Used 1993 Mazda MX-5 Miata Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$1,272 - $2,958

Used MX-5 Miata for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

To Much Fun / Like an Anvil Reliability

a knesal, 10/10/2008
9 of 9 people found this review helpful

I finally acquired my 1993 Miata 2005 after lusting for one since 89. No disappointments. Couldn't live with out one now. Fun! Still has that Zoom! Still has that universal attractiveness. People still ask what it is with a big smile on their faces. The best thing after the fun factor is the mileage 28-31 MPG in town, and 39-41 MPG on the hwy. Just turned in a 40.30 MPG from a trip through mountains with a lot of twisties and elevation changes. Reliability? 140k+ miles with the original clutch and rear brakes. I have a hardtop which is essential to year round use here in Puddle Town (Portland, Or.). Buy the best one you can find. Consider a hardtop. Happy Zooming!!!

Report Abuse

Second most fun you can have

Husker Fan, 08/08/2009
9 of 9 people found this review helpful

I'm the third owner having bought the car in Sept 02 with 33k on it. In 7 years and 30k miles all it's required has been regular maintenance and a set of tires. Have had an MG, Austin Healey, Alfa Spider and a Sunbeam Tiger and several Mustangs a Firebird and some BMWs. The Miata isn't the most practical but it's the most fun for the least money and the greatest reliability. I'm 6'2, 185 and 60 years old. I fit it in it fine and don't need a break until we've gone for a couple hours. Buy one if you can find one with decent miles in good shape.

Report Abuse

New Thrills

Rick, 07/25/2007
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

Just weeks ago, we realized one of our mid-life fantasies with the purchase of our 1993 Miata. We are can't quite wipe the smile off our faces as we zoom-zoom through the North Georgia mountains in our road-hugging roadster. Right price, well maintained - and named "Stella".

Report Abuse

LOVE MY RAGTOP!!!!

sally gooden, 07/31/2009
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

Wanted one for about 2 years...finally took the plunge!! Bought it for a toy but can't stay out of it!! Mt husband & I put a new top on!! Looks great!! SOOOOOOOOO much fun!!!

Report Abuse

Just Plain Fun!

rick401, 07/21/2011
6 of 7 people found this review helpful

Bought the car last October, I have owned MG's and Austin Healey Sprite. This car is as fun to drive as those but with great reliability. Red with automatic transmission - its a head turner and I cant keep my wife out of it. Replaced factory stereo, added style bars for a wind screen. 130,000 miles and runs great!!!

Report Abuse

Roadster Fun

Fun Times, 11/11/2007
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Great little car. Bought it when it was 9 years old with 33k miles on it. Other than tires, gas/oil only thing I've had to do was replace a fuse and the bulb in the tail light in the trunk while putting 21k more miles on it. With $3+ gas it gets good mileage and is fun to drive. Think it's still on the origional top although the rear windows foggy. Have owned an MG, Austin Healey, Sunbeam Tiger and an Alfa Romeo; the Miata's as fun to drive, starts when it's cold, keeps you dry in the rain and is as reliable as a stove.

Report Abuse

92000 Miles & Still Going!

dougb, 04/29/2008
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Got this car from my brother and what a joy to drive. It's not fast off the line but it has "maintenance speed" as you don't have to slow down for corners. Needs to be put up to 5000 rpm for shifting to get the maximum "go" out of it, this is what it was built for!

Report Abuse

Old School roadster without the grief

debushau, 07/11/2003
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Has the look and feel of an Elan or Sprite - sharp handling, moderate power, compact package - without the frailty. Reliable though not 100% - my car needed new a/c compressor, rear wheel bearings, ball joints, top is wearing out, beginning to feel "loose" with squeaks, new converter (x2), synchro on 2nd, radio kaput, etc. Motor is solid but doesn't pass muster in a sports car.

Report Abuse

Dependable, classy Classic Roadster

J. Hendricks, 12/19/2005
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I purchased my Miata new on a whim in summer of 1993 and still have the smile that I had 12+ years ago when I slip behind the wheel. The car is bullet proof mechanically and continues to make heads turn. The handling and low stance are true sports car through and through. If your idea of fun is to burn rubber at stop lights, you will be disappointed. It isn't a muscle car. If you are looking for a great used roadster that will remove you from the daily grind, you will never regret it. There are many aftermarket options to upgrade or renew your new friend.

Report Abuse

Love my Miata!

Bradley, 10/13/2007
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I bought this car sight unseen. Tan top and automatic transmision. It took me almost two days to fall in love with it. It handles extremely well. Floats down the highway. The engine is solid and sounds great too! Steering is tight and sure. I can really feel the road. And it stops fast! With the top down, there are no blind spots whatsoever, but, with the top up and if it's raining, whooo, it can get a little hairy. And the top does leak. But I can live with that. Overall I love my miata. No one drives a Miata because they HAVE to. they drive a Miata because they WANT to.

Report Abuse

My best out of ten cars. My true joy.

sickcured, 12/04/2007
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I bought this car while at Wyotech and took it from the deep south to just east of Pittsburgh, in the winter mind you. This was my first experience driving in the snow and ice. Thankfully, it came with the hard top. Wyotech did not pan out but my love for my Miata did. Have had a new white paint job, cloth top, stereo, and spec Miata wheels (15' with 205/50/15s, with ultra high performance tires). Other than those upgrades I have not done a thing to it execpt change the oil every 3 to 4 thousand miles and rotated the tires once. This car is my girlfriend right now and I will not let any one else drive it. Would like to make performance upgrades to autocross in the future. I will race.

Report Abuse

Fun In The Sun

a_dub45, 05/29/2002
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I have a Black Limited Edition with red interior w/ chrome step plates and speaker cover and chrome on the stereo unit. The look and feel of the car is wonderful I just love my Miata at any price

Report Abuse

Superior vehicle and a blast to drive!

O. J., 12/13/2003
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I've had this 93 C package since 1995. Today (Dec 03) it's got a little over 100K miles. Not one single thing has gone wrong with the vehicle. Everything's still stock. Had to replace the softtop once, and will replace it again soon. It is undeniably one of the most beautiful cars on the road, everybody likes 'em, and the car gives you almost no trouble. There's gobs of aftermarket parts and accessories, and it's very easy to work on yourself.

Report Abuse

1993 miata

93miata, 01/20/2004
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Near perfect reliability. Weak points are various squeaks and rattles common to roadsters. All original equipment still operates correctly. No major problems. Maintinence schedule performed per Mazda.

Report Abuse

11 YEARS AND STILL GOING STRONG

LADRIVER, 07/01/2004
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I BOUGHT THIS CAR ON A WHIM AND GOT REALLY, REALLY LUCKY! IT HAS BEEN AMAZINGLY RELIABLE AND FUEL EFFICIENT. I'VE HAD MINOR PROBLEMS BUT MOST WERE COVERED BY THE WARRANTY OR REASONABLE WEAR AND TEAR.

Report Abuse

Classic Roadster

schnell, 07/08/2004
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Bought new as daily driver. Became 3rd car (toy) in 1998. 11 years old and still on original battery. Reliable. Still a blast to drive. A little more power would be fun. Trouble with ventilation system after 7 years. Otherwise, no mechanical problems whatsoever. After 11 years people still admire at and ask to go for a ride.

Report Abuse

Bigger Bang For The Bucks

Bill Kille, 07/11/2004
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

215,000 miles on mine, still going strong. Keep the oil changed and the car is darn near bulletproof. Handles like a slot car. Easy to maintain and easy to upgrade performance and handling.

Report Abuse

Reliable and fun

Dr.D, 10/16/2007
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

By far the best car I've ever owned. Purchased new and been all over the US. Very reliable and the most bang for the buck. Car has been lowered and stiffened a bit with Koni shocks so there are a few squeaks and rattles but it's a sports car. Nothing like the older British stuff that broke down continually. A blast in the winter with Blizzaks on cheap steel rims. Chicks love this car and kids stare and wave.

Report Abuse

Liked it so much I bought another

Happy Miata driver, 04/11/2017
2dr Convertible
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

What can I say that hasn't been said already? The Miata is the quintessential sports car! The heart and soul of a British sports car with the reliability of a Japanese economy car! I bought my first one 4 years ago, after seeing my neighbor's Miata up close (his 93 sat in his garage under a cover all the time, accumulating no miles). I found an excellent 93 that I modified to my preference..... bought a hardtop, Flyin' Miata coilover suspension, Momo steering wheel, BFG tires, bigger FM sway bars....... nothing else compares to it. Almost telepathic response to steering inputs, satisfying sounds, high lateral G's, great fuel economy, tremendous reliability. No other car I've ever owned (and I've owned a lot) has ever "scratched the itch" like the Miata. Can't say enough good about it. 2 weeks ago, my old neighbor called me to ask if I wanted to buy his 93 with 49,000 miles (this is in 2017, I note!).... and I did! All parts from original 93 will be swapped to new 93, and many more happy miles for the new one, as well as some lucky soul will buy my old 93 (still only 116,000 well cared for miles!). Couldn't be happier with these little cars. **UPDATE OCTOBER 2018** No change to report, other than that I sold the 116,000 mile car, and am now driving the 55,000 mile one! Still the same things to report about...... lots of fun, great reliability, great performance. A car that does exactly what it should. **UPDATE MARCH 19, 2020** Spontaneous review...... I HAD to update, after ripping in to work early this morning, and marvelling that you can enjoy a car SO MUCH even after years of owning it! The combination of superior chassis balance, combined with Flyin' Miata V-Maxx coilover suspension and Flyin' Miata sway bars, BFGoodrich G-Force summer tires, a 250mm MOMO steering wheel, 4.3 Torsen LSD and dry, curving roads, makes this a car unlike any other. This car is so amazingly fun to drive.... I can't believe it. I think, however, that it is time for a turbo setup. I also keep thinking another Mustang is in my future, but then I remember how much I enjoy this car..... and the Mustang thought fades.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Better than sex!

John, 01/30/2018
Limited 2dr Convertible
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Best fun you'll ever have if you love driving. A perfectly balanced roadster. If you want a quiet ride, a smooth ride, a wind free ride, DO NOT BUY this car, its not for you. If you like to feel the wind and the sun, and motor thru those twisties with the feeling of awesomeness, this car is a must have. Rock solid, low maintenance, just turn the key and go. Not recommended as a family car, someone will always be left at home.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

A guaranteed smile.

Bob, 09/14/2018
2dr Convertible
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I wanted a Miata from day one, but it was never a practical choice as my only car. I considered a new one, but found a 24,000 mile '93 model in 2017 and finally bought one. It's just flat out fun. The shifting is awesome. Cornering is great. The exhaust note is wonderful. I replaced the stereo and everything else is stock. There's little more fun than taking a long drive on the weekend on a twisty road with the top open. A real bonus is that unlike a more modern, more powerful sports car, you can have a ton of fun without breaking the law. You feel like you're going faster than you are. I'll keep this car no matter what else I purchase in the future.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

it rocks!

pb94087, 12/29/2003
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

I have owned this car for a little over 2 months, and its been just great! It handles very well and just hugs the curves on the roads (nice sticky Yokohoma tires). The pickup is decent and the engine noise really sweet. There is also a ton of support from Miata owners (Google-Groups, miata.net and many owner clubs all over the US). A bit noisy on freeways, but otherwise a real fun-to-drive car.

Report Abuse

definition of Fun

Ray Libaad, 05/05/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Better than Sex. This is the most fun sports car. Believe this from someone who owns a Porsche 911

Report Abuse

The Perfect Balance

Genny, 09/24/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The Miata is bulletproof mechanically. It handles and performs as well as much pricier sports cars, an can easily and safely snake through curves at full throttle. Just look at how many Miatas you see autocrossing and on the big track now. The best part is that the Miata is AFFORDABLE! My Classic Red still gets looks at almost 10 years old.

Report Abuse

nice car

Miranda, 03/01/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

it drives wonderful one of the best cars i really like the look mine has a hard top and is a black limited eddition

Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050