Skip to main content

Used 2019 Tesla Model X Consumer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
35 reviews
1...

See Edmunds pricing data

Has Your Car's Value Changed?

Used car values are constantly changing. Edmunds lets you track your vehicle's value over time so you can decide when to sell or trade in.

Price history graph example
We have a limited number of reviews for the 2019 Model X, so we've included reviews for other years of the Model X since its last redesign.

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons
5 out of 5 stars

Not for everyone

TN, 08/30/2018
2018 Tesla Model X 75D 4dr SUV AWD (electric DD)
31 of 31 people found this review helpful

Model X is unique. Either you like be it or hate it. To me, it is like buying your first iPhone. You won’t find the key pad. Things may be working today but won’t tomorrow due to the latest patch. You won’t be happy if you think you are buying a car. You will be very happy if you want to buy a technology. It is a toy that can be driven and it is fun.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
4 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

Wow what a ride for an SUV

SailorMD, 06/06/2019
2018 Tesla Model X 100D 4dr SUV AWD (electric DD)
18 of 18 people found this review helpful

We have owned this car for just over a year near. It is nearly the best car I have ever owned (first is our Model S). The car has a unique design. it is incredibly fast and handles well. the software is regularly updated and the new autopilot with navigation software is incredible. Once on the interstate the car basically drives itself. so much easier than having to deal with traffic etc. the touch screen is huge. the cameras give crisp clear images. Recharging via the tesla supercharger network is even faster and "refueling" rates are starting to approach gas tank refills. I am really looking forward to the continued upgrades in the autopilot! I will never buy another fossil vehicle again.

Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

No room?? No way!

James P, 06/16/2019
2018 Tesla Model X 75D 4dr SUV AWD (electric DD)
18 of 18 people found this review helpful

Someone in March had written a review about being 6’4 and not fitting. I’m 6’8 and fit extremely well, room to spare! Found it very comfortable and roomy. For the taller folk, like myself, you have to drop the seat a bit as you do in every vehicle when that’s an option. Zero fit and finish issues. The technology, acceleration and everything else about this car was on par for what can be expected. Wait, that’s not true, it exceeded all expectations. I have driven and owned many various cars and suvs in my life and the Tesla experience is by far the most fun and rewarding. I can’t see driving anything else from here on out. If you’re unsure if this is the right vehicle for you, or any vehicle you’re considering, rent one for a few days. That’s a low cost way to make sure you’ll love it prior to a major purchase.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic

Dallen Ormond , 12/31/2017
updated 01/07/2022
2017 Tesla Model X P100D 4dr SUV AWD (electric DD)
33 of 35 people found this review helpful

In the past 12 years I have owned 18 different vehicles. I purchased the model X 100D 2 months ago. It accelerates faster than my Golf R, Nismo 350 Z, or Infinity M class. The car is as luxurious as my MB E63 AMG and rides as well as my Cadillac CTS-V. Recently I had to take it off-road. I live in the mountains and had to pick up a sick child. The roads were unplowed and recommended chains only. I simply raised the suspension and easily drove miles and miles in 2 feet of snow. It handles as well off road as my Toyota Tacoma. Then driving down the canyon I didn’t have to hit my brakes once because of how the vehicle torque charging works. The canyon is a 65 mph 5-6% grade for 20 miles. Finally, because of the torque charging my battery charged on the way down the canyon. I can’t express how impressive this vehicle is. Elan Musk not only built a competitor he built a game changer. After 1 year this is simply the most amazing vehicle I have ever owned. My opinion is even better than last year. 2 years down. The only maintenance has been tire rotation. 7/1/20 - Great Car!!! I love the software upgrades, and even better they update like my iphone updates. The vehicle feels new all of the time. 3 1/2 years, very few issues, zero OOP maintenance. Runs great, still fast, and sleek. I love the updates that automatically download. Four years down, not a single dollar spent in maintenance other than tires. Tesla changed the game.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

4 out of 5 stars

Crazy good, despite many small flaws

Ryan W, 07/05/2018
2018 Tesla Model X 100D 4dr SUV AWD (electric DD)
60 of 67 people found this review helpful

A lot of the existing reviews online, including the 2017 and 2018 Edmunds reviews here are a little out of date due to the continuous improvements that Tesla makes to their production process as well as the after production updates via Tesla's amazing over the air update system. For example, the latest navigation and autopilot updates as of July 2018 make this car vastly superior to anything else on the road in these areas. Also, based on my model that was built in late 2017, the fit and finish seems to be slowly improving as well. PROS: - As noted by many others, the handling and acceleration are better than any other SUV on the market. Driving a Model X feels like magic. - Utility is excellent due to the huge amount of interior space, thanks in large part to the lack of engine and gas tank. Yes, there are no roof racks, but most of what you would put up on the roof can be stowed inside the cabin or in the fronk with much more convenience. For towing, the auto leveling air suspension, included tow hitch, and the vast torque allow the model X to easily tow just about anything. (Quantis just towed a 787 Dreamliner with a Tesla Model X for publicity). Technically though, the X is legally rated to 5,000 lbs and towing will reduce your range by roughly 20% depending on various factors, so you have to take that into account. - Range provided by the 100D is fantastic at around 300 miles. That along with the Tesla charging network, road trips have been a dream. - My favorite feature is Autopilot, which has gotten so good that I no longer want to drive without it. It feels a lot safer and easier to have both yourself and the car reacting to situations in real time. For example, if you look down for a moment and someone slams on the breaks in front of you, Autopilot will automatically slow down. I've also noticed that in dark, rainy conditions, Autopilot seems to be better at seeing the road ahead than I can due to the array of sensors, which was really surprising. - The built-in Navigation is the best I've seen in any car by a wide margin. It's just like using Google maps on your phone, but built-in and easily visible on the huge display. The voice recognition works amazingly well too, meaning you can just say; "navigate to home depot", and it just works. CONS: - The falcon wing doors are great to show off to your friends, but they are not practical. In a normal garage for instance, they can't open fully so you have to crawl under them to get into the car. - Tesla's push button door handles require a lot of force to activate and are irritating. I'd personally prefer the 3% hit to range to get back regular door handles. - My Model X was built in late 2017 and the build quality is clearly improving, but I did have a couple of small fit and finish issues that required me to drop my X off for repair immediately after pickup. - The X is not an off-road capable SUV. - The worst thing about the model X in my opinion are the seats. The Model X seats don't even compare to a top trim 2018 Honda CRV. My wife has a 2017 Lexus RX 450h which is half the cost, and the Lexus seats and about twice as comfortable and are much more luxurious than the throw away vinyl seats you get in the Tesla Model X. Since nicer seats can be be procured from the same vendors that make seats for the other car brands, it seems criminal to me that the Tesla Model X is so badly lacking in this area. If you get a Tesla, you will have the best car on the planet, except you will probably have the worst seats of any car in the $40K+ price range. The included "vegan leather" seats, seem to be there to placate PETA and other environmentalists that don't like leather being used in cars. I get that, but at the very least, vinyl should be standard and real, perforated leather, similar to what you find in every other nice car, should be an option. Overall, the Tesla Model X is such a vast improvement over every other SUV on the market, it's definitely worth putting up with the small flaws to own one.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
3 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
3 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
1...
Items per page:
5