but couldn't get them. I also wanted to get rid of the roof rack. Who knew Saab would be selling the Subaru I really wanted?! This car will be leaving our fleet very soon to be replaced by an Infiniti G35 Coupe.

Report Abuse

2.5 years

wang dang doodle, 09/02/2004
WRX AWD 4dr Sport Wagon (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 5M)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I've had my WRX wagon for 2+ years, 20K miles. No repairs other than scheduled maintenance. Two minor factory recalls. Clutch feel is not the best and sometimes there is a little "judder" before car warms up. Some complain of turbo lag, but this is not a problem for me. Just keep the revs up and power is always there. Shifter could be smoother, especially into reverse. I hear short throw shifter is better.Handles very well and is fun to drive. Wagon design is very practical and with roof racks can haul lots of stuff for a car this size. Gas mileage 17 city 26 highway. This is a good car.

Report Abuse

Gets better with every year!!!

Die hard subaru fan, 09/09/2004
WRX AWD 4dr Sport Wagon (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 4A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is my second subaru, my first was a subaru impreza 1993 sedan(which is still chugging along at 205,000 miles which I sold to a close friend), and I can not say enough wonderful things about it. First of all, all the small little things that use to bother me they have fixed, okay so it has been over ten years but still, for example they don't have those stupid cup holders that use to pop out of the dash and I always use to bump and spill my coffee everywhere. However, they have kept the good stuff like the rimless windows, really like those.

Report Abuse

Great little AWD vehicle for the Money

Mary J, 09/18/2004
2.5 RS AWD 4dr Sport Wagon (2.5L 4cyl 5M)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have been wanting a Subaru for a few years now and finally got a great deal on the 05 2.5 RS Sport Wagon. I just love it, it is roomy, fun to drive, and great handling. I especially like the seats how they just hug your body. Good going Subaru.

Report Abuse

Bargain AWD funster with space for stuff

super_haggis, 10/26/2004
WRX AWD 4dr Sport Wagon (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 5M)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Had the car for 5 months now. The turbo takes a little getting used to compared with the VR6 torque of my old VW Jetta. You have to spin the engine to get the best from it. Build quality seems to be on a par with VW too if a little plasticky. Hopefully the electrics are better. Time will tell. The 4wd is great in the California downpours we have been experiencing of late. It holds the road like a limpit. Compared it with the new Jetta VR6, Audi 1.8T quattro, Nissan 350Z and Altima when I shopped. Offered the best bang for the buck when hauling 4 and want a manual gearbox.

Report Abuse

Another Quality Redsign!

punchycool, 11/15/2004
2.5 RS AWD 4dr Sport Wagon (2.5L 4cyl 4A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have the '05 Impreza 2.5RS Sport Wagon with auto trans. This is the 2.5L non-turbo motor in case you were wondering. It fits my lifestyle perfectly and has room for two quality carseats in the back seat. The redesigned interior is very impressive; trust me, it takes a lot to impress me and Subaru has done a great job changing it up to modernize things. I really dig the new look of the black interior. Good layout for controls, good cupholders. Quiet engine and low slung hood line are perfect for all drivers. I love the height adjustment of the front seats, a very thoughtful touch for 5'4" wife. And if I may say so, Subaru's willingness to make me a great deal on this model, made me jump!

Report Abuse

AFTER 21000 MILES

BOB, 12/20/2004
WRX AWD 4dr Sport Wagon (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 5M)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I actually have a 2002 wrx wagon. Thought you might like the impressions from someone who's had one awile...This is an excellent car. I have had no repairs, just scheduled maintenance. Two minor recalls. Clutch feel isn't the best. Some shudder, especially at cold engine temps. Everything else is fine.

Report Abuse

Best Car I have ever driven

Subie Newbie from VA, 01/06/2005
WRX AWD 4dr Sport Wagon (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 5M)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I was driving a 1992 Acura Vigor which I learned on and was beginning to give me problems. It had 160K miles on it and was starting to show its age so I decided it was time for a new car. I looked at the TSX, 9-3, Mazda 3 and 6, and the A4. All great cars but in many cases I had to sacrifice something to gain something else. I drove the WRX and I was hooked. I have a dog and love to ski and mountain bike so the wagon is perfect for that. It looks great so it turns heads although its unassuming enough to hopefully not turn too many cop’s heads, and it has more go juice than anything else I drove, lots more. And with the exception of the Mazda 3 was the cheapest. WRX all the way.

Report Abuse

Not perfect, but a great value

Bob, 01/27/2005
2.5 RS AWD 4dr Sport Wagon (2.5L 4cyl 5M)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have a 2002 WRX wagon. The car is VERY fun to drive - but before purchasing understand the maintenance costs of AWD(blow one tire, you either have toreplace all four or buy a special onewith the same tread). Premium gas isvery expensive nowadays too. But the car is a great value because it's a blast to drive and will tear up the road, but you can fit five people in it if you have to and the cargo room is excellent for acar this size. The car lacks in creature comforts - the seats hold you in very well around corners but is uncomfortable especially if you are a larger person. Cupholders and storage desperately needs improvement. But, I love my car becauseit does it all.

Report Abuse

This Car Kicks

Andy , 02/06/2005
WRX AWD 4dr Sport Wagon (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 5M)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Well designed vehicle! Lots of power, not a v8 so some turbo lag if u don'trev the engine. Grocery getter below 3krpm,but once u hit 4-5k this baby takesoff! The AWD system is terrific! I live in Michigan & during winter I'm passing 4X4pickups/suv's on the hwy @60 mph whilethey are doing 25 waiting for the plowtruck to arrive .The Subie is truly amazing in the snow, I'd say it handles just as well in bad weather as it does during a clear, dry day. Price shot up from $21-28kthough :-( but only a Mustang GT can giveu similar/better 0-60 for the $ but w/o AWD handling or Subaru's bulletproof reliability. Nothing can match its performance or value for the $!

Report Abuse

Was so fun to drive and proven very safe

bizarro13, 02/08/2005
WRX AWD 4dr Sport Wagon (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 5M)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I got my Subie in the end of December and loved it instantly. I admit, I was pretty bad at driving stick, so it took some getting used to, but the car just stuck to the road like it was glued down. The styling is unique. That's the only way i can put it. The ride is definately choppy though. If you want asmooth ride, look elsewhere. This is a sports car. The car proved very safe as well recently when I hit a car parked onthe highway at around 70 mph. The cabin was untouched. I walked away with nothing but a couple of bruises and a small burn from the airbag. It couldhave been much worse. This is a very fun and safe car!!!

Report Abuse

Love the OBS SE

losthat, 02/10/2005
Outback Sport Special Edition AWD 4dr Wagon (2.5L 4cyl 4A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Bought this as a safe car for my 16 year old daughter..and to travel with my dog..guess what....I prefer it over my Infiniti QX4! Handles well, easy to glide into small parking spaces, and is fun to drive. Snow is not a problem! The SE package gives you so much extra for so little. I love drving it. Otherwise what a great wagon for the money. Try it, you'll like it...that's if you can find one.

Report Abuse

What a great toy!

Robber, 03/16/2005
WRX AWD 4dr Sport Wagon (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 5M)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

After 7k of driving I am still to see 28mpg. Actual between 20 and 26. A couple of instances of gas pedal abuse will drop it to 20. Normal travel is 140 M of hwy each day. Speeds between 70 and 75 = 26. 80+ < 24Seats and suspension are great for cornering and performance driving, but have a negative impact after 10hrs of constant driving (pain begins at 4hrs).An extremely positive car to drive. Great feedback via controls. Great breaking. Have found a tendency to understeer under heavy braking. Tends to oversteer under gas. This works great to tighten a turn up when pushing it. Paid just over 23K-

Report Abuse

Great fun to drive

devo, 04/02/2005
Outback Sport AWD 4dr Wagon (2.5L 4cyl 4A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Great fun to drive but I have been used to fuel injection so it's a bit disappointing to have to wait for the auto gear box to kick down before anything happens. I dont feel confident about being able to accelerate out of trouble or to get between gaps in cars. Otherwise I love the AWD and suspension and will definitely buy another Subaru.

Report Abuse

Wife's Outback Sport Special Edition

5greyhounds, 07/18/2005
Outback Sport Special Edition AWD 4dr Wagon (2.5L 4cyl 4A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The ride is very nice for such a short wheelbase, lots of room for the size (two greyhounds fit in the back with the back seat down with no problem). The stereo is very nice and the interior seems to be well made. Overall a good value for the money and a solid car. I miss a sunroof but that will be corrected next year.

Report Abuse

Bang for your buck

carlo, 10/04/2005
WRX AWD 4dr Sport Wagon (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 5M)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

2000 miles under my belt in my new WRX wagon and no major complaints. It doesn't excel in any one area, but does a lot of different things really well. It's not perfect, but nothing else in this price range performs like this. It's a true driver's car, so its not always that comfortable, but so what? The all-wheel drive and turbo provide lots of fun on the way to work and the grocery store.

Report Abuse

If I could put higher than a 10, I would

Aliye, 12/06/2005
WRX AWD 4dr Sport Wagon (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 5M)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

My brother first introduced me to the Subaru brand, and even at the very first test drive, I fell in love with this car! I have nothing bad to say about it; it is amazing and sooooo much fun to drive.

Report Abuse

This One Does it All!

Peter, 12/21/2005
WRX AWD 4dr Sport Wagon (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 5M)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

After 8,000 miles with this car, I still get excited to take this car out every time I start the engine. The performance is great and acceleration is addicting, especially knowing that it's a wagon. The standard features are adequate, but the 2006 version has much more, but at the cost of a questionable (borderline ugly) front design. Turbo lag is a real issue; the car is just a notch faster than sluggish below ~3,000 rpms. Unless you're launching at 5,000 rpms, expect a slow start until turbo spools up. You can't get a better car for the price. I would not hesitate to buy this one again.

Report Abuse

2005 2.5 RS wagon

AB, 06/27/2006
2.5 RS AWD 4dr Sport Wagon (2.5L 4cyl 5M)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I don't know how anyone looking for an economical AWD vehicle doesn't grab this one immediately. I have no problems, although I do believe that at 50,000k I shouldn't have any problems. Fact is a lot of cars do have issues after a few km's. I live in Edmonton, Alberta Canada, and during one of our largest snow storms in recent times, I was out having fun and watching all the people in regular cars, digging pushing and swearing. This car has been rock solid, the one single complaint I have is the paint, it is not terrible, just would think it could be more rugged, but then again, it's my first new car and scuffs show up easier.

Report Abuse

Swiss Army Knife on 4 wheels

Aurora, 09/14/2006
WRX AWD 4dr Sport Wagon (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 5M)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I've owned it for more than two years and I've got about 42,000 miles on it. I STILL look forward to my commute! I also end up volunteering to drive my friends everywhere. I really can't think of a better car to have purchased. It's done everything from weekend joyrides to moving an impossible loads. The performance and handling have gotten me out of trouble on the road that I might not have otherwise avoided. Reliability has been spotless other than a few glitches with the lock/unlock beeper. Slipping the clutch at 3000RPM produces little lag. Keep the RPMs above 4000 on a twisty road, and you discover the genuine gran-tourismo character of this car.

Report Abuse
12
Items per page:
51050