2019 Dodge Challenger Coupe Consumer Reviews

MSRP Starting at
$27,845

Save as much as $7,517
Select your model:

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

First time challenger owner

Brandon Schuld, 07/14/2019
SXT 2dr Coupe (3.6L 6cyl 8A)
15 of 16 people found this review helpful

I was able to get out of an old junker Into a beautiful certified 2019 sxt challenger. People have made fun of me for saving some money and getting an sxt but, I really enjoy the ride the gas mileage (17.8 avg) for me is great. It's not loud at all unless u really punch it but I didn't buy it to race. Being a young parent too it's very roomy and very easy to put a car seat in unlike most other muscle cars I was looking at. The entertainment features are overall good I like the size of the screen the Bluetooth is very smooth and easy to understand. One lacking feature I have to say is no nav at least on mine kinda is a let down considering there is a "compass" button like I really want my whole screen to be a silly compass. The speakers it comes with are very nice as a bass/sub enthusiast they sound very good from the start. The seats are comfy and have a cool design to them. Trunk space is really good too fits pretty much any kinda grocery bags or items within reason. I think on of my favorite thing about the car is the dash, the gauges look amazing! Whoever is in charge of the redesign they got on the interior a few years ago deserves a raise. Overall I'm very happy with my new car and in a few years I'll upgrade to the rt or scat pack but if your a young guy or girl lookin to get a challenger but can't afford the rt or scat pack there is no shame in the sxt it's a great vehicle, besides it's not like 23 year old me with a 1 year old is gonna be racing anyone around nj. Id recommend this vehicle to anyone.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Running in the SNOW it was better than my JEEP!

Beignet at the Beach, 04/29/2019
GT 2dr Coupe AWD (3.6L 6cyl 8A)
19 of 22 people found this review helpful

I've driven several variants , and I really like the all wheel drive GT version with the 8 speed ZF automatic and the V6 pentastar engine. On the mountain twistys in VA & WVA it was outstanding . Quite a confidence builder for my long trip. A convertible version of this platform would be a MUST BUY for me. How about it FCA?

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Report Abuse

JAG

JAG, 11/04/2018
R/T 2dr Coupe (5.7L 8cyl 6M)
21 of 26 people found this review helpful

Love this car !

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse
Ad
Build Your Challenger

Car is magnificent

David Boyles, 06/06/2019
R/T 2dr Coupe (5.7L 8cyl 6M)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

The car is magnificent was Flawless inside and out and was a steal at the price that's why I bought it! I couldn't have asked for a nicer car at the price!

Performance
Comfort
Report Abuse

Great car for the 60 year old crowd

LongDog, 09/25/2019
R/T 2dr Coupe (5.7L 8cyl 6M)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

To start off, I'm 63, and had just got off a 3 year lease on a 2015 Ram Big Horn, with a Hemi. I loved that truck, and would of got another, but this time, I figured this may be my "last stand". I ordered the 2019 Challenger R/T, with the 8 speed auto, R/T classic option, spare tire, in Go Mango. The classic R/T stripe really makes the car stand out. Got it in March, and after 5000 miles, we love the car. The 5.7 Hemi, to me, is just enough power for overall driving. For a car with this weight it handles great. The Uconnect system, and Apple Carplay work great. With only these 3 options, we paid a little under $36K (Sticker was $39.500) For that price, and what you get, and what it does, you can't go wrong. My brother in law had a 2019 Mustang GT. Yes, he can walk over me with it, but after he drove my Challenger, he said he was sorry he didn't even look at a Challenger. Again, if you want a car that can get out of it's way, for a reasonable price, this is the car for you.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

My 3rd Challenger - I wouldn't drive anything else

Robert Plank, 04/28/2020
SXT 2dr Coupe AWD (3.6L 6cyl 8A)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I have driven Challengers for 10 years. In order to get all the options I wanted, I did a custom factory order. This time around, I got the All Wheel Drive version. It makes it much better to drive, year round. I have the Octane Red. I wouldn't change a thing. The only downside with the AWD is that you can't have both AWD and launch control.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

It's All About The Rumble

Browneye, 09/20/2019
R/T 2dr Coupe (5.7L 8cyl 6M)
4 of 5 people found this review helpful

Out of nearly 50 vehicles in my driving history I've never owned a CAR with a V8 engine. Trucks sure, and some hot rod cars over the years, but my 2019 destroyer gray R/T is my first V8 car. Oh man, it is a hoot. So basically you buy a really cool motor and chassis and get a really nice car thrown in. And what a bargain it is. I skipped the $2500-plus for their big screen nav and upgraded sound system, went with the stock 'U-Connect' apple car-play interface instead. My iPhone connects seamlessly and the sound is remarkable good for a stock radio. The user interface is excellent. The car gets as good as my 4-cyl pickup for mileage - who'da thunk?? And ride is excellent, firm but comfortable. Supposedly the younger crowd (reads: more reckless) buy the camaro and mustang, so their insurance ratings make for much higher premiums - mine is the same as my 4-cyl truck again. This thing is a win-win-win all around. Could not be any happier.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

What's that color?

Oh... That Guy, 11/25/2019
SXT 2dr Coupe AWD (3.6L 6cyl 8A)
2 of 3 people found this review helpful

Love the Destroyer Grey even more, now that I have it. It even looks clean even when it's dirty. I keep getting questions about "what color is that?" and how much people love the color. So I'm pretty happy with the color choice. As for the real reason I bought this car was because it's roomy. In fact that was the deciding factor to buy this over a Camaro. You can sit a car seat in the back and have room for 2 others in the back. That's of course people that aren't that tall. The trunk space is fantastic too. I umpire and the trunk can fit all my gear plus extra stuff. Essentially it was about the looks and space. Also, being a cheap guy I picked the SXT. This was a really hard choice too. I got crap from family and friends for choosing the SXT over any of the V8's. I figured this much though. I can fix it up to look like any challenger but the wide body and pay thousands less. Plus I get 30 per gallon and pay less per fill up because I don't need to buy premium gas. So while I get complements on the car, family say but it's a V6. Good thing my goal is only to impress me. So if you can't deal with that, get a V8, but for me I'm pretty happy with fixing up my new toy that gives me 30 per gallon. However, there are 2 things that aren't great about this vehicle. Otherwise it would be 5 stars. 1) The gap space between the tires and fender. It's a 3 inch gap with 20 inch rims. So I have to get it dropped. 2) The sound from the muffler sucks (SXT only). Now I have to get a Flow Master to fix that. I'm not that guy who sits in my garage revving my engine to make to neighbors look as me, but I do like to hear that deep sound on start up and when I'm punching it just to hop on the freeway or pass the drivers doing 60 in the passing lane. I get it though. They probably figured daily drivers don't want that attention. 3) Updated: Was unhappy with the The 7 inch Uconnect Radio because it doesn't have GPS like the 8.4 NAV. However when you plug in your phone you can access your google maps and other android apps. So I'm extremely happy I don't need to spend $1500 for a new radio. So 4.5 Stars instead of 4 stars now Still with the upgrade I'm doing, like buying the "Air Dam" (front spoiler), 20 inch rims, which I would have bought regardless since I wanted 9s in the front and 10.5s in the rear, break calipers, and the other items mentioned above; it's only about 4k +/- more. I still get 30 per gallon for life. So it's a win since I drive long distances with this car.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

SMOOTH , Amazing Gas mileage

Anthony K, 05/18/2020
SXT 2dr Coupe (3.6L 6cyl 8A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I traded my economy car for a 2019 SXT. Don't let the v6 worry you, it still has plenty of power, averaging 23 mpg, thats with the occasional slam of the gas pedal to hit 100 mph. 0-60 in 5.9 seconds. Top speed of 140 before the governor kicks in. The engine is louder then the exhaust but thats an easy fix, Flowmaster Super 10s and resonator delete. Plenty of room in this car. RIDES LIKE A DREAM. Only downside is the feel of loss of power and somewhat hesitation the v6 has going up hills. Yes I know its a hill. But the you can feel it. Other then that amazing car, opt for a v8 if you can afford it, power to cash ratio. Get a V6

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Challenger star

sfcstevens, 09/16/2019
GT 2dr Coupe (3.6L 6cyl 8A)
2 of 7 people found this review helpful

The V-6 is nice but it would be much better with a V-8 for almost the same price. Other wise the price for a V-8 is a little high for 2 more cylinders.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

2019 Challenger R/T window issue

KD, 09/02/2019
R/T 2dr Coupe (5.7L 8cyl 6M)
6 of 39 people found this review helpful

Brand new 2019 Challenger R/T Hemi with 8 speed auto with only150 miles and driver window stuck and no power!! Search youtube and found a solution to recalibrate the window stuck position. Had to restart car a few times to get driver door to work again. It's under warranty but a new car shouldn't have these issues with 150 miles on it. Got a hunch there will be other issues with this car. No more Dodge products for me!! Going to stick with Lexus, Toyota and Honda.

Report Abuse

Great Value without sacrifice!

Dennis Spinella, 09/06/2019
R/T 2dr Coupe (5.7L 8cyl 6M)
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

This RT hemi has it all.....from an excellent ride, indoor comfort and speed to spare. It also has a WOW factor with the side stripes, spoiler and black wheels.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

More than expected

Violet M, 03/13/2020
GT 2dr Coupe AWD (3.6L 6cyl 8A)
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Perfect for 2 not roomie at all in the back but i was aware before buying so I have no problem with that it feels super stable and solid definitely a good muscle car!!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

smiles per gallon did it for me....

Larry Muirhead, 10/20/2019
R/T 2dr Coupe (5.7L 8cyl 6M)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have the R/T and love it. So many people that have had performance cars in the past need to at least take a test drive. The sound it makes is a big part of the fun. Nearly 400 Ft Lbs of tourqe is the rest of the icing. Total blast and worth every penny.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Report Abuse

Great car

O.K., 11/09/2019
R/T 2dr Coupe (5.7L 8cyl 6M)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I've had this car for a few years now, and have loved it for as far as I can remember.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

2019 MCNASTY CHALLENGER R/T

Mark vero beach, 11/23/2019
R/T 2dr Coupe (5.7L 8cyl 6M)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Amazing car AWSOME power and so many different trims or packages there is one for everyone this is my wife’s daily driver I will be buying another next year for myself but I will be getting scat pack just to one up my wife

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

R/T

Challenger , 02/21/2020
R/T 2dr Coupe (5.7L 8cyl 6M)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Before buying this car just know you will have a whole lot of fun with it and remember smiles per miles this is a great car even though its a v8 its pretty fair on gas and you will get a whole lot of attention just by the looks of the car and on how great the car sounds while you're at a stop and its idling or when you're on the gas overall this car is a 10/10 in my book!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Nice

Nice, 05/15/2020
SXT 2dr Coupe AWD (3.6L 6cyl 8A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Rides nice Handles nice Great car

Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050