Used 2005 Pontiac Grand Am Sedan Consumer Reviews

List Price
$2,400

Used Grand Am for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Riding in as a kid, driving it as a teen

poley1, 07/21/2012
11 of 11 people found this review helpful

I'm not sure how many people are going to look at a review on a 7 year old car but here is mine. My dad bought A V-6 version of this car in '05 almost new, however it was used as a rental car. The only problems we ever had with it were the windows came off track (not a big deal you can fix it yourself), the rear passenger window it dead no movement at all (happened this year), and when i was 10 i had a mini TV and my Xbox hooked up to the 12v outlet and blew a fuse and messed up the outlet. no matter what we do the fuses keep popping. But overall now that its mine it is absolutely perfect for me to go back and forth to high school and work

Report Abuse

My Pontiac Grand Am SE 3.4 V6

wdsgto, 02/15/2011
10 of 10 people found this review helpful

We bought our Grand Am used with 21000 miles in 2006. It has 71000 on it now, it has been quite reliable. The only issues have been: the turn signal switch clicking (the factory put too much grease, I just removed some with a q-tip and it went away) and a battery. Otherwise it has been a good car. It is hard to see out when backing up, and it has a lot of road noise.

Report Abuse

Pontiac is the Best

Jeanne, 04/15/2010
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

I am a 54 year old woman who has had nothing but Pontiac's. I wanted the 2005 Grand Am because it was the last year they were making it. I bought it new. I loved my 89 and love this one even more!! You cannot go wrong with a Pontiac!

Report Abuse

Awesome

Licia, 09/04/2008
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

LOVE IT! I bought this car brand new so i've had it for about 3 yrs. NOTHING has gone wrong. Haven't had to fix anything!! Just your typical oil change and brake change. Oh, and had to change the bulb in one of the headlights. NOTHING at all to fix as far as the engine is concerned. A little loud on the hwy but nothing to complain about.

Report Abuse

Anthony's 2nd Grand Am

garant02, 10/06/2010
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

i purchased a 1996 GT and i loved it but it needed a lot of work as time went by but this 05 v6 Grand Am runs smoothly and drives awesome. i love this car it has lots of pick up and very roomy

Report Abuse

Great Car for the Price

New Pontiac owner, 10/23/2005
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I've only had this car for a few weeks, but so far I'm loving it. I was a little hesitant to buy this car because I like a lot of bells and whistles on an automobile. It came down to practibility for me. And for the money, I'm really pleased with my purchase. The car has a sporty feel even in the 4 door model. Makes me feel young again. HA!

Report Abuse

Value

Mikey, 04/23/2006
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

It just seems like consumer guides these days only rate the performance of the vehicle and totally ignore value. I'm here to tell you about the value of this car. I paid $16,000 CDN (after taxes) for a 1-yr old car loaded with features - all power - and with only 23,000kms w/ 2 yrs remaining on the warranty. What can you buy with this money? Zip. My friend bought a 2005 Civic, paid $24,000 CDN and has to manually roll up his windows! His car is so weak on hills that you feel like you need to get out and push. Ha! My GA flies up hills, has tons of low- end power and gets about 25-30mpg. The hype about foreign cars is bull. I'll be driving my GA when my buddy's Civic is mowing lawns!

Report Abuse

Fun to drive, but noisy

john, 10/02/2006
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Great Car for fun and curvy roads!! Not too great for road noise, you hear every change in the road surface.

Report Abuse

NEVER will I get a Gm car again!

Courtney, 12/23/2015
SE Fleet 4dr Sedan (2.2L 4cyl 4A)
5 of 9 people found this review helpful

I have had my Grand Am for 10 years. It was my first car. My mother bought me it for my first car. So I never had any time to get a new car due to college and I had a baby at age 22. But it was an excellent car until 105,000 miles. Then things started going wrong. At 105k, I had to get a leak repaired from the transmission. Then at 109k, I had to get a new radiator. After awhile, it was OK. But then at 117k miles, I had to get a WHOLE new engine due to it overheating BADLY. Then at 125k miles, I had to get a new ignition coil. 134k miles, it needed a new head gasket. Currently at 136k miles, it needs a catlytic converter. Very problematic. All of my car repairs were on a credit card :(. So i spent over $2k trying to keep this car strong. Too bad it's a crappy car.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Nice car!

Don, 08/12/2006
2 of 3 people found this review helpful

I bought this car used for my wife. She had an '85 2-door sedan SE with a V- 6 and we both loved that one. This one a 2005 4 door sedan with a V-8 was in great shape. Paid $8500 from a private individual (through E-bay), but still got stung with sales tax in Michigan. Care had 20,000 miles. The V-6 is nice, but seems to not be as peppy as the 85 was. This one has the spoiler, but no sunroof. Had to replace a power window switch first thing. Warranty work. One other issue is the starter sticks ocassionally. We'll have to take that in before the warranty expires. Can't complain, Good car, great price and nice gas mileage.

Report Abuse

Very nice!

Austin, 06/26/2008
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Well, this is my first car in my life. I have had it for a day, but oh my, is it awesome. It looks GREAT at night! It accelerates very well, and you feel really sporty in it. Sound is great from engine and also stereo sound is good. Definite buy.

Report Abuse

Typical GM Car -- Fast until it breaks

Roger, 11/04/2010
1 of 11 people found this review helpful

I've owned this car for a few years now. Purchased in 2007 with 30k miles, now I have 80k. Nothing major has broken yet, but the car is such a pile of plastic junk it seems about as reliable as a child's toy. Everything under the car is rusting. The paint is fading and flaking. There is body rust on it. The headlights are hazy and fogged. The car has been through 1 battery and 3 CV boots. The brakes were so rusted I needed to have a mechanic fix them. There is this horrible annoying, nonstop clicking from the blinkers that is apparently common with these. Other than being a piece of plasticy junk, it is pretty zippy. If you don't need a reliable car, I'd recommend getting one.

Report Abuse

New Owner

Diva, 06/07/2008
0 of 2 people found this review helpful

I just purchased this car today, I was a bit hesitant as I never owned a Pontiac or can ever recall driving one before. The sleek body style, and gas mileage of 31 miles per gallon was really a seller for me, it doesn't ride as smoothly as i expected it to, but i will ride it more and see how things go, and after all i have a 4cyling and not a 6 so i am sure that has something to do with the pickup of it. Overall, I feel i made a great purchase and choice and hope this vehicle brings me yrs. of pleasure.

Report Abuse

Not Impressed

NotImpressed, 06/15/2008
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

I traded in a '03 Saturn for my Grand Am. I was in tears a month after my trade. The car inside is smaller than my little Saturn, the doors curve so it is hard to fit things in the back seat that you can't fit in the trunk because the opening to the trunk is too small. The seats are not the most comfortable for road trips. It is a lot of plastic on the inside and just make me think of a cheap Matchbox car the more I have to drive it. The starter sticks more often than not and after purchasing the vehicle, I found out that this is a very common problem for the Grand Ams.

Report Abuse

I love my Grand AM

The Guru, 05/17/2010
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I call my car a mini-rocket..Superb Acceleration..good mileage as compared to the cars in the same segment. No issues with the maintainence as such, small tweaks bound to be there. Only discomforting thing I found is the way the center console tilts towards the driver. Thats one of the small things.

Report Abuse

Good on the Pocketbook

Amgrand, 02/25/2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is a first vehicle for me. But I have driven many. This is a nice small car that is still sporty enough that it doesn't look like something your grandma would drive. Very convenient.

Report Abuse

dar's grand am

goober, 08/19/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have not had this vehicle long, however the experience with the vehicle is that it handles very well. It feels very sturdy as you drive it. I love this car

Report Abuse

Very Dependable Car

thunder, 02/17/2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Excellent Car, great handling and powerful engine. I love driving this car, a great choice for anyone wanting a reliable sporty car.

Report Abuse

Very Surprised

Ricko, 01/04/2007
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I was very surprised with this car. I have always had a full-sized vehicle and this is the first car I've owned in the mid-sized class. The comfort is good, the power is amazing (almost 2 much for the size!) and it is a lot of fun to drive. I've had it over 6 months and I'm still not tired of it. I paid $11,500 for it and feel like I made out like a bandit!! ~~to the gentleman who said the ignition sticks- I was told by my Pontiac Dealer that if the car doesn't start immediately, the ignition will hold for a few seconds to try to start it and then release.~~

Report Abuse

Good for the Price

Dee, 05/25/2007
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Don't get me wrong, I love my car. But the only thing I have a problem with is the back window noise. It sounds like the windows are down slightly when you're doing interstate driving, gets pretty annoying. Other than that, its roomy, sporty, and has great take off.

Report Abuse

Good Car

Grand Am, 04/14/2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is a a really good car to drive! I love the look of the outside..especially the spoiler on the back. The radio is great and the interior is sporty looking. The 4 cylinder engine is pretty powerful and is fun in driving around corners and quick turns. Overall great car!

Report Abuse

Scary car

Keith, 01/14/2019
SE Fleet 4dr Sedan (2.2L 4cyl 4A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Once these cars hit 100,000 miles, they are destined to have the notorious security issue start up and plague you. This car is very cheap. I have been the only owner of mine, and keep up with maintenance (I am a mechanic, and actually love Pontiac) but they have dropped the ball on this one... the door check has been broke on 2 doors, all of the windows have eventually fallen off the tracks. The security light makes sure you are delayed 15 min of driving (look up grand am security issue on google). Otherwise, the engine has been torn down twice for blown head gasket, then for melted wires to the cam and crank sensors. I still own the car because after all this is fixed the car seems solid and is a great beater car!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050