Used 2018 Chevrolet Malibu Sedan Consumer Reviews

List Price Range
$12,577 - $22,300

Used Malibu for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Short & to the point

Vinnie, 08/22/2017
LS 4dr Sedan (1.5L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
69 of 70 people found this review helpful

I traded my '14 for an '18, total redesign, much more roomier... especially in the back seat. Here's the rundown: Pros: It's roomy and comfortable, gives a smooth, quiet ride, has plenty of room in the back seat and trunk, has the features you need on the LS model...without the stuff you don't need ( example:. It has tilt and telescoping wheel, back up camera, OnStar, Bluetooth, internet access, USB ports), Android Auto, auto stop feature, push button start, 6-way adjustable seats, great mileage....so far, averaging 45 MPG. Yes. 45. Cons:. Base engine built for economy, not speed---you won't be winning any red light races, no glove box light, cubbies are weirdly shaped, telescoping wheel does not come out far enough, cup holders small and not adjustable, no vanity mirror lights, no rub strip trim along the doors--- car will get dings easily. Minor stuff, but overall, I highly recommend this car, especially for what you get for the price.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Just NO!

Leah, 07/29/2019
LT 4dr Sedan (1.5L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
30 of 30 people found this review helpful

This will be my third Malibu. I had an 08, 15 now an 18. I bought the 08 used. Had it about 8 years drove it into the ground but never had one problem with that car till the end. The 15 was by far my favorite. Bought it new. no issues 80k miles when I had to give it back (lease). NO ISSUES!!! 18' worst decision I've ever made. The technology on this car is a FAR step back from the 15. Have had it just under 5 months and it's at the dealer for mechanical issues. Apparently we are not the only ones having the acceleration issue on this vehicle. No warning lights to indicate a problem so all we get is we can't duplicate your concern and there's no lights to tell us something is wrong. When you can't accelerate your vehicle on a merge Lane into a highway which I have to do to get to work daily...that's a major hazard. It's not lawn mower engine as one would think, it literally drops out as no gas is being sent to the engine. Would love to know what's actually wrong with all these cars that is having this same problem and would love GM to acknowledge our issues

Report Abuse

Traction Control and Check engine light

BKG Kirkwood, 01/29/2019
LT 4dr Sedan (1.5L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
37 of 41 people found this review helpful

Caution with this car -- When the Traction Control is activated , the screen shows a notice of " ENGINE POWER IS REDUCED". When it states REDUCED it means that you are in a lower than Low Gear and cannot accelerate above 10-15 miles per hour. You have to pull over, turn off motor for 15 to 30 seconds to get out of this driving mode. Then the check engine symbol comes on for 24 hours and will reset and disappear if nothing is wrong. True experience -- I turned right onto a fwy ramp and the Traction Control kicked in ( for no reason). I am in low-low gear on the ramp, cars behind me and cannot go faster then 15 mph. Entered fwy slow and almost had an encounter with an 18 wheeler before I could pull onto the fwy shoulder , turn off motor so the system could reset. Also, major issue with the rear braking mechanisms . Noisy and there is a lag time after I remove my foot from the brake pedal. This is such an attractive car , inside and out, but cannot be in my barn.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Report Abuse

Car is a Lemon!!!

Antoine King, 08/19/2019
LS 4dr Sedan (1.5L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
9 of 9 people found this review helpful

Car is going to get someone killed. Car just stalls out whenever it wants. No warning lights no nothing. You go to step on the gas and nothing happens. Happened a few times I was like maybe it’s just breaking in. The more I drive it the worse the problem gets. Then the car loses power all over sometimes when you stop the air goes down really low. Or if I’m on the phone the air goes down I have to manually turn the air back up after I have started sweating from realizing what happened to the air. Car is embarrassing and needs to be recalled. Car is very dangerous. Taking it to the dealer until they can duplicate the problem because I have had plenty of cars and never no car as bad as this one and I brought it brand new it has 22k on it now. Drives like it has 200k like it’s going to die any minute. Something has to be done about this car!!!!!!! What to put 0 stars but it won’t allow me to so I’ll just pick the 1!!!!!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Dangerous in traffic!

Steve, 03/27/2019
LT 4dr Sedan (1.5L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
16 of 18 people found this review helpful

Nice looking, comfortable, roomy, well laid out, handles nicely but ..... dangerous in traffic. Throttle response is inconsistent - more lag than turbo. Flat acceleration until well over 2k rpms. When trying to make a quick lane change in Chicago rush hour traffic I mashed the accelerator and .... nothing! The squirrels forgot to get up on the treadmill for a good 2-3 seconds, which is a lot when you're trying to jump into the off ramp lane I. Chicago rush hour. Haven't seen worse throttle response since I drove a 69 VW Bus 40 years ago. Fine on the interstate but even then huff's and puffs to maintain 75 on even the mild slopes. Superior to similar imports in every way but power and mileage - that sucks as well. 25 mpg from an underpowered sedan is underwhelming.

Safety
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Report Abuse

Beyond Happy

Lisa, 08/29/2018
LT 4dr Sedan (1.5L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
11 of 13 people found this review helpful

I never thought I would enjoy a sedan. But I am loving my new 2018 Malibu. Very roomy and stylish. My 6’4 son sits very comfortable in both front and back seat. Entertainment system ROCKS!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Value
Report Abuse

Love my Malibu!

Patricia Karan, 10/26/2018
LT 4dr Sedan (1.5L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
12 of 15 people found this review helpful

Its like hittin the EASY button! Everything where I need it to be, works as advertised, sporty, great gas mileage, love the stereo & I'm a hard rock junky. The car is better than my Benz without the $$$ and maintenance nightmares! LOVE it!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

POS!!! DON'T BUY IT!!

S. Anderson, 03/10/2019
LT 4dr Sedan (1.5L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
12 of 15 people found this review helpful

The car looks awesome! Has some great features that helps a single mom. The price was very affordable. Brought with 33,000 miles. I have only had it for 2 months now it's going into limp mode! The message says Reducing power to engine! I joined the fb Malibu group just to see what others have to say. Basically problems start around 35,000 miles if you lucky to get past 15,000!! Also the value has dropped tremendously!! Pos!!

Performance
Interior
Comfort
Report Abuse

DANGEROUS CAR!

Jean Gutierrez, 09/12/2019
LT 4dr Sedan (1.5L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

Do not risk your life or your passengers' buying a 2018 Malibu, or any Chevy. With no warning at all my check engine light and traction lights came on and I could not go more than 20 miles an hour! I could have been killed or caused a vehicle pile up. Unknown to me, this is a widespread Chevy defect. I dread driving this car.

Report Abuse

Giving Chevy a try again !!!

TJ, 04/26/2018
LT 4dr Sedan (1.5L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
11 of 15 people found this review helpful

No snow so have not tested , transmission jerky at times when slowing , start/stop takes getting use to (not sure it can be turned off ... comfort / ride & room awesome ... blue-tooth connects quickly , radio has good sound , ... AC works great but vents could be better placed. Loving it so far but too early to see if it holds up the way a Chevy used to (I hope so) Grew up a Chevy guy so excited to give therm a try again ... Overall Happy with my purchase.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050