Skip to main content

Used 2017 GMC Sierra 1500 Crew Cab Consumer Reviews

List Price Range
$32,990 - $47,998

Used Sierra 1500 for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons
3 out of 5 stars

Where's my Gas Cap?

Junior, 12/14/2017
updated 01/06/2021
2017 GMC Sierra 1500 SLT 4dr Crew Cab 4WD 5.8 ft. SB (5.3L 8cyl 6A)
33 of 38 people found this review helpful

Love most everything about this truck. TWO things I HATE. Low speed shifting and No Gas Cap. My truck is the SLT Premium Plus package that has the 8 speed transmission. At slow take offs it shifts hard to 2nd gear. Have also experienced "lunging" into 2nd gear when crawling to a stop such as heavy traffic. This could be dangerous if so be alert! I was told by the stealership that is is an adaptive learning transmission and it would learn my driving habits. Well, I now have 2900 miles on it with no change. My transmission obviously a slow learner. Now the gas cap... Capless fuel filler is the most ridiculous option that GM has come up with in my opinion. The 5 seconds that it takes to unscrew and screw back on the cap doesn't justify the "convenience". First off, there is nothing to keep dirt, water, or any other element from pooling on the flapper door for the nozzle insertion. The time that I am suppose to save by not have to remove or install the cap is used searching the gas pump island for a paper towel to soak up the gas that will inevitably pool on top of the flapper. Water always pools here as well whenever the truck is washed or it rains. GM, please bring back the tried and true GAS CAP! Absolutely happy with the fuel mileage for a big V8 truck. I can get 24 mpg on a 55MPH road and 19's on a 70MPH road. City is OK. Averaging 15-16MPG. Update: 10,000 miles now. Transmission still hasn't learned anything even after going to school at the stealership multiple times.' Update: It's now 2020. 13,800 miles. Transmission still hasn't learned anything. Patience is wearing thin. Been waiting on the stealership to call me for 6 weeks now to set up yet another appointment to get my transmission woes resolved. It's like they are hoping my warranty expires or something. RAM is in my future... Oh, I still miss my gas cap! Update 1-6-21. Got rid of this POS because GM couldn’t or wouldn’t fix the known transmission problems with the 8 speed!

Safety
3 out of 5 stars
Technology
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
4 out of 5 stars
Value
2 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
Advertisement
Also Consider
5 Offers Near Ashburn, VA
Check out current offers on the GMC SIERRA 1500 LIMITED
View Offers
GMC.com
*The Manufacturer's Suggested Retail Price excludes destination freight charge, tax, title, license, dealer fees and optional equipment. See your GMC dealer for details.

1 out of 5 stars

Shaky Mess of a Truck

Zach Cesternino, 05/30/2017
updated 06/01/2021
2017 GMC Sierra 1500 SLT 4dr Crew Cab 4WD 5.8 ft. SB (5.3L 8cyl 6A)
30 of 38 people found this review helpful

I have had this vehicle for two months and it has spent 20+ days in the shop. The truck vibrates at all speeds above 40 mph and can be felt in the floor, seat, steering wheel ,pedals, etc. Even though multiple dealerships have confirmed there is an issue GM corporate has stated the vehicle is "operating as designed". Not sure which car companies design their truck to make the occupants nauseous. Anyone looking to purchase this truck should research Sierra/Silverado vibration issues and purchase something else. GM isn't going to make it right or fix your issue so steer clear. Update- Switched to a RAM Rebel and couldn't be happier.

Safety
2 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
1 out of 5 stars
Reliability
2 out of 5 stars
Value
1 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
1 out of 5 stars

Extremely disappointed

Disappointed customer, 09/04/2019
2017 GMC Sierra 1500 Denali 4dr Crew Cab 5.8 ft. SB (5.3L 8cyl 8A)
7 of 8 people found this review helpful

I got my 2017 sierra denali with a 5.3l and 8 speed transmition brand new while working at a gmc dealer. I was so excited as this has been my dream truck for many years. After 1 month of driving I had loud clunking noises coming from the suspension. After 20 plus times in the shop . 1 year later after gm denied to assist me in trading in they finally "fixed it" they replaced every bit of the rear suspension and put some kind of pad between the springs, this seems to be working but since they replaced the entire suspension I won't trust it until I have several thousand miles. From day one the transmission has shifted so harshly it feels as though your being punched in the back. It slams gears and lunges at times. The trans recently has started the dreaded chevy shake which is a vibration that causes everything in the truck to rattle. The rear power window rattles constantly. Recently I was driving to work when my truck went in to limp mode. I called the dealer and brought it In. They told me that it was the battery which I thought was odd since the truck is less than 2 years old and has 40k miles but I live in warm weather so anyway I said ok they replaced the battery then they could not get the truck to start. Hmmm ok so turns out it was an electrical component of the high preasure fuel pump under the manifold which was a 1000 dollar repair and apparently not covered by warranty. GM covers half of the repair to be fair not enough but it's something. So again I ask gm to please buy this truck back! I promise to buy another gm but I want out of this lemon. Well gm said no again. And it's likely because I'm not the only one having these problems. Gm clearly did not test anything on this truck before slapping a 65k price in it and shipping it out to customers like me. I have been a loyal gm customer for my entire life my family have purchased numerous gmc models and only drive gmc for the last 30 years. Sorry gm you have lost our business completely. Don't get stuck like me. Gm is not loyal to its customers.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
3 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
1 out of 5 stars
Value
3 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

3 out of 5 stars

Engine hesitates when it shift at low speeds

John Crooke, 12/27/2016
2017 GMC Sierra 1500 SLT 4dr Crew Cab 4WD 5.8 ft. SB (5.3L 8cyl 6A)
23 of 31 people found this review helpful

The eight speed transmission seems to have problems.

Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

Overall Great Truck

Danny Shen, 05/06/2017
2017 GMC Sierra 1500 SLT 4dr Crew Cab 4WD 5.8 ft. SB (5.3L 8cyl 6A)
6 of 7 people found this review helpful

All terrain option SL 5.3 v4 to v8 with the 8 Speed transmission Red with 22" wheels NICE! So far very pleased with my choice. Low gear and low speed the transmission shifts a little hard at times (mostly when in crawling traffic). All terrain option a tiny bit bouncier ride but I love it so far.It's on the pricy side but its a great truck and not made of Aluminium. (former f150 owner).

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
Items per page: