Used 1999 Pontiac Montana Minivan Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$1,191 - $2,046

Used Montana for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale
12345...6

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

worth decreases too fast

kim Pettus, 03/16/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Overall satisfied, jsut ready for a change

Report Abuse

Don"t buy it!!! Unreliable

hflood, 07/02/2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have owned this car since 2002 and it has had muliple problems. Last year the engine went out at only 70,000 miles. It has been sitting for a year now. TOTAL LEMON!!!

Report Abuse

Buy a different van

PatS, 07/17/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This minivan is nice to look at but it pretty much ends there. I had to put a new transmission in it at 90k kms and just blew the second tranny 100k kms later. Wipers run into each other, intake manifold leaked, seat fabric is subpar and is starting to deteriorate, back door latch and key lock no longer work and the body has already shown signs of rust. Front bumper lost all its paint within the first 3 months of ownership. Airbag light comes on when it feels like it. All in all this was a very expensive dissapointment.

Report Abuse

So far-so good

Shangshang, 07/22/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is the first review of our (new to us) 1999 Pontiac Montana. We have a huge extended family and a total of 5 so far in ours. We are a softball/ baseball family as well and travel to tournaments. I will report our findings both good and bad as this seems to be a very solid van. By the way I am 6'2" @ 235lbs and I FIT IN THIS VAN! Woo-hoo..

Report Abuse

Pretty to start

Driving Dad, 07/27/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

We bought this new and enjoyed it greatly. This was our 2nd choice, the honda van was not available at a reasonable price. The initial ride, power and economy were as promised. The dealership offered the car at a reasonable price fully optioned. Now with 130,000 miles it is long in the tooth and not aging gracefully. Even with careful maintainance there are too many nickle and dime problems. Warrenty repairs: trip computer, radio, seatbelts, power door, power window. Non Warrenty repairs: Intake gasket at 70k (900.00 repair avoided using 2.00 can of stop leak , still holding at 130k), c/v joint, a/c compressor, air shocks, brake calipers & rotors.

Report Abuse

Wish they made them past 2004

Wart, 07/26/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Wish they wouldn't stop making these.

Report Abuse

What were they thinking?

S. Brooks, 11/08/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

From the beginning, we thought we were purchasing the best mini-van on the market in looks, reliability, and performance. Okay, we got the looks but what were they thinking with the realiability adn performance? We have been back to the dealership several times. No, we didn't purchase the extended warranty on the used vehicle but who would have thought we would need to with an American made vehicle? Where's the American pride? We've had numerous inconvenient problems such as power windows not working, electronic sliding door opening while going down the road, gas gauge not working, cup holders breaking easily, directional not working, coolant problems -- so far over $2,000 in costs plus!

Report Abuse

engineered to fail

leefan32, 12/31/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Owned it for 3 years now and everything I heard would fail did. I even changed the tranny fluid and antifreeze when I bought it at 20000 miles (32000km) but this year the tranny was revving high before changing gears and failed, then 3 months later there is a slight smell of antifreeze when the engine is warm and we find out the intake gasket is leaking - this is all before hitting 50000 miles (80000km). I know 4 other people who have similar vans and have had the same things changed. I bought the vehicle with really low miles so i wouldn't have to buy the ext warranty MISTAKE! if you get suckered into buying this do youself a favour get the ext warranty cause you will need it!

Report Abuse

Love the room...watch out for manifold

Cold Weather Guy, 02/19/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Bought this van when we started having a family...it's a perfect family vehicle. The EXT offers seating for 8 AND room for cargo. Have used it like a truck (with seats out) and of course as the family vanster on extended trips... have really been pleased with everything - except chronic problems with the intake manifold gasket. Original plastic part couldn't be torqued properly... extreme temp changes in northern climates led to expansion/contraction which caused leaks. Replaced manifold gasket at 47,000 and again at 66,000 mi (thankfully before antifreeze could gum up engine). GM has re-engineered the part (and assure this chronic problem has been fixed)... the second repair GM paid 80%.)

Report Abuse

what I think of my Pontiac Montana

Harold Bryant, 03/07/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought the vehicle new. It has 51000 miles on it. Tires are about a year old. I'm 76 years old and am wanting a new one like it. It has an extended warranty good until august of this year.

Report Abuse
12345...6
Items per page:
51050