Used 2010 Suzuki SX4 Hatchback Consumer Reviews

List Price
$5,912

Used SX4 for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

A good car stuffed up by engineers

ozisx4, 06/05/2014
Crossover 4dr Hatchback AWD (2.0L 4cyl 6M)
14 of 14 people found this review helpful

When I studied engineering 30 years ago, one of the first things we were taught was to make frequently serviced components easily accessible. Obviously the engineers at Suzuki did not go to the same university !, try changing the cigarette lighter fuse, you have to dismantle the facia or be a contortionist, try to replace the oil filter, almost impossible to undo and retighten without special tools ! Love the car but hate working on it, also a problem with the paint on the hood, measles !!! Suzuki maintain that they are stone chips despite no similar spots on the guards etc. Suzuki aftersales service SUCKS.

Report Abuse

Wonderful little car

Scott, 07/02/2016
Crossover 4dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl 6M)
13 of 13 people found this review helpful

With 150 hp on tap as opposed to its rivals (Nissan Versa Note, 108hp, Honda Fit, 117hp and Mazda 2, 100 hp), this little buggy will get up and scoot! And it has a six, count 'em SIX speed manual transmission! I was looking for a car with a manual to use as a commuter, and was able to buy this 2010 (in 2016) with 71K on it for $2700! I was pretty happy, let me tell you. It has been a blast to drive, even though in central Illinois the roads are pretty straight and flat. The clutch take-up is p-e-r-f-e-c-t and the shifter is smooth and creamy - the nicest and easiest manual I think I've ever driven. I think the Italian design is attractive/cute and this thing zips in and out of traffic lanes and parking spots with ease. I have yet to reach it's handling limits, but will tell you they're very high. This is like a reliable version of the Mini (which has pathetic reliability and costs much, much more). The only things with which I take issue on the car are the sun visors that don't tilt forward enough and block my view (and let sunlight in on the sides) and poor AM radio reception. That, and parts being a little tougher to find since Suzuki (cars) left the country. Still plenty of parts available if you search hard enough, though - and oil filters, air filters, plugs etc are pretty standard sizes so super easy to find. Oh, and insurance is a bit high - higher than my wife's '14 Honda CR-V, for some reason. MPG has been good for me - about 31 mixed 60/40 hwy/city. Plenty of front seat room - I'm 6' tall and 230 lbs and don't feel the least bit crowded - plenty of fore/aft and up/down adjustment. Rear seat room does look tight on legroom, though - so it's probably best for short trips for adults or for mini-me's. After doing my research, the only problem areas on these seem to be an errant airbag light (covered under recall), and the A/C compressor clutch. Most genuine Suzuki's are bulletproof (not the Suzuki-named Daewoo models like Verona, Forenza, etc. though). Anyway, this is my commuter and I'm getting to work with a big grin on my face (not that I'm happy to be at work) and looking forward to my next drive - it's seriously THAT fun.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Overall a nice, fun, 4WD SUV

tishpit1, 11/01/2013
Crossover 4dr Hatchback AWD (2.0L 4cyl CVT)
7 of 7 people found this review helpful

My father and I co-own this car, bought new, to handle the treacherous roads of Pittsburgh in the winter. It handles very sporty, good tire grip, great in turns. Mileage was a dismal 16 MPG in Pa., but since moving to Florida, now getting 27.6 MPG, but all level driving. Feels roomy up front, tight in rear, and more cargo room than a sedan, but not as good as it could be (fold flat rear seat needed!). Peppy around town and on highway, CVT does a good job. Interior is rather bland and radio quality is poor. But my biggest gripe is regarding the front "A" pillars... causes DANGEROUS blind spots. Poor design on that, and must lean forward and back to see around them. Seats are hard too.

Report Abuse

A Fun SUV alternative

CWM, 08/06/2010
Crossover 4dr Hatchback AWD w/Technology Pkg (2.0L 4cyl CVT)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

We bought a brand new SX4 Crossover AWD Technology in Copper last month after having the transmission go out on our Hyundai. After looking at a variety of different cars, my wife saw one of these in the parking lot at Walmart and instantly came home and researched it on the internet. The next day, we went and test drove one. We love the spacious interior, excellent gps, cruise control, power everything, and the beautiful copper color. Selectable All wheel drive is a bonus, as is the CVT transmission with manual shifting ability. The Crossover rides smoothly, but tends to have some body lean and sometimes spongy feel. The engine is powerful, but only above 3,000 RPM. Overall, good car

Report Abuse

Best car I have ever owned

teds1782, 04/06/2012
Crossover 4dr Hatchback AWD (2.0L 4cyl CVT)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This is by far the best car I have ever owned (and I have owned a lot). It drives great, good power for a small good, very comfortable, the all wheel drive is AWSOME this car does great in the snow. Only comlaint cargo area is a little small other than that very excellent car!!!!!!

Report Abuse

You get what you pay for

andrewf86, 01/08/2012
Crossover 4dr Hatchback AWD (2.0L 4cyl CVT)
3 of 9 people found this review helpful

This is a pretty bland car that lacks important creature comforts and is surprisingly small. At first it feels large but once you put 4 adults in you realize how small it really is. We bought this car because we had a baby on the way. The trunk barely fits the baby stroller and the passenger seat has to be moved all the way forward to accommodate the baby seat. This car gets very poor MPG, isn't fun to drive, and isn't very large. The only real redeeming feature I can think of is the AWD which is pretty capable even in very nasty weather. It's not a bad car, it's just very mediocre but it doesn't cost much money.

Report Abuse

Decent Little SUV Alternative

JDA, 06/14/2010
Crossover 4dr Hatchback w/Technology Pkg (2.0L 4cyl CVT)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is my wife's new car. She loves it. She traded in her pickup for it due to heavy driving. It drives Very well and has good get up and go. The built-in GPS is a genius way to have one without needing a super expensive radio. So far my wife loves it. We were looking for a an SUV or minivan for her, but she saw it and said, "this one's cute." The price is also right for a new car. The dealer was very good and positive. We were also surprised with the $300 gas card! If you're looking for a nice small vehicle, definitely check it out. There is one caveat however. I am 5'9" and I can't find a comfortable driving position. This is meant for shorter drivers.

Report Abuse

Ten years later

Harry, 12/31/2020
Crossover 4dr Hatchback AWD (2.0L 4cyl CVT)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Bought used, with 12k. After 31,000+ miles on this sx4 hatch, parked outdoor, we say say wow. Dependable, driven 6days per week 14miles daily. Now at 64k. Not much spent on repairs, other than basic maintenance. The transmission switch ,as I understand needs replacement, preventing car from starting..had issued fing car battery dead a few times this year. Battery was replaced 3x by AAA. Hope all will be well. These past 2 years car sits outside without being used, bad. We will now drive it more often, as it is not primary vehicle. Love this SX4 still. Color dk grey looking hansome.

Report Abuse

Affordable, Reliable, and Capable

Elphrid, 06/11/2021
Crossover 4dr Hatchback AWD (2.0L 4cyl CVT)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Bought a base crossover model used at 8 years old and 150k miles for a little under US$ 5k, and in two years I've put about 15k miles on it. It's required minimal maintenance despite being the oldest-at-purchase car I've gotten (all I've done is replaced the breaks which were worn down when I bought it), has run smoothly. I love this thing. Okay, first, the not-so-good: - A-pillars are large and can be annoying to look past. - Door bins are a bit small. - Cargo space is what you'd expect for a car this small. - Suzuki withdrew from the North American auto market in 2013 so depending on where you are you might end up waiting for some parts. The good: - firm suspension lets you feel the road without being uncomfortable. - the manual transmission is smooth and feels solid - the engine has plenty of pep - the AWD system is about as capable as it gets outside of vehicles that are specifically intended as off-roaders. - fuel economy is better-than advertized: with mixed highway and city, fwd and awd driving, I pretty reliably average between 28 and 32 mpg. - reliabilty: seriously, it's kind of amazing how little work I've had to put into a vehicle that was 8 years old and over 150,000 miles at purchase. - pretty decent carrying capacity for a car this small. - the flipside of Suzuki no longer selling cars in the US & Canada: these cars depreciate which means they are cheap used relative to other cars of comparable age, quality, and capability.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050