Used 2015 Hyundai Genesis Consumer Reviews

List Price Range
$17,500 - $25,000

Used Genesis for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale
12345...27

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

So far so good, but one aggravation

Jim Orr, 03/07/2015
3.8 4dr Sedan (3.8L 6cyl 8A)
39 of 39 people found this review helpful

After driving Buicks & Cadillacs for several years I looked at the Lincoln MK series, drove a Lexus and settled on the Genesis with the Signature package. Traded in a 2011 Buick Lucerne, which I loved. In hindsight I wish I'd sprung for the Tech package with a few more features that I miss. The biggest aggravation is getting the nav system to take voice inputs. Manual inputs work fine or if I say something she recognizes like "Starbucks" or "Texaco" then it works like a charm. But a voice input street address comes up with some of the weirdest options I've ever seen. Anyone else have the same issue? I have a couple of gripes. This car goes through front turn signal bulbs like Sherman went through Georgia. I've been through at least six. The left one is pretty easy and I can replace it myself. The right one requires removing some structure, so I let a mechanic change it (twice). The auto parts place says a lot of owners have the same problem, as do owners of a couple of VW models. No one seems to know why. The other gripe is that I don't get good tire mileage. I put top end Michelins on and get 30-40 thousand max. The tire man says it's because it's a heavy car on performance tires. I'll probably still buy another Genesis unless something better comes along this fall.

Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Report Abuse

Best kept secret!

Scott, 02/28/2016
5.0 4dr Sedan (5.0L 8cyl 8A)
33 of 33 people found this review helpful

I've had this car for a year now and all I can say is "AWESOME". We got rid of the BMW and picked up this sweet gem. Wicked fast, super comfy, great tech and tons of compliments. Don't hesitate, buy this beauty... September 8, 2017 Update: Still loving this wonderful piece of machinery. Lease ends March 2018. I will be getting another G80 Sport. March 12, 2018 Update: Just turned her in (end of lease). Going to get a new one! Can't find any flaws. Great ride.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Inteligent choice for a emotional decision

Brook, 09/10/2015
3.8 4dr Sedan AWD (3.8L 6cyl 8A)
37 of 38 people found this review helpful

Below is my initial review. Update: almost 50k miles in no major issues. Mileage good, performance great. Still stand by initial review. The car is a decent city snow car (live in Denver) with the right snow tires no major issues. This is not a mountain (Audi/Subaru) all wheel drive - closer to the BMW x drive. Great road trip car - drove to bay area several times last year and got close to 28m/gal - impressive. Way more gizmos than you need - adaptive cruise blind spot detection very nice. Lane assistance - don't care for, although that is just me. Overall a solid choice with no major quirks or complaints. Anyone purchasing a car in this category doesn't really need everything that comes with it - let's be serious! That being said, if you are in the frame of mind where you either feel you deserve or want to reward yourself with this class of vehicle - look no further than here. I purchased the AWD Signature/Tech package and could not be happier, but more importantly, could not be more impressed with the value/quality of the vehicle and the purchasing experience. I have owned several Lexus', driven BMWs and Merc's (on regular basis/not owned), and I have to say the bang for the buck and quality is clearly here. If you a purist and need that ultimate driving experience, then go buy BMW. But ask yourself this? How often to you truly get to exercise the limits of performance of a mid/full size sedan? Do you really need to? Some key highlights for me are: The adaptive cruise control, intuitive instrumentation (never been a fan of i-drive), and interior comfort. I am 6'7" and never felt like I fit in a car before this. Performance mode is more than apt for this size/class vehicle. It may not be the fastest, but I come back to the point does it really need to be? I typically drive in normal or eco mode and have been getting 23/24 mpg and in eco have not noticed a big difference in performance. Purchasing experience was one of the best (internet sales) - was in and in out under 2 hours, including trade in. Great customer service. Keep in mind this is not a luxury dealership so don't expect the leather couches and espresso machine, etc. However, the time, effort and care was equal to if not more so (to make for the fact they didn't have the lux dealership amenities?) than what i have experienced at the Lexus dealership. If you are looking for that lux feel and ride and would rather keep $10k-$20k in your bank account, then go test drive one of these cars and see for yourself.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Good but annoying..

frustrated86, 02/12/2015
3.8 4dr Sedan (3.8L 6cyl 8A)
21 of 21 people found this review helpful

Wrote a review last year after driving my 3.8 Genesis for about 1000 miles. After about 4000 miles and the weather turning colder in Michigan, I noticed popping and cracking sounds coming from the sunroof, in the rear and front. I have an ultimate package. Because the car is so quiet it really stands out and is very annoying. Happens constantly when there is minor shifting of the car's weight, in addition to driving over bumps. Took it to the dealer who had no resolution to the problem. My next move is to contact Hyundai directly. Shame because it is a nice car but hard to positively compare it to the Germans luxury models. Here is update after 36000 miles: Hyundai addressed problem with sunroof satisfactorily. It took a little while but it was difficult to diagnose but I was satisfied that they made sure it was fixed. Car has been a good performer and is of very good quality. No issues other than sunroof is a little squeaky sometimes when open but not a deal breaker. After 36000 miles I still get compliments and stares at the car wash and gas station. Would definitely buy the car again.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Ahhhhh! It's comfy

Ed Pawlowski, 11/02/2015
3.8 4dr Sedan AWD (3.8L 6cyl 8A)
21 of 21 people found this review helpful

I drove a 2014 Genesis base model and liked it enough to check out the restyled 2015. Glad I did. Major improvements and it will be looking good for a few more years. Bought one 4 weeks ago. I have 3000 miles in the first month. This weekend, along with another couple, we took a 750 mile round trip. After 300 non-stop miles, I never felt better getting out of the driver's seat. This was a combination of highway and secondary roads. On the highway, after a few hours I realized just how comfortable the seating and ride are. Very quiet, it is less tiring to drive. The technology is great. Adaptive cruise control is fantastic. If you are buying a premium car you should have all the options. Nit picks. I wish the headlights turned on when you turn the wipers on. That is old technology I had on cars 15 years ago and is a simple to do safety feature. I'd like to have remote start on the fob. Using the phone works, but takes too many steps that can be done with a simple button push. The auto high beam is nice on the highway. On secondary roads there were times it would dim the lights as it should have, but the reaction time to go back to brights was a bit slow as you approach a curve. Update: It has been 7 months and 12,500 miles. Still very happy with the car and its performance. Over the winter I found that the heated seats are better than any of the ones in my last four cars. Finally had a couple of warm and sunny days to try out the cooling for the seats and this is going to be nice this summer. I will not buy another car unless it has a heated steering wheel too. That touch of luxury is really great on a cold morning. One morning I was going to work on a snow covered road that is fairly steep. Two cars on the hill sere struggling and sliding, but with the H-Track AWD I just kept chugging along and passed them with no slippage of the wheels at all. I really felt secure going up that hill. Months later I'm still very happy driving the car with all the comforts, the good sound of the radio and all the gadgets. I'm looking forward to a trip of a few hundred miles this weekend. Fun car to drive. If you buy one, get all the options! Second update 13 months and 22,500 miles later, I'm still very happy with my Genesis. Now that we have a few cold morning, I can turn the heated steering wheel to the "on" position and start the car with BlueLink remote. On a cold morning it is nice to get into a car with the heater running and the steering wheel warm to the touch. Wish I could turn my seat on too but this helps. Still very happy overall. Good value, good performance. No problems or repairs. Edmunds asked that I update my review and I happened to be on vacation at the time. In the past two weeks I drove 3700 miles, including one day at about 700 miles. It was just as I stated before, very comfortable, easy handling. I hope to take a much longer trip and this is the car I'm going to do it inl

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse
12345...27
Items per page: