Used 2000 Oldsmobile Alero Sedan Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$1,168 - $2,946

Used Alero for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale
12345...7

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

I'm going to miss this car

chris, 11/03/2010
7 of 7 people found this review helpful

My wife bought this car Brand New from the dealer. we've had it for 10 yrs now and its been wonderful. Very few problems the fuel pump went at 70k which i hear is very common, and we've replaced all the power window switches. everything else is great, very fun to drive and very roomy. I'm trading it in and I'm going to miss this car.

Report Abuse

2000 alero after 11 years

mountaintop1, 11/14/2011
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

This has been a great car, great mileage, and very little problems. 108000 miles so far, can't complain I will be buying a new car soon, I hope it will be as good.

Report Abuse

Oldsmobile NEEDS to Replace every Alero

Becky, 10/30/2007
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I bought my vehicle in June of 2002, thus far I have replaced brakes, rotors, intake gasket, waterpump, fuel filter, power steering pump, and now my transmission is slipping, have any of you realized that there is n o way to check the transmission fluid on your own? Not to mention the tires I have had to replace. The dashboard is raised due to sun damage. It appears to me that a bunch of monkeys could have done better when they decided to build this car. I had contacted Oldsmobile many times and they seem quite content that a bunch of fools like us made them rich. The car is paid for, but the repair bills are adding up. I will NEVER buy AMerican Made Again!!!!!!!

Report Abuse

Trash Heap

Wildplrbear, 11/07/2009
5 of 8 people found this review helpful

I have owned this car for 6 years and treated it like an old man would. It did not love me back, it constantly bit the hand that feed it. The car is horribly constructed. It has built in flaws that are unfixable and dangerous. It completely broke down with 112000 miles. By break down, I mean it gave up on life. I do not believe it is even ok to sell this car to someone. I plan on taking it to a junk yard and asking them to destroy it. Did not start 15% of the time because of security system issues, new bearings every 15K miles, windows that stop working every winter, bad head gaskets, bad intake gaskets, new breaks every 20K miles, shorting wires on a semiannual basis.

Report Abuse

GM fooled me once but never again!

ihateGM!, 09/24/2010
5 of 12 people found this review helpful

This was my first new car buy ever. Peeling dashboard at 36K miles, rack & pinion and tie rods needed replaced at 38K miles. And I'll spare you all the other repairs under $500. Yes, I'm still driving it after 10 years, but when your car has $0 trade-in value at year 4, what choice does one have? (The dealer says to replace the dashboard is over $2000 to repair). My father was UAW and I never thought I'd say this but my next car won't be an American brand. GM, shame on you! The government bailout money will be the last penny of mine you'll ever get from me.

Report Abuse

Stay away from GM

Patrick, 07/05/2008
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Major repairs: Transmission blew up at 95,000 miles, although 80% of my driving is on the highway. Replaced fuel pump at 60,000. Minor repairs: Two stuck front calipers. 1 front wheel bearing, intermittent driver side power window. Leaking intake gasket and transmission gasket. Power steering hose disconnected. Fan resistor replaced twice. I do expect the car to have some things to fix once in a while, but I do not accept a premature transmission or fuel pump failure. GM, you fooled me.

Report Abuse

Thank god for warranties

Tickedoff, 07/14/2002
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I own a 2000 gls, brakes are horrible, windshield leaks, problem w/turn signals (would not turn on until hazzard switch pressed several times) Not to mention it's not worth anything!

Report Abuse

Great car for less!

Espfire, 07/25/2002
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I feel the Oldsmobile division has taken a major criticism for a lineup that rivals Buick and Pontiac. Redesigned cars from the year 2000. The models have been safe, reliable and have outstanding body designs. Though a little behind in overall quality from Toyota and Honda, it really outshines Ford and the previously mentioned GM divisions. It will be a shame to see Oldsmobile go. People were catching on to the new look and feel of Olds and now GM simply gave up on a lineup that was making headway in a full market.

Report Abuse

YOU'LL BE SORRY............I WAS !!!!!!!

kuld@N.J, 08/02/2002
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Where do I start???It all started at 7000 miles.Matter a fact,it is still going on.The car was to the dealer about 13 times already.The problems were;check engine light(dealer said it was only gas cap problem,The next day I broke down on the highway.It turns out the guts inside the catalitic converter broke apart.It took 9 trips to the dealer to figure that one out and a lawyer.When that went so did the muffler.The light came on again,this time oxygen sensors blew.From there on the car has been back for a alternator,door gasket,gas cap problems and a fan motor next week.

Report Abuse

Alero Happy

Vipersaint, 03/01/2002
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Car is a nice size and handles exceptionally well for a sedan. Reasonable acceleration(this from a former Viper owner). Have heard of issues with brakes but no problems yet as of 31,000 miles. Reliable. Leather is cheap and will tear. Nevertheless, can recommend this car to anyone.

Report Abuse
12345...7
Items per page:
51050