Used 2001 Plymouth Neon Sedan Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$1,068 - $2,442

Used Neon for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

A little about my car and a comment on another post.

patrickl79, 08/23/2012
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I purchased my 2001 used from a private seller. It had 120,000 miles and I only paid $500 for it. It was non - running the problem turned out to be bad battery terminals a easy fix for about $4. I love my car, its quick and sporty, handles well and seems to be well built and very reliable requiring only standard maintenance, something that most people simple forget or dont care to do. My only complaint is I wish the center console was bigger.

Report Abuse

2001 Plymouth Neon A LOT OF LITTLE CAR

jamesrizzuti, 10/26/2013
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

The little Plymouth Neon is fun to drive, feels very solid on the road, and in general has a well designed interior. For a compact car, it has remarkable interior room for 4 adults, and the back seats fold down to allow more truck originated space. It's probably the best little car I've ever driven.

Report Abuse

Good Car

Brown, 01/15/2009
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I bought my 01 Neon a year and a half ago or so and I have loved it. My Neon was really basic, no power windows or other options but it was really reliable. I only replaced the battery and the tires on it so maintenance was low. I bought used but had regular service and it treated me well. A/C and heat worked perfectly. 2.0 liter gave it extra kick for a 4 cyl. Inside room was quite large for the size of the car, back seat spacious for compact car. I wrecked it and have to buy a new car but would get another Neon anytime.

Report Abuse

STILL a good car!

ehbowen, 02/08/2010
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I purchased my 2001 Neon new in November 2000 and kept it for more than eight years. It was the stickshift LX model, and I added a Chrysler-brand cruise control. Other than routine maintenance, the only service it needed was when the engine computer went into an error state. The car was still driveable and I drove it to the dealership, which repaired it under the emissions warranty even though the car had over 60000 miles on it at the time. The only negative I have to say about the car is that it's a little too low-slung; very easy to scrape the front end on sloped driveways. I sold the car to my 16-yr old niece last year, and she loves it-- it's STILL a good car!

Report Abuse

dodge makes fun happen

Gralun Poole, 05/13/2002
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

i bought this car as a daily driver and have since turned it in to a street machine i can easily beat cars that cost more and the have a higher hp rateing. it is a fun car and plan to own the new srt-4 also.

Report Abuse

great car small price

tbbucsr1, 07/17/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

We have had no problems with this car at all. We have out grown it & have to trade it in. I would recommend this car to anyone starting out looking for a small payment.

Report Abuse

Cheap but with many Questions

whitespirit, 02/01/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I just bought a 2001 Plymouth neon today. It was an Automatic with only a rear window defroster as an option. It had 7200 miles and only cost $7500. My old car was a 99 Chervy prizm compared to it the noen has morepower and room. The interior parts look cheaper and the mileage is worse. Over all it feels good and was a great price. I am 6"3' 300 pounds and this car is easy to get into, and my shorter friends can drive it too. The interior is very roomy.

Report Abuse

Moderate

Tim Vondrak, 08/09/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

It is a decent little car but it is small. It has good fuel economy and is a good car for running around in. The interior is a darker color that is eadier to hide dirt and is pretty comfortable. The trunk is a good size either if your working out of it or if you want to put a couple of subwoofers in the back. The driving isn't to rough until you get to 100mph. If your looking for a reliable car this is it. It only has minor problems if you overd

Report Abuse

This car STINKS

crunkone, 03/08/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

My Neon is a very attractive, fun to drive car but it is too weak. And a compact car means nothing if you can't get good gas milage. And the car gives off a strong sulphuric smell that apparently no one can fix. Also it needs a 2-door model. A Civic is a better buy.

Report Abuse

Great little car--surpasses reputation

saramoor, 06/08/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is a great little car! I've had no problems with it (other than the typical brake pad change and new tires. I have 80,000 miles on it, so that's typical by this point. I had a Honda Civic SI previous to my Neon and it was TERRIBLE. I know people love Honda's, but this Plymouth Neon has been GREAT! Much better, at least in my experience, than my Honda. It feels solid, is comfortable and I've had no problems. Nothing has ever broken or snapped off; it's really been great.

Report Abuse

275k & still rollin

tdot, 11/30/2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is the best car I've ever owned. We bought this car with 20k. it now has over 275k and no problems. This car was loaded. Side airbags, leather interior, the works. It really was a good value. We drive it daily from the Poconos to NYC. About 220 miles every day. I can't complain.

Report Abuse

Travelin

deaggle, 03/23/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

We bought a 2001 Neon LX in 2002, the car overall does exceptionaly well, has enough power. The sound system is magnificient, comes loaded with a 4 disc in-dash changer and a 6 speaker system. It's very reliable and comfortable for heavy traveling. Fuel Economey is above average for a 2500 lbs car that was fully loaded, but it could be better. A good idea would be to put 4 disc brakes with ABS. We would suggest it as a good starter car for anyone with a small family.

Report Abuse

Dependable car

Michael Avery, 03/29/2007
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

We have used this car very much in the last 4 years. It has been a very dependable car.

Report Abuse

Plymouth Neon LX owner

Brad Billeen, 05/19/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is my third Neon. The 1996 was the best one so far, but the 2001 is close behind. I have an automatic and wish I would have gotten a standard. The automatics are loud, but the car is still fun to drive. Take a Neon for a drive you'll love it in the long run.

Report Abuse

Better car than 1st Gen Neon

whippingpostguy, 06/05/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have averaged 20,000 miles a year on a Neon since 1996. The second generation, while a little heavier, is a much better car. Excellent car to buy used, it's a better built car than it's reputation, and you can get a bargain price.

Report Abuse

BadBrakes2

notmyneon, 03/25/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought this car the middle of last year and had to replace the brakes already once, the repair shop couldn't believe that they had already worn out! Neither could I. They also squeal almost everytime you push on them from slowing dow, my rating on the brakes? .02!

Report Abuse

Want a Lemon buy a neon

Madrid's, 07/26/2018
Highline 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Since I purchased its been a rollercoaster with repairs maintenance

Performance
Comfort
Value
Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050