Used 1996 Oldsmobile Aurora Sedan Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$1,308 - $3,156

Used Aurora for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Excellent Automobile

96aurora, 12/31/2004
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

This has been one exceptional automobile for me! Not only is it a classic design, it is one great riding and handling car too. I have 170,000 miles on this car, and it still drives just as nice as the day I drove it off the lot. The engine still runs great, the transmission still shifts flawlessly and there are no squeaks or rattles from the suspension or frame. The gas mileage is phenomenal for a V- 8, I usually average 30 mpg on the hwy. I thought about upgrading to the new body style, but after driving one, I thought to myself, "where is the Aurora that I know?" The only problem that I had with the car was that I had to replace the radiator core and tank. I highly recommend this car!

Report Abuse

A Roaring Aurora

addsworld, 07/21/2006
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I've been driving for over 40 years. The Oldsmobile Aurora is one of the best cars I've ever owned. Its performance is incredible, the Olds Rocket logo definetly applies to this car. For a ten year old car with over 100,000 miles, it's leak free and when under conservative driving it's possible to get 28 mpg. If there's a comparable American car available new, I'm all for it.

Report Abuse

Rock On!

Kevin Whittle, 03/09/2005
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

This car is awesome! Takes eight quarts of oil, and high octane gas-so in this day and age its pricey. However, I find that it all evens out when I jump in the front seat! Because of the V8, it is a gas guzzler, but there is temendous power in the 4,000 lb. packed beauty. Superb on the highway, a whopping 26 miles to the gallon.

Report Abuse

Solid Car

Dan, 09/03/2008
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I had originally purchased this car to use as a winter vehicle but now I plan to drive it for the foreseeable future. The ride is nice and smooth and I've had no major mechanical problems to date (knock-on-wood) The interior is very comfortable and it boasts some fancy climate controls. My Aurora was outfitted with the Bose Sound package and the audio is excellent (especially for a car of its age). The engine provides enough power to get the Aurora moving and I have no trouble passing slugs on the highway. Also, the gas mileage (I average 25 mpg) is good for a 12 year old V8 engine. The only gripe I have is the turning radius; it makes the widest turns (for a car) I have ever seen.

Report Abuse

Fun with Sophisticaton

Roger, 02/27/2002
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Very quiet at any speed. The engine is very responsive with no lumps or bumps with the transmission shifts.I find the instrumentation to be excelent with all the controls with in easy reach.The ride is smooth however it is a heavy car and the handling is not that of a higher priced Eropean competetion.However it is still fun to drive with reliability and no major service concernes other than normal maintenance.

Report Abuse

Love It!!!!!!!

CFalduti, 08/23/2004
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I have had lots of cars, none of them come clouse to the Aurora. I love this car. I am sad that they have made the last ever Olds. Well, I guess I will just have to keep mine forever or hope they come back one day and make olds again.

Report Abuse

Sweet Ride

JEFF, 08/10/2005
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I have no problems with this car. It ride's very smooth and is very quiet cruiseing down the road at 70 mph. I have done no major repairs to this car. It drives and rides like a new car. Im very pleased with this car.

Report Abuse

Nice, but ....

wkb2texans, 03/16/2010
3 of 4 people found this review helpful

Ok, first let me say I love this car! It's 14 years old and it looks like a new car. It's got a design that seems ageless . The paint has held up amazingly well in this Texas heat . And the ride is both comfortable and powerful. The downside . The car is now on its 4th, count 'em, 4th a/c compressor. And when the compressor goes, so does the rest of the system. Which means the dash has to be pulled out. Which means a $1,500-$1,700 repair bill. The previous owner replaced the original compressor at 18 months, and I'm on my second compressor since buying it in 2003, having replaced it in 2004 and again in 2010. Last complaint: car's turning radius.

Report Abuse

Really, really tired of it.

Trump, 08/25/2008
3 of 5 people found this review helpful

Owned for 8 years. Have spent thousands keeping it on road. Only has 85K miles, but seems like I've replaced everything at least once. All the fuel injectors, shocks, various circuit boards, numerous O2 sensors, air conditioning compressor clutch, fuel pump, fuel tank (!) brake rotors twice, brake lines. I want to love this car, and I sort of do but I am sick of spending a fortune to keep in going. I am ready to sell it, and to just walk away.

Report Abuse

Aurora, Out of This World

darcy allarie, 01/12/2007
2 of 3 people found this review helpful

This car is pure quality and comfort. Power back the sunroof, let the wind blow your hair, and let the 8 ponies propel you down the highway. The beautiful styling inside and out will keep amazing everyone including yourself every time we look at it. Wow, what a car!

Report Abuse

Aurora From Heaven

boldman, 01/13/2004
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

No problems encountered with the vehicle at all. A joy to own and drive.

Report Abuse

On The Right Track!

ricktom, 01/30/2004
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Bought used at a very good price. Very tight and gives you the feel of a sport luxury vehicle. Power is comparable to my old 1973 Plymouth Roadrunner with a 340 Magnum. Body style is distinctive and you won't see many on the road. Definately more individualized than the newer models.

Report Abuse

Great Car

Chris, 03/19/2007
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This is not your typical GM car by any means. Most of its parts are not shared with other GM cars. It has a Northstar engine, Cadillac tranny, Bose accoustimass, and every feature imaginable. It beats the imports for acceleration, braking, and handling. It's not bad on gas considering it is a V8. This is a very reliable car that performs very well and caters with every creature comfort one needs.

Report Abuse

I love my 1st gen Aurora

dennis, 08/07/2015
4dr Sedan
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

Have owned this 96 for less than a year. Its one of 5 cars that I own. I absolutely love it. I have never been someone who knows about or cares about cars before this car. I LOVE IT!!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Mediocre

OMAR , 04/14/2006
0 of 2 people found this review helpful

I've has this car for almost 2 years now. So far, I've enjoyed it. My girlfriend hasn't. She thinks the body's to big. I like the way it picks up. Whenever I'm at a red light I usually smoke everyone lined up with me. The leather seats are nice. The interior seems a little cheap. It has 3 lighters and none work. Also, it uses too much gas.

Report Abuse

sport comfort

Bowtieman, 04/08/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The 96 Aurora powerplant is reliable and powerful while obtaining good mileage on the highway, especially for a heavy car. The interior is very comfortable and holds up well. The only problems I have had are with the power seat, traction control and antilock breaks. The light is almost always on and the shop wants a small fortune to fix it. I like the car enough to spend the bucks to fix it and keep it.

Report Abuse

Aurora

Wayne, NJ, 04/08/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Has been exceptional car with no problems. 100k+ still original spark plugs and computer still shows 18 mpg city. Excellent ride, comfort, and performance.

Report Abuse

Your average American Car

jpguthrie, 12/18/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Had an ongoing problem with the A/C. Knowing what I know about the car now would not buy another

Report Abuse

Very decent car

CLEMDOGG, 08/20/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

this is a good overall car, the features which it has are very helpful on long trips ex. power moonroof, power heated seats, several function trip computer, very responsive 250hp engine, and my favourite option is probably my 8 speaker,12 disc cd player, it had excellent sound and bass. They used to race the aurora in the american LeMans series along with vipers and vettes and they actually used to same 4.0L engine except modified and a similar tranny, perhaps that is why i love my aurora so much. But if you don't like expensive repairs than this is not a car for you, my rad just cost me 1,030$!.

Report Abuse

best car

toro, 03/29/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

very good car compare to foreign cars by a long shot. gm did not do olds any good by killing them. we love the car.

Report Abuse

Hate to Part with It

Mark B, 02/18/2007
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is the best car I have ever owned. It is now at 260,000 miles and going strong. It has had no major repair issues, but has needed a head gasket for a couple of years. I can't see putting that much money into a 10 year old car, so I plan to trade it in. I would buy another if they still made them.

Report Abuse

Aurora

GeneBr, 04/07/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Interior is very comfortable, soft leather seats and air suspension makes ride relaxing. On the high way, if driven on cruise set to 75mph, you will get better fuel economy (around 28mpg). Overall car is luxurious, a lots of toys, but watch out if something brakes get ready, not too many mechanics are ready to fix Aurora and vast majority of them will send you straight to a dealership. Major organs; engine and transmission are more reliable than in majority of American cars, but the problem is in electronics this part is the real headache.

Report Abuse

Great Luxury for the Price

kswift91, 05/22/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Before coming across this car I was driving Cadillacs, Lexuses, Infinities, and Acuras, all used. I was looking for luxury for under $10K. All these vehicles (within the price range) were either too old or too beat up. Then I found the Aurora, which I don't recall ever seeing one on the road. Ride is every bit just as smooth, steering is soft but a bit jerky(You turn left or right effortlessly but once you get about 90 degrees on the steering wheel its almost like it wants to continue on its own), and very responsive with the gas pedal, though slightly not as nice with the transmission but adequate, it rides like any luxury car out there.

Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050