Used 2015 Volkswagen Passat Consumer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
69 reviews
List Price Range
$10,990 - $19,600

Used Passat for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale
12

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons
5 out of 5 stars

Thank you Bambi

Phil Comstock, 11/27/2015
Limited Edition PZEV 4dr Sedan (1.8L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
54 of 54 people found this review helpful

This is my 3rd passat.My previous 2006,v-6 model gave its life when a deer tried to occupy the same space.It had 163K miles and was fit for 100K more.Sorry to give it up,but my luck,I was 10 miles from a vw dealership and it was the end of the month(deal time).Took a step down on options but went from 28 mpg on premium to 1.8 tsi limited on regular.I'm old,and drive pretty easy,84 freeway miles a day.I'm tickling 40mpg.The new Passat is almost paying for itself(low payments).I love this new Passat.I'ts comfortable, quick enough and very sure footed in the first Wisconsin snow. This car is a great cruiser,a little softer ride than the '06 but still sporty,I don't feel the expansion joints like in the old one.Our other car is an Acura TSL,nice,but everyone in our family prefers driving the VW's.Hope this helps. as of 12/26/17,still lovin it.No issues at 43000 mi.As of 6/26/18,54K on odometer,still happy.Brakes feel like I have a bad rotor,really?,I never use them,90% freeway.But thats my only complaint.No other issues,still love driving it,hope it lasts a long time.Oh ya,I moved up an age bracket.Acura traded for a Jeep Unlimited. As of 12/28/19....63K ,Yep,bad rear rotor,that and oil changes are my only expense so far.I really am very happy with it,still love driving it. As of 1/4/2020,86,000 mi. auto trans fluid changed at 64,000mi.(scheduled)$375. I still enjoy the drive,still getting 38-40mpg hwy with soft foot,32-34 when I'm on it hard.Paying it off this mo.,ultra cheap car to own,watch out Bambi, I hope to be driving this car deep into retirement! UPDATE,1/7/21,106,000 mi.. Just recently replaced front struts and some steering components,also rear springs at cost of $2300, ouch! I still enjoy the drive and it's still an mpg champ. Still looks great,no other issues, still happy with it over all. As of 7/9/'21,117,000 miles Still going strong,no new issues. Still looks great. Retiring soon! I will be driving his car for awhile as my commute disappears. ,

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
3 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

4.5 out of 5 stars

A solid and reliable car that should endure

creese5, 03/16/2015
TDI SEL Premium 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl Turbodiesel 6AM)
70 of 71 people found this review helpful

The conservative but stylish european-esque design should keep this car looking fresh while many competitors designs become dates looking over the years. The ride quality is solid without being too stiff. The thing I love about this car the most is the fuel economy of the TDI, VW certainly undersells the MPG. Most long term reviews state that they easily exceeded the MPG rating, and that's been true for us. Our typical combined MPG during a normal driving day is right at 40mpg. The interior is massive compared to other's in the midsize class. I'm 6'2" and this is the first car in which I didn't have to put the driver's seat all the way back and I can stretch my legs out in the rear

Report Abuse
4.5 out of 5 stars

Solid, Well-designed and great MPG

jklo16, 06/18/2015
TDI SEL Premium 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl Turbodiesel 6AM)
32 of 32 people found this review helpful

The Volkswagen TDI SEL 2.0 is a very good highway car in the $30k range with a strong turbo assisted diesel and great milage. In eight months, I am approaching 18k miles and am averaging 42 mpg which includes a good mix of bumper to bumper stop and go Tollway driving as well as open highway cruising. As pro reviewers stated, it's solid and very roomy. The radio display is a bit boring with a basic red on black display and the response time is slow from pressing the touch screen to seeing anything happen. ( The screen is not an iPad) The Fender stereo setup is decent for the price range.

Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

Love this car!!

sparky1962, 07/07/2015
TDI SEL Premium 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl Turbodiesel 6AM)
37 of 38 people found this review helpful

Love my 2015 TDI SEL Passat. The gas mileage is so good I wonder why people even consider hybrids. I average 40MPH and consistently get 49 highway. Comfort, performance,build quality. This car has all the bases covered.The Fender Sound system is really nice. The back seat is extremely roomy for a car this size. If there is a gripe it is the lag of the rearview camera when the car is started. But being a diesel the car should idle a bit before leaving anyways. Perhaps that is why it does that. But that is being really picky. Some say the styling isn't in your face enough, I say class doesn't need to be in your face.This car's looks are timeless & will look as good in 10 years as it does now.

Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

It's a keeper.

BanjoRay, 08/01/2016
TDI SEL Premium 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl Turbodiesel 6AM)
48 of 50 people found this review helpful

I bought this car on Sept. 16 2015, two days before the crap hit the fan with the emission scandal. I traded in a 2013 Passat TDI SE, which I thought was a great car. My 2015 Passat TDI SEL has been trouble free, I average 37mpg around town and have had it get 52-54mpg on the highway. It's comfy, handles better than my old Mustang SVO, and has pretty decent performance out of engine. I don't find turbo lag to be a problem and the DSG gearbox is quick shifting and I like the downshift feature when braking going downhill. After the emission settlement is final, I'm going to keep the car, take the bribe money, and let them upgrade the emissions.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
4 out of 5 stars

Passat - Lots of Room - nice accel. with good MPG

Casey Fitzpatrick, 05/26/2016
Limited Edition 4dr Sedan (1.8L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
18 of 18 people found this review helpful

Previous vehicles: 2003 Toyota Corolla, 2003 Infiniti G35 Coupe. Current vehicles: 2014 Nissan Rogue (CVT transmission). I bought this car with about 5k mi on it. The turbo is great, combined with the 1.8L to give you decent pickup and still have great gas mileage. We put our two little ones in the back seat in car seats, and you could still have the drivers seat sit comfortably without being right up on their legs. The transmission shifts out of first gear pretty quick, which is taking some getting used to for me, and shifting can be a little harsh. The DSG transmission is odd to me...will take some getting used to (or maybe its the turbo, I dont know). Love being able to downshift a few gears to instantly get the acceleration you need to pass a car and mean mug them for driving too slow. You do feel quite a lot of the road. When I looked at used passats for sale, I noticed some uneven wear of the tires, so Im hoping to rotate them more frequently to avoid this occurring in my passat. I feel like I could stand to put the bubble mirrors on the side mirrors...there feels like a blind spot at times...it could be that I am just getting used to the larger car. Overall space is fantastic. I had one instance so far when the backup camera did not turn on when I put the car in reverse. The MPG for a car this size is amazing. 32-34 mpg on average for me! UPDATE: 12/9/16 @ 17k mi. The turbo lag is tough to get used to. Sometimes the car doesn't "go" right when you want it to. Still a very smooth ride. I am going to get the oil changed and tires rotated shortly, as I have heard of feathering issues with these cars. I do wish I would have gotten the LED lights instead of standard, but I think they can be added on later. The bluetooth and backup camera are a little quirky. There have been a few times when I put the car in reverse and the backup camera doesnt engage. A backup camera is a must for a car this size. I'm headed towards my first winter with the vehicle, so I will make sure to update after I've driven in snowy conditions. VERY IMPORTANT: I got caught in a downpour while driving this car, and realized that the windshield wiper speed was slower than I was used to in other cars. I could not see; it was very dangerous, and had to pull off of the road. I HIGHLY recommend using Rain-X or similar windshield washing fluid to keep your windshield slick so that the rain wicks away.

Safety
4 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
4 out of 5 stars

Overall Great

yobagoya, 03/16/2016
Wolfsburg Edition 4dr Sedan (1.8L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
27 of 28 people found this review helpful

Went from a 2010 Suburban to my Passat to save a little on gas. Now I spend about $50 a month rather than $130, so that is a big benefit right there. Bought mine used for under $15k certified. I am 6'5" 255" and am comfortable in the drivers seat, but would probably have a hard time in the back seat. Have taken my family of 4 on vacation in this, and my 2 boys are tall as well. Everyone was comfortable. Great gas mileage and handling. When the turbo kicks in its like hitting hyper space. Took some getting used to, but very enjoyable to drive. Currently have 28,000 miles and not any issues. As with any VW, service is key. Run synthetic oil and keep up on the service. Since service can be rather expensive, would suggest if you are mechanically inclined to do as much as possible yourself. Just had a quote for a 40k service on the wifes Jetta and was almost $500, which you can do for about $150 in parts if you do it yourself. The big hit is NSG plugs which can run $15 a piece. How can you beat German ingenuity, they got it right for us tall people. I can not fit in comparable cars comfortably like Toyotas or Hondas. [non-permissible content removed]

Safety
4 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
4 out of 5 stars
Value
4 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Best Value out there

donaustx, 02/20/2015
TDI SEL Premium 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl Turbodiesel 6AM)
34 of 36 people found this review helpful

I love my Passat. The quality is far better than what is being offered by competitors. The drive is amazing. This is my 3rd Diesel VW product. I drive over 30K miles a year and have never had more than routine maintenance performed. NEVER one quality issue in over 300K miles driven. And the service is great. Free loaners, they wash your car, and the intervals are 10K miles not 5 or less like most cars. By far the most economical car to own compared to the competition. My wife was a Honda girl but she is a convert and also has a VW now. You cannot go wrong with a VW diesel.

Report Abuse
4 out of 5 stars

A grown up car

John Collins, 10/31/2015
V6 SEL Premium 4dr Sedan (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
13 of 13 people found this review helpful

Let me start by saying I traded in my midlife crisis Mustang for this car. I am not disappointed in my decision. I needed a sedan that would allow me to shuttle customers/coworkers/suppliers. The backseat is the largest in its class, the trunk holds plenty of luggage, and the style is subtle but refined. Mechanically the car is a dream. Strong excelleration, breaking and handling. The transmission is a lot of fun. Using either the paddle shifters or the the sport shifter, the response is instant. My only complaint is the slow system bootup of the electronics, my wife's Nissan comes online instantly while the Passat takes as much as a full minute. I'm hoping the upgrade in the 2016 resolves the glitch. Update: After another 10,000 miles I still enjoy the car. I admit I have shopped a bit recently but cannot find another vehicle that goes toe to toe with the V6 Passat in this price range. The closest thing I have found are a Mercedes E350 and a Lexus GS350 both of which are too much money for moving up a single Peggy on the board.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
4 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
4 out of 5 stars

My first review for my first VW

Gabe, 04/27/2016
Limited Edition 4dr Sedan (1.8L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
13 of 13 people found this review helpful

I've jumped from car to car quiet a bit in the last 10 years. I've started off with an old Pontiac Sunfire and G3, gone through Mercury Mariner, Dodge Neon, two Honda Civics ('04, '12), Hyundai Sonata ('11), and a Subaru Legacy ('09) and none can compete with the ride and comfort of the 2015 Passat. I'm comparing this car to the other I've had of course - the bumps on the road are hardly noticeable. The road noise is faint. The heated seats are a huge plus in the winter. However, I wish they installed "deeper" bucket seats. The salesman that sold me the car stressed, "Volkswagen, or any German car, is on a different level of comfort." I didn't believe him of course. He was there to sell me a car. Well, 2k miles later I now understand what he was saying. It's not a luxury car but it sure feels like it. The room in the cabin is incredible. It is the roomiest mid sized sedan I've ever driven. The performance is adequate. I had a 2011 Hyundai Sonata 2.0T before this. I went from 274 HP to 170, but I don't miss it as much as I thought I would. It has enough power to get you going - by no means is it a Toyota Yaris though. Gas mileage is pretty good too, if driven correctly. I have a heavy foot, I drive 40 miles a day, and I can still get 2 weeks on a full tank. I have yet to do any maintenance on the car since I hit 2K miles this morning. I hear maintenance costs are more expensive than most, but they also recommend an oil change every 10k miles. That's plenty of time to save some cash for an oil change. *Update: about to hit 5k miles. I thought I had an issue with the power steering or wheel locking itself while turning into a curve. I took the car to the dealer and they couldn't find anything wrong. I noticed it only happens when taking curves too aggressively (55-60mph). I brought it up to the dealership again and it seems other people have had the same issue. The issue is that the magnetic power steering tends to correct itself if it thinks you're losing control. That just means I need to drive slower! Also, I had an issue where the reverse camera didn't activate. I opened and closed the trunk and it worked. No idea why that happened.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
4 out of 5 stars

Great family car, love the excellent mpg

Ed from San Jose, 01/17/2018
TDI SE 4dr Sedan w/Sunroof (2.0L 4cyl Turbodiesel 6AM)
13 of 13 people found this review helpful

Purchased this car after the recall of my Jetta TDI . I upgraded to the Passat because I wanted more space and the Passat delivered. I miss my manual drive and wish the Passat came with Manual and a sunroof. Because the manual drive did not have sunroof I went with Automatic. I live on a steep hill and I use the Automatic with downshift option when climbing this hill in particular. The fuel economy is terrific and I get 40mpg with normal driving. I highly recommend. The passat has a backup camera which I use daily to assist in parallel parking outside my home. It is a great car and I highly recommend. I take to the mountains here in CA to go skiing and the car performs well climbing into the mountains and handling on the winding roads. We use the heated seats on cold days. The back seat and trunk are very roomy. Bluetooth and sd card on stereo get a lot of use. When I go to the oil change places they never have the oil filter for passat tdi. I order replacement oil filters and other filters on amazon without problem. I have 80k miles so far and no major issues whatsoever.

Safety
4 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
4 out of 5 stars
Value
4 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

TDI for Life

JDM, 06/01/2019
TDI SEL Premium 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl Turbodiesel 6AM)
11 of 11 people found this review helpful

2015 TDI SEL Premium, Black. Bought it with 18K miles after the fiasco. It is German Engineering which most either love or can live without, yet at a price greatly reduced from Audi, yet with many of the high $ fun stuff packages. I fall into the former category. Fun and reliable. VW dealer oil change for the TDI with fuel filter is $84, every 10K miles. Timing replacement spec'd @ 120K, VW dealer estimated @ $500. Spec sheet says 30 town and 42 Highway; with 50K miles on the car, I am getting right at both or a shade higher. Love the ride. Only slight mod I made is an upgraded set of Yokohama Low Pro tires one size larger than OEM. I like the DSG with its Normal mode/Sport mode and then shift lever to right for the manual option. The car interior..i.e. audio system is simple and the Fender audio system is a favorite of my teenage sons! And talk about roomy! Again, I paid twice this price for wife's Acura and it feels like a compact compared to this.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Best Choice in Mid-Size Sedan Class

William, 02/14/2016
Limited Edition 4dr Sedan (1.8L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
9 of 9 people found this review helpful

Fantastic car in every way. Styling, ergonomics, performance and value. Bought my 2015 Passat Limited 5 months ago. Just clocked 6K on the ODO. This car is everything and more than expected in a reasonably priced German engineered sedan. Obviously, long term experience is yet to be seen, but so far it's looking great. Overall I'm getting an average 28MPG, and that's with a 60 mile round trip commute in heavy traffic five days a week. I bought this car brand new for $19,995 and drove it off the showroom floor. I've owned several cars that cost 2x-3x as much and I am very pleased with the overall quality of the Passat. You can't go wrong with this one. It is also quite fun to drive!

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
4 out of 5 stars

VW paid me to buy another one

Fred Brown, 08/05/2018
TDI SE 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl Turbodiesel 6M)
23 of 26 people found this review helpful

I've driven diesels since 1983, and was still driving the Mercedes I bought in 1988 in 2012 because they weren't bringing anything I wanted to the USA. Because the car was a stick shift, still looked near-new with 297,000 miles on it, someone made me an offer I couldn't refuse on a car that was getting seriously outdated technologically. I checked the diesels available, including VW, and soon after bought a Jetta TDI 6M because the dealer called me with a bargain offer. Someone loved their Jetta TDI so much, they traded it after only 10 months for a similar Passat. Price was great. And...I liked it too, but kept it and just bought a 2014 Passat TDI 6M in addition. REALLY loved that car, but in Spring 2018 VW decided the few hundred stick-shift Passat TDI's were too hard to write new software for, and notified me it had to be sold back to them. So I located an auto broker who had just bought two trailer loads of VW's from the company, and two of them where 2015 TDI 6M's one with very low mileage when it was "sequestered". Stick shifts weren't popular in his city, and he offered it to me for over $10,000 less than VW had paid me for my 2014. The car has the new "Euro 6" diesel, which meets US and European emissions limits honestly. Some of the interior has been cheapened a little, and I swapped many switches, the seats, interior lighting, and some trim, from my 2014 to the 2015 before selling it back to VW. They said they didn't care. Driving it home the 350+ miles from the broker, on mostly Interstate with the cruise set on 82 mph, and about 80 miles of rural 2-lane, I got 54.9 mpg. That's about 3 mpg better than my 2014 with the older engine (which is the same as the one in my Jetta TDI, which has been trouble-free at 95,000 miles). With its 240 ft/lb of torque as low as 1,500 rpm it has ample freeway acceleration, its ride is superb, handling excellent for a FWD car (I own and drive sports cars), and as everyone notes, passenger and luggage space is astounding. The dimensions and body shell are about identical with the Audi A6, yet the Passat gets 2+ extra inches of rear leg room, without giving up trunk space or front passenger space. How?? I have not had to test the stability control on this car, but it is essentially the same as on the Jetta TDI - and I HAVE tested that: cresting a slight to an overpass at 75 mph in the Interstate, traffic was at a complete standstill due to an accident, and in the half-second it took me to realize the situation, I also noted there were several chain-reaction rear-end collisions right in front of me as a result. Knowing I had stability control, I jammed on the brakes, steered onto the left shoulder, right wheels on asphalt and left wheels on grass which sloped steeply left to a drainage channel in the center of the median as the Interstate sloped downward from the overpass I'd just crossed. And doing still over 50 mph, the car did not swerve, did not slide down the hill and overturn, it simply juddered a bit and stopped. beside about the 3rd car in the line. And, as the car behind me hit the car I had been behind. You can tell I think VW has done a good job on the stability control's logic. I don't really expect this Passat to be "nearly new" as it nears 300,000 miles like my last Mercedes was. That was a car designed to be "the European/world taxi" as well as a nice passenger car, and there are many, many in Europe with over 2 million miles. But the last of VW's TDI's with the 2015 Euro 6 motor they currently use there (and the most popular motor in Europe in their larger cars) is a fine car, made in Chattanooga TN thought it may be, with the motor shipped in and installed. They haven't used the diesel in the US in 2017 or 2018, but the new[ish] turbo4 gasoline engine does a great job, has almost the power of the diesel, and since you probably like automatic cars instead of the stick shifts I use exclusively, you'll find the Passat an amazing bargain. A big, comfortable, great handling, economy car. Say what?! Update 08/05/2020. I’ve continued to be happy with this car, getting 39-41 mpg around town and 53-54 mpg on Interstates. I appreciated being able to twice make a 700 mile trip without having to refuel, needing only a picnic lunch and mask (restroom!) to stop at rest areas prepared for the Covid-19 pandemic. No mechanical issues other than a major clutch job I knew would be needed the day I bought the car - the first owner clearly didn’t usually drive straight shift cars. It took a bit of of the $10,000 “discount” (see above) but not too much. Comfort, spaciousness, road noise suppression, still amaze me for the price range. And my worries about repairs to a rare Euro 6 diesel have faded as VW has not reduced their use in all other markets, with diesels continuing to be in 3/4 of their cars outside the USA.

Safety
4 out of 5 stars
Technology
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
4 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Love it

William Hayles, 03/24/2019
TDI SEL Premium 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl Turbodiesel 6AM)
7 of 7 people found this review helpful

We bought this car for work commute. The vehicle rides and drives great. It is a sedan but handles like a sports car. Fuel echos terrific averaging about 48 miles a gallon. It’s a diesel so that helps with the fuel economy but it’s no hot rod. It still has pretty good pep but yet it’s still comfortable for us. It’s a great car for the money.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

A Ride I'm Proud to Own

Walker, 12/28/2016
Limited Edition 4dr Sedan (1.8L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
11 of 12 people found this review helpful

Before purchasing the '15 Passat, I'd only driven pickups, but after moving out on my own following college graduation, I'd noticed my F-150 was going to be tough to afford. I made the plunge to get this wonderful car in October of 2015 because of the incentives available for it, special financing, and the features coupled with the $25k sticker. I chose black exterior and interior, and added tinted windows. I’m thoroughly pleased that I’ve decided to go with the VW Passat Limited Edition, even after 35k miles (About 2.5k per month). I was skeptical at first about the dinky 1.8L TSI that came with this package, but it doesn’t disappoint. The breaks are superb and reliable. Anyone who has DD’ed for me has commented on them. What’s even better is that they’re not so sensitive that they jar the car to a stop. The top of the pedal push is a little break, the bottom of the push is a LOT of break – as it should be. The handling in this thing will make you feel like you can stick to any corner or fly over an interchange at 85 mph until the traction control immutably kicks in and reminds you that you’re in a sedan and that you’re foolish for mistaking your VW for an F1. Corning and high-speed driving on Texas’ 80+ mph toll roads feels relaxed and controlled with the electronic power-steering (one of my favorite parts about this car). The transmission is nothing special, but includes a tiptronic mode and a sport mode with are both fun. The ride took me some getting used to. The seats are a little stiff, and there’s not a whole lot of extra padding in them like Nissan’s Zero-Gravity seats. But I’ve grown to like these seats, and I’ve even had a coworker who’s a car guy comment on their comfort. They are heated and can practically lay flat fully reclined. Anyone sitting behind me (I’m 5’10”) has had plenty of room, even abnormally large humans. Engine or other passive noises are inaudible at cruising speeds, and road noise is minimal for a sedan with this price tag. I don’t have to yell at my passengers to have a conversation. The suspension is firm as you’d expect from a European car, but there isn’t any obnoxious vibration radiating into the cab from the surface below the tires. The interior is another one of my favorite things. The trunk is “cavernous” (quoting one of my buddies), and the interior is simple – but not stripped-down. This trim doesn’t have the extra steering wheel controls, climate control AC, a sun roof, or advanced options in the instrument display screen, but the push-button start, quality materials, touch-to-unlock door handles, and touch-screen infotainment system make you feel like you haven’t really made compromises at all to get to the price point. It even comes with an amplified 8-speaker sound system which isn’t bad at all. The info panel in the instrument cluster includes a data readout for odo, mpg (instant and average), trip, mph, and miles to “E”. It will even show your current cruise control speed setting which can be adjusted at 1 mph integrals. The door panels feature a nice soft (vinyl maybe?) leather-ish material underneath the window, a silver hard plastic accent piece, metallic latch, leather around the door handle, and textured plastic everywhere else. The dash board follows a similar layout with the soft leather-ish material on top followed by the silver accent piece and textured plastic. Very few parts of this interior feel cheap. To-date (6/2019, 90k miles), I’ve spent $2,700 on regular maintenance, $600 on tires, and $200 for a battery. Haven't had to replace anything else on the vehicle. Lastly, I moved to this car for day-to-day affordability more than anything, and that’s where it’s really delivered. I was paying nearly $750 a month for the note, insurance, and gas to drive my old truck. This car, which is 10 years newer, costs me no more than $550 a month. My commute is about 75% highway, and I’ve averaged 33 mpg (calculated at fill-up). My best road-trip average was 36.6 mpg. I financed at .9% interest for 72mos, put $2.5k down, and lumped in $3k in negative equity from the truck. This brought my total to about $22.7k. Now, I owe about $18.5k on the car, and Edmund’s private party sale value is about $13k. Rats, I’m upside-down on yet another car. It de-valued almost 8k (35%) in one year. But for some reason I don’t care. I love this car. Literally every new person that rides in this thing remarks on how nice it is. It makes them talk about how they wish they had a German car like mine. This car doesn’t BEG for attention, it passively draws attention to itself. The conservative-yet-timeless black and chrome exterior, and simple-yet-stunning interior say “hello, I’m adult enough to worry about the things that matter”. As a recent college-grad trying to make it in the professional world, what more could I want?

Safety
4 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
4 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
3 out of 5 stars

Hot smells and check engine lights

ty, 11/06/2015
Limited Edition PZEV 4dr Sedan (1.8L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
17 of 20 people found this review helpful

hot anti freeze smells that they can’t diagnose. Check engine light shows electrical problems they can’t find and fix. Spending more and more time in shop. This time 3 days and no loaner and still not fixed.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
3 out of 5 stars
Value
3 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Passat Wolfsburg Edition

darklyanon, 06/06/2015
Wolfsburg Edition 4dr Sedan (1.8L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
13 of 15 people found this review helpful

I just purchased this vehicle and I am happy with what I invested in. Car buying is a very serious and in depth look at what the buyer needs and wants. I believe I got what I wanted. This girl has kick, she might have a small engine, but when you need to accelerate out of a complete stop she does that. The handling and turning is very smooth. The engine is as quiet as a mouse. I sometimes have a hard time hearing it when I turn it on. It is a very comfortable ride to sit in. The car came with rubber black mats for my feet as well as my other passengers. The face and the wheels of the car are quite sporty looking. Despite it not sporting a large engine. 1yr Update: Car still handles and preforms to my expectations from about a year ago, so my ratings have not changed. Only issue that cropped up was a October 2015 Recall issue with the Camshaft. Upon starting the car, this part can sheer and in laymens terms it basically affected the breaks performance. The Dealership I purchased this vehicle from updated the on board software to correct the issue. This vehicle did not show signs of the Camshaft sheering or breaking prior to having the software update. The drainage pipe located under the gas cap gets clogged constantly. When the seasons start changing and dirt/pollen become prominent in the air, this pipe needs to be monitored for clogging. Pretty easy to see the water pooling when the car is moved or dripping is present. This is really the worse thing I can say about the cars designs flaws to date.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Amazing Safety

Will, 04/19/2016
SEL Premium 4dr Sedan (1.8L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

At a complete stop in traffic and was hit in the rear bumper by a 2012 Jetta travelling at 45/50 mph. The Passat amazingly absorbed the impact and there was only superficial damage until the body shop determined the internal rear impact bar had done its job but needed replacing. The Jetta was destroyed but the occupant walked away. The VW dealer told me they were not surprised as the Passat is built like a tank.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
4 out of 5 stars

grey ghost

dale madden, 05/07/2016
Wolfsburg Edition 4dr Sedan (1.8L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
7 of 8 people found this review helpful

Comfortable with lots of room and a huge trunk. Simple controls. Fun to drive. Acceleration and brakes are a little touchy. This is my second VW and they still haven't gotten rid of the rattles. Going to have to take it to the dealer to see if they can fix the one in the drivers door cause its driving me nuts. But I still love the car. Good value.

Safety
4 out of 5 stars
Technology
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
4 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

First Volkswagen

First Volkswagen, 07/14/2016
Limited Edition PZEV 4dr Sedan (1.8L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

Great car for the money. I am 6 foot 3 inches tall and still have plenty of leg room.Love the way it drives and handles the road.Very quiet inside the car to me.I have only had it for year and half .Use back and forth to work. Been on short trips 160 miles but nothing longer.I have no mechanical problems.Still would recommend buying.Update.....very nice dependable car.No longer own.Needed a truck.Will buy a Volkswagen truck if they come out with a medium to large size.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

2015 Passat 1.8TSI 60k no problems!

Joe, 10/07/2016
SE 4dr Sedan (1.8L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
13 of 17 people found this review helpful

I bought this car in Feb. 2015. Today I rolled 60k (yes that's about 40k/year). This was my first non-American as well as my first new car. I'm quite impressed, I have done nothing to this car but change the oil and flushed the trans. at 50k (per service schedule) and drive the heck out of it. It has only been to the dealer for its regular service. Let's see you do that with a Chevy, Ford or Ugh...Dodge. I drove Ford Explorers for 10 years (loved them and worked on them regularly) until my job and the miles I drive pushed me to get a gas sipper. And gas sipper it is! Forget the diesel, I have the 1.8 TSI SE and have gotten as much as 45mpg on a single 60 mile trip, mostly flat farm roads averaging 50-60 mph. Overall average is 33.5mpg with about 70% highway driving. It would take a couple hundred thousand miles to make up the added cost of that diesel, not to mention the scandal that I'm not part of. I would still prefer a larger SUV, but as far as a 4 door car goes, I'd be lying if I complained one bit. Backseat is huge, car feels more upscale than Toyota, Hyundai and all of the American garbage they're churning out. Gauges are crisp and easy to read, all controls simply laid out and very functional. Super smooth ride, acceleration is not blinding but plenty powerful enough for daily driving, has all the top end and passing power you would need, keep in mind this is coming from a car guy. This thing will probably go 200k without a hiccup, still have original Continental tires, original brakes etc. (trying to get to 100k with them). Not to mention it is a sharp, classy looking car. Black on black with tinted windows=sweet ride! UPDATE: I traded the Passat in August 2017 with 90k on the odometer. Original tires, brakes etc. only service was I replaced 2 light bulbs that burnt out. I also replaced spark plugs myself at 80k, they could have gone to 100k. Car was so reliable I bought another. This time 2017 Passat R-line, Black on black with tinted windows of course.

Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
4 out of 5 stars

Nice car with great economy

Lclewis49, 02/13/2018
TDI SEL Premium 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl Turbodiesel 6AM)
6 of 7 people found this review helpful

It is too bad that vw has decided to not continue with the diesel motor. Great economy rivaling many hybrids with great performance. Only downside is with the lack of modern technogy package, no apple car play or other things like active cruise control, Blind spot monitoring etc.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
4 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
4 out of 5 stars

VW Passat TDI

Curt F, 05/01/2018
TDI SE 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl Turbodiesel 6M)
5 of 6 people found this review helpful

When the service engine light goes off, its at least a $500 (part alone). Not including labor. Special diesel oil and a lot of dealer parts because parts stores don't carry most of the parts.

Safety
3 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
3 out of 5 stars
Value
4 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
3 out of 5 stars

Stoop to Conquer

Dan Hoogen, 06/28/2017
SEL Premium 4dr Sedan (1.8L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

This is an excellent car - quick, fairly comfortable, great handling and incredible mileage (36 hwy). But, if you're older, like me, it's a pain to get into and out of due to the low roof line. Also, it is hard to load and unload the trunk because of the smallish opening. However, it does have a big trunk. And the back seats are really roomy, nice. Did I mention it's kinda noisy - as bad as my Outback. But, hoo baby, this car moves! And I never tried the sport setting on the transmission.

Safety
4 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
3 out of 5 stars
Comfort
3 out of 5 stars
Reliability
4 out of 5 stars
Value
4 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

TDI 6 SPEED MANUAL

LINAS M, 08/24/2015
TDI SE 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl Turbodiesel 6M)
10 of 14 people found this review helpful

Great value surprisingly quick Over 50 mpg highway , mid 40s in suburbs VW should offer a sunroof for manual drivers and power passenger seat.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Great Until the Turbo Blew Up

David A Winters-Dunn, 07/16/2018
TDI SE 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl Turbodiesel 6M)
7 of 10 people found this review helpful

I had a 2013 Passat TDI SE that was great and part of the buyback program. About a month before I was supposed to sell it back to VW, the Turbo blew up around 80k miles. The car was in the shop for 2 months. What happened was the turbo blew metal into the engine and destroyed the engine, at least that is what they told me. So, the car had a new turbo and a new engine that had to be flown from Germany. I would have expected that the turbo not blow up and destroy the engine, but... I was disappointed. Had I been planning on keeping the car that would have been great, but knowing that there are issues with the turbos on these cars, unless you plan on installing a new one that isn't junk, then I would steer clear of the car. When I bought the car, I bought the extended warranty, which cost around $1800. The repair total on the engine replacement and turbo was close to $9000, so thankfully I bought that.

Safety
3 out of 5 stars
Technology
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
1 out of 5 stars
Value
3 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Hard to beat 42 MPG Hwy in a family sedan.

Jedi Dad, 09/24/2018
TDI SE 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl Turbodiesel 6M)
4 of 5 people found this review helpful

A true manual would be awesome, but I'm a purist. At 603 and 300 lbs. getting in/out is troublesome, but its a great ride for long distances. Maintenance free. Just change the oil every 10K. For diesel change the fuel filter every 40-50K miles too.

Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Sexiest car

ladayblues, 05/03/2015
S 4dr Sedan (1.8L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
6 of 9 people found this review helpful

I love this car. It looks expensive and it really drives fast and smooth. This car makes me really happy. I do not desire other cars :)

Report Abuse
4 out of 5 stars

Interior- with color clothing- faded on the seats

Mary, 02/17/2016
S 4dr Sedan (1.8L 4cyl Turbo 5M)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Please beware of tan interior with color clothing. Have been back twice to have seats, head rest, and arm rest replaced. Very upset how my new jeans changed the color on the drivers seat and my friends red jacket faded on my seat, arm rest and head rest only riding to work 30 miles one time. I am not the only person this has happened to.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

2015 Passat Limited Love it !

Eddie, 04/27/2016
Limited Edition PZEV 4dr Sedan (1.8L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I love my Volkswagen Passat, is has a nice interior with soft materials it feels like you are more expensive car than what you pay. Nice German Engineering like it . 1.8 TSI has a plenti horsepower to move it does the job done and at the same time save you money at the pump!! Getting 29-31 mpg in the city using 91 premium gas wow!

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
2 out of 5 stars

2015 Passat cylinders blew under 50K mi!!

A. Boles, 05/24/2019
SE 4dr Sedan w/Sunroof, Navigation (1.8L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I loved driving this car. Smooth ride, lots of room, great power acceleration, and comfort. Everything written about it seemed true. Car has less than 50K miles and left me on the side of the road with EPC and battery light on, plus other lights flashing at me. Mechanic said 2 cylinders were no longer working! I was stunned that something would malfunction so soon. No previous 'clues' that anything was going wrong; oil changed on time, etc. We had a previous 1998 Passat that lasted 120K miles, and we got rid of it after power train broke and electronics started going haywire on us. (things like windows would go up/down on their own). We've read many positive things about VW Passats, and thought we try again with 2015. So, after our VW experiences, we will never buy another VW again.

Safety
3 out of 5 stars
Technology
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
2 out of 5 stars
Value
3 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

As solid as a brick My first car

Avi, 07/03/2019
Sport 4dr Sedan (1.8L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I bought this car in February of 2018 with 40,000 miles. This is my first car, first off the pricing is fantastic, i bought this car for 10,000 mean while its worth at least 14,000. this car handles better than my uncles 2010 camaro ss its insane how linear this car is. gas mileage is fantastic. no rattles and squeaks at all! my favorite thing about this car is the turbo, if you drive with the windows down and turn your radio off you can hear it spooling up as you head up to 2500 rpm. unfortunately i got into an accident but fortunately this car is very structurally strong and very solid a drunk driver in my neighborhood hit my car at 30 miles an hour driving a ford fusion it completely destroyed the front of his car and got totaled. my car had a bent inwards grill and my hood was raised not even an inch. very safe car.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

2015 Passat tdi sel

Eddiew81, 07/21/2020
TDI SEL Premium 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl Turbodiesel 6AM)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I bought my 2015 Passat brand new in February of 2015, it is now July of 2020. Iv put over 170k on this car in 5 years and 5 months. I absolutely love this car and am very happy I went with the 2.0 turbo diesel over the v6 that I almost went with. I have had no major issues other than having to replace my timing belt at about150k when Volkswagen suggest I believe you do it at 100k. Also the passenger side door speaker blew but in all honesty I do beat the snot out of the factory fender sound package. I average 45mpg and the car runs as good as the day I purchased it. I can’t stress enough how well this car still runs after 170k. Besides the reliability and fuel efficiency even after 5 years this car still looks sharp and has aged very well and I still get complements on how nice the design and overall look of the car is. The factory fender sound system is better than the base sound package but in all honesty I don’t think it’s anything real special Iv heard better factory sound systems-and the touch screen can be a bit laggy at times but that’s not what I bought this car for so it’s a moot point for Me. The car is comfortable and has a ton of leg room for front and rear passengers I just wish the arm rest for the front was a bit bigger , there really isn’t much to rest your arm on but it’s not the worst Iv ever seen. But yeah if your looking for a reliable comfortable commuter with good space and excellent fuel economy than I’d take a serious look at the 2015 Passat tdi, I don’t think you’ll be disappointed. Just be sure to keep up on your oil changes and fuel filter change every other oil change and you should be able to enjoy this car for a long time. Also this year has the def (adblue) that you must have for the car to run. Any def fuel is perfectly fine to run in this car it doesn’t have to be the adblue from the Volkswagen dealer and I usually top that off every oil change but you get well over 10k miles per tank of def fuel.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
2 out of 5 stars

worse car ive ever had

Ashley T, 07/20/2017
Wolfsburg Edition PZEV 4dr Sedan (1.8L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
4 of 6 people found this review helpful

Last year in may 2016 we had an awful hail storm and unfortunately my favorite car got totaled from the hail up here in Billings Montana. Fortunately, my fiancé had a pick up for me to drive in the mean time while we look for a car. We are both Ford people and thought to go out of the norm for once when we saw this beautiful, classy fuel efficient car. For us there are a lot of pros and cons with this car mainly cons. My Wolfsburg car is very fast which I love, and handles very well. But I have had nothing but problem with this car, everything went fine till November. That's when my windshield wiper motor took a crap, it happen to be snowing and slushy out, with vehicles driving by me with their slush hitting my window. I tried to use my wind shield wipers with the fluid but no fluid was coming out and it was not clogged, so its was just brown snow smeared across the windshield and was unable to see, that was fun especially when I live 15 miles away. THEN 3 weeks later I start my car in the driveway due to it being 5 degrees out that morning with it dumping snow to warm up the car before I head into work. I get in and thought I forgot to turn on the heat/defrost. nope, the FRICKEN HEATER WENT OUT and it was 5 degrees outside. thankfully I took a shower that morning so that kept me warm along with the heated seats. the warmth of my body frosted the inside of the car and I had to scrap the windows on the INSIDE. that was also really fun!! not!! thankfully is was still had warranty left so I didn't have to pay for any of these issues. also dealing with our dealership in town is terrible, they treat you like your a burden and are disrespectful. and as of lately my seatbelt light keeps dinging at me while im driving, its staring to happen a lot. makes me feel like if I got in an accident the seatbelt would not work, I will be taking it in soon its just SO frustrating. I've heard nothing but good things about VW that's why we took the leap and went out of our nor.so I thought I would write a review to warn people about this car, I may have just gotten a bad car, they cant all be good right!?

Safety
3 out of 5 stars
Technology
2 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
3 out of 5 stars
Value
2 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
3 out of 5 stars

Make sure you take a long test drive

Tom, 11/27/2015
Limited Edition 4dr Sedan (1.8L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
21 of 43 people found this review helpful

I have had this car for a month now and I can tell this is going to be the most painful car I have ever had. I read the two reviews that discussed the messed up ergonomics and I just didn't pay attention during the test drive. There are so many design flaws that it takes away from what could be an extremely enjoyable car to drive. So here are the design issues to be aware of: - the windshield is sloped more then my 2008 and appears to be tinted less making night driving a challenge with the glare from oncoming traffic - the sloped window has made the door opening smaller, making it hard to get in, especially if the seat isn't all the way down - apparently VW engineers think Americans have big waists but tiny butts because there is all this extra space in the arm rest area that leaves you trying to not leave your arms hanging in space and they designed a seat for someone without a butt. Trying to put your legs inside the bottom seat bolsters can be painful in several areas - once seated you will see that you need a 6ft wingspan to reach the door handle to close the door? Speaking of the door, you have have good control of the door when opening it because of the wide swing path, it will easily hit whatever is parked next to you or it will close back on you - once in the seat you notice that you have to contort your left foot to put it on the footrest or put your leg on top of the bolster, which I do and it is causing a nerve to be pinched. On the other side, the brake and gas pedals are so off plane that I either practically break my ankle moving from the gas to the brake or I have to physically lift my leg up and pull it back to get over tho the brake. Also, the gas pedal sits weirdly behind the center console so you have to contort your right foot to get to the gas. Speaking of the center console, it sticks too far out so in contorting your foot for the gas your knee is constantly rubbing the hard plastic on the console making my knee very sore by the end of my drive. I drive 40 minutes each way to work but my test drive was around 25 minutes so I didn't pick up on these issues and should have known better. I get out after my commute and walk like I have broken ankles. Buyer beware and pay attention. Some other points: handling is good but the backend gets jumpy if going to fast on winding roads, it is not a very planted ride; gas mileage is not great, I have only 30 a couple of times; the low beams are not very bright so I find myself putting my highs on when I might not otherwise; the front defrosting takes awhile, I had a very thin sheet the other morning and it took 10 minutes to clean it off, not looking forward to when winter really hits; I mentioned above about having someplace to rest your arms, well there's no center arm rest to speak of, my 2008 Passat had an electric parking brake well VW cheaped out and went back to a hand brake that results in no armrest. Overall the car is fun to drive but the design issues that result in comfort issues will probably make this my last VW.

Safety
4 out of 5 stars
Technology
2 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
3 out of 5 stars
Comfort
2 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
3 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
4 out of 5 stars

Great Car. Has annoying road noise

Chris, 11/13/2015
Limited Edition PZEV 4dr Sedan (1.8L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
3 of 5 people found this review helpful

Bought this car brand new. Love it! Except for the wind noise in the back right window. Took it to the dealer they did some test and pretty much told me tough luck wait until a service bulletin to come out. Not a great first impression. Now I have a brand new car with a noise and is audible and very annoying. I encourage everyone to please submit complaints directly to VW Owner Care that way we as consumers can get them to back there products correctly!

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
3 out of 5 stars
Reliability
3 out of 5 stars
Value
4 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

The car that keeps on giving

stranded2015, 02/16/2015
TDI SE 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl Turbodiesel 6M)
24 of 59 people found this review helpful

Who knew that this car would essentially pay for itself? We bought this car in February 2015, and 7 months later, we learned that Volkswagen had done some things that were less than ethical in order to get it to meet EPA requirements. I am all about protecting the environment, but this is ridiculous- the car gets nearly 50 mpg's on the highway while cruising at 75mph. Are you telling me that the GMC Yukon I just passed (while driving up a mountain in 6th gear because of the amazing torque) is better for the environment than this car? You don't really appreciate a car like this until you start trying to shop for a replacement. The fact is, there is nothing equivalent in terms of how spacious, fun and economic this car is. Forget getting a 6 speed manual with heated pleather seats in anything else. We've looked at a host of other cars and there are always multiple trade offs. This is the ultimate road trip car, even with 2 small children and a babushka in the back. So why don't we just get "the fix" and take the VW payout? Well, as much as we love this car, I do not want to have to pay for repairs once the warranty finally expires. There is a lot of technology in this car, and it is always very expensive to fix. We have had a few issues in the 2 short years we've owned it- warped rotors, a leaky adblue system, and a clogged dpf, all fixed for free under warranty. This is enough persuasion for us to let VW have it back. We are going to wait until the very last possible moment to do the buyback- December 2018, and in the meantime, continue to drive the hell out of it and do no other maintenance other than oil and fuel filter changes. At that point, with bald tires and a mileage projection of right around 40k, VW is going to pay us out 5k more than we originally paid for the car. They have also given us $1000 just for our patience, and we hear we're getting another $350 from Mr. Robert Bosch for his role in the scandal. When we finally turn it in, we will have driven this car for free for about 3 1/2 years. At that point, we will likely replace the car with an all wheel drive hybrid or if they do in fact find their way to the US market, a Mazda diesel. We are sad that VW is no longer making diesels- the Atlas and the All Road would have been great platforms for diesel, and probably could have kept our business in the VW family.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
3 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
3 out of 5 stars

Would not lease again

Alan Pedersen, 12/05/2017
SE 4dr Sedan (1.8L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
3 of 6 people found this review helpful

Overall the car was comfortable with a few exceptions. The brakes when applied normally seemed to grab too hard at slow speeds. The front passenger seat was too low and not adjustable for height. The windows would fog up when it rained. The A/C would come on as a remedy (poor design). Offered no help when we asked to turn in lease early. Went to Hyundai dealer and they took care of the remaining payments and mileage overage, rolled them into the new Hyundai Tucson lease at a reasonable rate. I received a Turn In Settlement Invoice with a charge for One (1) tire that was apparently below tread spec. Seems odd. And if the other 3 tires were in spec it would seem to me to be a good customer service decision to drop the charge. I called and VW was completely rigid regarding this. I'll never set foot in another VW dealership as a result of the poor customer service.

Safety
4 out of 5 stars
Technology
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
4 out of 5 stars
Value
4 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

LOVE This Car

lesliebriar, 04/08/2015
Sport 4dr Sedan (1.8L 4cyl Turbo 5M)
6 of 15 people found this review helpful

I absolutely love this car. I've had 2 jettas in the past and traded my last jetta for a scion tc.....was not worth it. I had the tc for 2 years and getting that car was the worst mistake ever. It was a good car, but going from a vw jetta that had all the bells and whistles to a scion tc that had basically nothing, I couldn't do it. I went to my local VW dealership about 2 months ago and traded it in on the 2015 VW Passat TSI SE 1.8T and my life feels complete now. I wouldn't trade back to save my life. I love the power this car has. The interior is over the top. I just love everything about this car.

Report Abuse
4 out of 5 stars

Great value, MPGs and comfort

Matt P., 07/24/2015
Limited Edition 4dr Sedan (1.8L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I bought this car primarily due to the fuel economy after changing jobs and having a 65 mile round trip every day. As promised, the diesel is excellent. Performance doesn't seem to suffer although there can be a slight delay when first starting from a stop, barely noticeable most of the time. With the VW diesel scandal, VW will likely be making tweaks that affect the mpg/performance so I will update this review if, and when, that fix is made. As it sits today, performance is very good with great mpg, all while emitting an unlawful amount of exhaust. The seats are very comfortable with plenty of room in the front and back. A tall person can easily sit in the back seat with plenty of room. Due to the low vehicle height, exiting the vehicle from the front or back can be tricky for some. The interior appearance is very high end. The cargo room in the trunk is excellent; I easily fit my hockey bag full of goalie equipment with room to spare. My only two complaints are: the entertainment system can be slow to respond at times, particularly at start up. I came from a car without any frills so having a slow system is still better than what I had! Nevertheless, it should be faster. Sometimes I am minutes into my drive before I can change the radio station. The second thing I do not like is the intensity of the low beam headlights. I feel like they are a little weak. This is mostly noticeable on dark roads where I put my highbeams on anyways but I wish HID headlights were available for this car. Overall, great value all around with a comfortable ride. As far as the exterior styling, totally subjective so you either love it or hate it I guess. I actually like it although from the front it is admittedly a little plain and no one uses daytime running lights anymore unless they are LED.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
4 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Love it

Corey Miller, 07/08/2016
TDI SEL Premium 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl Turbodiesel 6AM)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Maintainance costs are high but worth it with the fuel mileage

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

great car...Exactly what i wanted

Rodney Hubbard, 10/19/2016
SE 4dr Sedan w/Sunroof, Navigation (1.8L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

i like volkswagen and currently have a Jetta (2008), it's in great condition. really wanted a Passat and searched around for one. a bit more expensive than i initially thought but once i checked it out money was not an issue. great car... i recommend it!

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
4 out of 5 stars

A special Car

Lars T., 05/22/2018
S PZEV 4dr Sedan (1.8L 4cyl Turbo 5M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I have the base model with a 5sp manual. The performance is good, especially on the highway. Gas tank, trunk and back seat are huge. I have gotten over 550 miles on a tank. I average about 37mpg on the highway and have gotten as high as 42mpg. about 27mpg overall. I typically drive 80-90mph on the highway, and mash the gas in the city. The car has a soft reasonably sporty ride that is good up to about 110mph. The roof in the back seat is a little low if you are 6'-3" but if you are 6'-2 or shorter it is fine. The manual is 60 pounds lighter off the nose of the car than the automatic and it changes the dynamics of the car and makes it quite a bit faster. I would avoid the V6 and the TDI because of the extra front end weight. The car is a unique blend of turbo high performance and good gas mileage in a large inexpensive sedan. No other car has the combination of features or comes with a turbo on the base model. I think it is loaded for a base model: Turbo engine, Auto up/down windows, auto headlights, decent seats with lumbar adjustment. I highly recommend as a manual gas model. Complaints are: 1) cannot put a roof rack on car. 2) No ski pass through on base model.

Safety
4 out of 5 stars
Technology
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
4 out of 5 stars

Unassuming but SPEEDY

Anthony, 04/04/2019
Limited Edition 4dr Sedan (1.8L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Bought a used 15 passat tsi limited in silver. First off, car looks plain on the outside , which is fine. The interior looks super clean with the all black trim and leatherette. The appearance is simple, perhaps dated but very clean and crisp. It is also extremely easy to maintain and keep clean. I have to say that on the highway this car gets great gas mileage with my better months being near 35 MPG. The city mileage isn't nearly as good, but I will chalk that up to my love for hitting the gas pedal. With the turbo the 1.8 l 4cyl is VERY peppy, this car moves much faster than I had ever anticipated a 4 door sedan would go. The added sport mode and manual shift makes this car a blast to drive. 0-60 is great, passing vehicles on the highway is like loading up a slingshot. This car will jump from 65-100 and you wont even realize your speed due to the smoothness and quietness of the ride..... I really cannot stress my happiness with this vehicles performance enough. With all that being said I must also list some of my concerns and issues with the vehicle. The brakes are very touchy, new or older brakes and a mere tap on the pedal will cause the seatbelt to nearly choke you, and this occurs at all speeds. The biggest problem I have is with the door handles and cold weather. I mean christ almighty you would think a "german" engineered car would have a better mechanism or a part as simple as a door handle. When temperatures drop below freezing any and all condensation will find its way into the housing of the door handles and cause them to stick. Sticky door handles in the middle of winter and early mornings for work are a recipe for disaster. I can count of 10+ times where I tried to enter my car ( all doors aside from the driver side ) where I went to pull on the handle and it was stuck. In some cases I pull past the stick and the handle will freeze open not allowing the doors to be closed. In these instances some heat usually gets the situation resolved ( think heat gun or even driving the car with a bungee cord holding the door closed. The complaint may be petty but its just annoying that a newer vehicle would have this issue .

Safety
3 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
4 out of 5 stars
Value
4 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
1 out of 5 stars

Avoid German cars especially VW

Art Brockmeyer, 07/20/2021
TDI SEL Premium 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl Turbodiesel 6AM)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

My first brand new car, a 2015 Passat has been a nightmare. The following were serviced/replaced OUT of warranty: Upholstery torn from normal use w/less than 10K miles on driver’s seat; heated seats only work on high, generator, 2 batteries, air conditioning compressor, water pump, (there are 3 water pumps and thermostats on this diesel). Car broke down between Berkeley and S Lake Tahoe, due to overheating. Radiator/hose fitting cost $100 for a part that costs about $20 for other cars. L Rear pwr window motor does not work. Warning lights on dash give false positives or go on/off intermittently including tire pressure measuring light. I settled w/ VW on EPA emissions scandal for $8,000 plus a $1,000 Visa Card plus $500 VW Service/Accessories. Have put over $6K in car repairs that have nothing to do with the Diesel engine elements. My mechanic says German cars are the HIGHEST in maintenance costs. BMW, VW, AUDI, MERCEDES are in his shop ALL the time. The only one that is reliable is PORSCHE, and who can afford one. My Passat drove great on test drive and has fantastic cabin room and a huge trunk. I paid $30K for this car and I expected it to be somewhat reliable. Now, heater still doesn’t work, heat/ac motor sounds like it is acting up and still praying for proper engine cooling. I will not buy another VW or any German car. Next time a Chevy Impala, Toyota Camry or Honda Civic. Sorry VW. I’m hoping my Passat will at least limp down the road until this clown car is paid off!

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
1 out of 5 stars
Value
2 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
3 out of 5 stars

Massively Underpowered

GettaroundDriver, 04/16/2016
S 4dr Sedan (1.8L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
2 of 5 people found this review helpful

I have read the reviews and there's a lot of applause for VW's 1.8 engine. However in the Passat is much too heavy for the engine's up and down power. This problem is also hampered by a lazy transmission. The first time I took it out, I thought the parking brake was on. But it wasn't the case. By the tested numbers, the acceleration seemed decent but it doesn't describe how "wonky" the engine is. At times it seems like it's dead and at times it's going mad. My girlfriend laughed at how the gas pedal would be floored and nothing would happen. And her previous car was a slow Prius. I think the transmission is part to blame irregardless that it's a dual clutch 6spd. Lastly the brakes were simply too grabby. It was so hard to modulate. Total tested miles - 780 miles, 6400 miles on the odometer. Glad it was a rental.

Safety
3 out of 5 stars
Technology
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
2 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
3 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
4.75 out of 5 stars

Great German car made in America

venkat_pal, 03/02/2015
SE PZEV 4dr Sedan w/Sunroof, Navigation (1.8L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
5 of 18 people found this review helpful

I have bought the VW Passat recently with the 2015 1.8t engine. Drive quality is excellent. very good car as family sedan with lots of room. We live in Chicago which is a windy city especially balance very well in the shaky roads because of the wind. overall car is very good.

Report Abuse
4 out of 5 stars

Great car, so so gas Milage

Louanne, 11/19/2015
Limited Edition PZEV 4dr Sedan (1.8L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

I traded in my 2001 Passat for this new Passat. Like my other, I'm pleased with the handling, low road noise, roominess in the interior and trunk and overall comfort. The only downfall so far is the gas Milage. It touts 24/36. So far I'm getting about 21 mph with my gas engine! Quite a disappoint. Overall great car.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
4 out of 5 stars

Great car

Jim , 08/08/2019
SEL Premium 4dr Sedan (1.8L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

Great value Spacious, good mileage, peppy, plenty of features

Safety
4 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
12
Items per page:
51050