Used 1994 Volvo 850 Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$767 - $1,849

Used 850 for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale
12

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Best Car I've Ever Owned

kfluharty, 08/08/2013
10 of 10 people found this review helpful

Don't let the miles scare you when you are looking for a used Volvo. Mine had 152,000 miles on it when I bought it. Just passed 230,000 and this thing still runs and drives like a new car. She's built like a tank. Regular maintenance and the odd sensor or ball joint and this thing will run forever. FOLLOW THE VOLVO RECOMMENDED MAINTENANCE SCHEDULE!! I bought this car used 3 years ago after it was recommended by 3 different people. I have owned over 25 cars including Hondas, Toyotas, Nissans, Jeeps, a Ford, several GM products, and a BMW and this one is BY FAR the best vehicle I've ever owned. My friends kept telling me "Once you own a Volvo, you'll never own another car. They were right.

Report Abuse

A Good Car...all in all

Joe, 05/12/2010
8 of 8 people found this review helpful

has 137k, bought with 103k. Problems: - Throttle body hose, mass airflow meter, and spark plugs (about $700) at 129k - New ceramic brakes and rotors ($475) -New wiper/cruise control stock (replaced on my own at $35) Benefits: - Very comfortable car, perfect for long trips! - 26-30mpg highway - Rear seats fold flat...and passenger seat. It can sleep somebody in there!

Report Abuse

volvo 850 turbo

jamesmcsweeney, 02/15/2010
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

I have a volvo 850 turbo since 2005 and I have fond it a very comfortable car to drive it has a lot of power and with a proper tune up its very fast .its also nimble in traffic .Yes you have to put premiuim gas in it but that is a small sacrifice for the power you are getting . all in all I love this car .

Report Abuse

Great car

seashell, 10/20/2004
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

I bought the car because of the safety features. Luckily they've never been tested. The drivers seat is the most comfortable seat as was my 240. It gets decent mileage 22 to 25 (includes some highway driving). I don't like the price of the 30K service work but it's never let me down. The finish has held up great with waxing twice a year. The antenna has gotten bent in car washes and had to be replaced. I wish the new ones had as much room. I do ocassionally have to tighten the nut on the windshield washer arm. Overall it has been good to me.

Report Abuse

Take care of it & it will take care of U

Sinika, 09/18/2006
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

I bought my 850 turbo wagon brand new in 93 and have put 195,374 fun filled miles on it in the past 13 years. I have religiously maintained it as instructed by the owner's manual and have had no major problems with it. Most of the reviews Ive read about this car were given by people who bought one used and obviously did not have their mechanic look it over before purchasing. As long as you take care of this car, it will take care of you. I have changed the oil regularly and I use mobil one synthetic exclusively. The only major repairs Ive had to perform is replacing an a/c evaporator @ 132,000 miles. Other than that, Ive only had to replace the usual wear & tear items,tires,filters,etc

Report Abuse

FUN CAR! :D

brando, 04/07/2010
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

FUN TO DRIVE! VERY PRACTICAL!.......WILL LAST A LONG TIME... MINE HAS 195K.

Report Abuse

MY BEST VOLVO YET

GEORGE BICI, 07/21/2003
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

MY TURBO WAGON IS FASTER THAN ANY CAR I HAVE EVER DRIVEN. EVEN FASTER THAN MY 1997 MERCEDES E 320. ITS PROBABLY THE BEST CAR I HAVE EVER OWNED IN 55 YEARS OF DRIVING. THIS IS MY 5TH VOLVO USEED AS A FAMILY CAR

Report Abuse

Great Car

regnellie, 08/18/2004
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Purchased this car new in 94 and have loved it! Car just totaled in an accident and of course everyone in the car walked away without a scratch! We will purchase another Volvo to replace this one, a used one this time. They are such great cars we have no second thoughts about purchasing a used Volvo, our first used car. Had around 108K miles and we had not had any major repairs done to the car. The yearly service was pricey, which is my only complaint with Volvos. However, they are such reliable cars that it seems like a small matter overall. This was our second Volvo and we will probably always own as least one! Tons of trunk space.

Report Abuse

Depends on your climate

Jason, 09/01/2005
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Bought with 78K miles in 2001. Amazingly harsh and brittle ride, lack of power at low speeds, tendency to wander at high speeds, narrow tires not very confidence-inspiring. Significant body roll, squeaky but effective brakes. Had a $500 problem with it once every year. Broken down only once, when the battery decided it had had enough and wanted to explode but didn't. AC evaporator tends to fail and costs a grand to fix. This car lets in an amazing about of heat in the summer, and I live in the northeast. This car is relatively cheap to buy now, but I would only recommend it to residents of Canada who don't like driving fast and have autobahn-quality roads where they live.

Report Abuse

Best car I've ever owed

Aaron, 04/29/2016
Turbo 4dr Wagon
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

These cars are good if you have little ones there's a booster in the middle the stereo system is premium quality and if you have a dog plenty of room I drove my car all the way to Tampa and was turning heads this red wagon is a one of a kind that even stands out with Ferraris and yet you some how know you have the better car it's won over 12 car shows because of its rare and unique look

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Value
Report Abuse

Disappointed

jw, 03/11/2002
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

I'm disappointed, this car has been the most unreliable vehicle that I've ever owned. It keeps on breaking, transmission, oil leaks,radio antenna, seat heater etc. etc. etc. . Each time I've thought well thats all, but it never is. This is all in addition to the fact that I've taken it in for every scheduled maintenance.

Report Abuse

Too much maintenance cost

art hill, 08/08/2002
0 of 2 people found this review helpful

Spending over $2000 per year on repairs

Report Abuse

Ouch this is going to hurt

1971911guy, 07/14/2004
0 of 2 people found this review helpful

I bought this POS from a family member working at a dealership. The car looked great and the dealership said they would take care of any flaws. Yeah right. I took possesion of the car and 2 weeks later it had a cracked radiator, leaking oil from the rear main seal, needed a new turbo, the power steering pump went out, the rear hatch rattles horribly, the tires needed replacing due to broken belts, the front struts needed to be repaced, the alternator was replaced, and I continue to have other small things break or fall off of this vehicle. I hope that I am the only one to experience the agony of owning a VOLVO.

Report Abuse

save your money

qsource, 07/30/2003
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

repairs are expensive for this vehicle, fuel pump died at 158000, turbo died at 164000, now it needs new valve seals at 166000 have not gone two months without something needing a repair.

Report Abuse

Volvo 850

lelan80, 04/06/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Great Car - comforting to know family is in something so safe. Great Brakes

Report Abuse

good value for the money

atlmberry, 04/22/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The value of options is good for the price range, however... if you are looking for reliability first, you probably don't want to look here. I got a "well" maintained 850 with only 83k miles - had it checked out before my purchase only to find out later there were many repairs required (A/C leak, rear main oil, front oil leak, etc.). It's a very nice looking car with alot of options but it's no Acura when it comes to repairs.

Report Abuse

volvo 1994 wagon

alpha, 05/23/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Just an all around great car, since day 1 and has been totally reliable, safe and seats are one of the best for comfort. The car has never had a any problems, just routine maintance. Overall outstanding and would recommend highly. My next car will be a volvo again.

Report Abuse

know what you're buying

austinlad04, 05/26/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

"Sportwagon" model rides like sports car. Return rate on shocks is hard enough to bring excellent handling, but also annoyance over speed bumps and rough roads. Quick-handling PT Cruiser like Suburban next to this. Base engine needs expert touch; auto tranny cooperates once you figure out the shiftpoints. Hand dealer your Amex and pray; longer repairs than any other shop. Swapping shorted shiftlock chip (in the cabin) for the tranny cost as much as replacing the topside motor stabilizer bushing. Power seat mechanics susceptible to early failure. Paint on leather wears quickly in sun. Scheduled service expensive due to labor charge.

Report Abuse

2nd owner can't complain

bfriend, 06/03/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought my '94 turbo in '98 and have had very good performance out of it. Reliability better than expected and dealerships (in 3 different states) have been more helpful than my distrustful nature cares to admit. Paint still looks good and overall have been satisfied.

Report Abuse

An excellent car for me

smoothington, 06/23/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I've had many new Japanese and American (Acura, Nissan, Dodges, Ford, Chevy) cars before and sold them after a few years. This is my first European car and I plan to keep as long as it runs. I thought it wouldn't be as reliable as my Acura or Nissan. I've had it for 3 yrs and 55k miles and has 120k miles on it. It's much more reliable than I anticipated. I treat my cars very well and didn't buy without finding one with all maintenance records. I replaced 02 sensors at 75k and turbo hose. Only routine maintenance otherwise.

Report Abuse

anns850

wright, 06/25/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Purchased car in June 1996 with $20,000 cash. It has been a great car. When we purchased it it had 54000 miles now in June of 2002 it has 154000 miles. We have driven it now for six years and had absolutely no problems with the mechanical parts of the car. We have kept up the maintenance and only have had to replace only tires and brakes etc. The front seat however has problems with the cables that operate the power seat. This has had to be replaced twice since 1996. Currently we are going to trade it in and now the original dealer will only give us $1800 trade in value they say because of high mileage. This is disappointing!

Report Abuse

Nice but irritating

David Jackson, 07/08/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

For the most part it's been nice owning this car. But there have been some electrical problems,& some quality short commings. The electric seat fails to recline & the black strips on top of the car are peeling,the driver's leather seat is cracking.

Report Abuse

'94 854 Turbo

drpsyer, 09/10/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is a fantastic car. I have had no major problems whatsoever, and that's with an aftermarket ECU and exhaust. These things are reliable, fast, stylish and comfortable. What more could you ask for??

Report Abuse

THE GOOD AND THE BAD

John G. Smith, 09/30/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

If you have extra cash to spend on repairs then this is a good car for you. The design of the brakes only allows two cuts on the rotors so expect an $800 brake job every 60K miles. Going for scheduled maintenance every 10K does not prevent major problems from occuring. Try electrical problems that only Volvo can diagnose and repair. Overall a great car but you WILL need more than expected money for repairs but the same can be said for Mercedes and BMW so what else can you expect.

Report Abuse

Volvo Quirks

CarltonJ, 12/04/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is my third Volvo,(previous 244, and 744 owner). It has all the typical 'quirks' that make the old girl a Volvo. 1) electrical problems. It seems as soon as you go over 75k miles, the electrical system goes to pot, replacing bulbs in tail light, dash, and console instrument panel are a constant. Driver's side power seats don't recline anymore either. 2) Also, black trim on car peeled, and was repainted twice to no avail. 3) 6 disk CD changer in trunk is worthless, but sound system is great! I've got 130k on her now, and won't even think about another Volvo until I crack 200k. With age comes distinction...even if the lights keep going out.

Report Abuse

Old Driver's Opinion

OldDriver, 01/07/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

These are great cars and are very safe. I have had no problems and this is my second Volvo to own. I will buy another Volvo.

Report Abuse

No free lunches

atanner, 02/09/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought the car used with just 55k miles, but it still needed a lot of work: 2 CV boots, a radiator, a cam position sensor, etc. To replace turn signal indicator light would cost $85 because it is hard to get into the dash.

Report Abuse

1994 turbo

farzad, 02/23/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

It has tasteful conservative styling yet delivers a powerful punch. With 88000 miles on the clock it runs perfect. Changed the timing belt at 70k and fuel pump at 85k. What I love is you hit the gas at 70miles and in a few seconds your at 100 and people do not believe that it was a Volvo that just blow them away. A bit costly on the gas but above average reliability and performance yet it looks classy and expensive. Just let the engine idle a few minutes to cool off the turbo.

Report Abuse

94' 850 Turbo

Airakien, 07/12/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Nice power after turbo kicks in at about 2500rpm. Handling is decent for a family sedan. Interior is comfort for 4 adults even on long trips. Wind noise at highway speed is easily noticable probably due to its boxy shape.

Report Abuse

Happy volvo wagon owner

Caribou, 08/16/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Overall the vehicle has been a solid performer. Excellent power, excellent winter driving, everyone loves the heated seats, very roomy for passengers, and plenty of room for cargo. Purchased car with 30,000 miles - currently going strong at 116,000. Repairs in the first 3 years were minor. Howeer, within the last two years had to replace the transmission and correct several oil leaks. The oil leak repairs were all minor at less than $100 each. The A/C evaporator needs to be replaced. Our car included: 6 Disc CD Changer, and third seat.

Report Abuse

Safety Matters

ADuckGirl, 08/18/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is our second Volvo, and both my husband and I love it. We were originially sold on the Volvo safety record, but after driving it for a few weeks, we realized that the performance of this vehicle is also outstanding. We got it right before our son was born, and although having a rear-facing child seat in it was a bit of a tight fit, now that he's in a forward facing seat, we don't have a negative thing to say about it. It's roomy enough for our child, three dogs, and all our gear for vacations, and it's extremely reliable.

Report Abuse

Excellent safe and fun family car

Caribou1, 08/19/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

In 1997 bought 1994 Turbo Wagon with 30,000 miles. Vehicle equiped with heated front seats, headlight washers, trip computer, third-seat, integrated child seat, 6 CD disc changer, moonroof. Overall - the car has performed very well and still retains a lot of pep. Repairs in the first 3 years of ownership were minor. The car currently has 116,000 miles - and recent repairs, as one would expect, have been more serious: replaced transmission, A/C evaporator needs to be replaced. However, vehicle does not burn oil, and has only sprung minor oil leaks that were inexpensively repaired.

Report Abuse

Minor design problems only

Mimi'sMom, 08/26/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I purchased my 850 new in 1994. I have not had any of the problems described by others. I have not had to replace anything. The biggest problem for me is the very real blindspot but once you know it's there you HAVE to turn your head. Next, I would have to say that the wind noise with the moon roof is disappointing. In the winter when you open the door if there is snow on the roof, it ends up in the car. Finally, I purchased the $100.00 cup holders, they were VERY cheap plastic and still don't hold most cups.

Report Abuse

Seadan turbo

cjr, 08/28/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I've had this car for 10 years and have enjoyed it the entire time. It is expensive though to take it in every 5,000 miles. After abou the 7th years, things start to go bad on it and need replacing. For example the AC compressor and more. I have heard many complaints though about Volvo since Ford bought them. Therefore I would not get another Volvo at this time. But really enjoyed mine for the last 10 years. Great power too on the 850 Turbo!

Report Abuse

good as it gets

esc, 10/14/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I ve owned this used 850 2 1/2 years. Bought it used. It's been a real trooper with my driving, over 28K per year. Great car.

Report Abuse

850 Volvo

94850, 11/11/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Bought car in 1995 w/26000 mi. on it then. Have had no major problems other than some sort of relay shutting the car down. Fit & finish is good. Vehicle shows no signs of loosening up. No squeaks/rattles. Fun car to drive.

Report Abuse

Great Car All Around!

farfaraway, 11/30/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought this car just under a year ago and have no major problems. I have done some minor modifications to the engine and now get about 26 mpg in the city and about 36 on the freeway. There are some quarks with the car that you just have to get used to but overall it is fun and fast to drive especially with the sport option selected.

Report Abuse

850 Turbo, if you please!!

bccturbo, 07/25/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Before I ended up staying at home with the kids, I'd been driving a 94 300zx every day. Wow this was a change, but not in a bad way. Performance is on par with a Taurus SHO without the lack of reliability. Not to mention the interior is of MUCH higher quality. I paid right at 4k for this vehicle from a dealer. Why so cheap? There was a vacuum line break that they didn't want to investigate. It allowed unmetered air into the intake that caused the MIL to activate and it would not pass emissions. Found the leak during a test drive and gambled that it would fix the problem. Bought it, fixed the leak, passed with flying colors and the vehicle has not had any problems since.

Report Abuse

1994 Volvo 850 turbo review

mjc3214, 12/26/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Very fun to drive. Somewhat rougher after this many miles and not as quiet on the road. Excellent performance with turbo. Very reliable. Normal maintenance gets expensive at 60,000 and 70,000 intervals with fluids, drive belts and plugs needing to be replaced for about $350-450 each time. Light bulbs on dash sometimes go out and that cost $90 to replace. Braking is excellent, styling great and sound system very good.

Report Abuse

VOLVO 850

COOL KID, 02/02/2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

the volvo 850...this is my tank, a great car, it has got me through alot of things that many cars would hav probably gotten me killed lol. I just love this thing. I feel safe in it everytime i sit inside. It feels bullet proof, it will last forever, i just dont even know what else to say about this car.

Report Abuse

Great family car

Bunger, 02/17/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

These cars are very safe, and dependable. There are problems with the auto transmission, so expect to replace it about every 100K miles.

Report Abuse

Volvo 850 1994

doctorbiz, 03/01/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Reliable good-looking auto with comfortable seating. Useful trunk rear- seat split for additional cargo.

Report Abuse

VOLVO 850GLT -93

Jan-Iver, 06/04/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Great car with all the power I need. Costed all too much, but ALL cars do so in Norway. (Costed me $25.000,-) Sorry VOLVO, but your dealers need more training in fault finding. Also they should listen to what the customers say. My car has now the fourth transmission installed, as the dealer tried to get rid of some performance problems, and faultcodes that told him that the tranny was defective. The problem was, surprisingly in the ECC MCU. (All af you who know a little about early automotive databussystems know why.) All in all the car performs eccelent now. VERY good MPG ratings too. (0,8 litres of petrol per 10 kilometers)

Report Abuse

unreliable, but a good car overall

zimco, 06/30/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

We've had our Volvo for 10 years and in the past few, it has shown much aging. The air conditioning broke approximately 6 times and was VERY costly to fix. It proved a huge paralysis in the reliability of the vehicle, and made it a bad summer car. It can have a stiff ride and can be the a little noisy because of the back door jiggling over rough pavement. However, it is a pleasant car to drive, with good pickup and surefooted handling. It can accomodate up to 5 adults in comfort, and is a quiet cruiser and highway merger. Reliability aside, it is a comfortable, capable, athletic, enjoyable car.

Report Abuse

Volvo 850 dependable

atlmberry, 12/19/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This has been my most dependable car - more dependable than my brand new Acura TL.

Report Abuse

Fun to drive, but not fun to own

pat, 11/03/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

We purchased this vehicle with 82,000 miles, and sold it with 139,000. During this time, the car needed new tires every 12,000 miles because they wore unevenly, even with proper inflation. The brakes needed to be replaced every 10,000 miles, becasue the rotors warped, even with minmal use of the brakes. The radiator, catalytic coverter, O2 sensors, engine components, power seat, and blower motor needed replaced. In addition, the AC broke twice, and we had an oil and coolant leak repaired. After we were hit by a runaway car, it took 6 trips to THE DEALER to fix the car properly. The dealer parted out are car during the fifth trip, swapping used parts for the newer ones off our car.

Report Abuse

Volvo Turbo - This is a beauty

moneymike, 04/06/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought this car because of its sporty yet practical features. The car has 90k miles and still runs as if it were new. I have had no electrical or any other problems. I love this car.

Report Abuse

Comfortable Ride Finally Found

Don Valencic, 09/24/2007
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

After searching for a quality second car for doctor's appointments and the occasional trip to the mall, I finally found it in my 1994 Volvo GLT. I test drove and passed on every maker's so called premium/luxury model. I test drove this car because of its excellent outward appearance. I was surprised to find it quiet, rattle free, smooth on acceleration with terrific handling. Seating was what mattered most due to my disabilities. The 8 way w/memory, thickly padded but supportive power seat let me find the best position easily and keep it. I have never been more pleased in more than 42 years of driving. I wonder if the new Volvos are as well designed and made as this one.

Report Abuse

clean machine

ultrasuperchump, 06/08/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

comfortable, reliable, I feel very safe in it

Report Abuse

Cheap materials - my last Volvo

vivolvo, 05/22/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Mirror controls on the center console show poor placement My wife puts her purse on the console, which activates the mirrors Like dual heat controls. Enjoy safety features such as anti- collision light. Fog lights are for asthetics only - don't improve driving vision at all. Gear box problems on three occassions; window wind deflectors fell off after two years, along with body side moldings. Cheap plastic hood latch broke within a year. Wide door post has significant blind spot when looking over your shoulder. Power seat broke at 5-yr mark, required new cable. I'll never buy another Volvo.

Report Abuse
12
Items per page:
51050