Skip to main content

2023 Kia Niro Consumer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
20 reviews

Pricing

Edmunds suggests you pay
$25,785
1

5 out of 5 stars

my 2nd Niro, this 2023 EX hybrid is great

Chris, 05/02/2023
2023 Kia Niro EX 4dr SUV (1.6L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid 6AM)
44 of 44 people found this review helpful

I had the 2018 Niro LX and drove that to 100K miles and decided to trade it in on a new one when it came out. I liked the old one and it never had any problems besides oil changes. I drive for those rideshare companies so I put on about 1,000 miles per week. Overall I give it 5 stars because all of my complaints are little things. Most are the same for the new one. Even if this sounds like a lot of negatives they are all small things. I will probably buy another one when this one gets old. Here are the good parts for anyone interested in buying one: I just have mine in eco mode with the regenerative braking at normal and I am getting usually 60mpg, but sometimes it goes between 58-64 depending on where I'm driving. My old one was always getting 60 also until I changed the tires then it dropped to 54. So I assume the same will happen to this because I'm pretty sure they are running with low rolling resistance tires and I will want something quieter and softer when it comes time to change. It comes with all the safety features that the old one didn't. It has blind spot monitoring which has saved me already, adaptive cruise control which I don't use, auto steering on the freeways which I turned off because I don't like my wheel moving on its own. It has a better backup camera than the old one, especially at night. It has lane departure warning which I turned off because it beeps so much. It has an upgraded suspension so it rides a little smoother, I noticed that right away. It also has more sound deadening which I noticed right away, but it it still noisy. The back area is bigger than the old one so it can hold more suitcases and the floor can drop down a little which helps. The dash looks amazing and I get lots of compliments when people get in the car. It has charging port on the sides of the front seats too, so people in the back can charge up without me having the run a cable back there like I used to. Now for the stuff that bugs me: 1. The dealers and their ridiculous markups. This was being advertised for $35K which was $5K over MSRP. Every dealer in my area was doing this. Then trying to say it's because of inflation and costs of labor, which is total BS. I was able to eventually get this EX for $28K which is the LX MSRP. I went in wanting the LX but since the dealers were just ordering the higher trims at the time, they didn't have one. When they asked why I wanted that one I said I didn't need the fake leather seats the EX comes with, nor the metal wheels I will just scrape up. I also didn't need the navigation screen since my phones do that when I am working. So in order to get the sale they gave me the EX for the LX price, but then tried to lowball me on my trade in, so I gave it to Carmax for $4K more. Then he asks me to send some referrals but don't say what I paid because he won't do this deal for other people. So why would I send friends to go pay more than they should? I hate dealers. 2. The intermittent wipers dial is useless. The car has a sensor that detects rain and adjusts the speed of the wipers accordingly...in theory. But just like my BMW that had this feature it doesn't work properly. Sometimes it doesn't go when the glass is covered in rain and I can't see and other times it is going full speed like crazy when there is barely a drop on the window. Please just make the dial like a timer so I can control the speed. 3. The little knob that controls the volume/temperature is so small every time I try to touch it my knuckle touches the auto-climate button next to it which then goes and changes all of the heater and vent controls. Either make the knob stick out more so we can grab it, or just make a separate area for the different controls instead of trying to be cute and having 1 touch panel handle the temps and radio. 4. The radio power on the stock unit is awful. I don't know how the fancy upgraded one sounds but the stock needs a big upgrade. I added an underseat sub just to give it some lows that it didn't have before, but the unit has to be turned up so loud to hear music over the road noise that it needs it's own amp. And don't forget, I drive rideshare so I don't play it loud anyway since there are always people in the backseat. Having even a 50watt per channel boost will help a lot. 5. The sideblade thing is just a design choice that they tried to justify adding by saying it helps wind resistance. But the air just goes to the same place it would go if it wasn't there, and the mpg is the same. Most I have seen for sale have the panel the body color already, and I think it only comes in gray or black anyway. But it will really just be a place for pine needles to get stuck in and you'll have to blow it out when washing the car. Just say it is Audi R8 inspired design and leave it at that. 6. The EX comes with everything inside being gloss black which shows dust and fingerprints like crazy. The LX has a matte surface. But it also has a bigger screen which looks better than the small one in a square cut out like the LX has. It also comes with fake leather seats which I'm not sure how long they will last. We will see. I prefer cloth. 7. Finally my biggest complaint, power. This thing is slow. Our other car is a Camry hybrid which blows this thing away. I get 10+mpg more in this than we do in the Camry, but the Camry is much quieter and goes up hills easily. The engine in this car sounds like a semi truck when you are trying to go up a hill. Especially if you stopped on a hill to drop someone off and then try to go. It does not want to get out of second gear and when it gets close to 3,000 RPM it is so incredibly loud I can't believe it. I try to force it into 3rd by going into manual mode but I shouldn't have to. I think the redline must be 3200 judging by the noise it makes. It sounds like I am revving the heck out of it when I'm not. It just has no power. Getting onto the freeway you need lots of room. I know this sounds like a lot of complaining, but believe me, it is a good car and I am going to consider getting a 3rd one when the time comes. Unless the Seltos becomes hybrid by then since it has AWD or some other AWD hybrid comes down in price. The Sorento and Rav4 AWD hybrids cost too much. So we will see what is available in 2 years.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

2023 Niro EX is very practical, but it's not SUV

MM11, 12/26/2022
2023 Kia Niro EX 4dr SUV (1.6L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid 6AM)
35 of 35 people found this review helpful

I've had my EX for 2 months now. I'm really liking it. It gets super gas mileage in ECO mode which I use almost all the time. I've been getting about 53 mpg (using a lot of regen braking). The ride quality is pretty good considering the wheel/tire size. It could be improved if the wheel/tire size is increased but then you wouldn't have the super mileage it gets. By comparison I believe the Prius wheels/tires are even smaller so I think this is a good compromise. The build quality is very high, to me almost feels like a luxury car. I was blown away when the sales lady popped the hood at the dealership to have hood raise up by a pair of gas struts. 1st car I've ever owned that doesn't have the prop rod. Interior room is very generous. It has very roomy back seats. 4 adults can ride very comfortably in this car. For me it would have been better to have cramped rear seats and a bit more cargo room behind the seats since we have no kids, just 2 small dogs. The seats are very comfortable. In fact that was one of the selling points for me. One of the more comfortable car seats I've ever sat in. Since the driver seat is all electric it can remember the adjustment settings between different drivers. There is a lot of tech in this car which I'm still getting used to since I'm coming from a 2003 Subaru. Kia recommends you either use top tier gas or add fuel treatment on a regular basis. I'm using Chevron gas which isn't a big deal given that I'm getting 53mpg. Kia classifies this as an SUV which is kind of silly. It's a compact hybrid wagon, 2wd. As a compact hybrid wagon I would say it should be at the top of your list if that's what you are in the market for. I think the Niro will give the Prius some serious competition. I kept my 2003 Subaru for times when I do need an SUV such as the snow storm we recently had.

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Goldilocks Perfect

S.Deemer, 02/18/2023
updated 02/26/2024
2023 Kia Niro SX 4dr SUV (1.6L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid 6AM)
32 of 32 people found this review helpful

Update: August 22, 2023: 8,000 mile service on August 4, 2023. No significant issues since purchase. However, hydraulic fluid reservoir for engine actuator clutch appears to have been grossly overfilled at the factory, and was badly contaminated at 2,900 miles. I sucked out the contaminated fluid and replaced it with fresh DOT-4. Repeated at 6,000 miles. Service manager looked at my photo of contaminated vs fresh fluid, and agreed to replace and flush as part of 8,000 mile service. Calculated cumulative fuel consumption between 3,000 and 5,000 miles was 50.2 mpg. From 8000 to 16000 mile service: 51.6 mpg. _______________________________________________________________________ I was looking for something with more cargo room than my 2018 Buick Encore, and originally thought I wanted a Kia Sportage HEV. After a test drive of both a Niro and a Sportage, I decided that the Niro SX was a better fit for my needs. The Niro has significantly more cargo space than the Encore, better handling and performance and gas mileage, far better ergonomics, and about the same ride and seat comfort. My Niro is approaching 2,000 miles and even after 7 weeks of ownership, it seems like I discover new features every week. On a 900 mile road trip, with a passenger and about 300 pounds of cargo, it averaged 46 MPG; for mixed urban/suburban driving it is averaging 54 MPG. Power has not been an issue; it climbed to steep grades across the Appalachians without running out of breath. In 58 years of owning cars, the Niro is the first car I have ever fallen in love with.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
4 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

1st Kia after a Hyundai customer for 15 yrs

TJ from N.J., 12/13/2022
updated 05/20/2024
2023 Kia Niro EX Touring 4dr SUV (1.6L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid 6AM)
53 of 54 people found this review helpful

After being a customer with Hyundai for 15 yrs I’ve decided to switch to Kia. Kia brand appears to be much more futuristic, both exterior and interior . So far I’ve enjoyed this EX touring Niro hybrid. May not look that big but it does have plenty interior space.Nice modern looking dash Ride is pretty good just remember this vehicle only cost 33 grand but has quite a few options Wish I stepped up to the SX version but a few more options I would like to have, but on the lot models were kinda limited.One thing I miss is the upgrade sound system. Again for 33 grand delivers enough power as far as I’m concerned Nice Navigation system and delivers what’s on the sticker as far as MPG . Lowest reading was 47 and highest was 52 mpg. Will keep you up to date as time goes on in my Kia UPDATE: My four month update w 2,500 miles on it. Still enjoy my E X touring . If driving aggressively and what I mean is keeping up with traffic on the highway in Jersey your mileage drops to about 37-39 MPG , otherwise around town 45-49 MPG. Climate and audio controls at first I thought it was pretty cool but now find it annoying taking your eyes off the road to toggle between radio and climate controls Update 17 months 15,000 miles As of May 2024 car still running fine No issues other than the GPS half of the streets Does not display on the screen had a reset of the GPS from the dealership but still the same Car gets usually 54 MPG city driving, Highway 42

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

4 out of 5 stars

Quasi luxururious eco box.

David Roberts, 05/15/2023
2023 Kia Niro EX 4dr SUV (1.6L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid 6AM)
35 of 37 people found this review helpful

I run long haul auto parts delivery so, although I have a 2023, as of May, mine has 45,000+ miles and increasing by about 2500 miles a week. In warm weather, I get about 43mpg on my mostly highway route and about 48 at lower urban speeds. Fairly disappointing figures considering the rating of 53 city/ 54 highway. Hybrids always suffer at higher speeds so I am not sure why it's rated this way. Context is everything so here is how it compares to other vehicles I've ran on this same 500 mile per day route; 2022 Sienna Hybrid: rated 36 hwy, actual 32-35, avg 33 (best ever 36) 2017 Pacifica non-hybrid: rated 28, actual 27-30, avg 28 (best ever 31mpg) 2007 Prius: rated 51 hwy, actual 42-44 (best 46) 2023 Niro: rated 54 hwy, actual 42-45 (best 49) These are fairly accurate figures and were calculated using same pump refills dividing gallons replenished into trip miles which were cross referenced with garmin trips. I can get 54mpg city but only if I hyper-mile. 55hwy only if i stay below 55mph. This car is a bit more boxy than a Prius and has a drag of .31 to the Prius .27 so will obviously not get the same fuel economy. There are a few quirks to note; The piano black console looks dirty constantly. Please, auto makers, stop using this stuff! Rattling sound emanating from the turn signal stalk. It is mild and only at 15-25mph. If I hold the stalk, the sound stops. The passenger side B pillar door trim clicks like a button if you push on it. My 2022 Toyota Sienna had that same piece of trim fly off the van with less than 10k miles on it so we're improving with this Kia! The rear doors and hatch tend to need considerable follow through to close. I drive Lyft part time on top of my auto parts route and passengers constantly have to reopen and shut the door harder to latch. If you change your oil, the filter and drain plug both have little doors that you have to carefully remove and painstakingly reattach using those retarded push/pry fasteners. I tore the doors off and threw them in the trash. And you can't fit a filter wrench in the opening to tighten or loosen the filter so you have to take the whole underneath panel off which uses those same terrible press fasteners. Took about a half hour to loosen my filter the first oil change. Now I just hand tighten/loosen and hope for the best. Good times!! The dual purpose auto climate/ radio feature is terrible. I would switch to radio to use the main knob to adjust the volume and later forget and reach to turn up the defrost fan higher to clear the fog and suddenly have the stereo blasting at max volume!!!!! Now I just keep it on climate and use the steering wheel up/down to slowly adjust. Yet, because the knob for the volume/ climate fan speed is small, my fingers will regularly brush against the adjacent touch screen. One small caress and it throws everything out of wack. You then have to sit there adjusting different buttons to return it. No, I don't want auto climate: click manual-- No I goddamn don't want the defrost on high: turn it back down-- WHY IS THE AIR ONLY COMING OUT ON THE DRIVERS SIDE!!! There is a nifty feature that has the recirculate come on automatically when you enter a tunnel. But it comes on randomly sometimes. One night I had to turn it off five times in ten minutes. So you have to keep an eye on it esp. at night so your windscreen doesn't start to fog. Speaking of adjusting controls. Because I drive 10 hours a day, I like to listen to podcasts. But I also like taking a break with music. Bass up with music and down with people talking. Simple enough! At least it use to be when we had that beautiful bass knob right there on the dash. Now, you have to swipe the screen, hit settings, then hit sound, then find the tone button amidst the many other options, then hit the bass button over and over again until the screen recognizes your finger. That's four button filled menus to adjust the bass. Four! The original tires only lasted 25k (I drive 90% hwy and always got 50k+). A tire pressure sensor reads 7lbs low in one tire since new tires were installed. Perhaps the tire shop damaged it. Dealer wants $400 to replace it! But the very worst feature of this car and a reason not to buy it is the fact that there is NO INTERRUPT FEATURE FOR THE WIPERS!! Yes, you heard me. If it's not raining, no big deal. If it's raining heavily, fine, just turn the wipers to the on position. But if it's lightly raining, you have to manually bump the stalk to clear the rain if you want to see without having the wipers slide across dry glass making that lovely sound. Now there is an auto setting where the sensor decides how often to wipe. But it is awful. It works right once and a while but typically, it doesn't come on often enough though sometimes it comes on too fast. And when you are driving in winter and there is a light salt sheen forming it will make sure to turn on high suddenly, smearing salt across your screen. There are four settings (auto low through auto high) but this is essentially just a decoy. Low is too fast half the time and high is too slow the other half of the time. Funny, I think I remember this feature wherein you would pick a setting and it the wipers would come on at preset intervals. I seem to remember that working really well. But it's okay. Now I get to exercise my right arm. Now that I'm done complaining, I can say that I am mostly happy with the car. The ride is decent, considering it's a hatchback, the seats are comfortable and supportive with my EX edition with adjustable lumbar. At 6'0" I can ride high like an SUV with the seat up and my legs fully stretched forward between the pedals and a very adjustable telescope wheel in easy reach. I tend to have back and neck pain after a few hours into my trip with other vehicles. My Sienna was so bad I had to sell it after only a couple months. This car is really good. Not as good as my Pacifica but as good as my Outback. The brake regeneration feature is interesting. You can push the brake a little to utilize the full regen feature without engaging the brake. I know this because I don't see the brake lights come on at night but see full bars on the regen meter. I can charge the battery to full sometimes if I have a long 5% grade and then go electric only for over 3 miles when I get to the bottom if it's relatively flat. I've occasionally gone 4-5 miles like this before the motor kicked back on. And mine is the standard hybrid, not the plug-in. The best feature with this car is the lane centering feature. You can turn on lane assist or whatever Kia's version is and take your hands off the wheel for anywhere from 15 seconds if you are going fast and the highway has harder curves to up to 2 minutes if the road is straight. Then the dash flashes and you just tug the wheel to reset. I used to attach a 1lb exercise ankle weight to the side of the wheel on my '23 Outback which would trick the sensor into thinking a human was applying a slight pull input and the car would self drive for a really long time. I once did over an hour with the cruise set, completely hands free. Could have taken a nap!! Okay, don't try that, you'll wake up dead! The weight doesn't work on the Kia but it's better than my Sienna (15sec every time). I am happy with this car over all. No car is perfect. I am crossing my fingers that this one lasts to the half million mile mark on its original engine like my 2017 Pacifica did (youtube).

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
4 out of 5 stars
Value
4 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
1
Items per page:
5