Used 2005 Chrysler Pacifica Wagon Consumer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
325 reviews
List Price Estimate
$1,897 - $4,333

Used Pacifica for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale
12345...33

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons
4 out of 5 stars

Family Truckster Update

Andrew, 03/26/2016
Fwd 4dr Wagon (3.8L 6cyl 4A)
87 of 88 people found this review helpful

We bought new in 2005. We now have over 165,000 miles on the vehicle - and it is going strong. I must admit I was VERY nervous to buy this vehicle. The engine and transmission have been flawless on this vehicle. The one weakspot was motor mounts - replace 4 times! (but its a cheap fix). At 100K I replaced timing belt, struts, cv joints, and alternator (due to squeaky pully). We had to get a whole new exhaust at 130K. The car has been with us through kids elementary/middle/high school, and has been good to move the kids in/out of college. We even did a paper route with this car for 2 years. I'd say we got our money out of this car. We replaced control arms as a preventative measure this year, and the other remaining issue is the the engine subframe rust issue on these cars. In our case, I have been applying coatings to the affected areas - and keeping my eye on the rust progress. My take on this ownership experience is that with proper maintenance you can even keep a Chrysler (any car) going for a very long time. Update 09/28/2016: The Pacifica is still running strong with over 183,000 miles on the odometer. At around 165,000 miles we decided to replace the o-rings between the engine timing cover and the cast iron block due to a small coolant leak from the water pump passages. Since this work involved much disassembly, we decided to replace spark plugs, fuel injectors, water pump, timing belt, intake manifold gaskets, valve cover gaskets, all hoses, and the radiator. Since this work was DIY, labor cost wasn't a factor, and the cost of the parts was only around $800. We also needed to replace a rusty front subframe this year in order to pass Pennsylvania's safety inspection. We were able to buy a rust free subframe from salvage in GA. Total cost for replacement including our mechanic installation of 4 hrs was right around $1000. With replacement vehicles of similar size and feature costing over $30,000, we believe these repairs were well worth the money spent, and hope to enjoy another few years of ownership. Update 9/28/2017: Just went over 200k ... And still rolling with the original engine and transmission. The car is running great, but I do expect some upcoming maintenance on CV axles and possibly front bearings. Something is making noise ... And it doesn't seem to be the tires. Nothing is holding us back... Still taking long trips... But keeping a way eye on these maintenance items.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
4 out of 5 stars
Value
4 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

128,000 miles NO Problems

ckuhn55, 11/20/2012
Touring AWD 4dr Wagon (3.5L 6cyl 4A)
16 of 16 people found this review helpful

Bought in June 2005 in New Jersey, and only major expense has been catalytic converter needed to be replace. Just change my oil every 5,000 otherwise no problems. Driven across the USA from Boston to San Francisco twice. Thats 4 trips at 3000 each way. Gas mileage 23 hw 18 (all wheel drive) city. Note: cracked alum tire rim parking, need to replace full rim, very difficult to find. Car is discontinued, so premium for replacement approx $285. Still searching for better price new or used. Great car

Report Abuse
4.25 out of 5 stars

Nicest car I have ever owned

Brian, 07/24/2005
AWD 4dr Wagon (3.5L 6cyl 4A)
14 of 14 people found this review helpful

This is a greate vehicle. It has a very quiet ride, very smooth, and feels very stable (5in off the ground). I knew it would suck gas, but 21mpg on the highway, I think they can do better. Although it does weigh in over 4700 lbs. Highly recommend, great family mover, tons of cargo space with bench seat down.

Report Abuse

3.38 out of 5 stars

From heaven to lemon. [MUST READ]

jonvincent, 04/03/2015
Touring Fwd 4dr Wagon (3.5L 6cyl 4A)
40 of 47 people found this review helpful

1.Has great acceleration from dead start, quickly pickups speed from 50 to 100kmph for a heavy vehicle with a 3.5L engine. 2.If you worry about room, don't bother. This vehicle has enough room to seat your whole family or even turn into a mobile sleeping quarters. 3. A little pricey considering the poor fuel economy, well known transmission and computer issues which I have experienced all of. 4. Fun to drive, and easy to handle, maneuvering through all sorts of terrain and never leaving me stranded. 5. For an older vehicle the interior has a modern design to it, even better than most cars these days. Transmission broke down on highway, computer went a month later and more...

Report Abuse

4 out of 5 stars

Good family vehicle

Sasha D, 02/06/2016
Fwd 4dr Wagon (3.8L 6cyl 4A)
11 of 12 people found this review helpful

I purchased this car used at around 130,xxx miles and have driven it for 10 months, I had to replace alternator at around 148,xxx miles but I haven't had any major problems other than that. Car is safe and reliable.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
3 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Value
4 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
4.75 out of 5 stars

Great car, excellent for touring

lbsunshine, 01/05/2012
Touring Fwd 4dr Wagon (3.5L 6cyl 4A)
18 of 21 people found this review helpful

We purchased our Pacifica in 2006 with 30K miles. It now has 118K. This has been a great car to drive. Our longest trip was from Southern California to Mt Rushmore. It has been super reliable and practically maintenance free. The comfort can't be beat. We change the oil every 3k or so miles and all has been fine. We had the brakes and the oil pan gasket changed. We are a family of three so storage isn't a problem. Our son, though about 5'6" still sits in the third row of seats. My only complaint are the blind spot on the drivers side due to the rear end being so wide and the noise when the back windows are down. Chrysler should put it back into production.

Report Abuse
4.38 out of 5 stars

Excellent car with one issue

rudi4you, 12/07/2014
Touring Fwd 4dr Wagon (3.5L 6cyl 4A)
14 of 16 people found this review helpful

It was our dream! We loved this car over 4 years and almost 130000Miles! The only big issue we had - a motor exodus by 75000miles. No help from Chrysler (they want to replace the engine around $6500!) I bought a used from a scrap metal dealer and a local shop changed the engine. And we was happy again.

Report Abuse
4 out of 5 stars

Warning if you purchase

aheflin, 07/29/2014
Touring AWD 4dr Wagon (3.5L 6cyl 4A)
17 of 20 people found this review helpful

We fell in love with our Pacifica when we first got and would probably still love it if we did not keep having issues with it. First it was in the shop, free of charge, for most of the first 30 days we had it. The check engine light came kept coming on every 3 days after we bought it. After that we put in a new alternator. Now it needs new tie rods and ball joints. I was told we did not buy a lemon but a bad make/model. I am now trying to decide if we should put more money into it or buy a better make/model. I was told that the next issues could be struts and transmission. Oh, and the electronic seats and passenger air bag are messed up due to a one time change in positions.

Report Abuse
4.25 out of 5 stars

My Pacifica

Tom, 06/28/2005
AWD 4dr Wagon (3.5L 6cyl 4A)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

The Chrysler Pacifica is really the only car that I considered buying when I began looking for a new one. It has great style, comfort, room and interior layout. My only complaint is the mileage compared to the EPA ratings. Not even close and I'm definately not over accelerating this car. Aside from that, it's a great car. I would recommend it to anyone but when asked what I don't like, I always mention the mileage. With gas prices at current levels, it's not a cheap car to run.

Report Abuse
3.25 out of 5 stars

Don't Believe the Hype!!!

patronabk, 06/04/2011
Touring Fwd 4dr Wagon (3.5L 6cyl 4A)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

We purchased a 2005 Pacifica in '07 seeking a car with a sleek exterior design, ample space for three children, durability, and good gas mileage. Unfortunately, the vehicle only met 2 out of 4 of our expectations. Though the first 2 1/2 yrs were trouble free, the remaining 2 have been horrendous! Despite performing regular maintenance, we've had to repair/replace sensors, valves, hoses, batteries, and the entire break system. Right now, the car is in the driveway in need of a new transmission...and it's only 6 years old! I beg you to save yourselves the trouble! Do not purchase this car! You will regret it in the long run. :'0(

Report Abuse
12345...33
Items per page:
51050