Used 2008 Volkswagen Passat Consumer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
128 reviews
List Price Estimate
$2,829 - $5,320

Used Passat for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons
4.75 out of 5 stars

2008 Passat Lux Wagon 133,000 miles

mrvinsurance, 12/26/2013
Lux 4dr Wagon (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
49 of 50 people found this review helpful

I just bought this car, with 133,000 miles on it. This one was very clean inside and out, and all options worked on it. At 135,000 miles I changed the timing belt and changed oil with synthetic as recommended. I am exclusively using premium gas. Overall, very happy with it. Super smooth and respectably fast on highway. Very comfy & attractive interior. I am prepared to spend a little more for maintenance than my Japanese cars, but feel it is worth it as the overall build quality is much nicer. Again, bought it with high mileage, but it drives great.

Report Abuse

4 out of 5 stars

Love my Passat!!!!!

tiffanyrenee, 03/06/2014
Komfort 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
22 of 24 people found this review helpful

I bought my White, Passat 2.0T Komfort in 2011 used with 49, 000 miles. I had an oil consumption problem at first. I had to add oil every 500 to 600 miles but the VW dealership ran three oil consumption test found that there was a problem and fixed it. Other than some other recalls I am now at 83,000 miles and love the ride. I keep up the maintenance, bought new tires, new brake and rotors, and I am good to go. Did I say I love this car? I do.

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Best european affordable car!

corneliu, 07/21/2012
Komfort 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
8 of 8 people found this review helpful

I own the 08 passat 20T and the 08 passat vr6, and both are a blast. I had no issues with none of them in 4 years. I only did the regular service and thats it! With the 2.0T i got a personal record of 32 mpg/hwy, with the vr6 29mpg wich is not bad at all. I like the sprint from the turbo and the pull of vr6 from 80mph and up! great cars

Report Abuse

4.63 out of 5 stars

Great Car

to_perspective, 05/23/2011
Komfort 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
12 of 13 people found this review helpful

Picked up a CPO Passat and I am very happy with the purchase. The interior layout is among the best I've seen....very logical. The drivers seat is extremely comfortable....I could drive in this car for hours. With the many possible seat adjustments and the telescoping wheel it is possible to get the perfect seat position. Just wish it had a seat memory so when other family members adjust the seats I could easily return to my preference. Very pleased with the gas mileage and with an 18 gal tank you can drive for a long time between fill-ups. Performance is very good for a 4 cylinder engine.

Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

120K mile update

deeper, 07/07/2014
Komfort 4dr Wagon (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
14 of 16 people found this review helpful

160k update: car hit by dump truck, totalled, will be missed - they just don't make'm like this anymore. 150k Mile Review: Daughter has abused this for the past 50K+ miles. Have had a chance to drive it recently and was reminded of how smooth, quiet, solid and effortlessly this car drives. A world apart from current Passats. I would buy it all over again. 50k mile review: Have driven VW for decades and this one is no different when it comes to small things needing repair, mostly under warranty. Engine strong, gas mileage consistently exceeds EPA. With Good Year Assurance Comfort tires ride is quiet and smooth though not as sharp as stock. Fully loaded and air-condition running can easily achieve 32-34 mpg at 75mph+. Also fully loaded car doesn't seem to bog down due to turbo torque even going up hills. My daughter now drives the car after my son put miles on it but every time I get back in and drive it I smile. Wish they still sold a wagon in the US. 120K update: still runs great but annual $2,000+ maintenance over the past two years has reduced my Great rating on maintenance to poor. Still is an excellent fun driving car. Everything still works.

Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
4 out of 5 stars
Value
4 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
3.25 out of 5 stars

Less Quality

OK Wagon, 10/05/2008
Turbo 4dr Wagon (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

Traded my 2003 VW Passat GLX for a 2008 VW Turbo Wagon. The 2008 does not have the same quality feel as the 2003 had. The sheet metal seems much lighter and the hinges seem lighter. Hood padding is very light. I'm sorry I didn't buy the loaded version but at around $41,000 I thought I should just buy the cheaper one. I miss some of the bells and whistles. Radio sounds good but the controls are small and the display hard to see. Cruise Control lever too close to Turn Signal control which causes you to hit by mistake.Having trouble with fuel gauge,been back for repair twice and still not fixed.

Report Abuse
4 out of 5 stars

So far a good value for me

Schooder, 01/27/2016
Turbo 4dr Wagon (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
8 of 9 people found this review helpful

I bought this car used at a dealer.7/2015 I live at 7000' above sea level and occasionally drive to 5400' (New Mexico) This is important to understand reference to performance. The 4 cylinder Turbo accelerates nicely at this altitude. It accelerates close to or better that my 2006 Toyota 4runner V8. I wanted to change the shifter handle for esthetic reasons and ended up damaging a small piece of plastic and ended up with a $1100 repair bill the replace the entire shifter module which had to remove from the bottom of the vehicle. The makers obviously was not intending this to be removed, so be careful if you want to change out the leather shift handle. I really like the way the windows operate. Typical German engineering, all the windows come up/down with one touch instead of just the driver door. There is a full size spare tire. The cruise control works great, one button push is all that is needed. And accelerates good. I bought it at 76,000 and now has 86,000 miles(1/2016). I think the ride could be smoother. I wonder if different tires would help. I think VW has always been a poor man's Audi. It doesn't feel as solid as or as smooth on the road as smooth as A4s I have owned.

Safety
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
4 out of 5 stars
Value
4 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
4.75 out of 5 stars

VW Passat 4 Motion

bogolf, 11/26/2010
VR6 4Motion 4dr Sedan AWD (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
11 of 13 people found this review helpful

Great vehicle for family and fun, powerful V6 with 4 motion traction. Make me anxious for the snow to fall. Nice interior, handles great, a bit large for my taste but I have a family so must compromise a bit.

Report Abuse
4 out of 5 stars

Pass on the left, if you can!

Doug, 08/19/2015
VR6 4dr Sedan (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
16 of 20 people found this review helpful

When merging on to the highway, this car is like a thoroughbred race horse jumping out of the gate. Left signal on, metal down, take to the express lane and hit cruise at 82. Slow down for the inevitable traffic delays with the left (-) paddle shifter & open the sunroof if it is a nice day. The sound system will easily drown out anyone else's sound system. I bought this car for its' storage. Right away it needed: igniters, fuel pump, axle, alignment, brakes, lights. Timing belt broke two weeks after dealer "inspected" it. Now, with rebuilt engine, performs like new. Body & paint are in great shape. Glass is all like new. Plastic body panels require ArmorAll. For an "old" car, the design is still fresh. Turns heads wherever I go. Blacked out all the chrome & lowered it, with some 18's.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
4 out of 5 stars
Value
3 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
4 out of 5 stars

Wish the execution was better.

squashpup, 08/08/2013
Lux 4dr Sedan w/Prod. End 01/08 (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
12 of 15 people found this review helpful

The car itself, in everyday use, is great. Comfortable, good power, good gas mileage, styling is excellent inside and out, roomy, sporty handling, fun to drive with a good feel on the road.

Report Abuse
4.25 out of 5 stars

fast and smooth

NYC, 07/01/2009
VR6 4Motion 4dr Wagon AWD (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

Never had a VW before. Very happy so far. Unexpected power from this VR6. Very fast off the line, great cornering and smooth when cruising at highway speeds. Love the sport styled "old school" seats- extremely comfortable and roomy and I'm 6'2". Excellent quality, fit & finish, great dash and overall cabin design. Lots of storage too.

Report Abuse
3.75 out of 5 stars

Oil Burner

jimmydean, 07/14/2009
Komfort 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

I have driven this car 10,000 miles now. Changed the oil at 5,000 miles. At 9,200 miles the Stop Engine light comes on while driving. Check the stick and the engine was bone dry. Check engine light never came on. Brought to dealer and told it is normal to burn a quart every 1k miles. Dealer will not admit to engine problem. Now doing "oil consumption study". At 10,100 miles has burned another quart of synthetic oil. What kind of company is VW if it will not fix problems when presented with one. I feel totally ripped off having bought this lemon.

Report Abuse
4.88 out of 5 stars

Former Toyota owner

Joey nash, 06/27/2010
Komfort 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

I am reluctant to sing praises just yet. As a former Toyota owner, I expect a lot out of my vehicles in terms of reliability. I did not expect to buy a VW, but in keeping a promise to my daughter, I let her pick. We bought the car and afterward, I searched the internet for opinions (backwards, I know). After the initial panic, I have realized that most of the reviews on any car are negative, since people with no gripe tend not to bother at all. That said, if this car gives me no problems mechanically, it will be my all time favorite. I did not know anybody made a car that got 30 mpg+ and would go fast. Fun to drive and the design seems to be well thought out. Feels like a fighter plane.

Report Abuse
4.88 out of 5 stars

EXCELLENT CAR!

fausto123, 04/11/2012
Lux 4dr Sedan w/Prod. End 01/08 (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

I've had my Passat for about a couple months now and I absolutely couldn't be happier, the ride is super smooth even on rougher surfaces, its packed with features and full of space. The transmission shifts very smoothly and road noise is very minimal considering mine has the larger tires and wheels. The cabin feels very upscale, I enjoy that it has an auto hold brake feature, heated seats, and the 6 disc CD changer works flawlessly. The only negative is the chrome trim used around the windows, they oxidized rather quickly and in my opinion VW needs to improve the quality of that material. Besides that the car drives and handles like a dream !

Report Abuse
4.75 out of 5 stars

It's a Keeper!

digdoug78, 05/25/2015
Lux 4dr Wagon w/Prod. End 02/08 (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

I've enjoyed this car from the first time I drove it. I picked it up used. The previous owner put 18's and dropped it about an inch. Low but not too low. Drives nice. Good power getting on the highway, passing, easily cruise at 80+. Controls are easy and intuitive. You can do everything but brake from the steering wheel! You can change from radio to cd to aux from the wheel! You can speed up and slow down, from the wheel! You can turn on wipers, check fuel, driving range, real time mpg, direction, from the freakin' wheel! The seats are super comfortable. I'm 6' and I have tons of room. The paddle shifters can be fun to use. Used properly, really fun to use. This is a keeper!

Report Abuse
4.63 out of 5 stars

Great Car....

kaperej, 01/05/2013
Komfort 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

Overall this is a really good German Engineering...although this Passat doesn't get the best MPG or is the cheapest it is the best for your money. The overall quality is very good and will last along time. The two years we have had our Passat we have only had one big issue. The engine cam had shattered and at high RPM..This costed $2700 and Volkswagen knew it was a problem but refused to pay for it. Other than that it has been a great car.

Report Abuse
4.75 out of 5 stars

Das auto

mikmuk, 12/04/2011
Komfort 4dr Sedan w/Prod. End 01/08 (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

Bought my 2008 CPO Passat with 30k miles about 6 months ago. Other then the headlight being replaced by dealer (under warranty) car is great. Luxury at an affordable price. People often look and say what kind of car is that. Very nice! The difference in the Passat is it is built in Deutchland (Germany) not Mexico like several other VW's. Now the 2012 Passat is manufactured in VW's new Tennessee plant. I am sure the folks from Tenn. will do just fine. Love the car and the 33 MPG we get.

Report Abuse
3.88 out of 5 stars

2008 Passat wagon 2.0T

passatpilot, 12/25/2009
Komfort 4dr Wagon (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Focuses on differences with 2001-2005 model: Pluses: - Better handling, more handsome car overall -Great engine, quieter at high rpms -interior design, controls improved with few minuses mode" and wheel controls. -good overall size for a 4 people, cargo room on par with many SUVs -sophisticated 6sp auto with "sport mode Minuses: -Cheap "Golf/Jetta" platform has no sophisticated suspension from old A4,car bounces up and down with wider 16/18" tires -much louder at highway speed then the old model -driving position is less comfortable (higher chair position) -unrefined truck like idle engine sound -some cheaper interiors and controls -less fun to drive, lots of electronics -no manual brake

Report Abuse
4.75 out of 5 stars

08 VW Passat Komfort 2.0 Turbo

randy, 10/19/2010
Komfort 4dr Sedan w/Prod. End 01/08 (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

The care had few problems that were covered under the waranty: replaced steering column, transmission sensor, air conditioning replaced. Because the warranty covered these items we saved $10,000 in fix up costs. Despite these problems, the car has been reliable once the initial issues have been adressed. The design is great and the car has a lot of nice features. Drove it cross county in the mountains and it held up I like the look of the car. My wife tells me to get rid of the care now that the warranty is out because it is a Lemon, but I tell her now that the dealer paid 10,000 to fix everything on the car nothing else will break. Just bought out the lease and time will tell who is right

Report Abuse
4.5 out of 5 stars

Burns Oil

rrosborough, 12/05/2011
Turbo 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
4 of 5 people found this review helpful

I bought my Passat brand new off the show room floor. I was thrilled to have this car. It looked good, ran good, and for the first 50,000 miles I didn't have any problems. Then I began to realize that it burns oil ridiculously. I took it in to have the dealership run an oil consumption test, and of course they said it was fine. Told me it burns 1qt of oil for every 1,200 miles. So I had the option of not driving my car as much, getting oil changes sooner, or just plain ol adding oil. Either way it really sucks. Took the joy of my car away from me. I'm pleased with it, but I don't like having to keep up with the oil consumption, adding oil, or changing oil more frequently.

Report Abuse
3 out of 5 stars

Check engine light

Tim, 09/05/2016
Komfort 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
4 of 5 people found this review helpful

This is a sweet car with nice get up and go. It has several nice conviniences and a lot storage. I average 25mpg with 80% driving on the highway. My only complaint is the check engine light is constantly on and VW dealers charge $100 just to look at it. This car is like a boat, it's a blast to have but is very high maintenance and costs a lot to maintain. I don't like having to fill up with premium gas when filling up either.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
2 out of 5 stars
Value
3 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
1 out of 5 stars

Worst car I have ever owned. We sold it. Junk!!!!

mike, 01/09/2018
Turbo 4dr Sedan w/Prod. End 01/08 (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
6 of 9 people found this review helpful

We bought this car used. It looked great and seemed to be a good deal. We have 4 other cars. 2 Toyota vans one withe 190,000 miles , the other has 214,000 miles. we also have an older Subaru. The VW is not allowed to leave out little town because it is so unreliable. It has broken down almost any time it's been over 20 miles away. Fuel problems, head, carbon build up, have replaced the injectors, fuel rail, and more. Giant piece of crap!!!

Performance
1 out of 5 stars
Comfort
2 out of 5 stars
Reliability
1 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
4 out of 5 stars

Burning Oil

discouraged3, 01/03/2012
Komfort 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
7 of 11 people found this review helpful

I bought my Passat Komfort new 2008 and was very excited because I had just traded a 2007 Passat Wolfburg limited edition with no problems. After driving this 2008 passat for 50,000 the vehicle engine shut down engine light came on and I stop to checked the oil and the oil stick was dry. The vehicle was towed to the dealership because I was told not to drive it and they said the vehicle had oil but not reading on the stick and the car only get around 600 miles to a quart. now i have to check the oil often before the oil changes. The car now in 2011 is buring oil as fast as I add oil. It make me sick to know I paid 30,000 for a vehicle and now have to check the oil during every fill up.

Report Abuse
4.75 out of 5 stars

Wagons are sexy

vwbliss, 06/24/2008
Komfort 4dr Wagon (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I've had this Passat since January and the Mrs and I have put on almost 13,000 miles so far. we've driven it to Denver, St. Louis, Minneapolis, Duluth, Davenport, Milwaukee. gas mileage on the highway lately at 70 mph is giving back about 32 mpg and up to 34.4. for the size of the car that it is, the turbo is plenty of power and fuel economy is much better than the Taurus that i had last and the same 200 hp. i can't really say anything about reliability issues because i haven't had any. the only set back to the car is doing solely city driving i get about 16 mpg, but if you do combination you'll likely see 26.5 mpg so still much better than 19 mpg with a Taurus that i had previous.

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

What a ride!

Komforter, 08/20/2008
Komfort 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Test drove a new Hyundai Genesis. It was nice and luxurious but not very exciting to drive. Test drove the 2009 Acura TSX. It has lots of gadgets but had very hard/uncomfortable seats and the back lights on everything were a very dull looking gray like driving an old black and white TV (blah)! I test drove a 2008 Malibu. Very nice with tons of extras but not my first choice for the money. The Camry can't compare when talking about a fun car to drive so no need to go any further on that. The 2008 Passat is the car that really delivers in all areas. It's great fun to drive, looks and feels luxurious while still being sporty. The price is actually quite good for all you get. What a ride!

Report Abuse
4 out of 5 stars

This VW likes to spend time in the shop.

Oldguy10, 08/22/2008
Turbo 4dr Sedan w/Prod. End 01/08 (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I always wanted one of these Passats having heard much about their value. The value must be with the way the dealership keeps their hand in your pocket for repairs. Things started out fine till the first repair of the transmission slipping. Then it started leaking oil from a gasket. At first maintenance, found out the air filter was missing. Normally these bugs are corrected in earlier models, but I was more than nickeled and dimed to death with the heavy repair bills that weren't covered under warranty. It sat for a week at a airport and the battery ran down, but it was winter and battery was dead so the doors wouldn't even unlock with the fob.

Report Abuse
4.88 out of 5 stars

Camry? Why?

Macaroon, 10/24/2008
Turbo 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I've always loved Passats, and owned 2 1993 VR6/GLX, a wagon for my wife and a sedan for me. I went to my dealer to check out the GTI 5-door (I've been saying for years they needed one), but ended up driving off in this black beauty. Same engine/trans as the GTI make it nearly as fun to drive, but I got a proper grown-up car with a huge back seat for $5K less! I used to sell Toyotas, and there is no contest between this and a Camry (except, perhaps, in the long-term cost of ownership -- but with a 3 yr lease, who cares?) Hands down, the Passat hammers the stuffing out of the Camry! This car is simply WAY more: comfortable, feature-rich, fun to drive, fuel efficient and attractive.

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

GREAT car

Dee, 11/18/2008
VR6 4Motion 4dr Wagon AWD (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Never thought I'd drive a VW. Have owned BMW, Infiniti, Acura, Audi, and this car is my favorite. I wanted a wagon not an SUV, and I insist on comfortable seats. Moved up to the 4Motion for the seat, and they are the best. Handling and power are impressive. The car has absolutely no roll. Plenty of power but getting 23 mpg. Paddle shifters are fun. Just an outstanding package, worth the stiff price. If you want a wagon, the options are limited, but this one stands up to any sedan in comfort, power, styling and engineering.

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

2008 VW Passat Turbo Sedan Manual

vwenthu, 05/11/2009
Turbo 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Its been 18 months that I purchased this beauty and I am still as excited about it when I bought it. I was a bit skeptical about VW's reliability so it took me a while to post this review. I am extremely glad I made a great choice. Was tempted to buy Acura TSX but the looks, standard features (luxury options in other cars), roominess sold me completely. I couldn't believe that I have the base trim that comes with most of the luxury features you would like in your car. Not to mention the compliments you get.. You should definitely put Passat on top of your list if you want to have spirited and fun driving and euro handling.

Report Abuse
4.88 out of 5 stars

A Wagon Even a Teenager Likes

dlayne, 01/21/2008
VR6 4Motion 4dr Wagon AWD (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Our son out-grew our A4 Avant and we needed a larger non-SUV replacement. We looked at the A6 Avant, BMW 535 and Volvo wagons. Since we had to have an all-wheel drive and wanted a wagon, it left only a few choices. While not as posh as the Audi or BMW the VW is a steal based on price and standard equipment on the VR6 4-Motion model. If a badge for the neighbors to see isn't a priority this is the best valued german wagon out there and it is a blast to drive compared to its Japanese counter parts. The back seat leg room is great - even comfortable for adults. Cargo space is cavernous. This car handles incrdibly well in the snow and ice even with the stock 18" all season tires.

Report Abuse
3.75 out of 5 stars

Burning oil

brandon, 10/22/2009
Lux 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Beautiful car. I like almost everything about it. The HUGE exception to this is the fact that it is a new car with 28k miles and it burns crazy amounts of oil!! VW is not inclined to do anything about it. This is a common problem. VW claims it is normal for this car to burn almost 1 qt of oil per 1,000 miles.

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Best for me!

Bob S., 12/30/2009
VR6 4Motion 4dr Sedan AWD (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I needed an "all wheel drive" vechicle and I have tried and dislike SUV'S. Very few options in this category under $40K; various Subarus, Infinity G35, Audi A4. I drove the Passat and was convinced it was my best choice with a comfortable cabin, more than adequate passenger space, and great performance. Goes through the snow and handles bad drivimg conditions with ease. Actually fun to drive in the snow. The V6 has a nice low toned growl, like a well trained and tuned muscle car, and the 280 H.P. is strong through all 6 gears. For a relatively large car the all wheel drive handling is superb. What more can I say, if you like to drive, need comfort, space, and all wheel drive, give her a go!

Report Abuse
4 out of 5 stars

Nice sedan but BURNS too much OIL

Stevie, 02/04/2010
Turbo 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I've owned my passat for over 2 years know and use it daily for my commute to and from work. Overall I am happy with the car. it's a four cylinder with a manual tranny. The car has had no real issues except that it burns too much oil between oil changes. Approximately 1 quart for every 1,500 miles depending on driving habits. If you drive over 70mph expect to burn even more oil. Don't forget this car runs on synthetic oil where an avg. oil change costs about $85.00 or $8:00 per quart. Adding all this up, an oil change with the additional oil needed to add between oil changes can cost more than $100.00. There is probably something wrong with the design of this turbo charger on this engine.

Report Abuse
4.88 out of 5 stars

Now That's A Car!

RheyLEW, 05/20/2010
VR6 4dr Sedan (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Was initially interested in a Mazda6 for a long time. Made the mistake of sitting in a Passat CC first, went to Mazda and wasn't impressed, the German design and meticulous attention to detail is phenomenal. (It's the little things) cleverly designed umbrella holder in door, pull-up window shades, radar for adaptive cc and parking assistance, bi xenon headlights, LED tails, cargo and shopping bag hooks in trunk, heated side mirrors that point to curb when reversing, auto door lock, moon roof, rain sensing wipers that you don't even have to touch, wonderful lighting and dash, power windows all around, 4 cup holders, secret compartments. Powerful v6 engine with paddle shifters! Whooo- weee!

Report Abuse
4.75 out of 5 stars

Passat Wagon

Rubas, 06/28/2010
Turbo 4dr Wagon (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Purchased new in December 2007. Just got my 30000 check. The dealer changes the oil every 5000 miles no usage between changes, no brake problems, in fact the only problem so far was the radio had to be replaced. Completely satisfied with the car except for needing premium fuel. On trips I get 32-33 mpg.

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Dedicated Passat Fan

Barry Ryan, 03/01/2008
Komfort 4dr Wagon w/Prod. End 02/08 (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

This is my third one. I had a 2002 wagon in which I survived a broadside collision. The car was totalled but I escaped without a scratch. VW has an ad which depicts exactly what happened to me; at an intersection the other car ran a red light and I hit them broadside. I saw my life flash before my eyes! I replaced that one with a 2006 sedan. Just today we picked up a new 2008 wagon for my wife. For me, the Passat is the perfect car. The quality, performance and aesthetics are unsurpassed. In my opinion the Passat beats out far more expensive Euro competitors and puts Honda and Toyota to shame. I know I sound like I work for VW but I don't; I just love the product.

Report Abuse
4.75 out of 5 stars

so far so good - 32k miles - original owner

reverseswing, 01/10/2011
Komfort 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I have had this car as a lease since 2008. I have had no issues at all, only been to the dealer every 10k miles for oil changes & scheduled service. Lease is about to end so I'm trying to figure out if it makes sense to buy the car outright or possibly go for the new 2012 US made version.

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Only 4 cylinders?????

labdad, 05/30/2008
Lux 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

When I first test drove the Passat, I was sold. However, I continued to look at a couple other models, Audi A4 and the Saab 9.3. The Audi was nice, the Saab was ok, but I kept coming back to the Passat. The acceleration is fantastic. The ride is quiet, transmission is smooth, and the seats are very accommodating.

Report Abuse
3.5 out of 5 stars

Excessively Burning Oil

Andrew, 04/25/2010
Turbo 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
15 of 29 people found this review helpful

I purchased a used VW Passat with 19k miles. At one point, I checked the oil dip stick and discovered the engine consummed 2 quarts of full synthetic oil in approximately 4900 miles. I approached the dealer and I was told this is normal for this engine. In fact, the service person stated, I should consider myself lucky, others are burning more! With no help from the dealer, I called the 800 VW number (March of 2010). As a solution,VW staff stated I could go to the dealer, have them change the oil, and return within the 6k oil change interval and at that time,(and at my cost) the dealer would weigh the oil and determine if I was within VW's standard.

Report Abuse
4 out of 5 stars

200,000 mile Passat Wagon

Scott, 01/15/2018
Turbo 4dr Wagon (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
4 of 7 people found this review helpful

Great car! Low cost of ownership, fast, handles well, good gas mileage. Very European firm ride however. I put 165,000 of the 200,000 miles on it. Runs like the day I bought it. I guess I got a good one!

Safety
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
3 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
4 out of 5 stars

Bought Friday, In Shop Saturday

zookeeper, 09/15/2008
Turbo 4dr Wagon w/Prod. End 02/08 (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
3 of 5 people found this review helpful

Purchased this 08 Passat turbo wagon over the Subaru Outback. I had owned an 02 wagon previously and loved it. However, we bought this car on 8/29 and it was back at the dealership the next morning. The steering sensor mechanism was bad (warning lights were on when we left dealership but we were told it was due to low voltage and they'd go off - they didn't). The car was deemed "unsafe" to drive (I'd just driven 35 miles through pouring rain to return). I was put into a rental for 6 days while the part was replaced. I've had the car back for 9 days and I'm at the shop AGAIN b/c the malfunction indicator light is on. Thinking of buying a Passat? Then, RUN to your nearest Subaru dealer!

Report Abuse
4.88 out of 5 stars

great so far

drnox, 06/11/2008
VR6 4Motion 4dr Sedan AWD (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Had the 4motion for about six months. Great car, excellent rider, with great handling.

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Great value!

vaflixio, 06/13/2008
Komfort 4dr Wagon (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Promised my wife and self I would lower mo. lease payment. Saved $150 per mo.and will save $100 addl. in gas as well. Can't believe how station wag. Could feel like my Miata sports car! Car is "rock solid"inside and out. Only neg. Has been a rattle from pass. Side seat belt Post. Dealer says it's design- related and can't be fixed. Only happens going over sizable bump. Love drive, comfort, gas mileage and looks.

Report Abuse
4.25 out of 5 stars

Why buy an SUV?

VWGuy2008, 07/18/2008
Komfort 4dr Wagon (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

There is nothing I enjoy more than crunching the numbers. As a car guy, I love all the details but when I started thinking about a Wagon vs. SUV, things got interesting. Cool factor aside, the SUV gives me lower MPG, more money for insurance, traditionally rollover prone, not as sporty to drive, typically not great in the rain... My new wagon is awesome, first tank of gas 29 MPG, try that in a Mid/Small SUV at $4.50/gallon for gas!

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic car

scontca, 07/22/2008
VR6 4Motion 4dr Wagon AWD (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I absolutely love my Passat. I have owned about a dozen VWs and this is by far the best yet. The car is very quick, smooth, quiet and luxurious. I have had no problems and I am sure the car will hold up well over the next few years.

Report Abuse
4.88 out of 5 stars

My other car is a Eurovan

John Schank, 01/20/2009
VR6 4Motion 4dr Sedan AWD (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Bought the last one in the area after the CC model introduced. The premium in price and owner cost of the VR6 4Motion "standard" should not be an issue with this car. This past summer test drove and was surprised to reach 100 mph up long grade smoothly and quietly thanks to the high compression VR 6. Now, on the ice, and over slush, the 4 Motion comes into it's own. It comes with "noisy" Pirelli P Zeros that become wonderfully silent at high highway speeds, without worry that control will be lost, as with quieter touring rubber.

Report Abuse
4.88 out of 5 stars

Great improvement over 06 sedan

bpitt1, 01/07/2008
Komfort 4dr Wagon w/Prod. End 02/08 (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Traded in my 2006 2.0t sedan for 08 wagon... what a difference 2 years and a wagon has made! The ride and handling are improved, it's quieter and looks much better in wagon form (also more practical). The automatic transmission shifts more smoothly too. Gets better mileage than the 06... let's hope the reliability is better as well.

Report Abuse
4.88 out of 5 stars

Excellent and Fun Family Sedan

ST, 01/10/2008
Turbo 4dr Sedan w/Prod. End 01/08 (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

The car handles very well for a large sedan. The 2.0 Turbo is suprisingly spirited, especially if you like to play with a manual transmission. Fuel economy is not sacrificed, I've been able to average 31-32 MPG over the daily 164 mile commute. Stopping power and cornering are very good, some road noise makes it into the cabin, but not nearly enough to be bothersome. Feedback through the suspension is good enough that road conditions are evident, but the ride is quite comfortable.

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Far better than the competition

vroom, 12/11/2009
Turbo 4dr Sedan w/Prod. End 01/08 (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

My base model 2008 Passat is amazing. The seat is comfortable for my bad back, and there's plenty headroom (I'm tall). The car is reliable and a blast to drive: precise, responsive, and quick, especially using the auto-manual mode. For my $$, Passat is far superior to Accord, Camry, Altima, Fusion, Outback, Volvo, Mazda and yes, Malibu, all of which I've test driven or rented. Edmunds is wrong about Passat not being price competitive with Japanese cars. To get a comfortable seat & decent interior in an Accord requires an EX, which costs thousands more than the base Accord. The (unadjustable) lumbar "support" in the base Accord felt like a brick in my back. Ditto Camry.

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Excellent Sedan, Almost a Luxury

phani9, 10/10/2010
Komfort 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I Just traded in my 09'Jetta 2.5 SE for a 08'Passat komfort. It's a wonderful sedan with so much interior luxury & killer looks outside.

Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050