Skip to main content

2023 Jeep Grand Cherokee Consumer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
32 reviews
MSRP Starting at
$39,535

Save as much as $7,408
Select your trim:
1...

5 out of 5 stars

Best Driver Comfort in Class

Brian, 01/25/2023
2023 Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited 4dr SUV (3.6L 6cyl 8A)
38 of 40 people found this review helpful

I recently bought a 2023 Grand Cherokee Limited. People complain about the cost but with incentives, my Limited model 4X2 dropped the price by $6,000 from MSRP. That put it in price with a Laredo. The standard features in the Limited made the price very competitive when compared with other similarly equipped SUV's. At 6'2", the others fell "short" of a good driving position. If there was enough legroom, I could barely reach the steering wheel like in the Kia Telluride and Hyundai Palisade. I liked those vehicles but the Jeep has more telescopic adjustment and fits me perfectly. The Jeep also feels more solid, has a better quality feel and is quieter than the other SUV's I drove. I'm a bit boney and no one talks about how hard seats have become in new vehicles that claim to offer "better support." Having seats hard as bricks like in the Telluride, was a big turnoff for me. Also, again with my height, the seat pans in the competition are typically too short as well. The Grand Cherokee seats, though not soft, offer a bit more comfort, seat pan length and softness for me. I had a 2017 Grand Cherokee and really liked it but the new model is definitely more refined and nicer to drive. It's a great highway cruiser offering a smooth, quiet ride that handles road imperfections with aplomb. I test drove a new Buck Enclave, too. The Buick was nice if you don't mind driving a vehicle that feels like a minivan in most ways. The Jeep is definitely more fun to drive. I liked the VW Atlas and almost bought one but the price incentives were better on the Jeep. In total I drove the Atlas, Telluride, Palisade, Explorer, Enclave, Chevy Blazer, Mazda CX9 (super hard seats) and Toyota Highlander. I liked the Jeep best regardless of price. I see a few minor imperfections in my new Jeep. The driver's door protrudes out a bit more than it should when closed. There is also a large trim piece across the length of the dash at the back that is not quiet sealed on one side. Hoping the dealer will address these issues. Overall, I am very satisfied thus far with my purchase. The biggest selling point for me is the excellent driving position. The best I have found. For the kind of driving I do living in a congested area, the Grand Cherokee is the best for me.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
4 out of 5 stars
Value
4 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

1 out of 5 stars

Only 300 miles, broke down

victor ortiz-velez, 04/30/2023
2023 Jeep Grand Cherokee Overland 4dr SUV (3.6L 6cyl 8A)
16 of 16 people found this review helpful

This was my 3 Jeep Grand Cherokee so I trusted it was going to be good or better, wrong. It is back at the dealership. While driving it turned itself off and gave me two different error messages. The dealership Miami Lakes Automall don’t answer the phone or return my messages

Safety
1 out of 5 stars
Technology
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
1 out of 5 stars
Value
1 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
3 out of 5 stars

Hard to believe

Jeff, 05/19/2023
updated 09/22/2023
2023 Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited 4dr SUV (3.6L 6cyl 8A)
26 of 28 people found this review helpful

I just took delivery of my new 2023 Grand Cherokee limited, literally 2 days ago. Had to pay $2,100 for a sunroof, my choice. This car seems different than my 2016 and 2019 Grand Cherokee’s, bigger and less nimble. As I go through the process of figuring this one out features and operations wise, I discovered to my amazement that there is no automatic day/night mirror. Instead a small paddle that needs to be pushed to switch to night mode. The last car that I owned that had that was my 1995 Isuzu Trooper. My new Jeep stickerd at something over $53K. A manual day night mirror? Seriously? Most of the included tech toys I probably won’t use, the mirror is a HUGE miss. UPDATE: My third Grand Cherokee, 2016 and 2019. These were great, should have stopped at 2. Got this in May of 2023, a little over 5K miles. Been back to the shop 3 or 4 times, UConnect issues. Radio stops working, phone stops working. The usual "software" update garbage from the dealer. They were going to kick it upstairs to Chrysler engineering and we were supposed to have the unit changed out. Was back today, now we are back to software updates. Can't make a phone call, have to reset the UConnect unit. Absolutely ridiculous for a car that stickered at $53,600. Huge mistake getting this vehicle. OK to drive, not nearly as manueverable as the 2016, 2019.

Report Abuse

2 out of 5 stars

Windows machine with virus on Wheels

Deanster1962, 06/24/2023
2023 Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited 4dr SUV 4WD (3.6L 6cyl 8A)
25 of 27 people found this review helpful

I have owned 6 Jeeps in the past. I now have a 2023 Jeep Grand Cherokee Ltd. I bought it in Feb 2023 and in the last 4 months, it left my wife stranded on the highway with no power. Steering wheel does not lock. Memory seats do not work. Poor gas mileage. Been to the dealer more times than i care to remember. They always tell me to wait for a software update. Last JEEP for me. The build quality out of the states is crap! Trim does not line up. Doors had to be lined up at dealership. The recalls are not part problems, but factory worker incompetence. For the money... buy a Lexus or something. Jeep is NOT a luxury brand!!!

Safety
1 out of 5 stars
Technology
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
2 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
3 out of 5 stars
Reliability
1 out of 5 stars
Value
1 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

3 out of 5 stars

41 years building Jeeps, quality still suffers

Jeff, 06/08/2023
2023 Jeep Grand Cherokee Overland 4dr SUV (3.6L 6cyl 8A)
17 of 18 people found this review helpful

I purchased a 2023 Jeep Grand Cherokee Overland with 9 miles for 62K ridiculous. I now have 5K miles. However, it's not been without its weird issues or noises. I love how it looks, comfortable and nice features. That's where it ends. To start for 62K, you should have more standard features, you have to buy so many packages to get everything you want, like a 3D camera that should be standard at this price. Didn't think of it when I bought it assuming it had it, it does not without the extra tech package. Within the first week, my speaker on the drivers side, sounded like it was distorted, dealer said it was a defective speaker in the door, so they replaced that. Nope still coming from dash and now a twitter speaker ordered and I was told it's a service bulletin and another dealer said sure enough that one is defective too. I'm getting odd noises everywhere, when the car downshifts and breaking sometimes you can hear what sounds like a guitar string under the drivers side snapping and when electronics turn on all kinds of weird clicks happen especially backing out of the driveway you can hear an almost sloshing sound from the back under the truck. The fit and finish is also not very good, if you follow the body lines they are not perfect and this very true with the rocker molding on the drivers side. So much so that the technician at Jeep couldn't believe it and ordered a new one to be sent to the body shop to be painted, they said they'd call me when it was ready to install. That was a month ago. The transmission has shifted funny too on occasion. I don't have any more faith in Jeep, I tried, I just traded my 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee that has the typical issues of that year including a dashboard wrinkle that Jeep denied they'd pay to replace as well as 3 timing chain cover oil leaks at $1500 each time to repair. I'm done. After this Jeep, moving on to companies that care about quality build and quality control and taking care of their customers. I'm a 5 time Jeep owner, but this is it. A new 62K Jeep brand new should not be giving me noices and other issues or concerns so fast.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
2 out of 5 stars
Value
2 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
1...
Items per page:
5