Used 2000 Lexus ES 300 Sedan Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$1,462 - $3,517

Used ES 300 for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Lexi

Dave Adkins, 10/16/2015
4dr Sedan
12 of 12 people found this review helpful

Just purchased this car with 180,000 miles and short of the clunky struts and wind noise above 60 it is like driving a marshmellow dream. Decent acceleration if you can wait for it. marginal handling on corners but dreamy smooth almost everywhere else. Did I mention how awful the cupholders are - talking awful ! If I can figure out how to install an audio input I will like it even more

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Straying from European Imports

Roy, 07/07/2018
4dr Sedan
11 of 11 people found this review helpful

I am 26 years old and have already owned 15 cars and 9 motorcycles. About half the cars I've owned were domestics, but bought my first & only toyota, or japanese car for that matter, about 5 years ago (like 2013?). It was a 1996 Toyota Celica and was a great car that I bought in a pinch because I wrapped my Mercury Grand Marquis around a telephone pole during a bad ice storm, had barely any money to my name, and needed something that was cheap to purchase, maintain, insure, and operate. It was a phenomenal car for the measly $1000 I paid for it, really fun to drive with the 5MT (had no power but was great in the corners. Kinda like a FWD Miata), and that was it. I bought a 2005 BMW 330XI and sold it. I did look back however and really missed the driving experience that the Toyota gave me, and yes, even over the bimmer. I actually had someone make me an offer on the BMW of about twice what I paid for it one day while pumping gas, and given the fact that I was managing a car dealership at the time, I was under that mentality of "everything is for sale" and of course, sold it that same day. After selling the BMW, I got into volvos and have been in a Volvo for most of the last 4 years. This last october of 2017, I sold my prized possession and to this date, my favorite car I've owned - My ULTRA rare 1998 Volvo S70 T5M (only 363 manual T5 S70's were brought into the states in 1998) in order to buy a truck as I took a job working construction. I've never liked trucks and a couple months ago, received a service truck through my current job and was informed I no longer needed a truck for work. I couldn't wait to get out of the truck and traded it almost immediately for my current car, a 2000 Lexus ES300. I drove many Lexus cars while working the dealership and the one thing that always blew my mind was how it simply didnt matter how many miles these cars had on them, they always look, felt, drove, and even smelled new. 100, 200, 300, even 400k miles couldnt bring these things down. You take what are arguably the most reliable cars on earth (Toyota) and then put EXTRA attention to detail, sparing no expense to build quality. My ES300 has quickly become my 2nd favorite car I've owned (behind the Volvo S70) and I just cannot believe at almost 150k miles, how pristine and perfect the car still is inside and out. Again, EVEN THE SMELL is still there. Sure, it wont win any races and in fact, it's actually rather sluggish, handles alright, stops decent, but boy is it quiet and holy crap does it ride well. The stock stereo sounds great with all sorts of music, everything is easy to figure out and control, I guess the punchline of the car to me is that everything just makes sense. I changed out every single light on the outside of the car, high beams, fogs, HID's and all the rear lights, in about 45min combined with no tutorial or anything. Its a solid, great, reliable daily driver that has aged extremely well. Still looks modern and sleek and sexy even at 18 years old.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

best car ive owned

mike!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!, 09/22/2008
14 of 15 people found this review helpful

The Lexus es300 is one of the best cars I've owned. After 8 years I have had no problems with it. It drives smooth and is pretty fast. The seats are comfortable and it's quiet and gets decent fuel economy. (I get about 19/24 mpg.)

Report Abuse

What Can You Say? It's a Lexus

01dyna, 02/15/2004
13 of 14 people found this review helpful

There are few cars in ones lifetime that one buys that you look back and say to yourself "Why didn't I do this sooner?". The ES300 is one of those cars. Unlike cars we've owned in the past, we enjoy the car *more* the longer we own it. The legendary quality of a Toyota is kicked up a notch with the Lexus. Don't be fooled, this is NOT a rebadged Camry. Having driven/owned both, the only things they share is the same parent company. "The Relentless Pursuit of Perfection". Well, I think Lexus is getting pretty darn close to the finish line."

Report Abuse

After 145,000 miles

thomas, 07/15/2009
13 of 15 people found this review helpful

Bought my ES300 at 83,000 miles. No troubles, absolutely no troubles at all. Never been to the shop at all except for regular maintenance oil changes. At speeds above 75, wind noise gets appreciable higher through the window. The car has lots of pep only when floored. The tranny thinks for about a second before shifting and then the car flies. A very smooth ride and smooth steering. Absolutely disgusting cup holders. I have given up on the floor mat after numerous spills. There is a noticeable body roll during cornering at high speeds, but that's due to the soft suspension bug - again the ride is magnificently soft. If you are looking for a soft, plush, trouble free ride. This is not a sports car.

Report Abuse

Nice but not great!

strofferazo, 05/23/2003
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

I purchased a certified pre-owned 2000 with 33000 miles one month ago. This is my first "luxury" car after always having sports cars. Its a great car, but not without flaws...in my opinion, there is more wind noise than there should be in a car of this caliber (mostly noticeable on the highway or over 55 mph). The only other thing I dislike is the radio/speaker system - "Lexus Premium Sound" is pretty poor. VERY weak bass no matter how you adjust it. If you have an opportunity to get the upgraded Mark Levinson stereo, I'd try it. I was also surprised I can't quite reach 30mpg, even on conservative all- highway trips.

Report Abuse

Best car I ever bought

Paul Peldyak, 09/18/2016
4dr Sedan
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Look for the "Platinum Edition" (in conjunction with an offer from American Express in 2000). It is a world of value!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Great vehicle

MRamsey, 09/03/2009
4 of 8 people found this review helpful

We bought a 2000 model that had only 55000 miles and looked new. It has been a great vehicle, great ride, great handling, and I feel safe sending my 21 year old daughter to school in it.

Report Abuse

Best car iv owned

kempboy, 10/10/2013
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Iv owned this car for about 3 months now and it is great the car is realiable and is very fun to drive. it accelerates quick when it needs to and is great when driving on long trips with the leather seats. Stereo system is great good tone and bass favorite part of the car is the mpg. i luxury car that gets 22MPG in the city ill take it!

Report Abuse

Wind tunnel....

DKM, 05/23/2003
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

The frameless windows seemed like a good idea at the time! The trade for the "sleek" look is a high-pitched hum coming through the window. Service manager says it's standard; funny they didn't tell me BEFORE I bought the car. He even had all the window seals replaced, to no avail. This car is super, reliable, and fun to drive; and with the extended warranty, the service Lexus offers can not be beat. But, I wouldn't buy one of these pre-2002 ES 300's again as the wind- noise may just put me over the edge.

Report Abuse

My LEXUS LOVE

Che'ri Kaina, 01/29/2017
4dr Sedan
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

My Lexus Love is a beautiful great running car and great looking car. I'm the 2nd owner, which is a great thing. The man I bought it from was a x marine who well maintained her Lexus Love. I have all the paper work of almost every oil change tune up etc. He took very very good care of her. There is not one dent on the exterior. And the inside is really clean and has been well cared for also. I wash her like 2 times a week wax and shine the inside almost Dailey. Everything is perfect about her. The only one draw back out of the whole entire car is it has factory stereo, and I'm a real music lover. So if I was to keep her. A new DVD kine stereo is a must. That's my preference though. For now I have an adapter, I hook it up to my phone and it sounds LOUD AND SOUNDS GREAT. HAS BOSS SPEAKERS, MAYB THATS Y. AND TOO JUST RECENTLY HAD WINDOWS TINTED. ONLY HAVE HAD CAR SENSE JUNE. SHE REALLY IS A GEM. DOESNT EVEN LOOK LIKE A 2000. MY LEXUS LOVE IS BEAUTIFUL WITH PLENTY ALOHA, MAHALOS,

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

An older Lexus but it's been a good one!

Denise, 04/24/2018
4dr Sedan
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Can't complain about my 2000 Lexus. It's been a great investment. It has been in the shop 3 times in it's life. Twice to different dealers to figure out why the check engine light stays on (neither dealership could pick up a reason for this and I still check it to make sure it's not on for some real reason - always no concern). And once for meeting with a deer on a country road. It has had ZERO mechanical issues. All I do is maintenance and even then I let that slide a little longer than it deserves. It has 180k miles and still going strong. The paint is perfect, all the mechanisms work perfect (window motors, sunroof, etc.) the seats are cream colored and shockingly even they are in great shape and don't look abused or dirty. No rips, no tears. That car drives on dirt ranch roads, lots of highway miles too. In it's old age I hear more wind noise than I used to but the road noise is still dampened unless I'm on some really poorly surfaced road. Great value for your money.

Performance
Interior
Comfort
Report Abuse

Overrated

Warren, 04/20/2008
1 of 3 people found this review helpful

I married into this car. Looks good and engine is strong with good acceleratIon. But in last 2 years we've been through 2 batteries, 2 sets of struts and other miscellaneous items that should not go bad in a car that has a quality reputation. Even the struts that hold up the engine hood have worn out so it has to be held up with an old broom handle.

Report Abuse

Very dissappointed

Tom, 10/31/2018
4dr Sedan
0 of 2 people found this review helpful

I drove a 1998 for work, and it was a great car. Good power! smooth ride! I then bought a 2000 and it was a total lemon. I was very disappointed! The car only had 106,000 miles on it. The check engine light was constantly lit. No matter what repair we tried the check engine light would continue to come on. The gas mileage was awful. I got about 14 MPG. The whole ordeal ended up costing me well over $5000. I would like to get another Lexus someday, but I will be extra cautious.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

2000 Lexus ES 300

Robert Edwards, 05/28/2002
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Great car!!

Report Abuse

8 years and still running smooth..

nickosmith, 07/10/2012
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

best car i have owned. i think maintenance of it definitely pays off. what can i say, did all the basic stuff and the car is turning heads.

Report Abuse

Sweet Retiree Car

Kathleen, 01/05/2010
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Car had 33,000 miles when purchased and exterior looked brand new. Acceleration is slow but once you get going car is fast and fun to drive. A little mushy on turns faster than moderate speed. First 3 years required only regular maintenance. In the last three, replaced two batteries and needed service on the Trac system. Car is good on snow covered roads.

Report Abuse

My First car...

alexbob, 10/09/2013
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I was going to match my parents on a car for my birthday and my options were an 06 GP, 01 Maxima, and an ES300 Platinum Series. I could not be happier to go with the Lexus, this car is amazing. I got a 35% tint for all my windows and everywhere I go I get compliments on how great the car looks. No wonder Toyota has the reputation it does. Cabin is whisper quiet, great sound system, ride is smooth, and interior just feels cozy. My only complaint is that the garage door opener does not work with newer garage remotes (new ones use an alternating code while the remote in the Lexus is made for a single code).

Report Abuse

ES300

awesome, 08/07/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

excellent power and handeling. very reliable and comfortable. rides on air and breaks well too. seats five adults comfortably

Report Abuse

Smooth, Quiet, and Good Looking

Scott Hastings, 08/24/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

It is a joy to drive this car. Interior and exterior styling are wonderful. I have the Platinum Edition that has the wood-grained stearing wheel. 3.0 Liter engine gives this car lots of pickup when you need it. I have a hearing loss and I can hear my children's soft speach while driving. The stereo system is the best I've ever heard in any car. There's just nothing not to like.

Report Abuse

I love it....again!

Brian Martin, 12/05/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I never thought I would like a car better than my 95 ES until I got this one. This is the best car I have ever owned. lexus quality is second to none. The dealer was exceptional as before. A++++++++++ All the way around

Report Abuse

My sixth Toyota

Matthew James Black, 08/01/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

It's not a second generation Acura Legend Coupe(the car the ES300 replaced), then again, neither is my wife's 2003 Acura 3.2 CL Type S. It's also much more enjoyable to drive than the buff magazines suggested -- suggesting that the car was being reviewed without actually driving it. Regretting my decision to trade-in my 1995 Legend Coupe, I intend to keep the ES300 at least 10-12 years, rotating the "second car" currently occupied by the 3.2CL.

Report Abuse

Quality and Performance

Tom Stangl, 07/22/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Purchased ES300 Platinum series for my wife with 32,000 miles on it. The exterior paint is top quality (White) and the interior was like new. Very quiet to drive, excellent acceleration and braking capabilities. What makes this car special is the Pre-owned certifed Lexus program. Three years or the balance of 100,000 miles, Full warrenty with free roadside assistance!

Report Abuse

Lexus, my dream.

zencrafts, 10/07/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have purchased 6 cars in my lifetime. 4 of those care were new, including my Lexus ES 300, Platium Series. This is the first car I have purchased in which I truly love driving. I purchased my car in 2000, I purchased this car as my personal vehicle. My mileage totals less than 36,000 miles. This is because I am retired disabled. I truly love driving this car. I have never at anytime felt any regret for purchasing this vehicle.

Report Abuse

cool

cman, 11/23/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

love the car it seems to wait till it hits around 30mph to take off [without punching it]but still like the car alot .smooth ride ,no noise,fun sportydrive yet soft not like a sport suspention

Report Abuse

Lexus from columbus

vhchambers, 12/30/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

In only three years the emission sensor went bad and didn't not pass State of Virginia inspection. $450 to replace. Service is very expense from the Columbus Lexus dealer.

Report Abuse

Sweet Ride

adunwood, 01/07/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is my second ES300 so need I say more. The first one lasted 12 years and it was very dependable and sweet to drive.

Report Abuse

best the class for 2000Very w

jimconvery, 01/21/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

No regrets - best car for the money

Report Abuse

Warden 1990

E Howard, 12/30/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

A great vehicle and extremely reliable.This vehicle is very quiet,looks like it belongs on the showroom floor. Very well maintained with all service records kept. The vehicle has been kept in a garage its entire life. One owner, has new high performance michelin tires on it. Has a sensational audio system.

Report Abuse

2000 es300

wp2ztrs, 03/06/2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Very good car! But the only issue I have is the engine torque bar rattles. Overall its a great car. Very reliable!

Report Abuse

Best Vehicle I e

Robert Del Pesco, 04/25/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Most reliable car we have ever owned. Have not returned to dealer for a single problem or repair. First perfect vehicle we have ever owned

Report Abuse

First Lexus

BARB, 02/27/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This car is a dream to drive. It handles the corners well. Pickup is great! I get the feeling that I am riding on a fast whoosh of air. The car is solid. I have driven a BMW 528 but my Lexus is much smoother in acceleration and turns. What a solid ride!!! Dealer service is honest and reliable. I love having a loaner Lexus to drive while I am having my oil changed.

Report Abuse

Excellence pursued

Spain1966, 02/26/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Part of why I have enjoyed this car so much is that I got a great deal (with Edmunds' help of course). But almost everything about the car we have enjoyed. Plush interior, nice get-up- and-go, excellent sound system, and EXCELLENT reliablilty (no problems whatsoever). Would buy another Lexus in a heartbeat.

Report Abuse

First Lexus

Barb, 02/27/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This car is a dream to drive. It handles the corners well. Pickup is great! I get the feeling that I am riding on a fast whoosh of air. The car is solid. I have driven a BMW 528 but my Lexus is much smoother in acceleration and turns. What a solid ride!!! Dealer service is honest and reliable. I love having a loaner Lexus to drive while I am having my oil changed.

Report Abuse

On my 2nd Lexus - Customer for Life!

Robyn&Chris, 06/18/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is by far the best vehicle we've ever owned. Reliable, comfortable, roomy, smooth ride, low noise level, great gas mileage, and excellent stereo system for road-rage control! Nearing 40,000 miles, and only had in shop for preventive maintenance service. LOVE this car (this is my 2nd ES300). My next car will be another Lexus - maybe an RX300 or 330 this time. Customer service is spectacular. Lexus knows how to treat its customers and it shows in repeat business.

Report Abuse

well worth it

vsalib, 04/01/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Since the minute I waslked into the dealership door, this car was nothing but good experience. The car is excellent drive, easy to handle. all controls and buttons are in the right places. the car looks and is sturdy. The best of all is Lexus superb customer service

Report Abuse

Unbelievable Value!

TME, 08/17/2018
4dr Sedan
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought the Platinum Edition and I couldn't be happier! It is the smoothest and best riding car I have ever owned. The lines are sleek and the 16 inch wheels look awesome. The black leather interior gives it a super luxury look and the Nakamichi system is the icing on the cake. And I almost feel guilty for what I paid even with 184,000 miles this machine still a lot left. Taking my first road with it this weekend and I can't wait!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050