Skip to main content

Used 2021 Honda Clarity Consumer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
48 reviews
1...

See Edmunds pricing data

Has Your Car's Value Changed?

Used car values are constantly changing. Edmunds lets you track your vehicle's value over time so you can decide when to sell or trade in.

Price history graph example
We have a limited number of reviews for the 2021 Clarity, so we've included reviews for other years of the Clarity since its last redesign.

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons
5 out of 5 stars

I’m averaging 500+ mpg. Love this car.

D. W., 04/09/2019
updated 04/19/2023
2019 Honda Clarity Plug-In Hybrid 4dr Sedan (1.5L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
36 of 36 people found this review helpful

Currently I have gone 1,900 miles and still have over 1/2 a tank of gas. I may go 5,000 miles on a single tank of gas (7 gallon tank). Mileage is incredible. I plug in a work for free so electricity cost is low. It usually costs $1.40 cents to charge at home and I can travel 50-60 miles per charge. My daily work commute is 56 miles and I make it 99% of the time on all electric. The gas motor will turn on if the battery is fully charged and then you apply regenerative brakes, thus overcharging the batteries. To prevent this Honda reduces regen and turns on the motor. To avoid this just use the brakes, no regen, for about a mile. I love this car. It is quiet, big, fast enough, and gets crazy gas mileage. I own a Volt, but the Clarity PHEV is better in most ways. Update: 10/12/21 I have 56,000 miles on my Clarity. My lifetime average is over 199.99 mpg. That is the highest the read goes to. I probably average between 200-300 mpg. I love this car and will keep it until it dies. I have had no mechanical issues and it still performs like new. I have had 3 rockets hit my windshield and it is cracked. It will cost $900 to install and recalibrate the camera. The PHEV Clarity is really one of the best plug in hybrids on the market. Update 10/15/2022. 76,000 miles. Zero maintenance issues. I replaced my windshield for $1,200. Still has a lifetime average over 200 mpg. I drove 2,500 on a vacation and only charged twice, the rest of the time burning gas. Gas average was 52 mpg. I did purchase a spare tire after I got a flat on the freeway. The car is really saving me money with $6 gas in California. I can literally go months before I have to refill it’s small 7 gallon gas tank. As complex as this drive train is, it runs perfectly so far.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

Best car investment I could make

Susan in Portland, 08/07/2019
updated 02/14/2022
2019 Honda Clarity Touring Plug-In Hybrid 4dr Sedan (1.5L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
24 of 24 people found this review helpful

Pro: I've owned my Clarity Touring for four months now (2300 miles) and taken it on several 300+ mile trips as well as lots of in-town driving. I feel like a genius for having bought one. The PHEV is the best of both worlds, so I don't mind paying a little for gas on a long trip (even though Hybrid Charging does save on the gas, as does its native 40+ miles per gallon. Of all the vehicles in this price range I've seen around the charging stations, my Clarity Touring is by far the roomiest, most cushy, comfortable, well-built of the lot. Has enough pep to make merging no big deal and the updated tech/safety features are considerable. I don't mind the wheel covers or the fact that there is no volume knob on the infotainment console (my iPhone doesn't have one either). Voice commands, Apple Carplay and Android Auto both work like a charm, and the app, while not super robust, works well enough. I LOVE THIS CAR. Con: The only drawback to buying this car is that Honda doesn't seem to adequately train dealers in how to support them. (Indeed, I'm not sure all dealers even know they are a Honda product with the lack of marketing and distribution!) I am not confident that my local dealer knows a lot about these cars or any quirks they may have, and since Honda has put little effort in educating them, it is not surprising that a few folks are unhappy. I feel for the guys who have had issues that aren't getting resolved, but I would point the finger directly at Honda support and the dealers. Shame on them for not supporting a very high quality product that could otherwise have a much wider market! UPDATE: Clara-T is now almost a year old, with 6k miles. All the hybrid miles are highway (long trips) and do net me over 40 mpg. The really great thing is the in-town range is enough that I can use only electric power. I charge at night so I get those electrons almost free. It is a solid, luxurious, 5 passenger car that makes me look and feel like a genius for snagging one. No issues to date. I still love this car! UPDATE 2021: I still love this car and feel like a genius for buying it. It’s the best car I have ever owned. I’m loving the money I’ve saved, too. UPDATE 2022: Still LOVE THIS CAR! Due to COVID disruption in my life, it only has 15k miles on it, 90% EV. No problems whatsoever. I think the geniuses at Honda America were so wrong to discontinue such a brilliant car, especially now that EVs are really gaining traction (sorry, pun) in the market. I think that the market value of my used Clarity PHEV in these admittedly wacko times makes this the smartest car investment I have ever made.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Love our 2018 clarity!

Kevin, 04/20/2019
2019 Honda Clarity Touring Plug-In Hybrid 4dr Sedan (1.5L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
23 of 24 people found this review helpful

Love, Love, Love this car. Once you get past the skirts on the rear wheel wells (which apparently many people like) there really is nothing not to like. I mean, we got the $7500 tax credit, and have put over 5000mi since December and have probably filled the 7gal tank about 8x. When on the highway I’ve found I’ll get overall better mpg if I put it in hv mode, leaving the battery charged for when I’m doing more city or stop and go driving. It’s kind weird seeing the distance left going up as i coast or slightly break but who could hate that? The car is very comfortable inside however it does annoy me a little not having the driver side lumbar support but nothing is perfect. My only real regret is that we didn’t get it sooner. - VERY HAPPY CUSTOMER

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

The Clear Choice is Clarity

Curt Barnett, 04/22/2019
2019 Honda Clarity Electric 4dr Sedan (electric DD)
22 of 23 people found this review helpful

We have owned a Volt for 3 years and our other car was totaled and needed to buy a new car. With GM abandoning the Volt, we looked at all plug-in hybrid options. By far the best choice is the Honda Clarity, and we even like it better than the Volt. It gets about the same electric range (about 47 miles) and total range (400 miles), but it is way more spacious and comfortable. The tech is impressive, The seats are incredibly comfortable. The ride is very smooth. And above all it's great for the environment!

Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

Still love at 70k

Defenderman, 07/03/2019
updated 01/08/2024
2019 Honda Clarity Plug-In Hybrid 4dr Sedan (1.5L 4cyl gas/electric plug-in hybrid CVT)
13 of 13 people found this review helpful

Big Red (as I call her) suffered damage when she was rear-ended in September 2023. We were apart for 3 months while they found parts, I battled the insurance company and they put her back together. 90-days and $13k later, she is back and better than ever. The comfort, reliability, looks and quality remains true. As she is the Crimson Sunrise Red, a full detail was part of her time in 'rehab', and the compliments just keep coming. If you can find one for a decent price that has been maintained, now is the time to discover what a full-size dose of Clarity will do for you.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
1...
Items per page:
5