Used 2009 Kia Spectra Sedan Consumer Reviews

List Price
$6,995

Used Spectra for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Better than I had hoped

nolarobert, 06/17/2015
SX 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl 4A)
32 of 32 people found this review helpful

I bought my Spectra SX new in July of 2009. It was priced to move since the brand new 2010 Forte was hitting the market. If I could have afforded to spend more I would have likely gone with the Honda Fit. Imagine my surprise 8 years later that my Spectra is still going strong with no major issues. It has proven to be an enjoyable car that is darned reliable.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Life Saver

DrAwkward, 07/07/2009
9 of 9 people found this review helpful

This car saved my life, along with three passengers, when a drunk driver crossed into our lane. Its responsive handling allowed us to avoid a head-on collision, and the side-airbags minimized the seriousness of our injuries. Everyone in the accident thanked me for choosing this car after putting its safety to the test.

Report Abuse

Good highway car

dexter, 04/12/2009
8 of 8 people found this review helpful

Purchased this car to drive to school (260 miles round trip) four days a week. It gets 36-38 mpg and rides surprisingly well. Good build quality especially for the price. Never owned a kia before but if the quality of this car is indicative for the rest of their line I see an Amanti in my very near future.

Report Abuse

Impressed with Kia

Felt32, 02/07/2010
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

I wanted a fuel efficient, inexpensive vehicle, with all of the up to date features (such as cruise control, CD, aux outlet) and I got all of that in this Kia. My only regret is that I had waited until the end of the year to get the Kia Forte!!

Report Abuse

Love the car

puppywhipsers, 05/04/2012
7 of 8 people found this review helpful

I bought my Spectra 8 months ago with barely over 8,000 miles on it, I bought it because of the manual transmission and so far I love the car. The only trouble I have experienced is the cruise control won't always set, it goes to the dealership on Monday. Contrary to other reviews I get excellent mileage on my KIA. I commute 55 miles one way to work, I have gotten anywhere from 30-38 mpg depending on my driving habits (if you know what I am saying ;)). My in town mpg is even better, I regularly get 40+ mpg and have had as high as 52mpg in town. I recalculated 3x because I couldn't believe it! It's a great car and with the sunroof & factory rear spoiler and on it, it looks sporty too!

Report Abuse

A Step Up

Derail, 10/31/2008
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

My previous car was an 03 Focus. The Spectra is much more zippy in acceleration, yet has the same size engine as the Focus. And fuel economy is 20 percent better. I like how spacious the engine compartment is, in terms of accessibility to hoses, belts, battery, etcetera. These items are easy to see and inspect. And replacement, when necessary, should not be difficult. What I miss about the Focus is the softer seats. The Kia seats are are quite rigid. What I have a concern about is the cable actuated gas cap door. Cables and plastic latches fail in cold climates. I may have to improvise a better system to insure I can refuel in the winter.

Report Abuse

First new car ever, Spectra EX

Trevor Totman, 06/10/2010
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I haven't had my Spectra for very long, but so far it has been the best car I've owned. It's quite zippy for a grocery getter,even with it being an automatic transmission. Stereo system(hey, I'm 24, this is important stuff!) is great. I love that I've got an auxillary jack and I love the hidden charger in the middle console. It helps keep wires out of the way, and you can set your MP3 player or iPod/iPhone inside to keep it from sliding all over the car. The DOHC is a nice touch, but I wish the fuel economy could be a hair better. All in all, a nice roomy car that is incredibly affordable and great for the post college kid or the starting family.

Report Abuse

Totaled after one accident

chintanshah, 04/06/2011
6 of 11 people found this review helpful

This car was pretty great for when I had it. I bought it used last year. There were no major issues and it was an overall awesome car. Unfortunately, I got into an accident a couple of months ago where someone hit my front right wheel/door side head on. I was going about 40-50 and he had just pulled out, so I'd say about 15 or so. The damage didn't look too terrible except that the wheel and door were bent inward, the center dashboard popped out, and the passenger airbag broke the windshield (no glass was actually shattered). It turned out that the frame ended up being twisted inside along with the other problems I mentioned which totaled it out. My passenger and I were safe at least!

Report Abuse

What were they thinking

Why, 04/09/2009
3 of 5 people found this review helpful

As you approach this car it seems like a fairly handsome vehicle. It has clean lines, just a nice amount bling to it. Climb in and start going and you will quickly be disappointed. The wind noise is horrendous. That's ok though you can get used to it after a while, and the stereo can be turned up loud enough to overcome the noise. No, the worst part about this car is that in 2009 a car still has ABS as an option? What are they thinking? You get side airbags, but I'd rather avoid an accident by having ABS.

Report Abuse

I'm Glad I Got A KIA Spectra EX

JoshUNC, 12/26/2008
2 of 3 people found this review helpful

After comparing prices on the '07 to the new '09 KIA Spectra EX I decided to go with the '09 mainly based on price and having full warranty. I give this car straight 9s across the board... very happy with my purchase so far. I have even used the roadside service because I left my lights on and ran my battery dead. Called kia and they sent someone with no problems and limited info. They even called me back to make sure someone came to help. Will buy a KIA again!

Report Abuse

Satisfied overall

mholly99, 03/12/2009
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I waited 5 months to write this review because I wanted time to adjust to the car. Overall, its a good value for the money. I also test drove the Corolla and Civic, but the low price and excellent warranty is the reason I chose the Spectra. Handling is responsive and the car meets my needs very well.

Report Abuse

Great Value KIA

nolarobert, 07/02/2009
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This is a new purchase. I was able to get the "Copperhead" color, so the car looks sharp & it has fog lights and a rear spoiler. Before you laugh at the spoiler, I was cruising the I-10 at 105 mph & this engine was up to the task. At 85 mph & below the cabin noise was minimal. I took some local back roads and the suspension was solid and the car felt glued to the road even as I took the curves at a goodly amount of speed. The brakes bring the car to a quick stop with no spongy fade. I look forward to taking my new Spectra on a long road trip to visit family in TN. The 700 mile journey will allow me to wring this car out & see if it holds up for the 11 hour drive.

Report Abuse

really impressed so far

savital, 08/06/2009
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

Haven't owned it long, but so far more impressive than expected. Plenty of pep and super-quiet for the mondo freeway driving I do. Amazing fuel economy. Forget the EPA rating, I get 34mpg in mixed driving with the AC on most of the time! Picked it up for less than $11,000, with AC, CD and auto included. Lots of room, both front and back seats. Yes, the exterior and interior are simple, plain vanilla. I like that; pragmatism rules. And I'll agree that this is less solidly made than a Toyota. But for $5,000 less, well worth it! The lack of ABS, though, is shameful. All cars should have ABS standard these days; law should require it. CU gives good reliability ratings.

Report Abuse

Can't Stand This Car

soldiermusic, 05/02/2011
2 of 9 people found this review helpful

I have owned several cars in my driving years and I can look back fondly on various aspects of pretty much all of them. This car is an unfortunate exception. I absolutley loathe this car. It is very easy to oversteer and difficult to get back on track if you need to make a sudden swerve. The mileage is substandard. It gets about 26mpg highway. (My Sedona mini-van gets 22-23.) Please note I am not a leadfoot driver and I don't make hard accelerations. I'm pretty easy on my cars. Also, the driver's seat is worse that sitting on a wagon bench. At least a covered wagon doesn't have two bars right in line with my anatomy. And no, I'm not a very large or old person.

Report Abuse

Spectra 2009 EX Sedan

Tony Salvatore, 04/27/2010
1 of 6 people found this review helpful

Car was bought used on lease return to dealer. Low mileage and "like new." Used primarily to commute to work and local/light out-of-town job travel. So far averages about 28 MPG. Vehicle handles well, very responsive, and perky. No problem merging into fast freway traffic or running 2-3 hours at turnpike speeds. Haven't tried it in snow but it is okay in torrential rains. Looked at same year Civics, Sentras, and Focuses (I like sub- compacts). Spectra offered best balance of price, features, and low mileage.

Report Abuse

Great Car

Ken Ross, 06/19/2010
1 of 6 people found this review helpful

I bought my Kia Spectra Ex Sedan (4) days ago and I really like it. I haven't had it very long and I haven't taken it for a long drive yet. I feel that the car was a great buy.

Report Abuse

Kia Spectra Rocks!

Mary, 06/05/2009
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Our son crashed the family Ford Explorer. Used cars were high-priced. We decided to buy a Kia Spectra EX 4 door sedan for about $1500 more than it would have cost to get a 2005 used Explorer. Of course, we got a red one! I'm a car buff and this is one nice vehicle. Great gas mileage (averages over 28 mpg in mixed driving), peppy pick up, smooth ride, plenty of cupholders. The car came loaded with options - AC, automatic headlights, extra 12 volt chargers,and even an iPod port. Safety ratings on this car rival those of Toyota and Honda, and exceed those of the Ford Focus. All for about $14000, including delivery, tax and license fees. I love it!

Report Abuse

Impulse Purchase

First KIA, 05/22/2009
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This car handles the curves on the road very well. The gas mileage is excellent. I think it's even better than the Ford Focus. I like the fact that it has a sporty look. The spoiler is a great addition. I needed a car, check out the dealership and price and rode off into the sunset with a brand new vehicle.

Report Abuse

First Kia, First New Car Ever

RG, 06/05/2009
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Just purchased my first Kia and my first new car ever, drove it off the lot with 40 miles on the clock. I now have just over 1,000 miles on the car over the last 3 weeks. The car has mostly been used for city driving, my 35 mile R/T drive to work. So far I am very happy with the car. The gas mileage has been around 28 MPG in the city, but I do expect that to increase as the car continues to break in. One of the major selling points for me was the incredible warranty and the roadside assistance. The interior is a bit spartan but very well thought out. I love all the storage compartments in the car. The stereo is not bad for a stock system and I love my sunroof.

Report Abuse

Great Car for the Money

desertbob, 06/09/2009
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

No flaws... everything works as advertised. Looking forward to my first long-distance RoadTrip in this car.

Report Abuse

Happy with Kia

Rick, 07/01/2009
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Looking for an inexpensive new car? Look no further. I just purchased the Spectra and couldn't be happier. Great warranty, fun to drive, and comfortable, compaired to my SUV, the gas guage doesn't move. Overall, I'm very happy with the purchase, and the Kia network of services.

Report Abuse

Drastic change puts it in perspective

LakeTravis, 07/06/2009
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I traded in a Suburban for a Spectra, so the shock value alone took some getting used to. Overall, this is a great little car. Mechanically engineered well, great gas mileage (I averaged 34mpg the first weekend, 300 miles of mixed use), looks pretty decent parked next to a Nissan or Toyota. The "carpet" is more like some sort of fuzzy cardboard, we'll see how the rest of the interior holds up over the next 3-4 years. Overall, for the price I don't think you can beat this car in terms of warranty, safety, features, and performance. Sticker on mine was $17,250 - drove away for $10K after trading in a 1996 Suburban with 230K miles. Yeah, I keep them for a long time!

Report Abuse

Glad I bought this car

Makeda, 07/10/2009
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is my very first car and I know I made a great choice. It takes less than $25 to fill up my tank and I am good for the rest of the week. The interior is comfortable and I get compliments on the exterior. For a first car or something that in inexpensive and good to drive get this car. It is also roomy for my family of four.

Report Abuse

great quality and great mpg for money

glen, 07/09/2009
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I was skeptical at first and concerned that i might not get 30 mpg. Have only had short time but first fill up 29.5 mpg and second fill up 32.2 mpg in mixed driving. Drives very smooth and handles well and looking forward to great mpg once it breaks in.

Report Abuse

Great Value

Kev.NY, 07/28/2009
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I purchased this vehicle this past June so wanted to give it time before passing judgement. The peace of mind of having such a great warranty is priceless, and the added value of such a good MPG vehicle (getting 29 to 34) was an important factor. The controls are in easy reach, and the vehicle drives very comfortably. The interior is spacious and overall very pleasant to drive. I purchased the gold color with black and tan interior which gives off a mature but stylish feel to the vehicle. I never thought I would say this but so far this vehicle from Kia is a pleasure to drive.

Report Abuse

Don't Underestimate the KIA Spectra

Tom R., 11/04/2009
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Having traded in a 2002 Hyundai Elantra for my KIA Spectra, I expected some close similarities in these Korean cousins. My expectations were pleasantly met in getting behind the wheel of this great little economy car. For my Cash-for-Clunkers allowance for a 1999 Isuzu Trooper and my Hyundai trade-in, I drove away in my KIA Spectra EX for $10,000, including tax, title and registration. I have enjoyed the KIA Spectra experience from the moment I pulled off the dealer's lot.

Report Abuse

Best for the money

Mister Big, 02/01/2010
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I get 30 plus mpg around town, and got 37 mpg on a 1000 mile trip of hiway and city,and that's with automatic transmission. Bad stuff: Not the best paint job. Paint surface is rough down near and on the rocker panels, and the paint chips easily; ABS, floor mats are not standard. Good stuff: Peppy performance, great gas mileage; cool, intuitive dashboard controls; comfy seats (easy on my sciatica); solid warranty; roomy trunk; stylish, at least to my eyes. The Spectra is, I think, the best value out there. To get anything even slightly better, you'd have to pay lots more. I love my Spectra!

Report Abuse

So Far So Good!

MJ DeYoung, 02/15/2010
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Bought this car brand new last August, so this is its first winter. So far so good! Honestly, no complaints (-:

Report Abuse

Bad Spectra

kennyg, 03/26/2010
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is the worst car I have ever owned. I have an intermittent (has happened about 25 times) problem when the brake pedal will go soft while braking and the car takes a greater distance to stop. The dealer cannot replicate, this time they drove car 53 miles. KIA national does nothing to help me with this problem. I have had to pay for a rental car. The car is going to hurt someone, probably me. I will never buy another KIA. You get what you pay for.

Report Abuse

Good Commuter Car

Alexmb, 11/14/2016
EX 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl 4A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Over all really good car to go off to college with for what I paid. I bough it with 32,000 miles at the end of 2012 now end of 2016 around 60,000k. I have had no major issues with the car just I have done standard maintenance and only thing that I have replaced are headlights, tires and windshield wipers. Easy to control in tight spots. It still has the standard radio system which works well including the aux input and cd player. Really like having sunroof makes the car feel more open. Only complaint would be the clear coat which has started peeling.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050