Used 2014 Hyundai Santa Fe SUV Consumer Reviews

List Price Range
$14,488 - $17,590

Used Santa Fe for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Best Mid-Size SUV-Beats Luxury models

jrsactown, 01/23/2015
GLS 4dr SUV AWD (3.3L 6cyl 6A)
40 of 40 people found this review helpful

My wife and purchased a 2014 Santa Fe GLS, AWD with Ultimate Package, Frosted Mocha in Oct 2014. We paid $36,000+ T&L, about $15,000 less then our next 2 choices ( Acura mdx & lexus rx350 ). The santa fe top of the line has more features, and rides just as good. Value is unbeatable. Looks, MPG, Ride, and power are top notch. Are friends are always amazed at how good it is ( most people are not aware of how good the Hyundai brands have progressed) We now have 4,000 miles, and not one issue UPDATE: 7-29-19- Santa Fe now has 62,000 miles, not one issue, except a few minor recalls ( Hood latch, bolt ) kumho Original tires still, but will need to replace at 65K, as they are making road noise. UPDATE: 1-29-20 - Santa Fe now has 67,000 miles, no issues. We did replace the original kumho tires, with new BF Goodrich Advantage T/A Sports. Excellent Tires with, and great in snow and mud.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Road Trip Test

lakeside4, 08/19/2014
Limited 4dr SUV AWD (3.3L 6cyl 6A)
49 of 52 people found this review helpful

5 1/2 years owned now. Not putting on as many miles per year as we used to. 4-5,000 per year. Live in rural area, travel mixed gravel/paved roads. Still, besides regular service work, has not ever been to dealer for a problem. Still running original tires, but need replaced, probably will get 50,000 miles out of these originals. Still very happy with this unit. No need to trade!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Scared to Drive

Irene, 06/27/2017
GLS 4dr SUV (3.3L 6cyl 6A)
27 of 28 people found this review helpful

At 49,000 miles engine light went on. Went through cam sensors and crank sensor. I think they are suppose to last to 100,000 miles? Then received recall notice on engine. Took to dealer because engine light on, again. Was told they "tweeked" the engine and it was up to Hyundai standards. Next day I lost all power, steering, brakes, etc. Towed back to dealer, oil regulator went bad. Sent me on way, again, stating all is up to Hyundai standards. I think part of the recall is metal shredding through engine. Gee, this is a no brained. To add insult to injury Hyundai offered me below value due to recall. I am driving an unsafe vehicle.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Value
Report Abuse

Not reliable

Ashleigh Davis, 09/16/2019
Limited 4dr SUV AWD w/Saddle Interior (3.3L 6cyl 6A)
22 of 23 people found this review helpful

When I purchased the Santa Fe, it had 23k miles on it. It had only had one owner. Within a week, the AC went out. No biggie, the dealership fixed it. When I went in for my first servicing to change the oil, the dealership listed off all these things that needed to be done to keep the car in great running condition, so I did it, and paid $500 for said service. This was probably just the dealership ripping me off, but anyway. Now, I’ve had the car for 3 years and it has 68k miles on it. Out of nowhere on the way home from a concert, the vehicle starts ticking pretty loudly while accelerating and just running really rough. I get home, park it, and attempt to drive it to the dealership the next day. The car completely dies on me about two miles from my home. I get some help to get it running and make it to the dealership. When I arrive, the guy tells me that he knows the engine is blown. He gives me a repair cost of $9-10k. Currently waiting to see what Hyundai will do, but another car (same make/model and year) is sitting at the dealership waiting to be repossessed because of the same issue and Hyundai will not take responsibility. The car is also 8k miles out of warranty, so I don’t know why my local Hyundai dealership advertises that they are home of the million mile warranty. You have no warranty after 60k miles. It’s a joke.

Report Abuse

Look out for the true warrantee

james187, 01/04/2020
Limited 4dr SUV w/Saddle Interior, 19in. wheels (3.3L 6cyl 6A)
8 of 8 people found this review helpful

I bought my 2014 Santi Fe with 52000 miles on it . Salesman told us " don't worry about buying the extended warrantee right now because you have 8000 miles left on the original factory bumper to bumper ". So I thought great because I only drive about 5000 miles a year . But what he didn't tell me was that the car was already out of warrantee because it was over 5years old by 1 month . My fault for not paying attention to details and trusting that a used car salesman is going to remind me of that . So all in all ,I love the car . Drives great , nice features and great gas mileage. I just don't have the warrantee that I thought I had . So before you buy that Hyundai with thay great warrantee they advertise or any car. Don't make my mistake , do your home work and please ask questions especially about the warranty. And by the way I found out that on a new vehicle ,the 100,000 mile warrantee is reduced to 60,000 or 5yrs for the second owner . So the 100k only applies to the original owner .

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse
Items per page: