Used 2015 Ram 1500 Crew Cab Consumer Reviews

List Price Range
$21,218 - $39,900

Used 1500 for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale
12345...8

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

(Still) Best vehicle I've owned.

Kent, 05/16/2018
Sport 4dr Crew Cab 4WD 5.6 ft SB (5.7L 8cyl 8A)
20 of 20 people found this review helpful

Updated 5/23/21. I sold her. At 209k miles, I knew things were going to start going bad, and my company gave me a truck to drive, so I didn't need my Ram anymore. But I miss my truck. Updated 11/21/2020. I just passed the 200,000 miles Mark. I fixed the window leak. There was debis in the drain line for the sunroof that I flushed out. I'm almost due for another set of tires and brakes. Also, the drivers seat "leather" is cracking from sliding in and out of the truck. I put some repair material on it and it is hardly noticeable. Otherwise, things have been good. No other issues. Updated 11/16/19. I have over 168,000 and I'm starting to have more problems. I had to replace both front wheel bearings. I have a small water leak (I think at the top of the windshield), the interior map lights only work some of the time, and the engine knocks for a while when started until the oil pump warms up (I've heard this is common). However, it's got 168k miles, so some of this stuff is to be expected. I'm on my 3rd set of tires (the first being the ones from the factory), I've replaced my brakes and rotors once, and had a tune up at about 150k. I went to the shop to get 3 or 4 minor recall issues fixed (originally was told 8-12 hrs, but actually only took about 3 hours), and otherwise this has been a great truck. I've been looking to replace it with another 1500 Ram. Original review: Every vehicle has a few flaws, and this is no exception, but I really love this truck. I've had the truck about 4 years now and a few issues are coming up. Drivers window auto up/down only works some of the time, and sometimes makes a loud vibration noise going down. Also, the front dome lights don't always work, and the only mechanical issue is a engine knocking that I've been told is very common in ram trucks, and goes away once it has warmed up. Still best vehicle I've ever owned. Update 5/16/19: I still love this truck, but I've had several recalls on it which I'm told will take 8 to 12 hours total to fix, so I will have to rent or borrow a car for a couple of days. I have almost 150k miles on it. I'm almost ready for the 3rd pair of tires. 1st pair made it to about 80k. I put new brakes and rotors on for the first time at 120k. I haven't come across any new issues with the interior or exterior (same issues still exist from original review.) I am thinking about buying a new Ram this summer because I've liked this one so much.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Love This Ride

Jason, 11/22/2017
Sport 4dr Crew Cab 6.3 ft SB (5.7L 8cyl 8A)
30 of 31 people found this review helpful

I owned 2 F150 previous and I was a little leary about Dodge due to past mechanical challenges BUT I’ve got to say I love this truck. I purchased a 2015 Sport Crew Cab and it exceeded my expectations. It’s quick, nice interior and updated technology.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

The best 1500 pickup I have ever owned

Tom, 09/15/2015
Sport 4dr Crew Cab 4WD 6.3 ft SB (5.7L 8cyl 8A)
47 of 50 people found this review helpful

I have had several Dodge/RAM, Chevy/GMC and Ford 1500 pickup trucks over the last 20 years. My last truck was a 2012 RAM Hemi Crew Cab 4wd. That had a 6 speed auto transmission. The new one has an 8 speed. This is the best transmission ever invented. I have had about 70 vehicles in my lifetime and I cannot impress upon this feature enough. Not only do I average 20-22MPG in mixed driving (I don't floor the hemi very often), but this transmission seems to read my mind. It is always in the right gear. I love the looks, the seats, the comfort of independent suspension, the UCONNECT and many other things about this RAM...but the 8 speed automatic is outstanding! When you can get 20-22mpg in a 4WD crew cab with 400HP, you are doing something AMAZING. My sister bought the same vehicle with a few more bells and whistles and she has hit 24mpg on the highway. Love this truck!

Safety
Technology
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

So far...I really like it!

Paul, 08/14/2015
Laramie 4dr Crew Cab 4WD 6.3 ft SB (5.7L 8cyl 8A)
30 of 34 people found this review helpful

I bought a new 2015 Laramie 1500 4x4 in June. So far it has met and even exceeded most of my expectations. I traded in my beloved 2006 Toyota Tundra 4x4, however I didn't know what I was missing. The Laramie, for being a good sized truck drives extremely easy...its crazy. The interior is well designed and easy to use. The Uconnect system is one of the easiest systems I have ever used. Everything from the GPS, Bluetooth, air conditioned/heated seats and setting up internet in the truck is simple. The Alpine system puts out incredible sound and the speakers in the ceiling is just cool in my opinion. The 5.7 Hemi, 8 speed transmission w/ 321 gears...is also one of my favorite features. The truck has a lot of power! I have averaged from day one--17 MPG. I have seen as high as 22.7 on the highway and as low as 14 pulling my boat. My Toyota never saw over 19 MPG and it's 800 lbs lighter and had 125 less HP. So I am very happy with the Laramie's mileage. Hopefully as it breaks in even more, I will see a little higher MPG. But, fair warning...the motor puts out 495 hp. If your heavy in the gas, your mileage will suffer. I have experienced that when my wife drives haha. The only item I have had trouble with in the keyless key FOB. On occasion, I have had my key FOB on me while I'm in the truck...but the truck didn't pick it up, which meant the truck wouldn't start. My truck starts with a push button, not an actual key. So I had to get out of the truck, lock and unlock it, then I got back in and it started. Yes, that will irritate you. That's my only complaint. I am experimenting with a KN filter right now, to see if it helps or hurts my mileage. I will post later what my results are. I have heard it both ways 1) that it helped 2) that it hurt your mileage. So after a few road trips using both (stock filter or KN)...I will have some actual data to share. My truck is a Cowboy Cadallic. Dodge really did it right this time. I am extremely pleased with it...

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Poor in gas mileage

nica21, 06/29/2015
Laramie 4dr Crew Cab 6.3 ft SB (5.7L 8cyl 8A)
19 of 22 people found this review helpful

I had a 2014 chevy silverado 1500 with 27 Gallons and the average in gas was 17MPG and I just purchased a Laramie Longhord edition 1500 with 32 Gallons and the average is 11.6 MPG. I drive my laramie normally without speeding but I was very upset about the mileage. According to Dodge is 15 City/20 Highway. Everything else is very nice and comfortable.

Safety
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse
12345...8
Items per page: