Used 2008 Pontiac Grand Prix GXP Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$2,068 - $3,700

Used Grand Prix for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

GRAND PRIX GXP 2008-STILL THE BEST

awos, 05/31/2013
GXP 4dr Sedan (5.3L 8cyl 4A)
25 of 26 people found this review helpful

Just an update on my 2008 GXP. I have 55,000 miles on it now and still running like new. It's hard to believe that most car mags blasted this car. This car will run with most sports sedans and knock the hell out of the rest. If you can find one thats been maintained, oil changes and the like, BUY IT. I'm 6' 3"" tall and 230 lbs and the leather seats are still in great shape. Why Pontiac was killed is a shame. Bring it back, somebody.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Report Abuse

Gxp, Pontiac's best

AL, 06/01/2010
7 of 7 people found this review helpful

Have had this car for a year now, the only repair we have had was a flat tire. They best car we have owned! For someone who is big, comfort is excellent. Power is enough too put down most cars. Why they axed Pontiac is a crime.

Report Abuse

Pontiac shouldn't have left us

Tom rauch, 12/30/2015
GXP 4dr Sedan (5.3L 8cyl 4A)
7 of 7 people found this review helpful

After owning the car for about a year, I have gone through all 4 seasons. Spring, good. Summer, alright with the exception of the tranny running hot. Fall, good. Winte... now getting 2 feet of snow in a week, icy roads and a v8. I was nervous, but with stability control, abs, and traction control I found myself more relaxed through the winter then I thought I would be. This car has truly surprised me with it winter capabilities. I snowboard and so I need room for my gear, and also need to get up the mountain. This car has proved itself worthy. Now fuel economy for me is about 22 mpg, I drive 60 miles a day just for work and plus all of my running around is in this car. For a v8 and me having a heavy foot sometimes, I can't complain. Which brings me to my next point. This car is quiet, but if you open her up she has a growl that is just beautiful. Not to much and not to little. The interior is... Well the hud is nice, I love the seats, butt warmers, dual auto climate control, and dic. However the plastics rattle Alot. It is in my opinion the biggest down side to the car. I am aproaching 120k miles, and do regular maintenance, along with preventative maintenance, and have had no major issues yet. The value had gone down to much, so if you wanted one now is the time for 4 or 5 grand. I am happy with this car so far after putting almost 50k miles on it and hope it keeps me that way.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

2008 GP GXP

awos, 03/12/2012
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

I have had my red GXP for 3 1/2 yrs now. She got 48,000 miles on her and no problems, here that Consumers Report, Car & Driver and rest of critics. The car preforms day in and day out. Fast, comfortable and reliable. I am 6'2" and there's plenty of room Interior is standing up better than expected.

Report Abuse

BMW Killer?

Realworld, 04/19/2008
4 of 6 people found this review helpful

As far as this thing compared to a European sedan, that's like comparing a Jackhammer to a golf club. It does go - but, pretty much where ever the surplus of traction happens to be - hang on tight! or you might kiss the guard rail. Amenities are good but overkill - "Stealth Mode" is a bit sophomoric, as are the useless fixed tap shifters in a dated 4 speed slush box. (they work fine as a two speed stoplight racer). Brakes are more aesthetic than athletic - and where is the Spare tire? a can of goo? Interior quality typical GM with loose door panels(one fell off in parking lot after opening drivers door!), cheap plastic buttons and drooping headliner. Not too reassuring in a new car

Report Abuse

Last year 2008 GP GXP goes out Winner!

69Judge, 09/13/2009
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

These GP GXP's are a terrific value right now. Very stylish inside and out. It is a blast to drive the V8 is strong and produces a great exhaust tone on the road, it handles the road with ease all instrumentation is easy to read and driver friendly. Everyone loves te suede leather bucket seats they are really comfortable. I have plenty of head/leg room. The 18 inch rims really make the car stand out in the parking lot. The GXP makes driving fun again, sporty with V8 power to match and all the extra options you'd expect from a luxury car. The 05-08 GXP's(14,800) are one of the automotive industry's best kept secrets!! I'm very, very happy with mine.

Report Abuse

2008 grand prix gxp

DUANE, 09/30/2010
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Beast car I ever had, love how it handles and hugs the road. Great body design

Report Abuse

Very Comfortable Car: a few design flaws

HK2674, 03/31/2008
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

We just drove this car for a week and drove 3,000 miles in it (with our dog). It was a very comfortable, great car with a lot of room. We drove it from Nevada to Nebraska in rain, blowing snow, gusting winds and some black ice.

Report Abuse

Not a BMW 5 series killer...

Gomez, 01/19/2008
2 of 5 people found this review helpful

While the exhaust notes are a delightful symphony, the suspension and torque steer remove any fantasies of carving a canyon and putting the whup on any German engineered product. First impression: throaty growl stimulates adrenal gland...then ride on the street is like drinking sour milk. Suspension is so soft that the front emd bottoms out at speed over moderate undulations in the road. Feels like floating in a raft in the pool. Torque steer nearly planted me in the car in the next lane on the freeway. Under hard acceleration, it is not unlike flying a helicopter: don't even think of releasing the controls! Constant input requirement drowns the fun of the acceleration.

Report Abuse

Perfect Blend

Dave, 06/30/2008
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

After reading the Edmunds Editor review I have to conclude that he or she did not even drive the car. First of all the GXP V8 weighs less than the old 3.8 supercharged GTP and I have seen 0 - 60 in less than 6 seconds. This car is a great blend of performance, fun, comfort and if driven correctly on the highway can get super mileage. I have been averaging 29 mpg on the highway and can still punch it out from a red light and leave a nice cloud of smoke in the rear view mirror. True to the G8 is a great performance car, but try driving it in the snow. At least the GXP gives you the V8 push and still offers descent year round driving capabilities. Next time have your editor drive one.

Report Abuse

Great Car!

VROOOOOM!, 05/13/2008
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

What an awesome car! I am a little sad that this will be the last Grand Prix model year, and that 2 doors are not an option anymore. But otherwise, I have owned 4 Pontiacs, 2nd Grand Prix (other was a 01 GT) and I expect the same level of satisfaction as with all the others. Gas mileage is NOT BAD for a V8, especially with the active fuel management system. When you spend as much time in a car as I do commuting, you must LOVE your car! Traded a Mazda CX7. The CX7 was awful on gas (with a 4 cyl), very hard to see out of, and felt cheap! I did not feel the joy of "zoom zoom." I definitely like the VROOM VROOM more!

Report Abuse

I'm done

neveragain, 12/23/2009
1 of 3 people found this review helpful

Well, I love the interior and the sound of a V8 and that’s the extent of my love affair with this car. I have been towed to the dealership twice. Steering issues at the shop three times. Two additional home steering repairs. Serpentine belt tensioner rod broke… towed again! Multiple broken rims and blown tires… low profile and Michigan bad combo. Average MPG 21. Not great, since I drive 90 miles round trip to work daily, of which about 70 is hwy. I am actually paranoid when driving it now waiting for the next break down. I owe $11g on this beautiful heap and gotta get rid of it! Thanks Motor City!

Report Abuse

Very cheap interior and build quality

sbronemann, 06/20/2013
2 of 11 people found this review helpful

I bought this car in May of 2012 with 28,500 miles on it. Currently has 62k on it and things are starting to go bad. Headlights turn off occassionally on their own, valve cover gasket is leaking, sunroof leaks, and ignition switch is going bad. It is fun to drive and does get pretty good gas mileage, recent trip to South Carolina resulted in 31.3 MPG cruising right at 71 mpg GPS verified. The torque steer is absolutely horrible as you could expect with a front drive V8 with 303 HP. Looking to get rid of it very soon.

Report Abuse

An Honest Review

stelo27, 12/03/2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I had a 2006 Grand Prix GT V6 Supercharged and fell in love with it. I have always been a big Mazda fan growing up but had to switch to Pontiac after trading in my Mazda 6S for the 06 Grand Prix GT. I had it for 8 months and then sadly wrecked it. So i turned around and jumped right back into a 2008 Grand Prix, but the GXP this time. I love it. There is room for improvement, which i believe they have accomplished it in the new G8, But people, this is an awsome car. Especially for the price. I got mine slightly used with 9k miles on it, it MSRP for $29800, but being that its the last year for the Grand Prix and with the G8 now available, I got my GP GXP for $19000 and you can't beat that.

Report Abuse

Sleeper GXP

wzntme78, 04/18/2009
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I purchased this car with about 12,000 on it, as a former program car. The car right of the bat sold itself as far as performance and comfort went. I fell in love with the rumble of the exhaust..And punch the pedal and you can feel the pull. As for torque steer, we are talking about an big torgue high hp V-8 in a car...Not some little handa with 200 hp and no real torque, so of course you will have this at times. Just hold on and make sure you are aimed in a direction other than whats desired! Torque steer can also be found in any Cadillac fwd with the northstar!

Report Abuse

Lots of Problems - ready for a new car

tsfergus, 05/21/2009
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Was fun to drive in the summer, but living in Michigan - it is single- handedly the worst vehicle I have ever driven on snow and ice. It was so bad that it could no longer be used on the freeway during the winter. Also, for over a year now, there is a constant squeaking noise coming from the front tire. Three times to the dealership, new brakes and they still can't find out what's wrong. Have also had a electronic system failure warning pop up on the dash display twice. Not very comforting when you drive on the freeway everyday. Overall, too many problem for a new car.

Report Abuse

love it, but material quality stinks!!!!

thomas_cory2000, 09/16/2009
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The gas mileage sticker claimed 15/25. Well I get about that city but, highway I get usually 33mpg going 55mgh - gets 27 mpg going 65 mph (as long as I stay out of it). Brakes are amazing, handling is also amazing for a 4 door family car that weights 4,600lbs. My main complaint is the quality of the materials. I take very good care of my car and baby it! The leather on the seats is starting to wear more then my 5 year old Cadillac I had prior, the paint job stinks, it's starting to chip and wear in places it shouldn't for a 2 year old car and the interior is all plastic?? Shouldn't this problem with a $30,000 car.

Report Abuse

GREAT CAR

Alan, 10/01/2009
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The best car I've owned in my 63 years of living. I'am 6'3" tall and have all the room I need. My 100lb German Shepard comes with me on errands and seats clean up easily. Again, great car!!!

Report Abuse

Best Car Ever Made

Janice, 12/09/2009
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The 2008 Grand Prix GXP is a blast to drive.this is my 4th Pontiac and are the more reliable cars on the road. Had a 98 Grand Am with over 250,000 on it when I sold it and it was still running a of 2 years ago (lost track of it). I love the power when you step on the accelerator you can feel the g's pulling you back in your seat.S for winter driving I had no problems in the 2009 winter here in the North Idaho. Put 4 studded tires on and went everywhere in 12" of snow and ice. The exterior could use a little more chrome here and there.

Report Abuse

gas guzzler

jon, 12/07/2009
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought this car for my wife with 30000 miles on it. It has been in the shop several times. Issues with not starting, rack and pinion leak, and trans slipping with 34000 miles. I also found out it was a Hertz rental. So it definitely has been beat on. mileage is not good, city is 14.5 no highway trips yet but definitely a thirsty engine.

Report Abuse

Honest Review of the Grand Prix GXP

pontiac owner jim, 06/13/2010
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I'm a young professional and I need a car to take clients out. I test drove a gently used maxima, a tsx,and an IS 250. Liked them all. I test drove the GP GXP and was pleasantly surprised. The V8 power,options,and handling of this car far outperformed the others above. And it was ~ $8,000 less. The car is not perfect. Fuel economy is not good and there are some cheap materials on the interior. There is torque steer due to front wheel drive but its not intolerable. But the performance and options you get for the value far outweighs the negatives.

Report Abuse

2008 grand prix gxp

DUANE, 09/26/2010
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

2008 grand prix is the best car I ever owned, absolutely love driving it. To bad Pontiac is gone, maybe it will return one day. Love the looks and power of this car. The designer should be proud. "American power and muscle, with great looks"

Report Abuse

2008 grand prix gxp

DUANE, 10/08/2010
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Best car I ever had, great styling and handling, nice design, 23 mpg combined city and hwy, nice leather seats

Report Abuse

GXP

SG, 02/05/2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I traded in my 04 Grand Prix GTP to upgrade to a 08 GXP and I must say that what a difference it makes having a V8 engine. It rumbles and has much more power than the GTP. It handles better with the front tires being wider than the rear. I'm a Grand Prix fan and always will be.

Report Abuse

Great Car Overall

blakehannan, 12/15/2010
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought this car last February used. It is very fast, rides tight... Hard suspension so its a little bumpy but ill survive due to the performance. I love the look of the exterior with the factory wheels, id love to put some different wheels on to make it look even more sharp! But, the downfall to this vehicle is the interior, the seats are nice, but the plastic throughout the car is a little annoying and i do not believe that Pontiac put any time into it and did not give the consumer what they should have gotten. Could have been an AMAZING vehicle, but due to this, just great. Good fuel economy for 5.3 L V-8.

Report Abuse

Will miss the Grand Prix, get one if you can

bobr15, 12/20/2010
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Bought my 2008 GXP used from a MA dealer who bought it at rental auction at 12k miles in June '08 (was a former Alamo rental). Excellent car, but burned through brakes like crazy. After replacing front brakes with rotors at about 18k, needed all brakes/rotors again at 25k. Some light arm twisting at the local dealer and GM rep agreed to a whole new set of rotors/pads front and back. Still holding at 37k though there's a lot of brake dust on the front wheels. Smoking, fast car. Even better than the 2000 Grand Prix GTP turbo I drove for 8 years prior. Too bad, it's the end of an era.

Report Abuse

An Affordable 5 Series Beamer

Beytmeta, 09/18/2007
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The GXP is a serious American sports sedan that is a true competitor with the high priced over designed and excessively engineered German products particularly BMW 5 series. The 08 GXP performance handling, acceleration and braking is sweet and enjoyable without being too riggid or over the top. On road bumps the 08 GXP is a little untamed; instead of a smart, crisp "dip the 08 GXP sort of rolls over 'certain' road bumps. This is not a problem persay. The tires are my only concern. 2 different sizes and no tire rotation and no spare is a real challenge. 08 GXP Smart, sweet, gorgious.

Report Abuse

Almost Perfect

Amdetsion, 09/18/2007
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

After driving (2) GTP's and a Comp G my experience with the GXP is simply amazing. The GXP is truely a culmination. The Grand Prix is truly expressed through the performance and styling of this car the 08 GXP. If it had anymore technology or performance improvements it would exceed the already excessively designed and engineered German products. The car is precise and smartly cued with technology, comforts and prestige without the lavish and 'non-sensical' over statements and cost common to many up level Euro-imps. I want to ride American and feel good about it. GXP is a very good feeling; especially when I remind myself of its price, operating and maintenance cost.

Report Abuse

Move over BMW

WHERES MY GTO, 03/19/2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I just got my GXP. WOW. My son has a BMW 325ci and now all he wants to drive is my American muscle V8. Front Wheel drive is cool in a V8. The torque steer is kinda weird but it is great is the rain and snow. I have been looking for a new car for several years but the GTO was not up to par, the Charger is no fun to drive, the 3 series BMW is too small, and the 5 series and Lexus are too expensive and this car competes with them rather handsomely.

Report Abuse

American muscle

BMW KILLER, 04/01/2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have had my GXP for few months now. I had an 04 GTP and I must say that having the GXP is a big difference. The rumble from the exhaust is much greater and once you step on the gas you go. The tires are summer tires though which is a concern living in Chicago. Overall it's a blast to drive.

Report Abuse

Best so far

AJA85, 12/10/2007
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Great car. Gas mileage is good but could be better. Very fun to drive yet very comfortable.

Report Abuse

GXP Grand prix

John Wilson, 04/26/2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Love this car! Fun Fun and more fun! But I like to just cruise and take in easy in the most wonderful (and great looking) sport seats! Great sound system. Reviewers bad rap this auto, how it looks ( body). Trust me people still look at it all the time. Still loved by the common folk!

Report Abuse

Sweet!

Pontiac RULZ, 04/28/2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This car is the car of my dreams! It rides smoothly which makes me feel like I'm floating. I love the space and all the things that come along with it!!!

Report Abuse

Instant Classic!

David Logg, 05/01/2017
GXP 4dr Sedan (5.3L 8cyl 4A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Last year of the Pontiacs. 08 Grand Prix GXP SHOULD go down as one of the last muscle car classics. I would garage it for a few years then auction it for a ton but I'm not that smart.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Mpgs on a gxp

Sasquatch, 08/10/2017
GXP 4dr Sedan (5.3L 8cyl 4A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

For one love the V8 power and leather seats. I purchased car may of 2017. It was getting 22 mpgs on highway driven so me wanting performance and mpgs I looked for cold air kit I could not find one so I to air box out and looked the dinky hole it's suppose to draw air threw I drilled a bigger hole next to it next road trip 26 mpg 70 mph. Then I found diablosport that keeps your ride in V8 mode longer and plugged that in but I jumped to 34.77 mpg doing that. Then u put headers and cat back system. And getting 42 mpg. I love the car now it's awesome. But only gets like 12 in town but just baught v8 mode chip

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050