Used 1995 Honda Civic Sedan Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$1,468 - $3,469

Used Civic for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale
12

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Will this car ever die?

CN, 08/30/2010
10 of 10 people found this review helpful

It just runs and runs. At this point I might simply keep another 3 yrs and give to my kid. At 156,000 miles, this puppy is still running strong, no blue smoke. I simply change oil regularly and perform general maintenance; CV boots, brakes, oil, wiper blades, etc. Generally speaking minimal repairs. I've saved a boat-load of money driving this car for so many years. It's comfortable, zippy, easy to park. I wish I had bought the sun roof model back the. My next one will have all the bells and whistles as I've had many years to save money to buy now. Great car!

Report Abuse

Love my honda

Thor, 02/03/2016
EX 4dr Sedan
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Beat the crap out of the car, has almost 250k!!! Has had it's far share of repairs and aftermarket mods.... Love it will buy the exact same car again

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

My baby and she's a fixer

onimpulse, 04/04/2015
LX 4dr Sedan
4 of 5 people found this review helpful

Well to everyone who has problems with this car: The engine in this car craps out anytime after 200,000 miles. A few years ago, that happened to me, and I purchased another engine in LA that was shipped from Japan. Cars in Japan are not allowed to have more than, I think, 60,000 miles on their car. After this, it's technically illegal to drive. So they ship their old, perfectly great engines over here. My Dad gave me this car a few months ago after owning it for 12 years.The most reliable car ever. My Dad now owns the new Civic and a new Accord. I wouldn't trade my 95 Civic for any other new model Honda, Toyota, or any Japanese brand. I get GREAT gas mileage city or highway. up to 36.

Report Abuse

Love my Honda!

Trish, 01/31/2017
DX 4dr Sedan
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I could NOT have asked for a better first car! I purchased this vehicle my freshman year of college with 220 k miles on it... It now has 251k on it! The only time I have ever broken down in the past two years was when the transmission went out... Which was what I believe to be my own fault! I was told by a friend that I was likely low or out of transmission fluid! Luckily for me my dad has a few mechanical skills so we bought a junk yard tranny for about $300 or 400... Besides that.. I have AMAZING gas mileage when I keep it tuned up. I've had brake pads changed a couple of times, and headlights a few times few to a short... But this is in a two year span with high mileage so all in all I think it's an amazing vehicle!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

The Most Amazing Gas Mileage... Ever

bomoellobo, 07/03/2008
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

My '95 Honda Civic (standard, not automatic) has been a real treat for me after starting out driving Lincoln Town Cars. When I was getting into the 30s for gas mileage, I was quite pleased. When I got 40 MPG, I was tickled pink. And when I got 45 MPG on the highway, I thought that couldn't be beat. Good God, was I wrong. On a 136-mile trip from Portland, ME, to Bangor, ME, I averaged about 62 MPG. 62. I used 2.183 gallons to fill my tank after clocking 136 miles from the last full tank. I could not believe it. There was no error in my math or in the numbers I used. This car is an amazing machine, and I will run this thing until the day it can't run anymore.

Report Abuse

Great Car

AlwaysBored, 10/13/2008
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I got this car as a first car and love it. It's a great car and very fun to drive even on long road trips. It has never let me down and runs as though it's brand new. The gas mileage is great and I love how I can drive an almost 15 year old car and not have to worry about gas. I do wish it had a better alarm though, I'm afraid to make any big changes and get it stolen, I'd be crushed if it was. Would definitely recommend this car, especially the EX.

Report Abuse

My favorite car

alalime, 05/12/2009
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I bought the 1995 civic with 8,000 miles on it, and I put 190,000 miles on it before the head gasket blew. With regular maintenance, these cars just keep running. My only gripe about it is the body started to give out before the motor .

Report Abuse

Honda 95

Eric, 04/20/2017
LX 4dr Sedan
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This car is dependable with working air zone heat, defrost . Standard, electric windows.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Engine Problems

Molly, 10/01/2017
LX 4dr Sedan
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Got the car in May, and from the minute we drove off the lot, it burned oil like no other. Just kept an eye on the level and filled it when neccessary. Didn't think it was a big issue. Drove it down to Bloomington, a 4 hour round trip drive, with no issues. Commuted 40 miles almost daily for work, and definitely put 2k miles on it. It's now the end of September, and the engine is done for. Took it to the shop after it was idling super rough, and found out it was running on 3 cylinders and the engine was toast. 4 months for a car that was supposed to last me years. Only had 170k on it. I'm very dissappointed.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

This car will be the death of me

haili73, 06/06/2013
2 of 7 people found this review helpful

Ever since we bought this car, it has given me nothing but problems. The first day I had it, the passenger door handle broke, next the windshield wipers fell off. The car doesn't beep at me when I leave the lights on, which resulted in several dead batteries. (yes, I realize that this is operator error, but still) It broke down four hours from home, leaving me stuck in gas/service station for a day and a half. Just about everything was wrong with it...timing belt (which we specifically were told was fine) radiator, among other issues. Then the AC went out...then something else broke down, it started making funny noises and shuddering, smelling weird, acting like a stick shift...it's scary.

Report Abuse

Good rep, bad car

aec239, 05/20/2009
1 of 3 people found this review helpful

Have had my '95 LX for just over a year and it's sitting on Craigslist waiting for someone to buy it. The car is extremely slow, even with the manual trans. It's tiny which is only good for parallel parking, only fits about 2 adults comfortably. Gas mileage is AWESOME (36 mpg in the city) which is the reason I bought it when gas was almost at $5. If you're a single person that commutes with no kids, pets, or stuff to carry around than it's an ok car. I've found that the car is completely rusted out underneath when a piece of my exhaust fell off on the highway (and you can only go 70 mph or the little engine will blow up). CV joints and rack boots need replacing every year.

Report Abuse

Most reliable car

Breath, 04/23/2009
0 of 2 people found this review helpful

I bought this car as a hold-me-over for $300 with 212,000 miles. I have had it for 6 months now and it has done nothing but save me money and get me to where I want to go. I have been beating on this car from day one, taking it off roading, bottoming out, e-brake slides, smashing into snow banks, and just having fun with it, yet it still will not die. $18 fills the tank, drives everywhere, and I don't even think when I put gas in it. Insurance is cheap..no problems. The trunk leaks, I'm not sure if that is a regularly occurring problem or something from the previous owner. Also, my speakers don't work.

Report Abuse

Lack of power

Max Shao, 02/26/2003
0 of 2 people found this review helpful

You feel least power driving a CIVIC comparing with other similar size cars with similar horse power, for example, TOYOTA Corolla, Saturn, GEO prizm. Slow in acceleration could be dangerous e.g., when you try to change lane. Fuel economy is not as good as you may expect for a low power engine. 22-26 mile/gallon with combination of local and freeway driving.

Report Abuse

Good little car

pamrogersrn, 08/02/2003
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

I have owned this car for 8 years now, and it has served me well. It is a very reliable car. It never left me stranded anywhere. It's a great car for a single person, or small family. I now have two children and the back seat is just too small for a family to find comfortable.

Report Abuse

Wouldn't suggest it to a friend

SkyNightMoon, 08/21/2010
0 of 9 people found this review helpful

I Got a 95 civic dx i disliked almost everything about it the looks, it's not my type of car, i mean it got great gas mileage, that's about it

Report Abuse

95 civic

redsox88, 07/05/2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have had this car for almost 3 years and it now has 160K miles on it. The manual transmission shifts very nicely and it's very easy to drive. Gas prices keep getting higher but I can still put gas in and not break 30 dollars. The only repairs I have had to get with it have been regular maintenance. It has been a great car.

Report Abuse

Excellent Quality and Reliability

Alfredo, 09/13/2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought this car last year with 110,000 miles and now at 125,000 it has never let me stranded, I drive 100 miles per day with an impressive 30 mpg using A/C. I have never visited a repair shop except for changing tires and timing belt and brake pads, which you have to replace in every car due to normal wear. I am a student and let me tell you is the best decision I've ever made, Hondas are reliable, economical and excellently well built, when I graduate I think I'll keep it as a second car. Forget Bimmers Saabs or Jags, if you want luxury get an Acura which is basically a Honda with the luxury package!

Report Abuse

Still a honda fan

wgt, 04/30/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

this is our second honda, and we love it. It runs great, drives and rides great, and is just great in general. The cup holder placing is kind of lame, though, but otherwise it's just right.

Report Abuse

Most reliable car

Gorila Gorillon, 10/07/2009
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Bought it new and still running. The sad part is a recent car accident may make me part with it. Otherwise, I planned to drive it until the odometer started at 0 again.

Report Abuse

Simple, Efficient, Comfortable

Code, 04/02/2010
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Since day 1, this machine ran like a dream. Its independent Coil over suspension gives it a soft ride over ridged bumps and yet stiff enough not to flip when taking quick corners. Mine was in pretty ruff shape, the dash board was all broken because somebody wanted a stock radio, the wiper blade switch was busted, and the exhaust system. I installed a Cat-back exhaust on mine, not for show but because I don't want to be robed of performance from the garbage muffler that was on there. Has surprisingly more room then my last car, the power windows are a plus, for me! The underbelly of the car was coated with Rhino Lining, NO RUST! quarter panels are almost gone! Big trunk!

Report Abuse

Best car I have ever had.

Civic_driver_66, 06/25/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is my first Honda, and everything that anyone ever says about a Honda is true. My Civic has 85,xxx miles on it and is running like it is brand new. There are also limit-less parts or performance additions. The best thing I think about my Civic is its reliability. As another user said,"If you see a Civic with 100,000 miles on it, it is just a baby." That is so true!

Report Abuse

Can't beat the mileage

gjbook, 06/30/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I drive 25000 miles/yr and I love that my car isn't a gas hog. I need it to be reliable and not have too many maintenance needs. This car is great on tires and has been generally maintenance free. But lately, the maintenance has started to build up. I have 126000 or so miles on it. My speed sensor has been dying. I've had trouble with CV boots, bearings and a upper control arm. I guess all are acceptable for the miles I've put on it.

Report Abuse

95 4 door Civic EX

peterpaniam, 07/14/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This car has been fantastic except if you air conditioner compressor ever goes out on you, you will have hell finding another one. Apparently Honda makes them with various different manufacturers of the part, so you don't know what type to put back in unless they tear it apart first (3 day job) and order it. Very expensive to have work done since everything is crammed under the hood everything has to be removed to service anything. Otherwise, great car!

Report Abuse

1.6 liters is pleanty of engine

JAM from NY, 08/06/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is a very peppy car. The manual transmission is smooth and the routine maintenance is easy since the fluid resevoirs are very accessible. Extremely reliable. Still gets 35 miles/gallon.

Report Abuse

The lil engines that could

L. Redden, 10/25/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I got my Civic Ex 4 door for graduation is 1995. Before that I had a 1991 Civic Lx with over 200k on it. My 95 has 122,000 miles on it currently. As with Honda/Acura, just maitenence and oil changes. I currently have another Honda product, and a Ford SUV(tow Civic to the track). I circuit race the 95 Ex. I have replaced the original drivetrain with one of out a 94 Acura Integra GSR. The car just begs to be driven hard. Feels like a very fast go cart. I pushing about 202 hp at the wheels.

Report Abuse

Honda Civic

Ashleigh Brock, 11/30/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Very noisy and rattles constantly. Heat and air don't work well. Does not get very good gas mileage like they claim. Carpet coming away from door panels, exposing "shell." Good things: the rear- end is hard to mess up. I have been "rear-ended" twice and there are only scratches.

Report Abuse

Good Car

blazer16, 01/04/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Passenger side front seat-back broke off on right side.

Report Abuse

Nice Automobile

Dirtbikerprn, 07/31/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I love my Honda Civic. It gets excelent gas mileage about 37-38mpg.

Report Abuse

First car

Matt Gr., 08/14/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

My parents bought me this car just one month ago, and I'm already thrilled with it. The ride is excellent, the engine zippy, and the fuel economy is perfect for a teenager without a job, like me. The power windows are a little creaky, but no problems so far. Also, two hubcaps fell off, but that's most likely because CarMax didn't fasten them on well when they put on new tires.

Report Abuse

Tried&True-most reliable car of 6 owned!

Hondalvr, 09/02/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have had a lot of nightmares with used cars, and this one has been amazing. 3.5 years with not one single problem. Fun to drive, at least 30 mpg, usually 33mpg. One of the safest, acc. to Consumer reports. The only reason I am selling is because I'm moving. If I could, I would drive it until it died (which wouldn't be until at least 250k miles, I'm convinced!), and I would get more than my money's worth. These cars are definitely worth way more than they sell for!!

Report Abuse

Fun Drive, great on fuel economy

SIU Salukis, 09/12/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I checked out virtually all compacts available on market when I purchased. Civic sub-compact faster than all compacts! Great in comfort, no-brainer purchase at time. Only one major repair done, they say it was dirty gas, not sure, valve stuck open. Otherwise, no problems. Gas mileage is great, hardly ever hit the pumps. Get this, battery is original going on 9 years! It doesn't take much to start a sewing machine! I recommend '96 and above, because by then you have side- impact beams for safety. That was my only hesitation on original purchase.

Report Abuse

very satisfied honda civic owner

elwood, 08/27/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I am a very satisfied honda civic owner. Bought it new at the dealership and it still starts on a dime 101,000 miles later. No repairs -- ever. Just normal manintenance.

Report Abuse

pretty aint she

James diggy, 10/06/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought the car from my sis at 116k miles. It is fun to drive, heater worked great, A/C sometimes is weak, just needs freon. worked great no big mechanical problems. The muffler had some trouble, but what do you expect with over 100k miles. It was a good car. The biggest problem that I have had with it though is Thieves. I owned the car for 1 year, and it was broken into and almost stolen once, and a couple days ago It was stolen and the punks ruined it. that is the problem with it, thieves love these things, and apparently they are easy to still 'cause 3 other civics were stolen in my same neighborhood and we have a relatively low crime rate.

Report Abuse

Reliable

Rick, 02/02/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Wife's car because I trust it's dependabilty. Broke a timing belt (my fault, should have had it changed at 100000). We've got 175000 on it and it keeps running. A little noisey but we're used to it now.

Report Abuse

1995 Honda Civic Review

D D, 12/29/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Great reliability, fuel economy. Would highly recommend as a used car.

Report Abuse

Affordable & Reliable!

tearacy, 02/09/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought my car brand new in 1995 and 9 years later am still impressed by its reliability. The Civic is the perfect first car to buy: great fuel efficiency, good rear leg room, nice exterior look, interior has held up very well. This is the best deal in its price range and car class.

Report Abuse

Great little car -- 180k and still going

bobanahalf, 02/12/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This car goes and goes. Regular maintanence is all it's asked for. I commute 100 miles a day--often in lots of snow--and it's never let me down. Especially nice at the fuel pump.

Report Abuse

Just sold it and now miss it!

Idahoaggie98, 08/03/2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

We just bought a 2003 Honda Odyssey because we simply outgrew the smaller civic. It's been my wife's car for almost 7 years. We have never had any problems. The interior held up extremely well. I loved the way it handled. After 120,000 miles, everything worked and the car almost looked like new when we sold it.

Report Abuse

Fun to drive and very reliable.

Dirtbikerprn1, 04/15/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I love my civic. i have had it for almost three years and now it has 100000mi. The gas mileage is still great, i still get 37-39 mpg with only some highway miles. i am starting to have a problem with my speed sensor but thats about it.

Report Abuse

great car

shuksan, 04/19/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

the best car i've ever owned. replaced brake pads once, timing belt once (as a precautionary measure) and tires twice. have had no mechanical problems with the vehicle at all. did not have rustproofing and wax it once a year and still have no rust. would not hesitate to buy another.

Report Abuse

Red Civic

Little red Civic , 11/03/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought this car used in July as I knew the owner. It gets thirty plus mpg but I have gotten over 40 mpg on a trip. So far have put a set of front brakes and rotors, a muffler and adjusted the valves. It has 170000 miles and feels like it's good for that many more.

Report Abuse

Great Value

Jami23, 06/09/2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have owned my civic for 10 1/2 years. This has been one of the best purchases ever. I have had no problems with my car. The only work that has needed to be done is basic maintenance and an axle replacement. I hate to part with it but I am thinking of buying a new one.

Report Abuse

Honda Civic LX

HondaGirl, 01/05/2007
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Overall, not a bad car. It has only left me stranded twice: when the plastic radiator cracked, alternator belt broke. Gets pretty good gas mileage. Now with 232,000 miles it is gone. Starter just went out, oil seals are leaking, and it leaked on the timing belt, back power windows leaking, trunk is leaking water from back window. This summer had the CV joints, brakes, and rotors replaced and it was driving like brand new. I got this car with 90K miles on it. We had a good run. Just remember to get the timing belt replaced every 90K miles and you will be fine. I got this car in college and it has lasted thru my first job, and it will be missed

Report Abuse

A super little car

karymay, 03/25/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I LOVE this car. It's sporty, fun to drive and has been very reliable. For fuel economy, it's wonderful. Although mpg varies with season, temperatures and type of driving, I have very consistently gotten approximately 32mpg as an average of city and highway. Sometimes more, occasionally less. It's a sharp little car, especially in red!

Report Abuse

it keeps going and going and going

auhollid, 02/07/2007
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I love my civic, I have driven it across the country. It now has 208,000 mile and is still going. Just in the last year has it begun to need repairs. (Head work, air compressor, rear door interior)I am looking for a new car and hope my next car is as good as this one has been.

Report Abuse

I love my Honda

katemeister, 12/23/2011
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought my car last year and have put well over 30k. The guy I bought it from figured it must be getting old at 230k for miles. Now at 266k it still goes and goes. I had to put a transmission in it when I got it. (which I got for $140 used and installed only into it less that $500). All I ever have to do is put oil in it .

Report Abuse

The Most Reliable Car Out There

mer, 05/12/2007
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have had this car since 1995 and I can say hands down this is the most reliable car I have ever had. It has not broken down once. I have taken it for regular maintenance repairs and some work on the A/C and that is it! It is not the best looking car in the world but it is fun. It also not the most powerful car but it has good fuel economy, well with the new fuel efficient cars it is no longer the best but it is good. Overall, I really love this car, I will always try to buy Hondas I have to say it is a great car.

Report Abuse

Always there

Ron, 07/11/2007
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This car always been there for me. For a full tank of gas could get me to far away places and never did complain. Except for a change of struts It never stayed in repair shop too long. And now that I'm passing this car to a friend, I feel like I'm losing a friend.

Report Abuse

Best car ever!

megsiep52, 04/29/2013
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought this car used with 202k miles on it. I've had it just over a year and it's not got 220k. It consistently gets 39 mpg combined (it has the 1.5L Vtec motor). We've had to put some work into it; CV axles, tie rods, control arms and ball joints; but this has been well worth the time and $ put into it. This car gets better city gas mileage than just about ANY new car. And with it being 18 years old with 220k miles on it? It drives like new! The paint is fading but we're going to have a paint job done. For a completely STOCK car this is the best buy out there!

Report Abuse

Happy Honda Owner

Happy Honda Owner, 03/06/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

My first major purchase. I am happy it was a Honda Civic. The interior is not cheaply made like many vehicles. Do the basics of the vehicle and you will be smooth sailing. No American cars for me.

Report Abuse
12
Items per page:
51050