Skip to main content

Used 2014 Nissan Frontier King Cab Consumer Reviews

List Price Range
$15,997 - $22,998

Used Frontier for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale
12

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
    Cons
    1 out of 5 stars

    Transmission No gears

    Ed, 10/29/2015
    updated 04/29/2016
    2014 Nissan Frontier SV 4dr King Cab 6.1 ft. SB (2.5L 4cyl 5A)
    19 of 22 people found this review helpful

    I have a 2014 Frontier at 32000 miles transmission started to slip within five miles no transmission. Forward and reverse gone. You could smell the clutch a mile away. I hadn't shifted in 5 miles. Towed vehicle to dealership where I bought truck I have extended warranty as well. 1689.99 later clutch flywheel pressure plate throw out bearing all replaced. 1000 miles after repairs I could feel the clutch was already wearing. Service director wanted me to test drive him and show issues I was now having, Heat plate rattle, grinding fourth gear clutch already wearing out and lets not forget the crease in the passenger door, Service director thanked me for knowing how to drive a stick. Gee only 30 years driving one. Now its in the shop see what they say this time. 1 year and already 1700 maintenance for an issue that wasn't my fault! Is it the hydraulic system to clutch? Yesterday another 2014 coasts into gas station 27000 No transmission clutch smell months later a new clutch flywheel. Then rebuilt transmission back at mossy Nissan for pressure plate and throw out bearing. Just over 40k.

    Safety
    1 out of 5 stars
    Technology
    2 out of 5 stars
    Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
    Interior
    4 out of 5 stars
    Comfort
    1 out of 5 stars
    Reliability
    1 out of 5 stars
    Value
    1 out of 5 stars
    Report Abuse

    4 out of 5 stars

    Good value, & for it's size, will tow/carry well.

    Rob, 07/23/2018
    updated 01/23/2020
    2014 Nissan Frontier SV 4dr King Cab 4WD 6.1 ft. SB (4.0L 6cyl 5A)
    5 of 5 people found this review helpful

    My 2014 was bought used. It was in service for a year and a half with 16,000 miles on it. Now on the road for three and a half years with 32,000 miles on it. It has run flawless. Only complaint, was vibration at idle. Dealer did a search for tech bulletin for vibration issue. Dealer found that the exhaust center pipe was redesigned on 2016 Frontier to help eliminate vibration. Dealer used the new designed center pipe on my 2014. Replaced at no charge. It helped but still has some vibration at idle, but not bad. The new pipe has a solid rubber, soup can sized block attached to the side of the center pipe to absorb some vibration. Crazy design, but it helps to eliminate about 75% of the idle vibration. The Frontier replaced my 2001 Ford Ranger. The ranger had more comfortable seats but the Frontier is still good regarding comfort ride and handling. UPDATE - - - Now in service just over five years with 42,000 miles. I have had zero issues from day one. It still runs, drives and looks like brand new.

    Safety
    4 out of 5 stars
    Technology
    4 out of 5 stars
    Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
    Interior
    4 out of 5 stars
    Comfort
    4 out of 5 stars
    Reliability
    5 out of 5 stars
    Value
    5 out of 5 stars
    Report Abuse
    5 out of 5 stars

    Nissan Frontier - Great Small Truck

    Rob Bjur, 12/05/2017
    2014 Nissan Frontier PRO-4X 4dr King Cab 4WD 6.1 ft. SB (4.0L 6cyl 5A)
    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

    5 sp auto trans is always trying to upshift to increase gas mileage when it might be more appropriate to remain in the lower gear a little while longer. Always tries to maintain an rpm of about 1000.

    Safety
    4 out of 5 stars
    Technology
    5 out of 5 stars
    Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
    Interior
    4 out of 5 stars
    Comfort
    5 out of 5 stars
    Reliability
    5 out of 5 stars
    Value
    5 out of 5 stars
    Report Abuse

    2 out of 5 stars

    Frontier of my discontent

    Jvincent, 12/14/2015
    updated 12/15/2017
    2014 Nissan Frontier SV 4dr King Cab 4WD 6.1 ft. SB (4.0L 6cyl 5A)
    9 of 12 people found this review helpful

    Engine idles rough , lot of vibration . Front seat rattles ,dealer repaired , still rattles. Climate control difficult to regulate . Slow to warm in the winter. Wanders from side to side , loud when driving .

    Safety
    2 out of 5 stars
    Technology
    1 out of 5 stars
    Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
    Interior
    2 out of 5 stars
    Comfort
    2 out of 5 stars
    Reliability
    3 out of 5 stars
    Value
    2 out of 5 stars
    Report Abuse

    5 out of 5 stars

    FRONTIER PRO 4X KING CAB

    Bob, 12/11/2018
    updated 07/23/2019
    2014 Nissan Frontier PRO-4X 4dr King Cab 4WD 6.1 ft. SB (4.0L 6cyl 6M)
    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

    It doesn't bother me that this truck has been mostly unchanged for over a decade. I bought a used Pro 4x about two years ago and have been happy with this truck. I don't trust new designs over tried and proven ones like this. I like the white faced gauge cluster, the simple layout of the controls, heated seats, hill descent control, locking Dana differential , rear sensors/camera, skid plates, good ground clearance, naturally aspirated, no stop/start, a key to start it, decent splash guards, a stiff boxed frame...basically it's old school and has what matters. It rides and feels like a truck, not an suv. I like the easy maintenance on it. Easy access underneath to everything. I've done all my oil changes and easily handled ALL the other fluids, including the transfer case and rear axle (there are videos on each of these things). This saved me a lot of money, improved performance and will make the truck last longer, because fluids wear out, none of that lifetime fluid stuff! It's performance is good and I really feel the low first gear and higher torque. Mileage is ok, I get just over 17 mpg combined and 20+ on hwy with easy driving. There are no annoying rattles or noises inside or outside. It handles severe weather in stride with it's locking rear differential and good clearance. I don't always agree with how the transmission favors shifting into higher gear a bit too soon, or it's gear spacing, but it gets the job done. Overall, I am very satisfied with the Frontier and think it is a great value for what it has to offer. I like it more than the others. I would recommend it to the right person who doesn't care about buying the latest, 'coolest' or newest truck and just wants a good solid performer. All it needs is to go on a diet with a few minor upgrades here and there, without too many major changes.

    Safety
    4 out of 5 stars
    Technology
    4 out of 5 stars
    Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
    Interior
    4 out of 5 stars
    Comfort
    4 out of 5 stars
    Reliability
    5 out of 5 stars
    Value
    5 out of 5 stars
    Report Abuse
    12
    Items per page: