Skip to main content

Used 2012 Mitsubishi Outlander SUV Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$8,425 - $11,768

Used Outlander for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons
4 out of 5 stars

Nothing fancy, but a serious bang for your buck!

Mike M, 10/28/2015
updated 10/31/2017
2012 Mitsubishi Outlander SE 4dr SUV AWD (2.4L 4cyl CVT)
43 of 45 people found this review helpful

I have owned this vehicle for 4 years now, and have 88,000 TROUBLE FREE miles. Never a day in the shop (outside of regular service intervals, oil changes, etc). It is loud on the highway, the cabin is far from quiet. It now has an exhaust leak somewhere, making it a little louder. But the structural integrity is good. It steers well, not sloppy, and offers excellent visibility. The ability to switch between 2WD, intelligent AWD, or full time 4 wheel drive is very nice, and the transition between each is seamless (so far, I like this AWD even better than my old Subaru and Audi A4 Quattro). Yes, its underpowered and is not going to rocket you anywhere (0-60, quarter mile, etc). I used to get back and forth between Buffalo and Cleveland in the winter just fine (while others are careening off the road, I am going highway speeds with the Rockford Fosgate punched up high). The cabin is comfortable, the cargo space is very good, and the feature bundle is pretty fair. The windows are no longer aligned perfectly going up and down, but they work just fine. The technology is simple, not great, but all the comforts and conveniences you need. Its not a remarkable vehicle, its just a TREMENDOUS value - safe, reliable, roomy, great MPG, and low cost of ownership. Still no signs of rust!

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

4.13 out of 5 stars

Reliable, family oriented, fun

chrisgr1, 02/24/2012
2012 Mitsubishi Outlander SE 4dr SUV AWD (2.4L 4cyl CVT)
54 of 57 people found this review helpful

Excelent SUV, handling, room space, cargo space. AWC is really impresive. Cheap plastics insight. Emphasis on Utility

Report Abuse
4 out of 5 stars

2012 Mitsubishi Outlander GT

ron84, 12/21/2012
2012 Mitsubishi Outlander GT 4dr SUV AWD (3.0L 6cyl 6A)
17 of 18 people found this review helpful

Just bought my son his second Mitsubishi Outlander (2012 Outlander GT AWD). We bought him a 2007 Outlander LS 5 years ago and it has been bullett proof. No issues at all. We bought the 2012 Mitsubishi Outlander GT 2 months ago and thus far I have been very impressed. Although it is the same generation as his 2007 it has numerous improvements and has not dissapointed thus far. The 2007 had a slight hesitation when taking off but the 2012 does not have the same hesitation and is very smooth on takeoff. It is rated 10 HP higher than the 2007 and like the 2007 is very quick (and economical). Very fun to drive.

Report Abuse

4.88 out of 5 stars

Came back for another one

gski02, 05/01/2012
2012 Mitsubishi Outlander SE 4dr SUV AWD (2.4L 4cyl CVT)
16 of 18 people found this review helpful

This is my second Outlander. The first was an XLS and I loved it. This time I decided I wanted to go with the MIVEC 4 cyl for even better gas mileage. Very suprised by the responsiveness of the 4 with the CVT. Don't miss the 6 cyl! It has everything I wanted in it, handles well, very nice sound system. Plenty of features and a great warranty. Hoping to have the same kind of reliability I had with the first one. Zero issues! My parents even got one!

Report Abuse

4.5 out of 5 stars

Great Value, Great Vehicle!

qoheleth, 04/01/2014
2012 Mitsubishi Outlander SE 4dr SUV AWD (2.4L 4cyl CVT)
7 of 7 people found this review helpful

I bought this Outlander SE AWD as a 2012 leftover. The price was $21,300, a great price for a SUV with AWD, bluetooth, and lots of nice features. Absolutely nothing has gone wrong or missed a beat in the first 15,000 miles. It has been fun to drive, reliable and relatively economical.

Report Abuse
Items per page: