Used 1998 Hyundai Accent Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$773 - $1,837

Used Accent for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

100,000+ NO PROBLEMS ! Still Going!!

Drifus, 07/25/2003
GSi 2dr Hatchback
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

This car has been no trouble. For less than 5 years old and 100000 + its been great. I have replace tires once, spark plugs once. Regular oil changes. This car has never been serviced other then what was mentioned. I have driven this car hard the whole time. (Shifting at 5500 rpms most of the time) If it can endure me like this car has I call it either a fluke or a great car. This car was in Minnesota for 4 years of its life and was wonderful in the snow.

Report Abuse

My first car, and 7 years later I may get another (99 accent)

thomson85, 05/09/2012
L 2dr Hatchback
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

My very first car, 1998 Hyundai Accent hatchback. I used an abused this car. Got it used with 80k and drove it up and down California; constantly going form Sacramento to San Diego and back and had 130k at the end. I'd rally, race, 130MPH on the freeway (downhill); I abused it. Only repair ever needed was a clutch replacement. I was a dumb 18 year old and at 19 I got rid of the car (junk yard) due to crashing it two times. My neglect, not the cars, it even drove to the junk yard. The hood wouldn't shut all the way from when I smacked into a curb doing 45mph, and the radiator was leaking due to rust from me never putting coolant in it, but just tap water. I wish I treated it better! :(

Report Abuse

NEVER AGAIN

April, 01/19/2008
GL 4dr Sedan
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This car is not worth the gas you put into it. At 70,000 miles, it totally fell apart. It would have cost more to fix it than what it was worth. The axles needed to be replaced. The engine block cracked. The exterior door handles broke off of it. I mean, really, the door handles?! The list goes on, but I don’t have enough characters to tell about each one. When it was working, it could barely go up the freeway ramp. It didn't like going above 50 mph. All around a piece of junk!

Report Abuse

Good 2nd car

indycolts, 03/01/2002
GL 4dr Sedan
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I bought this car for my wife 2 years ago. I've had nothing but good luck with this auto. The car averages over 28 mpg in town, the only complant I have is that I didnt buy one for her earler. Thanks, Ed

Report Abuse

The Green Monster

Edwin Ramos , 11/21/2019
L 2dr Hatchback
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I just had to get rid of my car due to some idiot in a pickup truck ran it to me when he didn't stop on time and also because it was raining. Best little car ever, I had it for almost 4 years and never gave me any problems at all. A real gas saver too, about 30 miles per gallon. Not built for speed but for economy, the only good thing about it is that now I might get me a new one. I would rather use my little old car than my wife's new SUV anytime. A lot of people put this cars down, don't know why but they're wrong. These cars are really good and dependable is you keep good care of them.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Winter Beater

EricXJR37, 12/06/2009
GS 2dr Hatchback
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought this car at 284 000km , it has done its time , i paid 400$ only as a winter car. I have a RWD 320hp car in the summer , but i really like driving the Accent , there's no performance to it really , i have it as a 5spd manual and i really love it , it heats quick , handles corners well , so overall for a 1998 and the kms that's on it it doesn't burn oil and its tough.

Report Abuse

Decent little car

redfraggle, 06/17/2002
GL 4dr Sedan
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I had this car for 3 and a half years and overall had a good experience with it. It did have some annoying quirks (like the check engine light going on all the time when I first got the car), but overall it was a good value. Between 60 and 70000 miles I did have to bring it into the shop a few times for some pricey repairs, but I got over it. I had the car until recently when I hit a deer, and surprisingly walked away from the accident without a scratch. This was a great little starter car.

Report Abuse

A good car at first

pebbles, 10/09/2002
L 2dr Hatchback
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

A good car at first, but then started to have major problems after 3 1/2 years of having it. The transmission went out. Right now I am looking to get a more reliable vehicle. My advice to whoever buys this car is to buy the new ones that is "1999 and up with the warranty of 100,000 miles for 10 years, whichever comes first. Do not buy this car that does not have that warranty because you will be in the same sort of situation I am currently in.

Report Abuse

great car

steelmonkey, 12/05/2002
GL 4dr Sedan
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought this car in 1998 with less than 2000 miles on it. I am a construction worker and I have to travel a lot. It held up for the whole 4 years without a problem. It started every day without fail. It has sure seen a lot of construction sites that were not to favorable. Old faithful made it thru everything!! It gets 33 mpg without fail. I am very sad to have to part with it. It now has 85000 miles on it. The only reason I have to sell it is because I have outgrown the car. Too many tools now. The daughter is driving it now. Then it will go to my son to drive. Thanks Hyundai for a great little car.

Report Abuse

My Review

Tony Bonelli, 12/28/2002
GL 4dr Sedan
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Stylish yet economical. The engine has guts on the road yet gets almost 40 mpg. I drive long hours and find it extremely comfortable. The sound system is great.

Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050