Used 1997 Dodge Ram Pickup 1500 Regular Cab Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$948 - $1,996

Used Ram Pickup 1500 for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Nice, fast, simple truck!

Thommy B., 06/15/2010
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

Just got this black and silver 1997 dodge ram ss/t. I always have been a fan of dodge, but this has to be one of the nicest trucks out there especially with as many years it has. The throttle is still very responsive, and it's tight like a new truck. A big 5.9 liter engine is plenty of power to haul this baby around. May be somewhat tiny but don't be so certain you can run over it in your huge trucks on lifts. The napoleon affect.

Report Abuse

Never get stranded again

Jake Ramey, 01/02/2016
LT 2dr Regular Cab 4WD LB
8 of 9 people found this review helpful

I love my Ram. I've always heard people complain of death wobble or trans problems and I've honestly not had any of those. Truck has 327k miles on it. She just keeps on trucking. The seats are the most comfortable ones I've ever had the pleasure of sitting on. Gas mileage isn't the greatest but it's a truck.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Dependable Plow Truck

Pete, 06/08/2008
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

Bought my truck from a friend with 30,00 miles on it. Had a 8' western snow plow on it. I put my 7 1/2' western on it. Been an incredible truck. Plowed snow with it every year since I bought it. Every one always says Dodge Transmissions were junk, but mine went strong. Rebuilt it in Feb. of '06 with 128,000 miles on it (not bad considering what snow plowing can do to a truck). Still has original alternator in it. My snow plow's hydraulics are powered by the battery (electric). My dodge now has 150,00 miles on it and is still a great truck. Wish it were a crew cab. Single cab w/ 6' box. Short Wheel base makes plowing very nice though. But now have 2 kids and no room for the whole family.

Report Abuse

Best, Most Dependable Truck I have Ever Owned!

Darren, 06/12/2016
SS/T 2dr Regular Cab SB
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I bought my 1997 Dodge Ram Sport 4x4 in the fall of 1996. It currently has 224,000 miles on it and it runs like a top. The only things I have ever had to repair/replace is the usual stuff...alternator, fan belt, u-joints, thermostat, etc... in addition to the routine maintenance and servicing. I have had to do no major engine or transmission work, although I did lose my 4 wheel drive and cruise control due to the plastic vacuum lines eventually rotting and cracking. Got the 4 wheel drive working again, but still no cruise control which I'm ok with since I rarely ever used it anyway. The truck has never stranded me or failed to start. Ever. Performance wise, its not the quickest off the line in terms of raw power but its no slouch either. And it tows whatever I need with effortless ease. Roomy and comfortable with excellent visibility and responsive steering. I don't know if its because I own a short bed or because its a solid axle or whatever, but the turn radius on this truck is unbelievably short. This truck "corners like its on rails", as they say. The ONLY negatives I can say about this truck...the cup holders are terrible!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Good Truck

roperanger, 03/04/2002
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I bought the truck brand new and have 66000 miles on the truck. It has been very dependable, rides good, and has not caused any problems to date. The gas mileage is not good at all, but I supposse you sacrifice that when you buy a truck that is four wheel drive

Report Abuse

Exelent Truck

damando, 09/26/2011
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I bought my truck new in 1997 and have had it ever since. Very dependable , Pulls a bayliner dual axle boat trailer with no problems. Have done most of repairs myself. After 14 yrs I only have to drop the tranny and rebuild it. I am very proud of this truck and if I can afford it I will buy another.

Report Abuse

Still Smoking

jimi, 08/01/2008
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Bought the truck new 'cause I fell in love with it. Happy to say I still am 124K miles later The truck is still the benchmark for styling and has performed almost flawlessly. The exception being the brakes, which was fixed with a higher quality pad. It has towed my boat or my camper for about half of those miles. It still runs like brand new and delivers 17 mpg at 75-80 on the freeway. With platinum plugs and 8 mm wires. Very happy and will probably never let it go.

Report Abuse

Runs like a champ!

urbancowboy0307, 04/15/2010
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I love this truck. I got if from my Grandfather after he passed a couple years ago, had 35K on it now has 78K. Nothing big has gone yet. replaced shocks (70K on them!), steering pump (65K on it) Truck is getting me 17.8 MPG in town. Starts everyday no matter the weather, nice smooth ride. I've got the 5.2 L which could use just a tad more power to really move, but I don't do much towing so it's fine for me.

Report Abuse

97 dodge 1500

dodge owner, 01/10/2018
WS 2dr Regular Cab LB
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

318 engine (5.2) is a good engine, and most of the hardware is fine,, the ride is definitely truck, and gas mileage is foot controlled,a/c was good, heater so,so,headlights were not that good, otherwise, it was a good truck, which i sold in 2017,

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

The Turd

fishrman, 09/01/2010
0 of 5 people found this review helpful

This lemon is currently in the weeds behind our shed. (Waiting for scrap value to go up). We replaced the transmission twice, plus spent about 6000 on misc repairs and countless breakdowns in the two years it was actually on the road. It was purchased used, so its condition could have been due to prior mistreatment. However, I will NEVER buy a Dodge again. Ever. What a money pit.

Report Abuse

" This thing is a beast !! "

zaxdada, 05/11/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

That was how my 5 year old described his first ride in my truck. After driving an F350 all day, I get into my Dodge and realize how much nicer it is to drive. The interior is setup as it should be, convenient and comfortable. The ride is outstanding for a truck this size. And last but not least, my SS/T hauls butt. The 5.9 gets up to speed quickly and smoothly. As for offroad performance - well the SS/T wasn't exactly made for that, but I'll take a great looking, fast Dodge over my muddy F350 4x4 any day of the week !!

Report Abuse

60K to 120K good truck

Bill H, 01/22/2009
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I've enjoyed this truck. I would buy another. My income puts me in the used market so I don't have huge brand loyalty. I used it to tow a 28 foot travel trailer on holiday weekends - decent power for that. Four wheel drive in the snow is great. I did spend money on some repairs. Intake mainfold gasket replaced, front wheel bearings, and front end steering parts twice. I think that it's just part of the 4WD thging. I live in Wisconsin. It's starting to rust - go figure.

Report Abuse

Sweet Ezmerelda

Nothrock, 06/05/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Ezmerelda is my Green 97 Ram -The 3.9v6 under the hood is a bit under powered for the full size rig but with a lowering kit and a pwr chip you dont notice to much- the cab is awsome its like driving your living room couch. i have had the vehicle 3 yrs and it has never left me stranded - i drove GM for many years but this Ram has made a Mopar man out of me ....!

Report Abuse

"Bad" Truck

JoeP, 04/22/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Fun to drive. Strong. Tough

Report Abuse

Excellent

tommy, 10/06/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This vehichle has 134,400 miles with one set of tires. No work, except regular service. Never even had front end lined. Tires came off my other dodge and they now have 144,000 miles. Looks better thsn a new one and is cleaner.

Report Abuse

Gas,Gas

txhurricane, 11/29/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I found this truck tohave very poor gas mileage and had a lot of rattles

Report Abuse

Awesome

JoshuaS99, 07/13/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I love this truck! I bought the Ram as a much needed replacement for my 1990 Ford Bronco and I just think this is an awesome vehicle. The interior is very roomy and very well laid out. The paint is still bright and shiny even after 7 years. The transmission is smooth as is the steering with over 75,000 on the vehicle. I bought this truck used, but it is very reliable. I also love all the room the vehicle has under the hood. My only complaint is that the clear coat is very easy to damage. The top of the bedrails clouded up were I had a toolbox installed. There is a TSB out for this problem, but I solved it by getting bed rail caps.

Report Abuse

bad to the bone

Fourspeed70, 09/02/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I love my truck,rides great and pulls a 24ft Enclosed Trailer with eas. The girls aways smile and give the thumbs up when I ride by. It always turns heads and that is fun.I wanted the blue w/ white stripes but couldn't get it because there was none in the area and the plants were on strike.I got the black w/ silver stripe and I'm glad I did.

Report Abuse

I Love my DODGE!!!

Tony Abbondolo, 09/22/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought this vehicle used with 87,000 miles on it. I love it, its been the best vehicle I have owned to date, it drives like a brand new vehicle. tight as a drum , no squeaks or any problems

Report Abuse

Great Truck to drive for fun!

Nathan Jessup, 12/06/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I love my Dodge SS/T. The only gripe is the gas mileage. With this kind of power I guess it is to be expected. I have had no problems of any kind and in 6 years have only replaced the battery once. With the Limited Slip and Wide Tires I have to watch how hard I get on the gas when it is wet outside. The Beast will go slipping around the corners when it is wet since it takes so little effort to put power to the wheels. It always get lots of looks where ever we go.

Report Abuse

Ram Tough is right!

TC Infantino, 07/30/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have owned my Ram since new. I have used and abused this truck more than the average person would ever consider doing to their vehicle. The whole time I have owned it, the only problem I have had was the starter died at 120,000 miles. The 4wheel engagement is strong and possitive, you don't have to guess whether it has kicked in. You can't beat the solid front axle in the 4WD for strength. The body refuses to rust, even through 6 NorthEastern winters. I have driven it in salt water that was up to the waist line of the truck, with no problems, and no body rust. The interior space is unmatched in any standard cab.

Report Abuse

1997 Dodge 1500 4x4 Regular Cab

moparpartsman, 03/17/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Overall this has been a great vehicle. Chicks dig these trucks fellas! Very fun to drive but not very good on gasoline. My two previous and next truck will be Dodges.

Report Abuse

looks deceive

john smith, 03/05/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

an eye catcher, but extremely overpriced mopar parts. weak drive train.

Report Abuse

This Truck has been Great

rodney, 06/04/2007
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Bought the truck with 61,000 miles on it, drove the wheels off of it, this truck never gave me a bit of problems, just routine maintenance. The body style is awesome. The paint has held up great. The cup holder is in the worst possible spot. The interior has lots of room compared to other trucks

Report Abuse

My Dodge

b sylver, 09/28/2007
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Say what you want, this particular truck has delivered the good through all kinds of conditions. I've owned Fords and Chevy's but this has hung together better than either of them.

Report Abuse

Dodge Ram

Kevin, 11/10/2007
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This truck is a gas hog, 13 mpg all of the time, I do have the 4x4 package, I have bought fuel saving products, none work, the trucks sounds great, blows Chevy and Ford out of the water in sound alone. Truck has been reliable other than the transmission going out, but thats the risk you take with any used truck. Remember 60% of people do not keep up the maintenance, so someone else down the line has to pay for it. I would recommend the truck to anyone that doesn't care about gas mileage

Report Abuse

Excellent

Tommy, 10/06/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This vehichle has 134,400 miles with one set of tires. No work, except regular service. Never even had front end lined. Tires came off my other dodge and they now have 144,000 miles. Looks better thsn a new one and is cleaner.

Report Abuse

Great truck

best truck ever, 04/18/2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Excellent truck, the women always love it. Very sexy (black with silver stripes). Runs like a Dodge, and keeps on running. I'm selling it only because of the price of gasoline (she can't help it if she loves to chug, it's how she was built!)

Report Abuse

Reliable, good looks, fun to drive

MeanBlueDodge, 04/26/2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I thought it would be good to give a review after 6+ months of owning a 1997 Dodge Laramie SLT SB 4WD pickup. I bought it with 182K and now have about 188K. It has been reliable, I did have to replace tie rod ends & track bar (PA inspection), but it has a 3" lift and I don't know the past history-so no complaints. What has impressed me is no rust (Northeast is tough on trucks), paint looks still shiny, interior needed a good cleaning but I'll be installing a new headliner and mat for the floor. I used to own a Ford F150 w/a little higher mileage (205K) but the tranny was shot and it rusting fast. Ram ++Great looks, +comfortable. Motor is real quiet,(not like the Ford)-gas mpg 16/13-just OK ;/

Report Abuse

love the truck

Ken , 03/31/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Had lots of good luck, I do lots of off road work and this truck does it all. Better construction and design then Ford or Chev. Lots of power.

Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050