Used 1993 Lexus LS 400 Sedan Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$1,514 - $3,252

Used LS 400 for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Awesome car

tjh1, 02/02/2010
14 of 14 people found this review helpful

It is now 2010, I've had this car for 11 years and have found it to be a wonderful car for a 17 year old car. I get compliments that the body style doesn't show that it's that old. The ride is still incredible with good tires. The comfort is superb. Reliability is excellent. In the years I have had it, there are a couple of known issues. One, is the dash electronics start turning off on cold days. This is caused by some degraded components (half dozen capacitors) in the dash PCB which can be replaced by folks who do this on ebay, or you can do it yourself(as I did). Took 4 hours total. Overall, this car has been very reliable at 200K miles for me. The engine/tranny is very strong.

Report Abuse

Review

Newgirl35, 09/02/2008
5 of 6 people found this review helpful

My husband bought this car for me to have something to drive other than my SUV. It purrs like a kitten. I figured the high miles would impact the performance of this vehicle, but it runs like a dream. I love it.

Report Abuse

Lexus

eicu-rn, 01/04/2009
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

This car is superb 1993 LS 400. It is now (age) sweet 16 and still is better than most new cars out there. I can't get rid of it because she performs flawlessly on a daily basis. I had the timing belt and water pump replaced.. that's it.

Report Abuse

My Best Buy Ever

Dan McCurdy, 01/13/2008
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Purchased this Lexus in September 2004, initially concerned about higher mileage, but after 3 1/2 years of superb performance and driving comfort, I plan to drive this exceptional vehicle until the wheels come off of one of us. Never had a better vehicle in my life, no major repairs, no cash outlay except for the Premium gas. Well worth it for what I've received in return, what a wonderful investment and dependable to the nth degree.

Report Abuse

Simply the best!

Lexus Fan Forever, 05/29/2006
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

After renting 20 new cars in 2005 I have to say the 1993 LS 400 beats them all. The quality, durability, feel and beauty of this luxury car will change one forever. Each day I drive and feel great in this wonderful car. If you take the time and ask people how do you like your car you may hear it's good, it's fast or I like it. Ask a LS 400/430 owner and you will hear, "I love it!" Daily I get compliments on this 13 year old car. The fact is one can add wheels and few other extras and this car is a dream for any 20 year old. Drive it stock at it's a dream for any corporate executive. I LOVE MY LEXUS!

Report Abuse

Great Value

Dennis Swanso, 05/20/2007
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Bought a 93 LS 400 used with 40,000 miles. It now has 318,000 miles. Unfortunately, last week I hit a deer, so technically the car is totaled, even though it is very driveable. No work other than scheduled maint on drive train! Still has original complete exhaust system - no new tailpipe, muffler, etc. Had I not hit a deer, I expected to clear 400,000 in a few years! Fantastic car!!

Report Abuse

Ultimate luxury car

lexnit, 09/12/2007
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Purchased my 93 LS 400 back in June of 07 from the 2nd owner with 167000. Since the I've made it to 174000 and the car hasn't ever had a problem! It's an amazing ride and car all around to pass up on the used car market. They are smooth, extremely quiet, peppy, fast, economical engines and have great class still today! I will continue to buy them!!

Report Abuse

Great Car

JAS037, 05/24/2003
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

My LS400 now has 73k miles, and feels like new. I purchased it 3 years ago with 39K, and have enjoyed the "Ride". The build quality is second to none. Repairs can be expensive, if they are needed, as Lexus parts are not cheap. My only repair has been the replacement of one "air" suspension strut. I plan to keep this one for a long time...

Report Abuse

The best car I've ever driven/owned

Extatic owner, 06/18/2003
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Before getting my car, I remember seeing the TV commercials where they stacked champagne glasses on the hood & rev up the engine to demonstrate the smoothness & quietness of the car. I recall thinking to myself "How can that be possible?". Well... I found out very quickly. Not only the smoothest car I've ever driven, but the most reliable, trouble-free car I've ever owned. Even though it's 10 yrs old, I will not replace it until I can do so with a newer 400 or 430 model!

Report Abuse

93 LEXUS LS400

tstat, 07/20/2002
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

PURCHASED A DEALER CERTIFIED CAR WITH ABOUT 12K & 2 YEARS OLD. HAD EVERY FACTORY OPTION. IT HAS BEEN A WONDERFUL PURCHASE. OTHER THAN HAVING TO REPLACE THE TIMING BELT A LITTLE EARLY (50K mi) DUE TO A LEAKING WATER PUMP, THE CAR HAS PERFORMED PERFECTLLY. IT IS SENSITIVE TO BRAND OF TIRES, i.e. ROAD NOISE. WITH THE RIGHT TIRES, IT IS STILL VIRTUALLY SILENT WHEN ON THE ROAD.

Report Abuse

car is expensive to maintain.

tonyfazt, 05/04/2013
1 of 4 people found this review helpful

93 ls4 145k car is fun to drive when you can drive it it was the fuel relay, then the ecu,then the tps, then the radiator, then the rear main seal, then the water pump found myself either at the gas pump or under the hood. car is fast but i wouldnt recommend it i actually wouldnt drive it farther than 500 miles to afraid of it breaking down and leaving me stranded i have driven both f150 5.4 and chevy cavalier - 2000 miles round trip no problems and both got better mpg yes even the truck considering the price of supreme for the ls4 vs regular f150 in a twenty gallon tank it evens out dont do it unless your a mechanic with a endless supply of cheap supreme gasoline

Report Abuse

White Lexus

Hreza, 04/22/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Extremely reliable. Good Handling and comfort. Economical torun.

Report Abuse

Great Value As A Used Vehicle

bostongarden, 05/26/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The LS400 offers tremendous value. I purchased mine used in 1998 for the same price as a new base Camry LE. The quality is bulletproof and it drives the same today as it did when I bought it. If you are value-conscious, then this is a great car. The luxury aspects were not extremely important when I purchased, however, I have enjoyed the vehicle's comfort, ergonomics and Nakamichi stereo.

Report Abuse

Impressive!

LexusAficionado, 09/17/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

What a wonderful car this has been to us! We bought it used at 72,000 miles and just sold it to make room for another baby at 120,000. The only major repair that we've done was replace the power steering pump at 90,000 miles. All other work was simply maintenance. They treat you with respect at the Lexus dealer no matter where we've had it serviced and that alone makes the car worth owning. Are you considering buying a used LS400? Don't hesitate, you won't regret it.

Report Abuse

Best in class

dzempel, 11/18/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

After researching used vehicles for the last year, I could not help but be awed by the reliability, safety, and standard features that I found in the LS400. Price was the biggest issue to overcome, but after purchasing I have no regrets. Well worth the $.

Report Abuse

THE BEST CAR EVER

hassan, 07/23/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This car is amazingly smooth and very powerful. When i first bought it from the dealer i took it for test drive and i wanted to check how strong the engine is, so i stomped on all the gas and the delaer besides me leaped back wards and i was thrown back as well. The car has 90k on it now. And it drives like a new. How does Lekus do it i don't know, but they should keep it up i never changed anything. All i do is keep maintence and keep checking engine, trans, and suspension.

Report Abuse

The best car ever

lexesy, 12/22/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

this car is without doubt one of the greatest cars that were ever built. Amazingly smooth and very quick i got a ticket becuase i was going 90mph on freeway and i did not even notice it. This car has the best features and the system is great. A big car, yet this thing is very lethal and quick

Report Abuse

Pleasure to drive

JW, 05/15/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Purchased 10 year old w/55k miles and other than scratched wheels the car was and remains nearly perpect. The price I paid was comperable to a new honda civic yet a got a $45,000 car with years of wear and pleasure remaining. I woukd recommend a used LS to anyone who appreciates the pleasures of driving an automolile of the highest quality, safety, and reliability.

Report Abuse

Great automobile, even after 10 years

mnbeckertx, 01/19/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Great automobile, even after 10 years

Report Abuse

classic car

joe yaroma, 11/22/2019
4dr Sedan
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

this is the best ls400

Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050