Used 2003 Lexus SC 430 Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$11,151 - $23,714

Used SC 430 for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale
12

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Change the runflats

Jack Cunningham, 06/28/2006
2dr Convertible (4.3L 8cyl 5A)
11 of 11 people found this review helpful

Recently purchased a 2003 SC with 13k miles and have driven it 4k in 6 weeks. Initial impressions, this is the best car I've ever owned and fun to drive. Only complaint I had was the runflat tires that came with the car. The runflats were noisy and rode very rough. Changed to Pirelli PZero Nero's and WHAT A DIFFERENCE.. Quiet and smooth, like a different car. Opted for no spare and purchased a small tire pump and repair kit for $20.

Report Abuse

Never too late

Chris, 09/05/2008
2dr Convertible (4.3L 8cyl 5A)
9 of 9 people found this review helpful

Received this beautiful little red car for my 65th birthday. I fell in love just looking at her but when I took her out for a drive... that was it. Had a Corvette when I was in my 30s and this car far surpasses it in feel, looks and fun to drive! I feel like I've gained 20 years back. Never too late to have fun on the road.

Report Abuse

Great Car! but Expensive Repairs!

Stunt Jay, 05/12/2010
2dr Convertible (4.3L 8cyl 5A)
9 of 9 people found this review helpful

Runflat tires do cause a bit of hard ride. I hit a pothole without seeing it and it bent the rim very easily. Dealer wanted $600 for just the rim. I average 18 MPG as it stated I would. No big deal coming from a Tundra with 13 MPG. Convertible parts are very expensive. Overall I do enjoy driving the car alot and will probably keep it until it dies out on me. I haven't had any major mechanical issues at all with the car.

Report Abuse

What was I thinking of........

fpwmerc, 11/06/2003
2dr Convertible (4.3L 8cyl 5A)
7 of 7 people found this review helpful

I am locked into buying an M3 BMW. Two test drives later I am wondering if a 61 year old "car nut", can live with the day to day adventure of a lurchy, non-seamless but sporty SMG transmission and a fairly rough ride on all but the smoothest road surfaces. On the day I was supposed to consumate the purchase, my wife said why don't we drive the Lexus? I was shocked as to how nice it was in every detail. I have had Porsches, MBZs, Zs, BMWs, an Audi, an Alfa. I drive alot and being in a rural area I can enjoy a car. This car is a pleasure. It is comfortable, sporty, quiet and the best sound and navigation system I have ever experienced.

Report Abuse

Not a sports car, a cruiser.

silver fox, 10/08/2003
2dr Convertible (4.3L 8cyl 5A)
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

The quality, reliabilty and workmanship on this car is outstanding, the interior is beutiful. The engine is quiet and powerful but it just doesn't like to rev up. It shifts into a higher gear to soon when you are accelerating. The only way to get full acceleration is to shift manually. The run flat tires are so firm that you'll know the location of every manhole cover in town. We joke that you can feel it when you cross the white line. It just doesn't drive like a sports car. More for highway driving.

Report Abuse

A Dream Car

Jay, 03/22/2010
2dr Convertible (4.3L 8cyl 5A)
5 of 6 people found this review helpful

I bought my 2003 SC430 with 50k miles on it for $20,000. Everything is immaculate on this car, always serviced when needed. The drive does have that sport car ride to it due to the low profile RFT's. The sound system sounds amazing although it is very expensive to replace just 1 speaker at $320. The rear seats (golf bag holder) are useless for people to sit in. The trunk surprisingly does have decent space when the top is up. Being that the model is still the same as of 2010. I will upgrade some of the standard parts to the newest style.

Report Abuse

Glad I bought it!

Dan Smith, 03/14/2008
2dr Convertible (4.3L 8cyl 5A)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Owned several Corvettes, a TR-6 and an Austin Healy. This car takes the cake. Sometimes I have to look for things to do since no time is spent repairing this one.

Report Abuse

Lexus `SC430 engine blew up

Ronald Sage, 07/19/2003
2dr Convertible (4.3L 8cyl 5A)
6 of 9 people found this review helpful

In about nine inches of water on the road the car stalled and the engine blew. Lexus could not explain it and refused to cover it. Apparantly in any situation where there is water over the lowest point of the bumper it scoops into the engine compartment. This appears to be a serious design defect.

Report Abuse

in 2013 still turns heads

mrcongeniality, 09/22/2013
2dr Convertible (4.3L 8cyl 5A)
10 of 17 people found this review helpful

These cars were so ahead of there time in 2002. It is a great car overall and for a used convertible this is the best value you can get for a used convertible under 15k (2002 to 2004 used ones). Do not use in snow at all. Not even once inch it will crash. My friend who had one told me this. It drives smooth and refined and its reliable. If you buy a German used convertible you'll spend a lot in repairs. You won't with this. I don't have the run flats but I hear they are a problem. The top is up and down in 25 seconds.

Report Abuse

It's a keeper

dutch, 06/01/2006
2dr Convertible (4.3L 8cyl 5A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Yes, it does not handle like a porsche, but who cares! Top up or down you will not find a more enjoyable, relaxing cruising experience. Not a single problem in 3+ years of driving attests to the overall quality of the car. Cheaper than quite a few of the alternatives and still a car that gets approving looks and compliments just about any day that I drive it.

Report Abuse

Awesome

bucket, 04/03/2007
2dr Convertible (4.3L 8cyl 5A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I purchased this vehicle used and it had been serviced by a Lexus dealership. I immediately put Pirelli all season non run flat tires on it with a new spare tire. What a difference; it is now the perfect retractable hardtop; rides just as nice as my previous ES 330. Could not have imagined how many looks we would get sitting in traffic or driving down the interstate!

Report Abuse

Short people want to drive it too!

Shorty, 02/12/2003
2dr Convertible (4.3L 8cyl 5A)
3 of 5 people found this review helpful

I love this car but, THERE IS NO WAY AROUND THE BLIND SPOT ON THE BACK RIGHT SIDE OF THE CAR WHEN THE TOP IS UP. WHEN THE TOP IS DOWN THERE IS AN IMPROVEMENT BUT NOT GOOD ENOUGH. before YOU BUY SIT IN CAR AND CHECK OUT THE BLIND SPOT AS SEAT DOES NOT GO UP VERY FAR. LOOK AT TOP EDGE OF CAR WITH WINDOWS AND TOP DOWN AND WHILE YOU ARE SITTING IN THE DRIVERS SEAT. AT MY HEIGHT MY LINE OF SIGHT IS JUST A FRACTION OVER THE TOP OF THE PASSENGER SIDE DOOR. THIS IS THE BLIND SPOT I, AM TALKING ABOUT. NOT ACCEPTABLE.

Report Abuse

Amazing

Dr.J, 08/25/2009
2dr Convertible (4.3L 8cyl 5A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I've always love to drive at night with the sunroof open. This car blows a sunroof away. Amazing power. Dead silent cabin with top down at high speed. Completely exhilarating. I look forward to the commute to work.

Report Abuse

Lexus SC430 is awesome

ckearney, 09/15/2002
2dr Convertible (4.3L 8cyl 5A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

After testing the BMW & Mercedes, I drove the SC430 and never looked back. Incredible feel to it and the interior luxury is unmatched.

Report Abuse

The Pleasure of Its Company

David Becker, 10/25/2002
2dr Convertible (4.3L 8cyl 5A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Flawless. Wonderful handling and acceleration coupled with the most elegant in design and execution, both interior and exterior. Unusually quiet with the top down, and strikingly so with top up. This car is a real pleasure to drive and enjoy. This car is significantly superior to my former BMW M3 convertible with far better reliability and dealer support.

Report Abuse

review

brewsterfl, 09/04/2002
2dr Convertible (4.3L 8cyl 5A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

best car out there

Report Abuse

SC430 A GREAT, FUN CAR

gagdds1, 12/07/2002
2dr Convertible (4.3L 8cyl 5A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I've owned several sports cars and other fun cars, but none compares to the fun and exhillaration of driving the SC430. The quality of this car is the defining trait---from design of interior and exterior to the engine and transmission. Then there is the aspect of it being a hardtop coupe changing to a convertible in 25 seconds. Give it a try when shopping for porsches, bmw's, mercedes, etc!

Report Abuse

The Relentless Pursuit of Luxury

SCamp, 12/26/2002
2dr Convertible (4.3L 8cyl 5A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Relax, grin like a fool and enjoy a friend, the scenery and your favorite music for a 10 minute or a 10 day drive. Meander, wander, toddle & wave - plenty of people will likely be watching. The sc430 handling will not excite the "pure" sports car enthusiast: BMW & Audi handle better, Corvette launches faster, and so on. The sc430 can be made to go fast and corner hard, but the suspension, steering & seats are not really set up for it: This is a modern day Packard! Yes, this car *is* fast, as an artifact of excellent engineering, but that is not the main point. Luxury is. And BMW/Audi/Corvette &c can't match it.

Report Abuse

feels like flying a plane !

tamiami, 02/19/2003
2dr Convertible (4.3L 8cyl 5A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This car is absolutely a dream ! Would never go back to a porshe after driving this !

Report Abuse

MY SC430

FAF, 08/04/2003
2dr Convertible (4.3L 8cyl 5A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

THIS CAR HAS QUIET, SMOOTH, AND RESPONSIVE POWER. IT TURNS HEADS AND COMMANDS LOOKS EVEN WHEN PARKED. COMFORT, LUXURY, AND SPORTS APPEAL ALL ROLLED INTO ONE EXCELLENT VEHICLE.

Report Abuse

SC430 thoughts & wishlist

oeo, 08/23/2003
2dr Convertible (4.3L 8cyl 5A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Overall I no-longer consider the SC430 a sports car. It is a very fine, very reliable, high quality, innovative, high value SPORTY car. It is not a sports car like a Porsche, etc.

Report Abuse

Lexius sc 430 zero to sixty in 5.9 sec.

Leslie F. Hulnick, 08/26/2003
2dr Convertible (4.3L 8cyl 5A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Having owned several exotics inclusice of Porshe Jag and mercedes the Lexus Sc430 has been an incredible experience. The elctronic hard top and the fit makes for two seperate and distinct vehicles. The custom sound systim compensates for top up or down driving. The V-8 and structure makes for a solid driving experiance. Zero to sixty in 5.9 seconds is exilerating!

Report Abuse

My 2003 SC 430

Joejena, 08/27/2003
2dr Convertible (4.3L 8cyl 5A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I love this car, my 4th Lexus. The style is sharp, the interior comfortable and very classy looking. Holds the road great.

Report Abuse

Magnificent car

jbt, 09/06/2003
2dr Convertible (4.3L 8cyl 5A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This car is just a lot of fun to drive. It is smooth, comfortable. The dashboard is well laid out and convenient to use. The navigation system is outstanding. The top retracts with great style. This car is beautiful to see moving or parked.

Report Abuse

it's wonderful to drive an sc430 daily

kay , 12/05/2003
2dr Convertible (4.3L 8cyl 5A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This car is wonderful to drive and gives you much comfort if you are a busy, hardworking person. It is especially lovely to drive with the top down. Nothing has gone wrong at all.

Report Abuse

Beautiful Sexy Car

I'll Tell, 06/16/2005
2dr Convertible (4.3L 8cyl 5A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I LOVE THIS CAR!!! I have had it for two years. My ultimate dream car. Could own a maserati, SL500, whatever, I DON'T WANT THEM!!! I will keep my SC forever! I would recommend a lexus to anyone, this is my summer car and the GX 470 is my winter car.

Report Abuse

Nice Car

Michael D, 08/11/2018
2dr Convertible (4.3L 8cyl 5A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Have been driving Toyota/Lexus since first Corolla in 1986. Have also driven Camry, Highlander, Prius and ES330 models. Very happy with all. Purchased this 1-owner clean carfax SC430 model with 109k in October 2014 for not a lot of money. Now at 140k in August 2018 and not a peep out of it from a mechanical standpoint. Got rid of the run flat tires quickly, as the ride with them is much too firm. Happy with all season radials although no spare on board. The styling is timeless. The wife loves it. Ride is and remains smooth, quiet and polished. And with the top down we tend to smile more. Many still mistake the car as new --- at 15-years-old now --- and consequently me as a rich man. Neither is the case. Only drawback is it's a little hard for me to get into and out of with its low stance, but that's likely due to my increasingly creaky bones and not an inherent issue with the car itself. Would not hesitate to purchase one if the law of attraction happens to bring a nice one to your attention! 🚗 Just traded in the old girl with mixed emotions to a new car dealer at 152k. Other than tires and brakes, not a peep out of her for almost 6 years, that's years 11-17 of the life cycle for a 2003 model. Within a week, someone bought her and is getting a great car. By the way, got into a 2010 RX350 and will report on that separately, but initial impressions are off the chart positive. Cheers!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Constant Comments

G. Vanella, 10/11/2018
2dr Convertible (4.3L 8cyl 5A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Purchased car with 30k miles, now 102k miles. Love the car, constantly get positive comments about styling, both exterior and interior. I’m 76 years old and my wife and I feel young when we’re out with the top down. When the grandkids were young they loved the back seat. I can get 1 set of golf clubs in the trunk with the top down and 2 sets with the top up. Other than normal repair, the only exception was a new radio, $800. Since Lexus stopped making this model it gets more special each year; going to keep it until it stops running. Really sorry that Lexus gave up this product line to Mercedes and BMW.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Awesome!

madcaper, 01/24/2003
2dr Convertible (4.3L 8cyl 5A)
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

Smooth as silk, fast and fun. Incredibly quiet even with the top down. Luggage capacity has worked out better than I expected. Trunk is decent and back seat is great for added capacity.

Report Abuse

Lexus quality slipping?

pgret88, 10/24/2003
2dr Convertible (4.3L 8cyl 5A)
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

I owned a 1997 Lexus SC 400 for six years No problems except a new battery because I left the trunk open. This new 2002 SC 430 has a rattle in the passengers side. The dealer has been trying to fix it for the last year. The last effort two days ago is uncertain.

Report Abuse

Love my Lexus

Black Beauty, 03/08/2005
2dr Convertible (4.3L 8cyl 5A)
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

I have owned my SC 430 for over a year now and love it. You mentioned your editor's size, well I'm 6 ft 4 inches and weigh in over 350 and have plenty of room. I have driven it 2000 miles on some trips and never feel cramped. The only addition I added was a set of custom chrome rims and low profile high speed rated tires and the proformance and handling is outstanding.So overall the style, performance, handling and luxury features are GREAT!! Rich

Report Abuse

No front end

Howard , 09/24/2006
2dr Convertible (4.3L 8cyl 5A)
5 of 20 people found this review helpful

The front end is non existent and you will end up replacing $400 every time you hit a pot hole. It is beautiful, great acceleration, but the tires and wheel covers will be replaced numerous times. The tires which never go flat get lousy overall mileage. It costs over $400 just to put snow tires on in the winter. That is without buying them at $400 a pop. So if you have thousands to waste because the front end was made for a show room this is a great car.

Report Abuse

Beware of Snow...

Looneytuna, 02/07/2003
2dr Convertible (4.3L 8cyl 5A)
1 of 3 people found this review helpful

Do not attempt to drive this car with any snow or ice on the road. It has absolutely no traction even in the snow mode. I have owned Benzs with rear wheel drive and they at least held the road. Unfortunately this is a warm climate car only. The new run flat tires are horrible, living in NYC, they continue to lose air and get bubbles with the slightest bumps..

Report Abuse

Short people want to drive it too!

shorty, 02/12/2003
2dr Convertible (4.3L 8cyl 5A)
1 of 4 people found this review helpful

I love this car but, THERE IS NO WAY AROUND THE BLIND SPOT ON THE BACK RIGHT SIDE OF THE CAR WHEN THE TOP IS UP. WHEN THE TOP IS DOWN THERE IS AN IMPROVEMENT BUT NOT GOOD ENOUGH. before YOU BUY SIT IN CAR AND CHECK OUT THE BLIND SPOT AS SEAT DOES NOT GO UP VERY FAR. LOOK AT TOP EDGE OF CAR WITH WINDOWS AND TOP DOWN AND WHILE YOU ARE SITTING IN THE DRIVERS SEAT. AT MY HEIGHT MY LINE OF SIGHT IS JUST A FRACTION OVER THE TOP OF THE PASSENGER SIDE DOOR. THIS IS THE BLIND SPOT I, AM TALKING ABOUT. NOT ACCEPTABLE.

Report Abuse

Tired out.

Alebowitz, 09/13/2006
2dr Convertible (4.3L 8cyl 5A)
3 of 15 people found this review helpful

With top up, it is difficult to look backward to park because of the hump. Run flat tires are a very hard ride, and not suitable for winter- pothole/cracked streets. When tire hits pothole, you will need to replace tire and rim for approximately $1,000 each. I replaced three tires at a cost of $3,000 in one year.

Report Abuse

A Boring Convertible

mickeyalso, 07/07/2003
2dr Convertible (4.3L 8cyl 5A)
0 of 4 people found this review helpful

For a performance convertible this has to be the most boring for the dollar. Our Volvo S60R T5 is more fun, and a better value. It pales in comparison to the Z06 for a performance vehicle.

Report Abuse

GREAT CAR

asubf asknda, 11/08/2002
2dr Convertible (4.3L 8cyl 5A)
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

This car is unblievable, and is great for this price comparing the Mercedes SL and the Jaguar XK. Get it.

Report Abuse

The poor man's exotic

NOB, 08/23/2005
2dr Convertible (4.3L 8cyl 5A)
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Despite the recall on the tire valves, and the battery that could never charge, and the broken 6 disc CD changer, this is an awesome car. The closest thing to a lemon that toyota has ever built, but i'm in love with it.

Report Abuse

Fun in the Sun in So CAL

Victoria, 09/16/2002
2dr Convertible (4.3L 8cyl 5A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Picked up the SC 430 I've wanted ever since its debut in 3/01 and it is everything I wanted and more. Lexus left no stone unturned. It is sleek, sexy, and solid. The cockpit envelops the driver. Is there a world beyond its doors? Handling is tight and sporty; the 300 hp blew away a Boxster off the line. Don't worry about the noise from the run flats, it's barely noticeable and a small price to pay.

Report Abuse

The Lexus Dream SC430

kent smith, 10/06/2002
2dr Convertible (4.3L 8cyl 5A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is a LUXURY sports car. Don't be fooled by reviews that think this needs to be a Ferrari in the corners, but it certainly holds its own. There is so much automation in this car, you have to do very little to drive down the road. Everyone I show the car and give rides to is in awe of the fantastic look, feel, ride, and comfort provided. I have the run-flat tires, but only 1000 miles so far with no complaints so far. It is as fun with the top up as it is down. If you need to move 3 or 4 our people a lot, this is not your car. It is good for the occasional short run to lunch with 3.

Report Abuse

Simply WOW

Jim B, 12/06/2002
2dr Convertible (4.3L 8cyl 5A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Took a while for me to decide on the Mercedes or the Lexus. Am I glad I purchased the Lexus. I am amazed by the build quality, everything works with quiet percision. Great Acceleration, can drive in 50degree weather with the windows up in comfort, great sound system, and wonderful dealer support.

Report Abuse

It doesn't get much better than this!

Michael Saint John, 12/21/2002
2dr Convertible (4.3L 8cyl 5A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

It is like driving a Lear Jet! The room goes down in seconds much to the amazement of all around me. When I come out from wherever I've been there's usually someone(s) around the car. Lexus has hit a homerun with this car!

Report Abuse

My favorite car ever

Radford, 01/01/2003
2dr Convertible (4.3L 8cyl 5A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The kids are educated and I deserved to the treat for ME! This car is the most fun I have ever had with a vehicle including SL Mercedes and 7 series BMW. Nothing else compares with it.

Report Abuse

Super Cool SC430

Nursey, 01/03/2003
2dr Convertible (4.3L 8cyl 5A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Great car for those who seek impractical, but fun transportation. Top down, superior sound system up, gets lots of attention.

Report Abuse

Very Satisfied!

ssides, 01/11/2003
2dr Convertible (4.3L 8cyl 5A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The lexus SC430 is an awesome car. Having had a Corvette C5 prior, I am a bit disappointed with the acceleration but it is a minor annoyance when compared with all the amenities and the hard top convertible is awesome. Oh, and did I say that the dealer experience is incredible!

Report Abuse

Number One Convertible On The Market

Barton Simon, 01/14/2003
2dr Convertible (4.3L 8cyl 5A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I believe this car to be superior to the Mercedes SL500 (I've owned 3)and BMW convertible (owned 1). Just a fantastic automobile at 2/3rds the price of an SL.

Report Abuse

Outstanding

leffen, 01/28/2003
2dr Convertible (4.3L 8cyl 5A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

So far only 500 miles. Best car ever made in the segment. Outstanding quality, superior design, excellent owner support, max driver satisfaction.

Report Abuse

The best car I've ever owned

lucky boy, 07/16/2003
2dr Convertible (4.3L 8cyl 5A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is a great car, tight, reliable, posh, thoughtfully executed. Everything about it suggests quality-- the finish, looks, touch of the controls. I owned the previous model (SC 400) which was also very sexy, but harder to control--road feel, handling, and control of this car are greatly improved. Run flat tires occasionally transmit too much of uneven roads to driver. I look forward to enjoying this car for years to come.

Report Abuse

headturner

man hoang, 07/25/2003
2dr Convertible (4.3L 8cyl 5A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

after over a year that i got this sc430, i still have the same feeling every time i drive it. fascinating.thrilled.

Report Abuse

Look Out Competitors!

pecos, 07/27/2003
2dr Convertible (4.3L 8cyl 5A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The best automobile I have ever owned.I have owned a 72 Pontiac GTO,78 Datsun 280Z,86 Saab 900Turbo,88 Porsche 928,97 Toyota Twin Turbo Supra and the car I currently ownn, a Lexus SC430.It is quick,quiet and responsive with the best standard audio system on the market.Priced slightly above a Mercedes SLK and substantially below an SL which comes closer to the SC.I'm thrilled with my SC430 and can not see how Lexus can top this automobile.

Report Abuse
12
Items per page:
51050