Used 2013 Lincoln MKZ Hybrid Consumer Reviews

List Price Range
$14,995 - $15,500

Used MKZ for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

4 months with the car and it exceeds expectations

dano_pa, 12/04/2013
22 of 22 people found this review helpful

I purchased the car with the panoramic sunroof in late July. On the road I get about 38-40 mpg depending on how fast I am going. Around town, I have gotten 47 mpg on certain trips, it all depends on my speed and the amount of hills. I love almost everything about the car, it does get a lot of comments and lookers. It is my first new American car ever and I am 55. I have owned a BMW, Saab, 2 Volvo's, a Cadillac, two Nissan's a Toyota, a 2 VW's and a Renault.

Report Abuse

Good, Bad, And Ugly

Phil, 03/22/2016
Hybrid 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
17 of 17 people found this review helpful

The saving grace of my car was i got it "" second handed from the dealer with 495 miles on it thus extending my warranty to 100K miles. Lets start with the good: Everyone that got in the car would go gaga over the interior, the lighting, and other various features. My car has every option. It parks itself but only on the right side, has a ridiculous backup camera, and a panoramic roof that is to die for. I'm not dying but it's very nice. The gas mileage is great and i average over 40MPG during the spring and fall and 38ish in the summer and winter when running A/C or heat. The comfort level is unmatched. The bad: Never buy new or else the depreciation will make you cry unless it's an SUV or a Lexus. 3 years ago i paid 38 before taxes and such and now dealers will barely give me 20,000. Interior moldings came detached on a couple of occasions and my bumper to bumper warranty came in handy every time. My regular battery died within weeks of buying the car and was replaced, there is an under car cover that ripped on two separate occasions and dragged on the road. I had it removed. I'm on my third set of tires but i can't figure whose fault it is. The hybrid is very light so tire spin happens with ease as the weight over the wheels is drastically reduced. My navigation system reboots randomly and sometimes it takes ten minutes of driving before my route will set. The Ugly: Recalls, I've had at least four. If I wasn't under the used car extended warranty my cost of ownership would be way higher than how low it is now.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Nice, so far

lanez, 03/24/2013
27 of 28 people found this review helpful

First luxury car I have bought new and I test drove a lot before buying, being a hybrid was my selling point to my wife. Very quiet and comfortable car, could not think about not getting the big sunroof in the MKZ. My son describes the lighting on the car as "sick", led headlights better than xenon. Ambient interior lighting puts a soft glow in your choice of eight colors, the entire cabin is lighted. Could not get the 45mph in western Pennsylvania but did get 40 mpg, thinking about traveling to Ohio just to test it. Compare to the CTS and you will not believe what Ford has done. 42k for the Caddy and you can't plug in your iPhone???? MKZ is a champ, so far.

Report Abuse

MKZ Hybrid 2013, review, Edmunds is off the mark

dreamless, 06/16/2013
25 of 27 people found this review helpful

When reading reviews, make sure the person has actually driven the car, and the competition. I test drove this car as well as the Lexus ES 300h, Mercedes C class 300 4 matic, Mercedes E class 350, Audi a6, and the BMW 3 series. Most of the professional reviews seem to be written by [non-permissible content removed]. After test driving them all by far the best overall was the Lincoln MKZ (hybrid). It was as comfortable as the Lexus ES350, It has more tech then any in its class or above it (deserves a 5 in that category), The Merc C class looks like a childs toy and feels like one comparitively. And it has the highest gov safety rating, stops sooner then EVERY CAR in its class, also should be 5.

Report Abuse

Love this car!

kengreenberg, 07/03/2013
9 of 9 people found this review helpful

I traded my 2010 Ford Fusion Hybrid for the Lincoln MKZ Hybrid. The Fusion was great, and we really liked that car. I absolutely love this Lincoln. It has everything in it except for the seat massagers, which won't be out for a few more months. The car is beautiful, comfortable and nicely made. The panoramic roof is really cool, and the electric shade is a neat touch. I got every major option, but you haven't experienced anything until you let the car parallel park itself. This is an option you might find on more expensive luxury cars. Watching the steering wheel turn itself as you gently work the brake and ease back - and forward - is amazing.

