Skip to main content

Used 2010 Hyundai Elantra Sedan Consumer Reviews

List Price Range
$6,490 - $12,590

Used Elantra for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale
12345...16

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons
5 out of 5 stars

Bought new and still own

ladybugshome, 08/12/2017
updated 08/15/2018
2010 Hyundai Elantra SE 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl 4A)
25 of 25 people found this review helpful

Car has 120,000 miles on it and did change transmission fluid and other items that were listed in manual to do. Car is running great still and looks great, yet it spends 9 months in Florida where there is no salt. Park it under carport and the paint has remained true to color since I purchased it. Gun metal I think was the color listed. Will probably still have it for years to come. On third set of tires and just general maintenance has been done on it. Timing belt was done at 93,000 and struts were replaced already. Brakes done once already..... will be re doing front ones this year. Well worth price paid for car. Still run it 1500 miles back and forth to Florida to NY~

Safety
4 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

4.38 out of 5 stars

2010 Elantra GLS PZEV - 11,000 Miles

njscorpio, 12/28/2011
2010 Hyundai Elantra GLS PZEV 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl 4A)
51 of 53 people found this review helpful

First I would like to address two issues mentioned in other reviews. Those with "bouncy" suspension seem to have the SE models. I haven't had those problems with the GLS. Also it was said that there is a delay in acceleration. That is true, but that is due to the ECO mode. There is a slight delay when accelerating from below (aprox) 3,000rpm to above 3,000. It has something to do with keeping your driving at low, gas conserving RPMs. Disable ECO mode (by hitting TRIP till you see ECO ON, then holding TRIP until off) and you will have much smoother acceleration.

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

It gave its all - final update

elantrablueman, 01/08/2014
updated 12/29/2021
2010 Hyundai Elantra Blue 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
70 of 77 people found this review helpful

Dec.2021 In Oct 2021, I stopped at a light. I was rear-ended and found myself in the middle of a four car pile up. Crunched front and rear. Age and miles made repair not practical. I walked away unhurt. Hit by an uninsured motorist. I lost a few thousand on the Elantra. The greatest loss was being forced into a car purchase in the worst market of my lifetime. I bought another Elantra from Carmax. It's ok but I really miss that simple, basic, bullet proof, manual Elantra Blue. Best car (reliability) I've ever owned. Never had a failure of any kind in 145,000 mikes. _____________________________________________________ Best car I've ever owned. At 144,000, nothing has ever broken or failed me. Had I known the reliability on my first post, I'd have given five stars. 75% of the reviews are four or five stars and I guess that supports my experience. 25% of owners have has problems. I'm just guessing but I bet it is related to buying new, driving like an adult, and maintaining the car properly. Keeping fluids changed may be the key with this car. Just guessing but I suspect that the problem cars were abused by previous owners. All I know certain is that mine has been flawless. If prices for cars stay high and shortages remain, I'll change the timing belt again and drive it to 200,000. Bought a leftover 2010 in Jan 2011 for $12,200, $13,200 otd. Have the conv. package and love the xm radio. Now have 57k and the car has been near flawless. Had a minor brake light switch recall although the switch had not failed. Averaging 30.9 mpg annually. Keeping records for taxes. Better mpg on hwy/trips. I change oil every 5k and keep on trucking. Still have original brake pads. Facing some big bills at 60 k: timing belt, trans fluid, probably brakes, too. Could go $1,200. However, with my new Michelins, I could go another 60k. 7/8/2016 96k and still near flawless performance. Timing belt most expensive service. Time for first brake pads at 96k. Must be some kind of record. I feel like I'm driving for free. 1/8/2018 114,345 miles. I'd like a new car but it's hard to trade such a reliable, low-maintenance, and economical car. It has been a great car. I attribute my pleasant experience to it's basic design and manual transmission. Still very pleased. I expect to drive it another year, maybe two. 1/9/2019 125,876 miles Just a solid, reliable car. Still running fine. No plans to trade. The monetary value is so low for a high miles 5 speed that I'll just keep it as long as it runs well. Garage kept so paint and interior look good. Best value in a car I've ever had. 1/9/2020 136,000 miles I'm semi retired now and driving fewer miles. No doubt, it's the most reliable car I've ever owned. Still no failures of any kind. Just fluid changes and driving like the old guy I am. No plans to trade.

Safety
4 out of 5 stars
Technology
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

3.38 out of 5 stars

Not bad, not great

chris72771, 07/01/2013
2010 Hyundai Elantra GLS 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl 4A)
18 of 19 people found this review helpful

The interior is very roomy yet it is very plain and some of it appears bare bones. The car has been reliable but the engine has seemed to run rough since day 1. When I asked the dealer about it I was told it was normal for the new cars to not idle smoothly. (It still makes no sense to me but it is what it is) The car is very fuel efficient but definitely could have had more bells and whistles for the price.

Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

Love this car!

Jan Parks, 01/12/2017
updated 01/21/2020
2010 Hyundai Elantra GLS 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl 4A)
10 of 10 people found this review helpful

The warranty was wonderful! Yes, the transmission did fail (it seems common with this year), perhaps because it was abused by a previous owner, but the local dealership was wonderful about replacing it with no questions asked. Other than that, the car has been perfect. I am especially surprised and pleased by its performance on the highway. It seems to drive like a much bigger car, and is very comfortable for me for long stretches. I get 25 mpg around town (I live on the top of a mountain which affects my mileage) and 36 on the road. Ok, I sold this car a year ago (Jan. '17), perhaps because I was paranoid about the transmission going out again. But I'd been thinking of buying a new car, so I decided to do so, partially because my son-in-law's sister needed a good, reasonably-priced car. So I sold the Elantra to her. Now she loves it, and has had no problems with it. (whew!!*) I bought a Corolla instead of another Elantra, mainly because I wanted both a CD player (old school) and a backup camera, which I couldn't get in an Elantra. Still think it was a good car! I would buy do it again... It's still going with no problems (July '19) (and still in Jan 2020)

Safety
4 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
4 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
12345...16
Items per page: