Used 2002 Acura TL Sedan Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$1,428 - $3,423

Used TL for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale
12345...6

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Great Car if you like 65,000 mile transmissions

P. Gerald, 09/01/2015
3.2 4dr Sedan (3.2L 6cyl 5A)
9 of 9 people found this review helpful

Just don't buy one unless you like buying a transmission from Honda for $2500 every 65, 000 miles. No kidding. Honda set up a plant and sell you one for $2500 when the transmission goes out every 65,000 miles instead of fixing the design problems. Otherwise it's a great driver's car.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Love my Ac-Rite

James C, 03/21/2016
3.2 4dr Sedan (3.2L 6cyl 5A)
10 of 13 people found this review helpful

This Acura TL is what put Acura's ability to make luxurious sporty mid sized sedan's on the front burner of every car review outlet. I mean, the 3.2 VTEC V6 that comes standard is LITERALLY bullet proof. Check the internet for em, wait..don't. Because no one needs em. Why? This thing was mechanical engineering genius. The car is stupid smooth and quiet on the inside. Helluva travel car. Have taken it all across the west coast and for good reason. The technology is what one would expect for an '02, but man does she shine when you ride. I get compliments almost everyday for how it drives and purs...and she is up to the 174k MILE MARK! On stock engine, STOCK TRANSMISSION, and up till a few thousand miles ago stock radiator. This car is my first car that my parents gave me and even though she takes a beating, I can't trade her in. Why? Because it can take turns at 40+ like Miata, accelerates with the current muscle cars (seriously), and rolls past Lexus owners and laugh. The stock sound system is BOSE and straight bumps, as a teenager this is huge! I love my Ac-Rite. People don't understand; treat any car with regular oil changes, fluid flushes (INCLUDING TRANNY FLUID), and constant monitoring...anything will take you far. But we bought this with about 30k on the dash, and at first we didn't care for it. But once I got it, I drove it constantly in manual (speed stick, speed slot), keep it below 6k revs, and gave SYNTHETIC oil changes every 4,000 or so and it'll run. Why? Because ACURA's are Honda's and they are built fantastically.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Title? ? GARBAGE

Willie Hopkins, 11/16/2015
3.2 4dr Sedan (3.2L 6cyl 5A)
7 of 9 people found this review helpful

Do not buy this car, don't even think about it, if you want something sporty and luxurious go for Lexus Honda/Acura will never have my business again, this car is on its 5th transmission and I refuse to get it replaced again the car is known for its transmission problems and recalls the car has been wrecked once due to the cars bad transmission at 75mph it dropped into 1st gear and all the tires locked I spun off the road and had to get towed that was when I was told I'd need my 5th transmission 5 thousand miles in and its already sliiping and locking. Save yourself some trouble and never buy an Acura or a Honda this is dangerous and outrageous especially the fact that the company will only replace your transmission with one that has previously failed after usually giving you the run-a-round this is the worst purchase I have ever made and I advise any buyer to do research on this car before you buy it. It's awesome if you want to replace a transmission every 40-40k miles cheap interior,boring styling but to each his own I suppose have fun. You might get more use out of it as a yard ornimant because it probably wont leave your driveway one day!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

I want a new Acura TL just like my 2002

DGF, 08/29/2015
3.2 4dr Sedan (3.2L 6cyl 5A)
5 of 6 people found this review helpful

My 2002 Acura TL has 178,000 miles on it and still drives lovely and everything still works. The only 3 items I have replaced are the heater in 2015, one tail light, and the rear view mirrror. And of course oil, tires, brakes, timing belt, all those maintenance things. I did buy a new vehicle for peace of mind (Lincoln MKX) but I still drive the Acura the most. I thought my 6 disk CD player was broken and I was sad, but when the battery was disconnected and reconnected the CD player miraculously started working again. It is sometimes almost impossible to reprogram the radio after the battery has been disconnected, you have to try over and over and over and over and never give up. Try it on different days after you have driven it around.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

A great car that improves with age

BMW Enthusiast, 07/17/2008
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

We have had the 2002 Acura now for 6 years and the darned thing looks and performs exactly as if it had just pulled out of the dealership. It has always been a surprisingly nimble car, great handling, nice acceleration when you need it; but what's most remarkable is how well it has aged. Still feels like new. Never a single mechanical issue. Rock solid quality. I originally got it for the value and it has more than delivered. It's made me an Acura fan.

Report Abuse

Excellent performance, reliability & style

Carlos Valentin, 08/18/2005
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

This car has always the one of my dreams for long years. I had owned it for about 3 months now, completely certified & everybody thinks it's brand new. It's an excellent car, excellent performance and incredible features with top of the line technology. It's everything anybody could want in a near-luxury car. On the highway, it just glides... driving it's just a pleasurable experience by itself. The Bose 6 disc in-dash system just blows my mind with is beautiful sound quality. I feel so safe because its drivebility is amazing. Leather heated seats, automatic sun-roof, and the anti-theft system... everybody that has been in it has fallen in love with it and I couldn't be more satisfied.

Report Abuse

Nice car to own

tst32tl, 09/15/2006
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Own this car for 5 years and it never had any major problems (except the transmission recall, and they automatically provide extended warranty to 100,000 mi no charge). Very comfortable and nice. Probably will buy the same car when ready to get my next car.

Report Abuse

Great car-bad trans.

Jeff, 08/25/2015
3.2 4dr Sedan (3.2L 6cyl 5A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Factor 2,500 into the cost of a major transmission rebuild at an independent shop if the car is past the warranty (5,000 at the dealer). It's a matter of when not if this will be needed. My original transmission failed at 30,000 (covered by warranty at no cost) and the replacement failed after 73,000 and American Honda would not help with the cost at all. Hope their new cars are better, I'm not going to take the chance. Time to try another manufacturer.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Transmission Whiplash 2002 TL

fixerupper, 02/10/2002
2 of 4 people found this review helpful

Major problem. Transmission hesitates then engages first gear very abruptly. Happens from a dead stop or when slowing down and speeding up. There is a very noticable delay from the time I start accelerating till the car goes hard into motion. After 5 trips to the dealer, and being told that they can not find the problem or thats the way it is supposed to work I am going back and demand at least a new trany. My first couple weeks driving this thing I developed a serious stiff neck.

Report Abuse

Great Sporty Sedan

JS, 06/06/2008
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I picked up my 02 TL in Florida and drove it up to Minnesota about 64,000 miles ago. I now have 112,000 miles on it and it still drives just as nice. I just put in a timing belt, brakes, rotors, crossover cooling line. Acura gave me a 100,000 mi. warranty on the transmission since there were issues with a select few. The only thing I notice is that there sometimes is some hesitation when shifting into D5. You have to wait 1-2 seconds before applying the gas. Great fuel mileage. 26-28 city / 28-31 hwy. Record trip was made with a 34 mpg tank.

Report Abuse
12345...6
Items per page:
51050