Report Abuse

love my mkz hybrid

lovetennis2, 05/09/2013
18 of 20 people found this review helpful

I just got my new mkz 4 weeks ago and it is a joy to drive. It rides smoothly and so far I am averaging close to 40 mpg and that is only about 400 miles of driving. The THX stereo is very enjoyable and the music is crystal clear. The new technology is a valuable asset. Many times I was warned with my blind spot indicator in the side mirrors that another car was close to my side. One time the lane drift alert gave me a warning that perhaps I should stop and take a rest (wow). I thought the price is definitely worth the value of this car.

Report Abuse

Loving my MKZ

petemkz, 11/29/2013
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

I've had this car for about a month now and I'm loving it more each day I drive it. First of all it is BEAUTIFUL inside and out, it drives like a dream and I love the "VALUE" I got from this car. I looked at the BMW 528 and MB E300H and they start at 50k+ and don't have some of the great stuff I has. I got 46mpg from two fill-ups, but I drive mostly on electric and in traffic and take my time! if you drive slowly and give yourself lots of stop distance you can get 45+mpg. Love the LED lights inside and out and the AC front "seats" and the adaptive cruise / LED headhlights / ride controls. The voice control system is awesome,it can control almost anything (calls, Nav, Temp and Radio / Sat).

Report Abuse

2013 MKZ Hybrid after 1,400 miles

daveswin, 06/05/2013
10 of 12 people found this review helpful

As with most of the other reviewers, there are many things to love about this car. I'm like a kid in a candy shop (more like a techie in a computer shop)! The style is gorgeous, the electronics incredible. There are so many well-thought-out accessories that you will find after you start using them (many will only be discovered as you get to know the car). But don't expect 45/45/45 for mileage. By the car's gauge, I have only gotten 35 - 37 MPG, and that is on both city and a trip (mostly flat; not speeding).

Report Abuse

Best Decision....

chloe101, 05/08/2013
7 of 8 people found this review helpful

We traded in our Fusion 2010 hybrid for a Lincoln MKZ hybrid after testing both hybrid models for 2013. We are not disappointed in choosing the Lincoln over the Fusion. The vehicle drive wonderfully and meets all our expectations for luxury. We do have a couple of minor issue that has to with the placement of the navigation system and use of the my-Lincoln touch system. It is difficult to view the navigation system at times because of the sun. The navigation/my-Lincoln touch system console tends to hold fingerprints more than the my-Ford touch system. This should have been thought of with the design, but otherwise this is only thing we have noticed. The car drives great with 40 mpg.

Report Abuse

Wonderful car with great MPG

jimma, 12/17/2014
Hybrid 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

2013 MKZh , Driving this for a year and half. Was very concerned about buying a Lincoln as I always drove Honda Accords coups (EXL) for last 20 years. I am completely satisfied with this car. I get 39 - 41 mpg , my 4cyl. stick Accord was getting 30. The car handles better than I thought and has enough power for any road situations , I drive turnpikes and large highways and have no trouble entering on ramps and passing large trucks. At 22,000 miles I still get a kick getting into the car. My update , now after four years I still feel the same. I have had no problems at all with the car,after 38,000 miles it still runs like new. Now at 42,000 car is running perfect , replaced back brakes change oil every 6 - 7000 miles. At 46,000 the rear shocks had to be replaced ,this was done under warranty. This is an update 2018 . I liked the car so much I purchased a 2016 MKZh . My ratings will stay the same also .

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Finally Received 2013 MKZ Hybrid

tomstrie, 03/31/2013
Hybrid 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
8 of 10 people found this review helpful

Well, I finally got mine a hybrid even though it was not the one I ordered. A similar one came to another dealer and my dealer got it for me. So far it is absolutely beautiful, I have gone over it with the proverbial fine tooth comb and can find no flaws. The Crystal Champaign paint is flawless. They really did their homework on this car. With the short time I have had it the mileage shows around 40.1 mpg. I am really impressed with the quietness of the vehicle and the smoothness of the transition from electric to gas. With the car arriving so late I thought of cancelling and waiting for the 2014 but, I am glad I finally got one.

Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Report Abuse

Awesome

mcroad, 04/06/2013
7 of 9 people found this review helpful

We just received our MKZ hybrid this week after waiting 5 long months and believe me it was worth the wait. My husband was worried about being comfortable in this car because he is a big guy. He love it and fits in it just fine, cannot say anything negative about this purchase. We have not broken it in yet to get the 45mpg as said but the manual said 1000 miles to be broken in. If we do get the 45mpg then it is that much more pleasing. Love the color we got the smoked quartz and it is similar to yankee blue. Lincoln has really worked wonderfully to make us happy with the purchase and incentives for waiting. Thank you Lincoln.

Report Abuse

MKZ hybrid caveat emptor

Keith Paul, 09/07/2015
Hybrid 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

EPA MPG on sticker when new, was incorrect. Lincoln finally admitted to this error under government order and I got a free pair of sunglasses. I have never gotten more than 35.5 overall average mpg. Sticker originally said 48 mpg. I have had five recalls in two years. Now with less than 30,000 miles I have recently experienced, on two occasions, on 2 occasions, an involuntary transmission shift from drive to reverse when stopped. I have researched this to see if anybody else has had a problem or has noticed this but I have been unable to find this same issue. Scary! Thankfully, I have another vehicle, have stopped driving the Lincoln and will be taking the Lincoln back to the dealer this week. The drivers side has a terrible blind spot due to structural post size and placement.. On screen LCD touch controls for just about everything from entertainment to climate, can be just a little bit distracting unless you learn the very specific commands for voice control which doesn't always respond to your request. On the positive side, the car is quite roomy for all, front and back. Including this 6 foot owner/primary driver. It looks great and the white pearl paint is very catchy.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

MKZ Software Update Completed

zbrid2013, 08/03/2013
4 of 5 people found this review helpful

Bought my new 13 Z four months ago and it's great to drive, comfortable and quiet. I have the hybrid and it offers a smoother ride than the EcoBoost version. My MPG was under 37 MPG and I just had the update done at AutoNation in Clearwater on Friday and I'm now averaging 42 MPG:-) In addition, they fixed a recall item on the fuel pump (something like that) and I've got to admit that the car rides different (better all the way around) and it's pretty cool to be pushing 80 MPH and be on electric:-) Maybe it took Lincoln a bit more time to get it right, but they did.

Report Abuse

Great Balance of Style, Substance, and Economy

ajayla, 04/05/2015
Hybrid 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
4 of 5 people found this review helpful

I bought this car certified when it came off lease. There was simply no other models offering the combination this one did. I considered Fusion hybrids, which are obviously similar, but found no price difference. The "lifetime" fuel use over 20,000 miles is just under 39 mpg. Considering the level of luxury, this is pretty great. Coupled with a solid ride, responsive handling, and all the systems it provides, the Lincoln makes a compelling case. The changes between hybrid and engine modes are very subtle. The start-stop system on even BMWs is rough in comparison. Power is not a high point, but it's there when needed. UPDATE Two years later, the car is still going strong. I've had a few minor issues -- automatic lights (finally fixed on third attempt) and juddering panoramic sunroof operation when baking in the sun (still not resolved after four attempts). While the dealer has been excellent in providing loaner cars, thus minimizing inconvenience to me, I see a tendency to update software rather than look deeper. (For example, the automatic lights needed a new sensor.) I remain very impressed by the technology, though the learning curve was pretty steep. The main disappointment, which I knew going in, has to do with the power output of the engine, the tendency for the CVT to drone when accelerating hard, and the general harshness, vibration, and sound of the gas engine. These are imperceptible when driving moderately, but definitely detract from the smoothness of the driving experience when, for example, accelerating on a grade. But these are the traits of a hybrid. I continue to average between 37 and 38 MPG in hilly urban terrain. That's more than twice the efficiency of my prior car, which had nowhere near the level of sophistication and was smaller and lighter. While I don't drive a lot, I feel good to be doing my part, and doing it discretely. Yes, there is a slight lack of polish in the drive train, but it's not significant in the overall picture. As for value, I took advantage of heavy depreciation when I bought the car as it was coming off lease. I imagine that the depreciation has continued, though at a slower pace. I appreciate that the car design did not change in any significant way in four years. Now the front is different, but the rest of the car is the same, so it still looks current., Would I buy this car again? If it were 2015 again, yes. In the past two years, though, there have been major technological advances and a broadening of options, so I might give consideration to other cars.

Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Very Good, but not Great

muncie_in, 10/12/2013
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Purchased this car 4 weeks ago. On a 4-hour highway trip averaged 38 mpg. Same in town. Car is very comfortable to sit in for long distances. Interior is classy and exterior paint looks great. Complaints include fuel efficiency leaves display difficult to determine how efficient you are at that moment. Windows look great, but difficult to see oncoming traffic when backing up on a slight curve. Most disappointment was/is with Lincoln itself. They offered a $1000.00 rebate if your car was from a competing manufacturer, but not if you were a loyal Ford owner! I've never been penalized for loyalty.

Report Abuse

Excellent value for a hybrid vehicle

lincolnmkz2013, 09/20/2013
4 of 6 people found this review helpful

Purchased the hybrid in June 2013. What can I say - this is a very fine car! I looked at all hybrids in its class and Lincoln had the quietest ride among all. Lincoln invested in what's not available in other 40K range cars: improved sound insulation and, consequently, reduced wind noise. Looking at its' expensive looking elegant exterior, it's hard to guess that it's most practical and versatile hybrid in a class, due to its folded seats capacity. I have no problems picking up relatives from the airport or even loading small furniture/bycicles in the car! I love the audio sound quality, the trip report and mpg screen, Lincoln Mobile apps and push-buttons star.

Report Abuse

2013 Lincoln Hybrid (Lemon)

zbrid2013, 02/18/2015
Hybrid 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
3 of 7 people found this review helpful

Purchased this car in 2013 and it received only 36 MPG and I was sold on 45 MPG combined. Instead of Ford offering me a new car that actually worked, I had to file a complaint under the Lemon Law. The case has been settled and they have purchased back the car.

Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Quiet, smooth, and efficient

Joe T, 02/06/2020
Hybrid 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This is not an exciting car. In fact, probably don't buy a Lincoln if you want an exciting car (and definitely don't get a CVT). I have my e39 manual for that. However, what Lincoln does very well is make quiet, smooth vehicles that are excellent and luxurious daily drivers. This car is also great for long cross country trips thanks to incredibly comfortable seats and convenient charging ports for devices. Trunk space is good for long and narrow items but on the smaller side for boxier shapes. Just keep up with preventative maintenance and this car will last. I'm over 100k miles and it's still smooth and efficient. I like the design before they changed the front end so this year is nice and these cars can be found relatively cheap. Mpg can easily be ~40 combined if you pay attention to braking and acceleration.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Horrible Quality/Sold it!

sobe531, 09/23/2013
Hybrid 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

45 mpg is an Absolute Lie! Closer to 36 mpg, and I live in super flat Florida. While the car is beautifully designed it is made from very cheap quality parts and is constantly breaking. Only 6 months old and been in the shop 4 times to repair/replace broken pieces and currently waiting for the entirely new interior roof trim to come in for a fifth visit. That will also need to have several other areas replaced/repaired for a second time. I am tired of the constant apologies from Lincoln about how awful the car is, I just want them to take it back. The interior is a piece of junk. Rattles, squeaks, pops, crackling noises all over the interior. (just sold in Mar 2016, HAPPY DAY!)

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Very nice car

Mike, 09/25/2016
Hybrid 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Great ride. Super efficient on gas. All the great tech and comfort options you could ever need. Looks great too!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Great car!

Dennis Minarczik, 12/14/2016
Hybrid 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

First time buyer of a hybrid and we are totally satisfied with Lincoln. The car averages 37 miles per gal and the ride is very nice. The braking is fine and road handling is also nice. The panaramic sun roof gives an almost convertible feeling. Great idea and well the worth the wait to get it.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Loving my MKZ

Heather Martinez, 02/01/2017
Hybrid 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This car has everything I could ask for.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Great Value for Price

BRW, 07/06/2018
Hybrid 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Bought it with 20K miles, off lease vehicle. Averaging 40mpg since purchased. Only issue was seat heater fan made noise when cold, was replaced under warranty. Vehicle rides great with electronic suspension. Has little more wind noise than I would expect at B-pillar. Why would you drive some little electric or hybrid car when you can drive one of these and get 40mpg. Car now has 63k on and will need new rear brake pads. Will replace rotors at the same time with new original equipment because they are are rusty from low usage with Hybrid braking. OE is still probably best for anti rust long term.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050