Skip to main content

Used 2018 Acura MDX Consumer Reviews

List Price Range
$25,284 - $40,998

Used MDX for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale
12345...10

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons
3 out of 5 stars

2018 MDX Tech..1st Acura, Has some misteps

Chris B, 06/01/2018
updated 06/04/2020
Technology Package 4dr SUV (3.5L 6cyl 9A)
42 of 43 people found this review helpful

Update: After 10,000 miles I traded in my MDX. I had to many issues with Air conditioning Compressor/ fans etc and it being in the shop for multiple days at a time For my liking. I liked the vehicle overall but reliability is questionable. Reading some other reviews I can concur with, the break clicking noise when backing up, The strange distorting haze on the passenger side while looking from the driver side of windshield and vice versa. My biggest issue is the acceleration off the line. When a light turns green and you ease on the gas, it almost does nothing, and then Jerks and accelerates hard. This is enough not to want to drive especially in areas with a lot of stop and go or lights. The dash is dated but i believe it will change to what the 2019 RDX has in 2020. Make sure to get a version with SH-AWD it makes a large difference in the driving dynamics. I still think its funny how the moon roof shade is completely manual like a base model civic from the 2000's. At this price point all things should be automated. Although i'm glad for Apple Car play, it defeats the purpose when you have to use the control knob to access the functions, seems to be one of those, well here ya go type of updates.

Safety
4 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Interior
3 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
2 out of 5 stars
Value
3 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

3 out of 5 stars

Blurry windshield

SS, 02/14/2018
4dr SUV (3.5L 6cyl 9A)
53 of 56 people found this review helpful

There is a problem with the passenger front windshield. It's blurry along the edge and hard to look out especially to check for on coming traffic from the right side. Brought it in to the dealership, the district manager checked it, and noted all the other 2018's have the same issue, but said nothing could be done. It is a hazard to drive and see properly out that window. There service department took photos and agreed there is a problem. Now I am stuck driving this car for the next 3 years knowing that an accident could happen due to the defect that they won't correct.

Safety
4 out of 5 stars
Technology
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
4 out of 5 stars
Value
4 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
4 out of 5 stars

Base SHAWD Bang for the Buck!

Leo, 02/16/2018
SH-AWD 4dr SUV AWD (3.5L 6cyl 9A)
57 of 63 people found this review helpful

After researching, haggling, test driving, and repeating this process, we ended up with the 2018 MdX Base with SH AWD. So here's the deal, after test driving all the trim levels, I decided on the base model. Reason being, it comes with all the options that you will ever need. The tech package is advantageous if you REALLY need the blind spot monitor. However this car is very easy to drive/switch lanes and is proportioned very well. And keep in mind, tech package adds a pretty penny to the purchase price. I had the new body X5 but was paying an arm and leg in lease payments so immediately got rid of it, meanwhile the MDX has more options and is half the price. But going back to the car, it drives well, size is relatively small thus making it easy to drive for smaller statured people, has great utility, and actually fun to drive so long as you have the SHAWD. The only drawback is the infotainment system. However, with the 2018's having apple carplay, it makes it bearable. The shifter is annoying in the beginning, but easy to get used to. The Infiniti QX60 is probably the only viable competitor but to get standard options with AWD that you get in the mdx , it will drive up the price significantly. Added bonus is you get a fleet of standard safety and driver aid options with the base. If youre in the market, just go with the base model with SHAWD. Youre welcome!

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

4 out of 5 stars

Too Many Intermittent Issues

Gary Baker, 08/26/2018
updated 03/08/2021
Sport Hybrid SH-AWD 4dr SUV AWD w/Advance Package (3.0L 6cyl gas/electric hybrid 7AM)
31 of 35 people found this review helpful

2018 Acura MDX Sport Hybrid, Advanced Package Review We took delivery of the vehicle in April 2018, and have had numerous problems with the vehicle since we bought it. The advance package has the seat, steering wheel, and outside mirrors memory positioning system. Intermittently, the steering wheel does not return to the memory position of the driver. It stays all the way up, which is the exit vehicle position. I have an open report with Acura Client Relations. I've had the vehicle at the dealer four times to correct the problem, but they say they cannot duplicate the issue. On the fourth visit, the vehicle malfunctioned while the service writer was present, but the dealership still contended they could not confirm the issue. Ultimately, they said Honda knows the issue is present, but in their opinion, it only malfunctions when both keys are present. My response was that it seems unusual that Honda knowingly has a malfunction in their system, but chooses to ignore it. Just to be clear, the issue happens whether both keys are present or whether only one key is present. For some reason, Acura changed the way they receive traffic information for their vehicles. Acura now uses HD Radio signals to receive traffic information for the 2018 MDX. I would assume Acura uses HD Radio signals for all their vehicles. The problem is, unless you're in a major metropolitan area, you do not get traffic information. As a result, when you are driving in heavy traffic, the navigation does not reroute you around heavy traffic. I have a 2016 Acura RDX, and the traffic flow works fine. I believe Acura used to use some sort of satellite signals to receive the information, but for some reason changed to HD Radio signals. Whatever happened to "if it isn't broke, don't fix it"! I've had multiple other intermittent issues with the vehicle as well. Sometimes I have to press the Reverse button several times before the car actually shifts into gear. When accelerating normally, the transmission seems to stay in lower gears for a long time, and the engine stays at 3,500 to 4,000 RPM, even though you are at a constant speed. For some reason, I started getting between 16 and 17 mpg, which is what prompted my inquiring about the proper operation of the climate control system. Then all of a sudden, I started getting what I was accustomed to seeing. Acura Owners Manuals are horrible. Because of the drastic mpg variance, I've been trying to figure out the Climate Control system. I have had open dialog with the salesman who sold me the car for over a month. Apparently Acura sales and technical personnel don't know how the climate control system works either. No one has contacted me with some sort of information for over a month. The MDX Sport Hybrid is actually a nice car. Very quiet and smooth riding. Their estimated fuel efficiency is a little off though. I can get about 25 mpg on the highway, and around 21 mpg city. Overall I get about 22 mpg. We traded in our 2010 Lexus 450H, which is a Hybrid as well, for the MDX. We got around 30 mpg highway and 23 city with the Lexus, and overall we got 25 mpg from the day we bought it until we traded it in. The open case with their Client Relations has been a challenge since I opened it five weeks ago, July 17th. From July 19th until July 25th, I left voicemail messages on the case managers direct line, and never got a call back. When she finally did call me back July 25th, she claimed she never received any of my messages. Apparently their phone system at Honda also has intermittent problems. When last I talked to the case manager on August 8th, she told me she would be back in touch with me by August 10th. That is the last I've heard from her, and today is August 26th. I guess it must be another intermittent problem. It's hard for me to understand why Honda/Acura has such lousy customer service. Starting with their sales staff, to their service department, right up to their Client Relations. When you spend $60,000.00 for a luxury vehicle, I would think the manufacture would be more concerned about their customers.

Safety
4 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
4 out of 5 stars
Value
4 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

4 out of 5 stars

Updated Review After 2 years of Ownership

David S., 01/03/2018
updated 01/06/2020
Technology Package 4dr SUV (3.5L 6cyl 9A)
41 of 47 people found this review helpful

After owning a few of these MDXs, this one is the worst! My wife loves this one but I really hate all the different buttons you have to push or slide to engage everything. I hate the way the locks unlock when you walk by the car if you have your key fob on you and it does NOT lock itself back! It should only unlock or lock when I want it too!! Lane assist is annoying because you have to keep moving the wheel or it times our VERY fast, it should just stay set! Acura Navi & voice has always sucked and it still does, Acura refuses to listen to their customers & switch to Garmin. Still needs a panoramic sun roof and heads up. The front seats do not provide enough comfort under the thigh area. This one did not come standard with all wheel drive and I really miss it but it is not worth paying the extra money they are trying to gouge you for now. Acura needs to look at how much better the rims on other MFRs look. Even the so called Acura premium wheels they up-charge for do not look that great & you should not have to pay extra to have nice wheels anyway, just put descent wheels to begin with & give us a choice of silver, black, etc. It was still the best bang for the buck and it has great utilitarian value with great layout, just wanted to point out to Acura what I want fixed or changed for the next one. If Acura would start listening to their customers and front line salesmen, they could improve in so many areas and increase sales. Our 1993 Acura Legend LS Coupe is still funner, more enjoyable, user friendly, sporty, stylish, and more comfortable than most of what they offer today and Acura really needs to find their way back. It took Acura far to long to fix the RDX. The RLX is still a dog. They ruined the TSX (we owned two) with the ugly cheap looking ILX. They did not leave any heritage in the NSX at all. Why all the no name letter meaningless prefixes?? Acura does not act on feed back and the point is proven with the bird beak error!!

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
2 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
12345...10
Items per page: