Skip to main content

Used 2009 Hyundai Elantra Touring Hatchback Consumer Reviews

List Price
$6,299

Used Elantra Touring for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale
12345...17

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons
4 out of 5 stars

Donated to offspring

pistolpete10, 09/04/2014
updated 03/17/2022
2009 Hyundai Elantra Touring 4dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl 4A)
13 of 13 people found this review helpful

I donated this car to one of my kids last year. She tells me it's still going strong with no major problems.

Safety
4 out of 5 stars
Technology
2 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
4 out of 5 stars
Value
4 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

4.5 out of 5 stars

A very pleasant surprise

guybrarian, 08/21/2011
2009 Hyundai Elantra Touring 4dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl 4A)
10 of 10 people found this review helpful

We're a small family of 3 and we decided to upgrade from a subcompact after the arrival of #3. After 1 year of research - I was looking for more space and more safety - I stumbled upon this gem. There is more than enough space for road tripping and the cabin is quiet and well designed. I enjoy not seeing the car everywhere...In the past 4 weeks I've seen only 2!

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Fun to drive

jhitchens, 05/12/2013
updated 11/14/2016
2009 Hyundai Elantra Touring 4dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl 4A)
7 of 7 people found this review helpful

This car is an excellent choice if you are looking for a car that is fun to drive and you need that extra cargo space behind the back seat. My large dog loves the room he has there behind the back seat. When you need even more room, just fold down the back seats and WOW you have a lot more space. Driving is fun, with quick steering response and peppy little engine will get you up to hwy speed quickly. I have almost 50,000 miles on mine, and I have had no problems. I just follow the routine maintenance suggestions and that is it. I am retired, and my drive each day usually is about 3 to 12 miles with stops or lights in-between. I average 24 mpg. When I do take a trip, I get about 32-33 mpg on Update 05/12/2016 car is still fun to drive. I have moved to Los Angeles and I also own a larger truck, gut the truck last year only got 450 miles put on it, because I love to drive the Hyundai so much. I can go to Home Depot and buy an 8 foot 2x4 and manage to put it in the car by sliding it up to the front dash board, and still close the rear hatch. The room behind the last seat is one of the largest I have seen for a small compact 4 door hatchback. In LA, i average about 15 miles an hour, (that includes some small sprints on the freeway, and i still average around 22 miles per gallon in the city. On a long, say 300 mile trip on the highway, i will average 30-32 miles per gallon. What can I say, I love it. Here it is 11/14-2016 and I still love my Hyundai Elantra Touring. Best Car I ever owned for driving in the City.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

4.25 out of 5 stars

3 years later!

n1luf, 10/19/2011
2009 Hyundai Elantra Touring 4dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl 4A)
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

After 3 years of driving this car I can say it still is a joy to drive. The out side of the finish still shines. The motor is just a little loud when you give it the gas. Better yet is the mileage for me in Connecticut, 33 city...45 highway. I found using Castrol edge or Quaker state ultimate pure synthetic oils produce better mileage. Inside of the car remain about the same. Satellite radio in car works well. All the gages have work and light up. Seats and floor still in good shape. Overall car works well.

Report Abuse

4.75 out of 5 stars

Great for Commuting

NCdrvr, 11/17/2010
2009 Hyundai Elantra Touring 4dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
7 of 8 people found this review helpful

Based on good CR ratings for the Elantra SE sedan, I bought the Touring model when it first came out. Not easy to find with the manual transmission - but I preferred the performance of the Hyundai 2.0 engine with 5 spd over the Toyota Matrix 1.8 engine. Some reviewers have found this car to ride a little rough, but personally I think other Hyundai models are a little too spongy. This car is very roomy for its size - I managed to get a 9 cu. ft. freezer in the back with room to spare. More than enough space for four adults - rear seats are another advantage over the Toyota Matrix or Mazda 3 hatchbacks. I'm averaging 29 MPG in commuting, 34 on long trips - would like to see a 6 spd manual.

Report Abuse
12345...17
Items per page: