Skip to main content

Used 2014 Toyota Avalon Consumer Reviews

List Price Range
$16,995 - $23,590

Used Avalon for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale
12345...10

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons
3 out of 5 stars

Rides like a truck. poor engineered struts.

gordon grier, 04/01/2015
updated 07/02/2016
2014 Toyota Avalon XLE 4dr Sedan (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
90 of 95 people found this review helpful

I had a 2005 toytoa avalon that had a very comfortable ride. This 2014 Toyota Avalon rides like a truck. Poor engineering . Toyota fixed the poor ride problem on their 2016 Avalon models. So on 06/01/16 , I bought new front 2016 Avalon coil Springs part #48131-07120 , #48132-07030 & new front 2016 Avalon shock absorbers part #48520- 8z156 , #48510- 8z299 for my 2014 Avalon. After installing them on my 2014 Avalon , I am now very happy with the improvment in the ride quality. The cost for the springs & shocks was around $400.00. All 2016 shocks & springs fit on 2014 with no problem. The very uncomfortable ride was driving me nuts. This change was a lot cheaper than buying a new car with a more comfortable ride. Hope this helps others with the same problem I had .

Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
3 out of 5 stars
Comfort
1 out of 5 stars
Reliability
4 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

4 out of 5 stars

Give this an extended test drive before buying!

Arslan T, 03/30/2016
2014 Toyota Avalon XLE 4dr Sedan (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
26 of 27 people found this review helpful

I drive about 26k miles a year and about 80 miles a day here in Houston and was looking for a used road warrior. My biggest factor in purchasing our 3rd car here is road comfort (to avoid road fatigue) and efficiency/mpg. I have two friends that have the older Avalon models and rave about its comfort and ride, and currently having an ES 350 and seeing its reliability and comfort, the new Avalon was an obvious choice for me. We had the opportunity to purchase a 2015 Avalon XLE but the week that I was to purchase the car I had an opportunity to rent the same car. 200-300 miles later and I am absolutely set on never buying this current Avalon! The exterior has great looks and the interior took a bit to get use to. As others have reviewed, the ride is firm on the highway to the extent that you will feel most bumps, causing road fatigue much earlier (about 25 mins for me). Secondly the seat does not have adequate lumbar support, making the ride much worse. Please do test drive the car before buying this as Toyota has changed the Avalon to make it appeal to younger buyers. As a 30 year old, I really should care about the fun to drive factor - which is def there! - but I just can't get over how uncomfortable the ride is on the highway. Test drove an Accord and a Camry today as well and surprisingly even the camry - which was my last resort car! - even has a better ride in terms of comfort than the avalon

Safety
4 out of 5 stars
Technology
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
3 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
2 out of 5 stars

We Call It "The Turnip"

Dave Kopczynski, 08/26/2015
updated 02/22/2022
2014 Toyota Avalon Limited 4dr Sedan (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
34 of 36 people found this review helpful

After owning nothing but Camrys since 1989, and being completely satisfied with them, we decided to "upgrade" to the Toyota "Flagship", assuming that it would be nicer than the Camrys. This was the biggest car buying mistake of my life! Our 2014 Avalon Limited has the harshest ride and the most road noise of any car we have ever owned. We refer to it as "The Turnip" because we feel the ride and noise would be what you would expect from a turnip truck used on a farm to transport vegetables. The seats are about as comfortable as sitting on a sheet of plywood. Understand that we think the deep metallic red Avalon is one of the prettiest cars on the road. We get a lot of compliments on the appearance of the car, and I always try to sell it to the people making the compliment. However, when new people ride in the car, the comment is something like, "What were you thinking? Did you even drive this thing before you bought it?" Regrettably, I didn't drive the car; I went entirely on Toyota's reputation for quality and the terrific Avalon reputation for a quiet, almost luxury car ride, in an affordable vehicle. Toyota says they redefined the ride to appeal to a younger (40-ish) group of potential buyers. I really don't see where a "neck-snapping" noisy ride would appeal to people in any age group. A few other complaints: 1. Navigation system is already out of date; 2. Analog and digital speed indications are different; 3. Rattles are starting to appear; 4. Sound system is very unimpressive compared to systems in our other cars. I have tried several times to trade this car for something (almost anything) else. Car dealers KNOW the Avalon's new reputation, and the trade-in value is below the low end of the Kelly Blue Book range of values. The saddest event was when I test drove a Ford F-150 pickup truck and the ride quality and lack of road noise was FAR superior to the Avalon. Summary: If you feel you simply MUST consider this car, take it for an EXTENDED test drive before signing the paperwork!! Drive down a highway at 60 MPH and just listen to the road noise!! There doesn't seem to be adequate sound insulation in the body. READ READ READ the reviews!!! Better yet, buy something else. Update: After trying several times, we have not been able to get rid of this car. Dealers know that this is not the quiet comfortable car that Avalon used to be. The car has very low mileage and is in absolutely flawless condition, but we have not been able to get within $2000 of KBB or NADA trade in value. This car was a very poor choice. Update 2/17: We still own this car because we have been unable to get any kind of a reasonable trade-in on the vehicle. We keep the car as a spare when someone in the family needs a car when their car is in the shop, etc.. This is not a problem since we have four cars for two drivers. We purchased a new all-wheel-drive SUV last November. Sadly, the SUV rides far better than the Avalon and, unbelievably, is quieter. The most annoying thing about this Avalon is that it could have been a wonderful car if they had only left it alone and kept the fantastic quiet comfortable ride for which Avalon was know up to the 2013 model. I enjoy reading other Avalon reviews where the Avalon is compared to "the Flintstone's car with granite wheels". At least I get a couple laughs out of the $35000 I threw away on this car. Update 2/18: Because we refuse to take a financial beating on "The Turnip", we still own it. We just couldn't find a dealer, including Toyota, who would even give us the "trade in" value toward list price on another car. We have two SUV's that ride much better than the Avalon, and are much quieter. The Avalon needed a complete 4-wheel brake job, including rotors, at 31,000 miles! Never had a car before that required a brake job at such a low mileage (usually, we get 60,000 or more miles out of brakes). Again I will state that this could have been a wonderful car if Toyota maintained the quiet and excellent ride quality that it was known for before the 2013 model. BTW, I bought a Subaru Outback for about 70% of the cost of the Avalon. The Outback is a pure joy to own: better, quieter ride than the Avalon! Shame on you, Toyota!! Update 2/19: As mentioned above, we didn't get rid of this car because of the very poor sale/trade in value. After 40.000 miles, we don't hate the car quite as much because we have experienced no problems requiring repairs. Routine maintenance has been all that has been required. The car still rides and sounds like a truck, but we have given up on that. What bothers us the most is that this could have been such a great car, had it been designed with a little more sound insulation and a better ride. I guess Toyota makes the same basic car that is quiet and has a great ride: it's called a Lexus!! Update 8/19: Car is still a noisy, rough-riding, uncomfortable, and very reliable and trouble-free car. We'll be stuck with this for years.

Safety
4 out of 5 stars
Technology
2 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
3 out of 5 stars
Comfort
1 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
2 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

4 out of 5 stars

Loving my Es, Um I mean Avalon!

New Southerner, 08/30/2017
2014 Toyota Avalon XLE 4dr Sedan (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
13 of 13 people found this review helpful

If you like a touch of class, style, performance and panache from an automobile, this is the one for you. Several weeks ago I purchased a used 2014 Toyota Avalon. Having recently moved south from the Midwest, I wanted to shed my 4-wheel drive veh for something smaller. Initially I went looking for a gently used Lexus ES350. My reasons were simple: I’m getting closer to 40 and my automobile needs are starting to bend more toward function and less form. This meant arguing my ego down from the thought that I needed to ‘sit high’ or that I need 3 rows for the few times a year we use the 3rd one. So on to the car; I initially drove 3 or 4 ES’s and on one return test drive I ended up parking next to an Avalon. “What’s this?” I asked the salesman. He responded ‘the Avalon’ and proceeded to tell me of how the car rides a variation of the same platform as the ES. Really? Also that the engine and powertrain were virtually Identical. Really?? So I gave this car –which I had never even glanced at, much less considered before- a good once over. Lowered front end profile w/quadra-beam headlights, Aston-Marton inspired lower intake grill flanked by chrome enveloped fog lamps. A clean and handsome profile with a slightly ‘windswept’ greenhouse profile and a beautiful tail end w/LED lights and dual, trapezoidal exhaust…. “Hmm, will you get the keys for this”??? I asked. Got inside. ‘Whoa, seriously, nice!’ A 6 inch touch screen w/digital readouts for the HVAC just below. Mine has the lighter interior w/contrasting taupe, brown and black color scheme. It’s a very rich look accented by liberal swaths of chrome. On to the drive. The ride was the final deal cincher. The engine is buttery-smooth with plenty of power for passing. In fact, I had to learn how to properly finesse the engine when I am passing because stepping down to hard gives way more power than you probably were looking for. I want to address the ride quality itself though. Many have written that the car thunks or crashes over bumps. Honestly, I hadn’t noticed it at all. I think the ride is quite appropriate honestly and I have to believe those that don’t care for it are not the younger buyers Toyota had in mind with this departure from the traditional Avalon. The only places I have to give the car less than stellar marks are the sound system and touch screen. The base unit’s graphics seem a generation behind the two vehicles I have most recently owned and it suffers mightily from sun glare. You literally cannot see a thing it certain situations and that is with dealer placed tint on all windows. . Also, the basic sound system sounds very tinny and has very little bass. They are merely adequate and I have been accustomed to far better utility. (the unit in the base XLE doesn’t even show album artwork for ipod songs) All told, this car is a serious sleeper for most. For some, the prestige of that L in the Lexus nameplate is worth the extra money for what is in many important respects the same car. After spending days if not weeks looking for the perfect gently used Lexus ES, I finally found it. Just so happened that it wears a Toyota badge and prefers to be called Avalon.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

4.38 out of 5 stars

2015 Avalon Limited

tome1, 02/26/2015
2014 Toyota Avalon Limited 4dr Sedan (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
19 of 20 people found this review helpful

So far, other than ride quality we enjoy our new Avalon. Very responsive, excellent power, electronic package is very nice (a lot of safety features).

Report Abuse
12345...10
Items per page: